Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 21, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
Nice improvements since last year. Entire campground is always clean. Restrooms and showers always clean. Great addition with restrooms and dishwashing station at back of pavilion. Staff is always friendly and polite. Marshall is a great host. Fudge store is a bonus
Sep 20, 2017
Best KOA Campground we have stayed at. Campsite was great, service in front office great. We had to check out earlier than we had planned and were granted a refund for nights we did not stay without even asking for the refund.
Sep 20, 2017
The people there was very nice and helpful
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 20, 2017
great family atmosphere. lots to do and we wished are grandkids were with us. nice and quiet even on weekend. the employees were very nice and did a great job. great home cooking in townsend. best food around. cades cove the star of it all.
Sep 20, 2017
We spent four nights here. The campground is right on the edge of the Great Smoky Mountain NP perfectly located between Gatlinburg and Cades Cove. We had a site on the river and it was beautiful, a large generous level site, The entire campground was impeccably clean, The large showers had Italian tile. Even the laundry was pleasant. If KOA is the Ritz-Carton of camping this is one of the reasons
Sep 20, 2017
Thank you for new bathrooms closer to where we like to camp! Everything nice except for the dog poop on our campsite (130). We hung our Eno and stepped in some, then smelled it the rest of the weekend.
Sep 20, 2017
We had just bought our 1st 5th wheel and wanted to try it out locally. Couldn't have picked a better place. Friendly and helpful park attendants . Property was absolutely beautiful! Large trees, river running on the back, nice little cabins in the woods, easy walking! Cant wait to go back again.
Sep 19, 2017
We enjoyed your beautiful campground. It was fun watching the wagon rides filled with singing kids. The staff was friendly and helpful, with a special call out to Mickey. She went out of her way to find an answer to a question I had. Because of our stay we plan to stay at another KOA next summer
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
Always great. Good people very helpful.
Sep 19, 2017
Very nice campground..very clean..staff was very nice and friendly.
Sep 19, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
always great here our favorite place best staff friendly and helpful
Sep 18, 2017
Great campground!! The deluxe sites with a deck are pie shaped and kinda small, but I did love the campground. The bathhouse was excellent and I really liked the single roomed showers. The kids play area looked awesome and I definitely look forward to seeing my grandchildren enjoying them very soon!!
Sep 18, 2017
We always enjoy our stay here. The only negative thing I have to say that we never noticed before was the sewage smell. It was everyday but you would smell it off and on.
Sep 18, 2017
We had a very good time at this campground this was our second time to stay here our girls love the playground and the hayride they had fun on as well
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
The staff is amazing! They help you set up and offer to deliver firewood. Very, very clean bathrooms and showers. Beautiful campsites and views.
Sep 18, 2017
We always like to stay in Townsend KOA
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
We visit KOA usually two times a year. We really enjoy the Townsend campground because of all the trees. It's just like being in the mountains. We tent camped with our kids when they were younger and really enjoyed it but now they are all grown and we prefer the cabin with a bathroom and kitchen area. Fall is especially nice with the leaves crunching underneath your feet while walking .
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Although your campground was well organized, friendly staffed and had many facilities for families with children, I highly doubt we would return due to the closeness of each campsite to others. We found no privacy and had to put up with screaming children. When it came to parking the trailer your staff was excellent & helped tremendously. I found that manoeuvering within the park was very tight.
Sep 18, 2017
Very helpful staff, great country store, great playground for kids. Wish we stayed longer so we could use the rest of the accommodations (pool, River floats)
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Our stay was just like the ithet times, fantastic. We love the consistency.
Sep 17, 2017
2nd year a hurricane inflicted itself in our travel plans. The park is very clean and Your staff is so nice and we will come back. Hope I can bring the grandkids. someday. Great location.
Sep 17, 2017
We (my wife and I) have been staying at this campground for many years about 1984 to present. It's always top notch. Great people clean everything and always has been. Can't wait to get back.
Sep 17, 2017
The updates to the camp ground were great.
Sep 17, 2017
Beautiful campground with many things to do, especially for children. Staff is very nice and always willing to lend a helping hand.
Sep 16, 2017
It is always the best we come every year. The people that work there are so much fun. My sister and I wouldn't go anywhere else. See you next fall.
Sep 16, 2017
We stayed here for a week in September and were more than impressed! From the time we checked in to the time we checked out the staff made us feel welcome. Everyone from the front desk to the staff at the gas station went out of their way to be helpful. We have to give a big shout out to Mike(Shorty), who was right there whenever we had a question or a concern:). All of you are awesome.. The Kings
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 16, 2017
Very nice campground! Enjoyed our stay!
Sep 16, 2017
Terrific staff, beautiful location, very organized, great facilities. A little cramped for our preference, which is the only thing keeping me giving the highest recommendation.
Sep 15, 2017
Very nice staff...showers were the best!! Very clean and lots were spaced nicely.
Sep 15, 2017
Great! The only issue was the grill. It never got above 200 degrees.
Sep 15, 2017
Nice and varied campground with lots of trees
Sep 14, 2017
Loved it! Lots of friendly, helpful staff always around and ready to help with whatever you need. Clean & modern bath houses. Great location just outside GSMNP. Looking forward to returning to this hidden gem!
Sep 14, 2017
Love coming "home away from home" to camp at Townsend every year. It is always nice to see the familiar faces and be greeted by name. This year I had some car trouble and all the guys came over to help. This year they had the FL evac and I watched as they made each one feel at home. LOVE EM! This is what makes this campground special. Everyone going above and beyond to make the stay amazing.
Sep 14, 2017
Our campsite was awesome and the staff attentive to everything. We were very happy with our stay!!
Sep 13, 2017
Wonderful and relaxing. People who work there are very kind and friendly. Thanks very much, Powell Family
Sep 13, 2017
AWESOME
Sep 13, 2017
Sep 13, 2017
Wonderful setting and very nice and neat!
Sep 13, 2017
Great experience with our 3 and 4 year grandkids. Playground, hayride, and movie under the stars were much appreciated and enjoyed by all!
Sep 12, 2017
Awesome stay. We already scheduled our spring vacation.
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award