Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 09, 2017
Nicest campground in the smokies. Has everything you need for any type of family. Will definitely be going back to this campground.
Jul 09, 2017
Beautiful campground. Great staff
Jul 09, 2017
Narrow entrance, tight sites. Directions were insufficient when coming from I-40. Plenty to do for kids.
Jul 09, 2017
Clean and fun!!
Jul 09, 2017
This campground is great and we love the location. We like the river sites. For the price, I think the sites are to close.
Jul 09, 2017
This was our first time staying at any KOA and we are extremely happy with the hosts, facilities, ammenities and general maintenance and upkeep of the campgrounds. Thank you for all of your hardworking and friendly staff!
Jul 08, 2017
Had a great stay.Clean camp ground and facilities.Great staff as well.
Jul 08, 2017
Very clean and fun place to stay! It's great for families with small children. So much for them to do without leaving the campground!
Jul 08, 2017
Everything was clean and the staff was wonderful! However, we do prefer a little bit more solitude than the KOA offered. This is a perfect place for families with small children though, something for everyone to do:)
Jul 08, 2017
This is the nicest KOA my family has stayed at! The campground is spotless , the staff is constantly cleaning bathrooms and sites. The location is perfect for a stay in smokies, right on the river for all day tubing fun and minutes from the park entrance. You will not be disappointed at this KOA. The staff is awesome and there was kid activities daily provided by a local church group.
Jul 08, 2017
Amazing location, great amenities, and large,clean showers and bathrooms! We've stayed here twice in the last two years. We will be back!
Jul 08, 2017
Great place an great people
Jul 08, 2017
We stayed in a Deluxe cabin w/bathroom, which was very clean. The staff were courteous and present in and around the site all day. Linens and towels were provided, just make sure you bring utensils with you if you are doing your own cooking. They provide the very nice gas grills and the fire pit was very nice with its own hinged grill top. We will definitely be back.
Jul 08, 2017
One of the nicest campgrounds and friendliest staff you will find!
Jul 08, 2017
Cabin was very nice and clean. A great place to be.
Jul 07, 2017
Please consider providing HD TV service, at least offer a few channels in HD. I realize this is cost; however, it is time to consider upgrading the signal. Thank you for considering this!
Jul 07, 2017
Clean, friendly, helpful staff, super play spaces for children. Look forward to visiting again!
Jul 07, 2017
We stay here every year and have for almost 20 years even before it was a KOA property.
Jul 06, 2017
Never disappointed at KOA in Townsend. Our granddaughter wouldn't want to go anywhere else and neither would we! Already made next year's reservation!!
Jul 06, 2017
Always fantastic!
Jul 06, 2017
This was my first stay in 6 years at the Townsend KOA. I was amazed how this park has made improvements. The sites are amazing with paver concrete sites and very nice fire pits. The pool was very clean. Tube rentals through the office for Cowboys Tubing was a nice touch. Cowboys ran a shuttle through the park for tubing. This was a very nice touch. We will make a return visit in 2018.
Jul 05, 2017
My favorite place to camp along the Little River. Campground is always spotless and the staff is helpful and friendly.
Jul 05, 2017
We stayed in DC12. Very comfortable. We enjoyed the water war, too. This is our annual family trip & we pick your campground every time. Will miss you 7/2018, but see you in 9/2017!
Jul 05, 2017
This was our first KOA stay and it was AMAZING! The staff guiding you to your parking place and helping you back in is priceless! Also we didn't have a cable cord long enough and they brought one right to our site. Staff was amazing!!!
Jul 05, 2017
Great place to stay, we come every year
Jul 05, 2017
Beautiful place, amazing people. We had a great time.
Jul 05, 2017
Clean facility with a friendly staff. We loved being right at the entrance to the National Park and only a few miles from Cades Cove.
