Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2018
Jul 18, 2018
We are repeat customers and have always enjoyed our stays At KOA. We were very disappointed by a staff member who yelled at our children for riding their bikes in the grass of the pavilion area. I was watching our kids and witnessed the interaction. He was red faced, raising his voice and yelling at them not to ride their bikes in the grass. This frightened our kids. Staff should be friendly.
Jul 18, 2018
We stayed at a campsite by the river. The river was beautiful, but children and adults were walking through our campsite to access the river during our entire stay. Since there is already a lack of privacy at the sites it would be nice if the campground made efforts to let campers know not to walk through campsites and to use the common access point for the river.
Jul 18, 2018
Jul 18, 2018
Beautiful campground right on the river. Facilities were clean and they had activities each night for campers. I highly recommend this campground. Had a great time
Jul 18, 2018
Staff was super friendly. Such a clean campground! The bathrooms we're so clean and the sound of the river was amazing!!
Jul 17, 2018
Love to tent by the river. Falling asleep to the sounds of the little rapids near 126 is heavenly and knowing that we are safe at KOA ...
Jul 17, 2018
Wonderful family destination
Jul 17, 2018
Total enjoyment!!
Jul 17, 2018
Place was very clean, and well maintained. Staff was very courteous, helping with anything. Grandkids loved pool and mountain stream, and all of the activities.
Jul 17, 2018
The campground is very nice in a great location there are a lot of things to do close by the campground. However our checking experience was horrible the lady that checked us in was somewhat rude and unhelpful. I reserved a full hook-up site and when we got there she said we did not. Come to find out there was a computer glitch. But the general manager Mark and Craig took very good care of us.
Jul 17, 2018
This is one of our favorite campgrounds, our third stay and we will be back.
Jul 17, 2018
We had a most enjoyable stay! Pool was clean! Campground was quiet! Everyone was very friendly and helpful! Our grandsons really enjoyed movie night, too!
Jul 17, 2018
This KOA was spectacular. The playground was especially nice for our grandchildren to play at. They had a blast. Our cabin was neat and clean and the air conditioning was fantastic!
Jul 17, 2018
Jul 16, 2018
Staff is really nice and helpful!! Beautiful area!!
Jul 16, 2018
Campsites way to close to each other many other campers complained as well. Showers and bathrooms mediocre, staff was friendly and helpful,
Jul 16, 2018
We camp at KOA Townsend 3 or 4 times a year! It is our family’s favorite getaway spot! The grounds are clean and well maintained! The staff are friendly and very helpful! We love Townsend KOA!
Jul 16, 2018
Absolutely fantastic - ultra clean bathrooms, great canopy of trees, super friendly staff and just so many things to do with the family in and around the campsite. We'll be coming back for sure!
Jul 16, 2018
It was a good site. The grounds in general are getting overgrown with weeds and baby trees. I spent some time pulling trees. No big deal, but the playground and some other common areas are a little overgrown. The swimming pool could use some attention. The water was cloudy, quite cloudy, and it seemed that there wasn't much cleaning going on. The staff is excellent, helpful and attentive.
Jul 16, 2018
We had a blast!!
Jul 16, 2018
Nicest locale we have stayed yet. We will be back.
Jul 16, 2018
Short but very good!!!
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
Beautiful location! Clean bathrooms. Pool was great. We arrived too late to tube down the river which was a shame. Definitely most people stay here for tubing. Couple of complaints- campground crammed too many cabins together, you're right on top of neighbor. Cabin dirty and damp but understandable since tubing area.
Jul 15, 2018
The Deluxe camper cabins on the river are awesome.
Jul 15, 2018
We always have a great time there. The camping cabin we stayed in this trip was missing the curtain on the door and ac did not cool the room. Would have been nice to have a screen door like some of the other camping cabins but other than that, was a good stay as usual. Looking forward to our next stay there!!!
Jul 15, 2018
This campground has everything you need for a wonderful stay! The river was there for a cool, refreshing swim or you could go to the pool and swim in warmer water. I enjoyed the Bible activities each evening and I love the area. We rented tubes one day and found the service to be great. This campground is right at the entrance to the Smoky Mountain park and is very nice!
Jul 15, 2018
Jul 15, 2018
Very helpful staff. We arrived late, they magically kept our reservation. �
Jul 14, 2018
We loved this campground. The WiFi is spotty, so if that is important to you keep that in mind. It wasn’t important to us so it wasn’t a big deal. We had a riverfront site and it was beautiful. Loved how close this campground is to the National Park. We were so close to everything we wanted to do there.
Jul 13, 2018
It is a wonderful campground along a wonderful river but it is a little pricey.
Jul 13, 2018
We come here every year for a week and have for 24 yrs but the prices are getting too expensive and after paying for the whole week they charged me an extra $35 for having 2 cars on my campsite! Also the rocks around the campsite need to be moved, there too close to where we park cars and I actually hit one and it scratched and dented my bumper If things doesn't change I may find somewhere else to
Jul 13, 2018
Great KOA...
Jul 13, 2018
Jul 13, 2018
We enjoyed our visit to this KOA for its proximity to the park entrance. Sites were however small and the restrooms were not very well maintained and/or clean.
Jul 13, 2018
We usually stay in another campground brand. This was our first KOA based on a recommendation from a friend. We were not disappointed. Campground was clean, well kept and the staff were very helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay there again.
Jul 12, 2018
Love this campground. Rates seem too expensive..Staff is great.. I have stayed here every summer for 20+ years..
Jul 12, 2018
always a great time at this campground
Jul 11, 2018
Have been staying there for years. Staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Its clean and well groomed with new improvements each year. However, with the large rate increase each year I'm not sure how much longer we can afford to vacation there on our fixed income. But overall its a great vacation spot especially for families with small children.
Jul 11, 2018
Beautiful campground! Very peaceful we will be back�
Jul 11, 2018
We had a great stay. Wish the site was bigger; however we got the last campsite. The staff was very courteous and helpful. We are new to camping and they helped us park our camper within 5 minutes. The park is very clean. Would definitely go again.
Jul 11, 2018
Jul 11, 2018
It would encourage more business types to have a faster wi-fi. We couldn't log in until the kids left. Not everyone has weekend days off.
Jul 11, 2018
Overall is was good, only drawbacks were, the campsite was small. Some of the staff members were rude (2) though majority were very nice and helpful.
Jul 10, 2018
Love the campground, staff, and management. However pricey and very limited WiFi service on campsites.
Jul 10, 2018
People were all very nice at checkin but attitudes appeared to change after they got your money
Jul 10, 2018
Campground was very clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jul 10, 2018
The. Cabin was very clean and the staff was very accommodating
Jul 10, 2018
The staff was really helpful and friendly. I’m a single mom with three kids and the staff led me to our campsite and guided me while I backed into the campsite. The campground was very clean and well kept. The river is beautiful and the campground was very peaceful. We will definitely come back every year.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award