Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 30, 2018
Apr 30, 2018
Beautiful campground and well maintained. Staff is friendly and eager to help.
Apr 30, 2018
This campground is always clean, quiet, and just comfortable. Our dog loves the water and the people are so friendly. You attract a good crowd. We appreciate the smiling faces of the helpful, knowledgeable staff (even when we are not so smart).
Apr 30, 2018
The service and campground are great. Always enjoy staying there.
Apr 30, 2018
We had a flat on the camper and delayed us a couple of hours. We called and told them we would be late. They said no problem, that they would leave our paperwork outside and we could park in our spot, but there may not be anyone there to help us back in. We arrived just after dark in the pouring rain. We started backing in and a staff member showed up to help us!
Apr 30, 2018
Apr 30, 2018
friendly people clean camp ground. dog park just need to have the grass cut.
Apr 30, 2018
We love staying at this particular KOA! Everyone is super friendly and the Campground is always wonderfully maintained.
Apr 29, 2018
We are starting our 3rd year camping with our small travel trailer as empty nesters. We have camped approximately 115 nights during this time. The Townsend KOA is a Top 5 campground for us. We have visited it three times and have already booked for next year. Love the proximity to the Smokie Mountains, the beauty of the campground, and the wonderful staff.
Apr 29, 2018
Nice but rained all five days with kids!!!! Lol
Apr 29, 2018
The cabin was adorable!! The cleanest place ever and the staff very friendly!!! We will be staying with you again. Thank you
Apr 29, 2018
We will be back! Awesome place to stay, awesome folks run the place. I'd give 20 stars if I could! :)
Apr 28, 2018
Beautiful Campground. The grounds are well maintained and beautifully landscaped. We loved our time here. Our only disappointment was that we were not able to get a site on the river. We asked about a river site when we checked in but were told that none were available. During the 3 days that we stayed at the campground at least 5 river sites were empty the entire time.
Apr 27, 2018
Great campground on right on the river. Wish it had been sunny for our visit.
Apr 26, 2018
This is our favorite campground in this area, well cared for, convenient and courteous office staff.
Apr 25, 2018
Always a pleasure! Great location, beautiful campground!!
Apr 25, 2018
Campground was well maintained, clean and staff was very helpful and friendly.
Apr 25, 2018
This location is beautiful. The campground was perfect. Everybody was so friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!
Apr 24, 2018
Our favorite KOA hands down!
Apr 24, 2018
We had a wonderful trip! The campsite was clean and well kept. All of the people were helpful and friendly and the playground was amazing!
Apr 24, 2018
Beautiful and well maintained. The staff was very helpful.
Apr 24, 2018
Great place to camp, friendly people,clean camp sites. They have a store and gas station, you can buy food,snacks,wood,ice and just about anything. I would recommend this KOA to anyone that likes to camp, or would like to stay in a cabin.
Apr 23, 2018
Campground is kept very clean as are the bath rooms and showers. Staff is very friendly and accommodating to ones needs. Have stayed here before and will do so in the future.
Apr 23, 2018
We had a great stay. The grounds were so neat and clean. The ground cover, mulch, borders were all in such good repair. Hot showers! The employees in the office and out on the grounds went above and beyond what we expected. So patient with our "newbie" camper questions and expectations.
Apr 23, 2018
really impressed with the facilities and grounds. the super clean bath house was great and much appreciated. the grounds where very impressive. it was great from the time we walked into the office to sign in and the friendly staff welcomed us, then happily escorted us to our spot. i'd stay here in a heart beat again. i have told many how great a spot it was. thanks from all of us at nickstrix.com
Apr 23, 2018
Apr 23, 2018
Thoroughly impressed with this place. This is my first time staying at a KOA and I am now thinking about signing up for the membership. It was only my 2nd time backing in my camper and I was extremely thankful to have such a nice staff that showed me to the site and helped me back in. All of my friends stayed at another campground down the road and were all jealous of our experience.
Apr 23, 2018
It is a great campground, the only reason I am giving it a 4 is due to the sites being VERY close together. They are very tight !! Our neighbors RV slide was at our patio. Campground is very clean.
Apr 23, 2018
Wonderful !!!
Apr 23, 2018
First of all we arrived later than planned so we called and they said it was ok so when we arrived a very nice gentleman took us to our site and help us back in sorry can't rember his name but everthing was wonderful such a nice place and everyone was friendly camp spots are a little close to each other. Over all a clean kid friendly place wish we had more time to stay longer !!!!!
Apr 23, 2018
Stayed in this campground several years ago was not impressed sites were to close. But it has had some remodeling with fire pits and patios added, much nicer now. Would highly recommend staying here all the staff very friendly and helpful..
Apr 22, 2018
Had not been to a KOA in almost 20 years. This campground is THE BEST I’ve been to. Friendly, helpful employees and a very nice quiet family atmosphere. Only wish I lived closer so I could enjoy it a couple times a year. Thanks again Dominic for getting us to our site and the help with our tow dolly!
Apr 22, 2018
The camp ground was well kept and beautiful! The cabins we're comfortable. The shower house and restrooms were always clean and plenty if hot water. Thank you for the great stay, we will be back
Apr 22, 2018
Great Stay
Apr 22, 2018
I was only needing one night in a cabin after a pretty strenuous few days hiking on the Appalachian Trail. My cabin was exactly what I was looking for and much more. In addition to the hot shower and warm bed, there was a lovely patio with beautiful landscaping that created my own private space to enjoy the evening dinner and morning coffee. The staff was friendly and very helpful.
Apr 22, 2018
Awesome!
Apr 21, 2018
Nice view, cabin set up for only 4 (billed for "up to six"), heater inadequate, showerhead terrible - provided only a fine mist and was difficult to rinse as a result. River view was VERY nice, clean, campgrounds great overall but overpriced at ~$150./night even after discounts.
Apr 21, 2018
Clean campground with beautiful river view. Nice shower and bathroom facilities. Great location to the park. A little high priced for tent camping, but that’s the only complaint.
Apr 21, 2018
Great time as always. Ome of our favorite places to relax.
Apr 20, 2018
Apr 18, 2018
We had a great time,the cabin was clean and all decked out for us and the staff was very friendly �
Apr 18, 2018
Very relaxing and quite and staff are friendly and helpful too our needs
Apr 18, 2018
very nice , but expensive
Apr 18, 2018
Nice facility. Well thouht our campsites. Great staff!
Apr 17, 2018
Absolutely loved it !!! The camp ground was very clean . The staff was super helpful and friendly. We are looking forward to visiting again and bringing our grand kids
Apr 17, 2018
The KOA Townsend in TENNESSEE is an immaculate and beautifully landscaped campgrounds. The staff is friendly and helpful. We highly recommend it as a restful and beautiful campground.
Apr 17, 2018
Apr 17, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
There were 14 of us camping by the river in 5 sites (3 adjoining). Mid-April, weather was great ... we had a blast! Loved the scenery, food and the area attractions. The locals were so friendly! We're coming back in September!
Apr 16, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award