Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 25, 2018
The "MOST EXPENSIVE" campground that we've ever stayed at in the united states. We will not go back.
Jun 25, 2018
Not a bad campground in general, sites are a little small in my opinion, but well kept. Good location, and family friendly. An option to pick your actual site would help as I Certainly would never have chosen a spot right next to the basketball goal and Children’s pavilion. Understood that kids will play in a campground, but I wouldn’t choose to hear bouncing balls, movies, bingo, ect camping.
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 24, 2018
Kids liked it better than anywhere we’ve stayed. Lots to do, without the over commercialization of most places
Jun 24, 2018
2nd time here. Pros:Campsite clean and ready when we arrived. Staff escort to our site and help to park in the best spot for our travel trailer and our lot. Was on the creek as requested. Pool & playground enjoyed daily by our granddaughter. Bathhouse clean. Cons: Internet reception VERY poor & office staff not interested in my complaint until I persisted, Needed it for work, so a problem for me!
Jun 24, 2018
Great shady spot..crowded but quiet. Great stay!
Jun 24, 2018
Only negative. WiFiis the pits. Very slow and trouble with connectivity throughout campground. It would start working the go away.
Jun 23, 2018
The campground & staff were perfect! We cut our stay from 4 to 2 days due to unruly campers beside us. Management made it right by refunding us for the 2 nights. We will return & recommend this campground to others! Thank you for taking care of us!
Jun 22, 2018
Jun 22, 2018
We loved the campgrounds amenities, and enjoyed our cabin situated by the creek. However, the cabin's exterior door was very dirty (hand prints) upon our arrival. The toilet and shower we're not as clean as they should have been. (Found hair in the shower and a few specks of something on the toilet). Once I cleaned up those areas we had a lovely time.
Jun 22, 2018
Great place. Very clean and beautiful location!
Jun 22, 2018
We love this KOA! Some of our family has been going there for years; now that we’ve been, I understand why!! We’ve already booked for next year! The property is so well maintained and the riverfront campsites are our favorite! This is a great family destination!!
Jun 21, 2018
Jun 21, 2018
Jun 21, 2018
We always bring our camper but this time we stayed in one of your camping cabins.It was good.You probably need to keep a check on the batteries in the remotes and little flashlight on keyring.We didn't use the air conditioner much.It was very loud and didn't cool well.But all in all it was a good stay.I wouldn't hesitate to stay in one again.Staff is always very helpful and nice.We will be back!
Jun 20, 2018
We had an absolutely wonderful stay! So peaceful! Great for families with the Little River running through for all day lazy river relaxation! Right down the road from Cades Cove! Perfect location- wish we stayed longer!
Jun 20, 2018
We had a great stay but we felt the site we were in was a little small for our camper. It was our 1st time ever camping there so I didn't realize there are bigger spots. We were disappointed because we paid for a full hook up site & the sewer piper was up a little higher then the opening for our tank. Other then that it's a nice camp ground & the staff was very friendly.
Jun 20, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
absolutely loved it. Booked for the week after 4th of July for 2019
Jun 19, 2018
Wonderful experience, from staff, grounds, bath houses, convenience store, delivery of ice and fire wood to camp site, escort to site, assistance in backing into site and even picking up trash that careless inconsiderate ignorant campers would leave behind in the common areas. Great place!
Jun 19, 2018
It was great and the kids loved it, however, sleeping in a tent while you have neighbors slamming car doors approximately 20 to 30 times until 1 to 2 am makes it an unpleasant night and many walking in your camping are just to get to the river, leaving their stuff at your camping area was also disappointing. Besides that, everyone was friendly and welcoming and the place was well kept.
Jun 19, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
Very clean. Some of the staff would walk by or drive by on their cart and not speak. Recommendation for the cabin is to include plates and cutlery.
Jun 19, 2018
Jun 19, 2018
Love camping here! The only thing I think they could improve on is possibly install a Hot Tub!
Jun 19, 2018
We loved the location and proximity to GSMNP. Our cabin was clean and perfect. Bring a comforter of your own because the cabins only have one super thin one per bed.
Jun 18, 2018
Townsend KOA is fantastic! The staff was friendly and incredibly helpful. The campground was clean and lovely. The showers! Best campground showers I've seen. And that river! I really can't wait to do it again. Thanks, Townsend KOA, for a great vacation!
Jun 18, 2018
Great fathers day weekend. Staff is always wonderful and helped me with setting up my TV outside. Best place to stay in Townsed by far.
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Office personal very nice. Did not have cell phone service at our cabin. Could not ride our battery operated Cricket on the grounds.. Not enough accessible electric outlets in cabin.
Jun 18, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
Truly enjoyed my tent site by the river! A beautiful location and a well run campground! Every convenience right at your fingertips!
Jun 17, 2018
Everything was great from the people to the property to the amenities will definitely stay again
Jun 17, 2018
Jun 17, 2018
Super friendly and helpful Staff. Very Family oriented place to camp. Activities for Kids. Great playground. Awesome reciprocal agreement with the river raft company next door.
Jun 17, 2018
This is the first time I've stayed at a KOA. I usually camp in State Parks. This place was fantastic. It's so close to the park and other amenities! The bathroom and showers were extremely clean, which is huge. If you have kids, there is a nice play area. Another small touch that was great was the wood chips at the tent sites. Made for extra soft sleeping. I've already recommended to friends.
Jun 17, 2018
Such a wonderful place for families. We loved the clean bath houses, hayrides, movies. My only complaint was the ridiculous amount of loud motor bikes that were speeding through the campground and behind our cabin, which took away from the peace and serenity of being on the river. So we plan to come back when the bikes are not there.
Jun 17, 2018
My kids love this campground with the pool, river, and playground. Lots to do. I would say the weekends are loud and people are up late. But by midnight it got quiet and we slept well. Overall a fun place to go. Great staff. Well managed.
Jun 16, 2018
Jun 16, 2018
Fabulous location!! Wonderful KOA. Very well organized, spotless, and responsive to campers needs, requests etc. General store and fudge shop are great. Our multiple visits have all been top-notch. We love this place!
Jun 16, 2018
Nice shaded tent site. Clean and friendly campground. Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, we use KOAs every year on vacation and this was one of the best ones we have stayed at!!! Thanks for a great experience in the Smokies!!!
Jun 16, 2018
Very nice campground.... clean facilities and friendly and helpful staff
Jun 16, 2018
Staff very friendly. Campground and pool very well maintained.�
Jun 16, 2018
This is a great campground. Clean bathrooms, friendly staff! The location was great for us because we wanted to hike in the smokies. The trails were right there and the visitor center was nearby for us too.
Jun 15, 2018
It was great meeting the staff and enjoying all of the hospitality they offered. Going to sleep each night with just the sound of the river was the most relaxing time I have enjoyed in years.
Jun 15, 2018
We had a great time
Jun 15, 2018
My daughter and I were passing through the area and looking for a place close to Cades Cove to stay for the night. Camper cabin 9 was perfect for us. It was clean and we felt safe at all times. All of the staff members that we encountered were friendly and personable. My daughter really enjoyed the pool and the outdoor movie. This is our first time at a KOA but it will not be our last.
Jun 14, 2018
Cabin was clean and in order, great location right on the river. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Jun 14, 2018
We have stayed here twice. The staff continue to impress. They constantly monitor for any needs or problems their customers may have. The campground itself is well presented - with landscaping that incomparable to any other place we have stayed. Clean - check. Activities - check. Well managed - check. Thank you for making our weekend adventures a success!
Jun 14, 2018
Always a wonderful time staying here. Will be back in a couple months!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award