Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 23, 2017
This was our first stay at a KOA campground. We so appreciated the employees who helped us navigate into our spot and were always available and visible to answer questions. The facilities are very nice. My only complaint is that the spots are too close together and there is very little privacy. Maybe this is typical for KOA, but I prefer state and federal parks that give me a little more room!
Oct 23, 2017
The campground was clean, nice amenities, and easy to move around in. Wonderful stay!
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 23, 2017
Great stay. Helpful people. Small site.
Oct 23, 2017
This is our third stay at the Townsend KOA. Every time we go we have a wonderful time. The staff is friendly and helpful, the campsites are level, and the campground has plenty to do for the kids.
Oct 23, 2017
We loved the Smokies! KOA access off the Hwy. was short and difficult to maneuver. The camp store was very expensive and we felt we were taken advantage of.
Oct 23, 2017
We have stayed at this campground for years, on and off. It is a great campground for kids. Pool, river for tubing and lots of kids activities. I would say we have been there 15 times. Every time we go there has been more improvements made. Sites are fairly close together as they are in most commercial campgrounds. Close to Cade's Cove and the loop. It is a great spot in a quiet part of mountains.
Oct 23, 2017
Very clean and so friendly !!! Loved it!!
Oct 23, 2017
Stayed in travel trailer for 3 days. Very nice staff and very helpful and friendly. Have already booked another stay.
Oct 23, 2017
Park personnel were especially friendly and helpful. The sites were clean and well kept. We are planning on coming back soon.
Oct 23, 2017
First time camping with our new rv camper. Camped on the river sight 78 being a newby did not know what to expect all I can say is awesome!From the moment we drove in what a great staff can't remember all the names but they ROCK!Looking forward too our next trip there in July.Thanks again
Oct 23, 2017
Very friendly staff. The gentleman who helped us back in the site was very helpful. Good to see folks take pride in keeping the campground very clean from one end to the other. Really enjoyed our late evening fires in the pit. You have a great facility and we hope to return soon. Thanks for all you do.
Oct 22, 2017
My wife, dogs & I just spent 4 days with you on a tent site. I can't think of a thing that could have made it better. The restrooms & showers were always clean and well maintained as were the grounds in general. You have a beautiful facility and a great staff.
Oct 22, 2017
Site and bathrooms were very nice! All staff were very friendly!
Oct 22, 2017
We loved this KOA! Our site backed up to the river and was so close to the national park. Our kids loved the playground! We were going to make it about 15 minutes after closing and the staff stayed to help us back in. We couldn't have done it without their help! Thanks for a great visit...we can't wait to come back!!
Oct 22, 2017
The staff was wonderful, cabins and bathrooms immaculate, campgrounds are gorgeous... Even my three teenagers were impressed and they're definitely not used to "camping" (we stayed in a no bathroom cabin.) They requested that we stay at this KOA again next year!
Oct 21, 2017
Loved the cabin !!!
Oct 21, 2017
Oct 21, 2017
Oct 21, 2017
Oct 20, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Neat and clean grounds. Good central location to sites and things to do.
Oct 20, 2017
Staff was awesome! The campground was outstanding!! Well run KOA. Hats off to the management and staff. Thanks for a great stay!!!
Oct 20, 2017
Overall it was a good experience - what you'd expect with KOA, As others have mentioned, it was very clean. The only thing is that there was no recycling (not KOA's fault - it was not available in the state as we were told) so we brought our recyclables home. And it was a bit too big and got quite crowded (all spots were taken) the last couple days that we were there. Still a great experience!
Oct 20, 2017
Great place! Close to Little River and Nat Park
Oct 20, 2017
Very clean very friendly and the location is great! Iâm a repeat camper and will be back!
Oct 20, 2017
Love this campground! Have been coming here for 30+ years!
Oct 18, 2017
A Wonderful Relaxing and Fun filled trip for the whole family. The bathrooms are super clean and the camp site is beautiful. The kids loved the playground and the pool.
