Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 19, 2017
very relaxing vacation. enjoyed church service.
Jul 19, 2017
Very disappointed, no posting anywhere about no golf carts allowed, dogs off leash across from us and barkers, noise from same site past 10:00, small little scooters (gas) running thru park, restrooms not cleaned or stocked as often as they should be having ample # of camp workers.
Jul 18, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
Great place. We stayed 6 days and really enjoyed it.
Jul 18, 2017
Everyone there was very helpful.
Jul 18, 2017
Plenty of staff and they are all wearing smiles and ready to help at anytime. They assist you in backing in your site and even deliver fire wood and ice. Extremely clean
Jul 17, 2017
Would have given a 10 and 5 stars if I felt good about the price, which keeps going up more each year.
Jul 17, 2017
Great stay again.Other than my 2 yr old grandson got stung by wasp on playground.Seems they're bad there a lot and needs constant attn. for the kids.And we had a yellow jacket nest in the holly at the base of the big tree at end of site 60.Maybe yellow jacket traps thru-out the grounds.
Jul 17, 2017
The staff were very attentive and always around if we needed something. The kids really enjoyed the campground and basketball area. Great campground.
Jul 17, 2017
Please improve the wifi Great staff Amazing facilities a
Jul 17, 2017
Fantastic stay! The campsite on the river was perfect! From exploring to the campfire to all the campground provided, my 5 year had a great time!
Jul 17, 2017
very nice, the staff are very friendly. I think it could use a little clean up. I wish there was more concrete for kids bikes
Jul 17, 2017
The staff is very helpful esp when you are arriving. Very good at assisting with positioning the RV. Campground is very clean.
Jul 17, 2017
Excellent campground, it was our 1st time and we throughly enjoyed it. So peaceful and the staff was super friendly!
Jul 17, 2017
We had a party of 11 people stay at the KOA Townsend and had an extremely amazing weekend. We were able to book tent sites right next to each other and had to leave a little later than the actual check-out time and were not charged for being late. They have amazing amenities and wonderful staff. They offered family friendly activities during the day and evenings. We will definitely be returning!!
Jul 17, 2017
Love it there wouldn't stay anywhere else. Now that they have church groups coming in for kids and adults it's even better.
Jul 17, 2017
Great campground especially if you have kids. Staff nice and helpful. Bathrooms and show ers could be better. Suggestion - check them couple times daily cause there's lots of people using them.
Jul 17, 2017
We had a wonderful time! The campground was so nice, updated, and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. We will definitely return!
Jul 16, 2017
KOA Townsend is an awesome camp ground. The bathrooms are super clean. The shower facilities are clean and safe. The cabins on the river are great for families with kids that want to play in the river. I would highly recommend staying here. We we here a week and didn't want to leave!!
Jul 16, 2017
Great experience! Would go back
Jul 16, 2017
It was our second stay in two years. So amazing once again we scheduled our third stay before we left. Fantastic staff!
Jul 15, 2017
Our cabin was very clean #9 and was cool when we entered. Everyone was very friendly and we love coming here.
Jul 14, 2017
Great campground, very clean! Some sites are close to highway and can be a bit noisier than back by the river. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful, including the store up the hill. I would stay here again!
Jul 14, 2017
Staff wasn't really friendly at all. Got to the campsite and only to find out they put us between two families with barking dogs that barked all day & night and nothing was done. Than at 2 am a truck came through twice loud as can be still nothing. Only pretty clean restrooms.
Jul 13, 2017
I bring my four grandchildren every summer. It has become one of our fun annual times together. It is such a nice clean place and the kids love it! The pool, the craft time in the mornings, the family time each night, the hayride, and movie night make for happy memories. Of course the clean bathrooms with hot showers is an added bonus as well. We look forward to more happy times here at KOA.
Jul 13, 2017
It was great
Jul 13, 2017
I loved the activites for the kids and family..the cabins are nice. The service excellent
Jul 13, 2017
The campground is always in great shape and the staff is friendly and helpful! This was my fifth year hosting #CAMPGigi and my kids and I love it! Thank you again for the wonderful memories!
Jul 12, 2017
Deluxe cabins over priced
Jul 12, 2017
Great site! Very clean!
Jul 12, 2017
We had tent site 124/125 by the river. It was beautiful. we did have a lot of people go to the water thru our site but u just have to deal with it. The staff was very helpful. We worked with them on these reservations for 6 months to plan this perfect weekend. The bathrooms and showers were nice too. Loved the bingo night And movie night. Deff will recommend and want to stay again in the future.
Jul 12, 2017
everything was great but be warned if you stay at tent site 100...there is NO shade...otherwise it's a great site and a great campground. Best hosts you will evr meet!
Jul 12, 2017
Great camp
Jul 11, 2017
In the opinion of this family, the Townsend KOA sets the standard for a great campground. Exceptional in every regard.
Jul 11, 2017
Good
Jul 11, 2017
The campsite is too crowded. Specifically, site 38 is wedged in between two other sites that provide little privacy when outdoors. I also was surprised to find no charcoal grill and only a shallow fire bowl for amenities. The bathrooms were clean and the private shower stalls were a nice feature. The pool was nice and the river access was good.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
The staff here is very friendly. This is a wonderful campground!
Jul 11, 2017
great people at the location we stayed in clean place and helpful people there. enjoyed staying there
Jul 10, 2017
We have been to this KOA at least 10 times and have loved each and every time! Staff is amazing and so helpful. Location is absolutely gorgeous! HIGHLY RECOMMEND!!!!
Jul 10, 2017
Game room needs to be updated. Everything else great, especially the staff.
Jul 10, 2017
This is a good campground but the staff seems a bit overwhelmed at times. I was billed for someone else's purchase and it took them over 30min to "correct" the error and I still don't see the credit back on my visa (5 days later). On a positive note: bathroom and shower stalls were in great condition.
Jul 10, 2017
This is a great place to stay. We love it. Right on the river it is great. It is clean and the staff are very friendly! We will be going back!!!
Jul 10, 2017
Great location, quiet and feels like camping! Grounds very well kept. Highly recommend going here.
Jul 10, 2017
Very nice campground, clean. very expensive, should not charge for each adult or each vehicle.
Jul 10, 2017
Another great weekend at the Townsend KOA. My camping friends and I agree if we had to commit to one campground, this would be the place. It's clean, the KOA staff is very helpful, the sites are spacious and level, and the kids have a ball at the pool, in the river, playing basketball, and riding bikes.
Jul 10, 2017
Wonderful!! Very clean! Great activities! Helpful staff! Will be back!
Jul 10, 2017
We stayed in a tent site and had a wonderful time! The campsite was clean and so well kept. Every staff member we saw was friendly and more then ready to help if we needed anything. All in all it was a wonderful stay here!
Jul 10, 2017
wonderfull, thank you
Jul 10, 2017
We like the staff.they help you put your camper in the right spot. They are very friendly. Hay rides,bingo, swimming,bike riding,grilling,tubing. Lots of fun.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award