Jul 05, 2017
Was great as usual
Jul 05, 2017
Best KOA! Every staff member gives 150% to campers, they were fantastic! Clean pool & restrooms, plenty to do, river access was awesome. We had a blast, will definitely be back!!
Jul 04, 2017
There used to be a port-o-potty near the river sites. You removed them and replaced with nice bathroom. Problem, nice bathroom is at the other side of the campground.Because of health issues, we are having to walk across campground 10 times a day. We could camp near the bathrooms, but we came to camp near the river. Yall put in a pump station where the portopots where. Why can't you put a bathroom
Jul 04, 2017
This was perfect for an almost 3 year old, two adults, & our malamute. We spent one day completely in the campground tubing, swimming in the pool, & on the playground. It's close enough to the tourist attractions without all the traffic and noise. This campground was clean until our last night when some guests arrived that were just plain animals who peed all over & didn't clean after themselves.
Jul 04, 2017
There was a ton of kid activities. They made a tie dyed t-shirt, when on a hay ride. The kids had a ton of fun there.
Jul 03, 2017
Nice clean campground! Friendly staff and close to the park. The only downsides... 5am trash pickup, really? Somebody needs to rework that contract. And, basketball after 9pm is quite annoying, perhaps a quiet time for hoops....
Jul 03, 2017
I love this campground we have been staying here for years, even before it was a KOA.
Jul 03, 2017
Was wonderful even with it being 4th of July weekend. The Grounds, bathrooms, and showers where always clean! We are coming back!
Jul 02, 2017
This KOA is always clean and beautiful and the staff is friendly and helpful!
Jul 02, 2017
Very clean. Friendly staff
Jul 02, 2017
Very friendly staff. Clean campground. Patio sites with beautiful stone fire pits. All around great experience
Jul 02, 2017
Had a great time. Wish we could have stayed lomger.
Jul 02, 2017
Campgrounds are beautiful thank you for the new bathrooms& kitchen area,enjoyed the church activities each nite we will see you in August,this is the best KOA we stay at.
Jul 02, 2017
If you are there for peace and quiet of the Great Smokies--forget it, if there for outdoor fun, tubing, visiting friends, etc. it is great. Sites are close and tight getting into.
Jul 02, 2017
Bathrooms were great but our location was by two roads and busy. Also try not to have a trash truck come at 5 in the morning and go around the whole place emptying trash containers
Jul 01, 2017
Excellent location Super friendly staff Grounds and sites well maintained Constantly saw staff out working
Jul 01, 2017
Good location.But advertise activities for kids (wagon rides, tie dying shirts) the only take place on Saturday, After reading website, thought activities were an everyday thing. "Free" wifi is awful. Don't count on it.
Jul 01, 2017
Another absolutely wonderful trip. This was our 2nd trip to Townsend KOA and it just got better. They have done a good many improvements to campsites in the off season. Just about all RV sites now offer full hookups. Friendly, helpful staff, extremely well kept facilities. Wifi was better this year.It was a little slow at times, but we streamed movies at others. Perfect location,perfect trip!
Jul 01, 2017
We stayed in one of the small cabins. We enjoyed the pool and the fact that we were right on the river. Great vacation. Can't wait to do it again.
Jun 30, 2017
Our family has been coming to the Townsend KOA for 12 years. It is one of our most favorite places to go to on vacation. It is so peaceful and beautiful!
Jun 30, 2017
I am usually more into primitive camping. This site even though they were completely booked up because of Father's Day weekend made it feel like no one was around me. Never seen a mosquito, camp site was raked, level and surprisingly big. Bathhouses were clean and tidy even so much my wife was impressed. All in all the only thing I didn't like was the price but I'm cheap. I would recommend it.
Jun 30, 2017
Great amenities and facility. The staff is very helpful and friendly. This is our favorite KOA by far. We will definitely be staying here again soon.
Jun 30, 2017
very beautiful scenery, clean well kept. great, spacious sites with privacy.plenty of amenities. easy access to river.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award