Oct 18, 2017
Great campground with awesome staff and amenity. Cades Cove is one of our favorite destinations. We already made reservations for next year. Thanks.
Oct 18, 2017
Fantastic time! Site was on the river (#80) and while not a huge site width-wise, because of the way the sites are on an angle, you are not right next to your neighbor. Campground was very clean and quiet. My only complaint was the Wifi connection. Couldn't get a signal over half the time and when I did have a signal, it was very weak. Had to walk up by the pool to make a phone call. Not Cool!
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
Beautiful park. The employees were very friendly and informative. The laundry facility was clean and neat. We would stay there again.
Oct 18, 2017
We enjoyed our weekend camping on the river. It was a peaceful and relaxing trip,
Oct 18, 2017
J'ai bien aimé l'expérience, mais j'ai trouvé très onéreux. J'ai apprécié le Wifi mais le câble TV ne fonctionnes it pas bien. Tout est très propre et impeccable et les employés très gentils
Oct 17, 2017
We love our stay at KOA in Townsend. We have been vacationing there for at least 15 years. We go to know the owners before it was KOA. We have gotten to know Mark & Samantha and some of the camp workers. KOA in Townsend has the best & most friendly workers in the USA. We feel right at home during the month we visit.
Oct 17, 2017
Wonderful! The staff is outstanding and the campground is emmaculate! We stayed at site 12 with the river view. We have already made reservations for October 2018. Canât wait to go back. ð
Oct 17, 2017
Love area it is not overly commercialized! Love the campsite! Only item I would change is the beds in the cabins need to be where nothing can get under the beds.When leaving I always check to make sure we didn't leave anything under the bed it was dirty and the bed covering was coming down. One concern is the cost. We payed 189.97 for one night is there any discounts or times better on price?
Oct 17, 2017
Fantastic, well maintained campground very close to Smoky Mountain national park. Sites were wooded and comfortable, and we had a beautiful patio, table, chairs and a stone fire pit. Staff were friendly and courteous. "Shorty" or Mike escorted me to my site and helped me park with ease! One of the nicest KOA's we've stayed at. My only suggestion would be better coffee at the store/gas station.
Oct 17, 2017
I loved it! The only "problem" was that there were no outlets available in the back bedroom.
Oct 17, 2017
Beautiful place, very friendly people and very clean facilities.
Oct 17, 2017
Employees were exceptionally helpful and nice. Campground was clean and well maintained.
Oct 16, 2017
We come to this campground every year in October with about 20 different people. We usually get several campsites and several cabins as well. We love the campground but our only disappointment is in the lack of activities offered for kids. Several years ago they used to offer activities like tie-dye T-shirts, bingo, movie night, etc. It seems that all of those have been dropped.
Oct 16, 2017
We had a wonderful time!!
Oct 16, 2017
It was great had big lots nice patio area just wish river lots were as big as these
Oct 16, 2017
The employees are very nice and the bathrooms were clean. Hated the sound of blowers blowing off sites from 8am until early afternoon. It ruined the peacefulness of our breakfast and lunch!!
Oct 16, 2017
Very Nice, clean, organized, and quiet campground. You pull into the campground and was greeted by a worker while still in my truck, and had someone show me to my campsite. He then helped me back in my site, Awesome! We stayed at the back-in concrete river site which was very tight. Will stay again!
Oct 16, 2017
Good service and a very nice camping site.
Oct 16, 2017
The best KOA
Oct 16, 2017
Enjoyed my stay. Staff is excellent. My campsite was overpriced for the size of the site, maybe 5 feet from awning to the next site's slide. Riverfront and premium sites looked to be much larger. Facilities, grounds, staff are outstanding.
Oct 16, 2017
Awesome, campground is great, beautiful landscaping, great bath houses, exceptional staff, everything gets 10's
Oct 16, 2017
It was a great experience beautiful place
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award