Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 17, 2018
Such a wonderful place for families. We loved the clean bath houses, hayrides, movies. My only complaint was the ridiculous amount of loud motor bikes that were speeding through the campground and behind our cabin, which took away from the peace and serenity of being on the river. So we plan to come back when the bikes are not there.
Jun 17, 2018
My kids love this campground with the pool, river, and playground. Lots to do. I would say the weekends are loud and people are up late. But by midnight it got quiet and we slept well. Overall a fun place to go. Great staff. Well managed.
Jun 16, 2018
Jun 16, 2018
Fabulous location!! Wonderful KOA. Very well organized, spotless, and responsive to campers needs, requests etc. General store and fudge shop are great. Our multiple visits have all been top-notch. We love this place!
Jun 16, 2018
Nice shaded tent site. Clean and friendly campground. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, we use KOAs every year on vacation and this was one of the best ones we have stayed at!!! Thanks for a great experience in the Smokies!!!
Jun 16, 2018
Very nice campground.... clean facilities and friendly and helpful staff
Jun 16, 2018
Staff very friendly. Campground and pool very well maintained.�
Jun 16, 2018
This is a great campground. Clean bathrooms, friendly staff! The location was great for us because we wanted to hike in the smokies. The trails were right there and the visitor center was nearby for us too.
Jun 15, 2018
It was great meeting the staff and enjoying all of the hospitality they offered. Going to sleep each night with just the sound of the river was the most relaxing time I have enjoyed in years.
Jun 15, 2018
We had a great time
Jun 15, 2018
My daughter and I were passing through the area and looking for a place close to Cades Cove to stay for the night. Camper cabin 9 was perfect for us. It was clean and we felt safe at all times. All of the staff members that we encountered were friendly and personable. My daughter really enjoyed the pool and the outdoor movie. This is our first time at a KOA but it will not be our last.
Jun 14, 2018
Cabin was clean and in order, great location right on the river. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jun 14, 2018
We have stayed here twice. The staff continue to impress. They constantly monitor for any needs or problems their customers may have. The campground itself is well presented - with landscaping that incomparable to any other place we have stayed. Clean - check. Activities - check. Well managed - check. Thank you for making our weekend adventures a success!
Jun 14, 2018
Always a wonderful time staying here. Will be back in a couple months!
Jun 13, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Great KOA. We had a patio site. The site was clean, level, and spacious. The staff was very helpful and kind. The kids working there were also friendly and helpful. They even took time to play with other kid campers to make them feel welcome. We will definitely return.
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
This was my first RV vacation, first time backing up an RV, and first time setting up the full connections...no sweat I felt like a pro because of the helpful people working to make my stay amazing. I was guided into my spot and walked through the connections hook up. The view from the deck of my spot overlooking the water was breathtaking. I truly loved my time here!!!
Jun 11, 2018
Jun 11, 2018
The employees were kind and accommodating. The sites were well cleaned and had nice fire pits as well as a table and chairs. We will definitely return!
Jun 11, 2018
It was already my favorite campground. This year's upgrades like simply adding a new bathroom, take it to a 5+.
Jun 11, 2018
Very family friendly, staff very professional. Absolutely beautiful park with plenty for children and adults to keep busy.
Jun 11, 2018
Two nights of much needed fun and relaxation. We felt bad because we had to leave during the church service at the pavilion next to our campsite. We felt like we were too noisy for them. In the future we will leave earlier to keep from interrupting that service. Loved the park and the staff was very helpful. Great weekend.
Jun 11, 2018
Staff was amazing and campgrounds were fantastic!
Jun 10, 2018
We stayed for a week and came in late night from 900 miles away. Site info hanging up, no problems! Loved campground.
Jun 10, 2018
Jun 10, 2018
This place was kid friendly and very clean and everyone is super nice and willing to help. We would definently come stay again!
Jun 10, 2018
Everything was clean! Everyone was friendly and helpful! GREAT PLACE to stay!
Jun 10, 2018
Amazing area. Lot of family fun
Jun 10, 2018
Very friendly Staff and clean kept campgrounds and Great scenery!!!��
Jun 10, 2018
No supervision at pool, kids ran wild even into the late evening. We were there when pocket bikes were running loud and late. Not your fault. Store was as expected, pricey. $8 for wood? went down the road and got the same for $5. Everything else the same as any convenience store. Candy and Ice cream place was great. Overall good stay, close to everything and extremely clean and helpful staff.
Jun 09, 2018
Very clean and well maintained campground! The staff is awesome! Shorty was very helpful since it was our first time using sewer and water hook-up. We will definitely be back!
Jun 09, 2018
Jun 09, 2018
Awesome staff and gorgeous camp ground
Jun 09, 2018
Jun 09, 2018
Absolutely perfect stay!! We enjoyed our deluxe patio site. Looking forward to our next trip to KOA Townsend.
Jun 08, 2018
Very friendly staff and clean camping facilities. Thank you!
Jun 08, 2018
We absolutely loved our stay. Beautiful, well kept facility. Could not ask for a friendlier more helpful staff. Already have a reservation for next year.
Jun 08, 2018
I had a great site. Level and shaded. The staff was wonderful .
Jun 08, 2018
Jun 07, 2018
Jun 07, 2018
Beautiful setting! We loved our cozy camping cabin.
Jun 07, 2018
We have so much fun at the Townsend KOA! It's clean and well-maintained. The staff is helpful and accommodating. The bathrooms are really nice. We like the BINGO and outdoor movie the campground does. We walked to Burger Master one day for lunch and went tubing with River Rats. It's a great way to spend a weekend.
Jun 06, 2018
Very relaxing place!!! My favorite campground!
Jun 06, 2018
We have stayed at the Townsend Koa for the past 8 years in a row and we love it. Most of the staff are very helpful and friendly but have a couple of run ins with a member of staff the past two years. We were instructed to pull in and get set up and then come back and register because it was busy. But within five minutes we had an older gray hair gentleman harassing us for parking passes.
Jun 06, 2018
It was simply beautiful and relaxing with everything in town just a walk down the path
Jun 05, 2018
We stayed in a camping cabin. It was all great although the mattress left a bit to be desired.
Jun 05, 2018
Perfect site, great playground, clean, and extremely friendly and helpful staff. I highly recommend staying here.
Jun 05, 2018
Very nice campground clean staff was very helpful and friendly
Jun 05, 2018
The staff were friendly, and wonderful in all ways. The campground was clean and well manicured. There were activities for families.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award