Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2018
Amazing stay!!! All staff was friendly and always greeted you. The campground was peaceful and relaxing.
Aug 19, 2018
Absolutely PERFECT! They were so nice and friendly, the grounds were super nice and clean. We had a site on the river and it was by far the coolest site we have stayed in. My 4 and 8 year old loved very second of our stay.
Aug 18, 2018
We have stayed here many times over the years. It’s a lovely campground. They continue to improve it every year! It’s close to National Park which makes it a must stay destination! We have already booked for next year.
Aug 18, 2018
This was the nicest camp site we have ever had at a KOA. We really enjoyed our time there and hope to be back.
Aug 18, 2018
Aug 17, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Pros : Smokey Mountian KOA is always a great time. The staff is top notch especially tha girls in the office and Adam with a smile always on his face and eager to help everyone. Cons: WiFi is usually challenging and customers cannot be put on a waiting list for cancellations anymore since changing to a new system. The Lewis Family has been coming for over 20 yrs. and we camp nowhere else.
Aug 16, 2018
We had a wonderful time. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful and nice
Aug 16, 2018
Had a great stay. Staff was helpfull and very kind. Restrooms were very clean.
Aug 16, 2018
very helpful all around our needs
Aug 16, 2018
Aug 16, 2018
Loved our stay. Kids had alot of fun. The cabin was perfect.Friendly staff. We will be back again.Thank you.
Aug 15, 2018
Fantastic ad always!!
Aug 15, 2018
We loved everything about this KOA. It was clean, nice and well kept. The only issue we had was that we were in a deluxe cabin and we couldn't rely on a warm shower, mostly the water in the shower was cold.
Aug 15, 2018
Large campground with plenty of room. Only negative was volume of traffic that we encountered on our road, which was a dead end street. Too many people traveled to our cabin only to have to turn around, which took away from our otherwise peaceful location. Maybe installing a sign informing of the dead end?
Aug 15, 2018
THE CABIN WAS VERY CLEAN SO WAS THE CAMPGROUND ITSELF. VERY FAMILY ORIENTED AND THE STAFF WAS AMAZING. CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT STAY
Aug 15, 2018
My wife was injured while tubing and when i asked for help,no one wanted to help or acted like they were concerned to help, will not camp there again,very disappointed.
Aug 15, 2018
My wife and I stayed for 2 nights in August camped with our 2 dogs did some hiking and relaxing at our camping site by the river. We plan to come back soon. Very Quiet at night!!
Aug 14, 2018
Great campground and great location.
Aug 14, 2018
Great Time! Very Friendly. Nicely kept facility.
Aug 14, 2018
Our stay was great!! We were a little surprised at the amount of guests walking around with open containers. We just feel like if they want to drink that is fine just wish they were in unmarked containers ecspecially with the amount of children wandering around.
Aug 14, 2018
RV site was way too small. Our awning was less than 5 ft from our neighbor's RV. Otherwise, scenic, wooded park on the river. Lots of amenities.
Aug 14, 2018
The trip was way better then I anticipated it to be. Originally booked it as just a quiet get away wasn’t too sure what to do in the area. But as soon as I checked it the staff at the reception help us out right away and we had the weekend of our lives
Aug 14, 2018
We liked the neighborhood and all of our neighbors, got lucky with that I suppose. Back in site up to the river was great! Kids loved it, I enjoyed it too. Got to watch people tubing while we were staying cool wading in the water. Staff was friendly, and will stay here again if in the area.
Aug 13, 2018
This camper comment has been removed by KOA because it contained inappropriate content.
Aug 13, 2018
As always, our favorite place to camp!
Aug 13, 2018
It truly is the quiet side of the Smokies. Campground was peaceful and clean. Hardly any traffic and a nice quiet river nearby. Hours of the swimming pool was good. Nice showers and friendly people. Great access to National Park and Cades Cove. New Mexican restaurant and IGA nearby. We will come back!
Aug 13, 2018
From the minute we arrived to the time we left, everything was wonderful. We have already made our reservations for next year. Everyone on staff was very friendly and helpful. We had spot 55, which had a beautiful stone patio and fire-pit. Bathhouse was really nice! Our daughter had plenty to do and made a lot of friends. The location is great as well. Thank you Townsend /Great Smokies KOA!
Aug 13, 2018
We had a fabulous time. Cabin was great and couldn’t ask for a better location! Absolutely beautiful!
Aug 13, 2018
We stay here twice a year and have yet to have a bad experience.
Aug 13, 2018
Excellent campground! The facilities are very clean and maintained. Staff was helpful and friendly. We had a great stay!
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
Had a great time...staff is amazing.
Aug 13, 2018
Sites way to close!! The site was well maintained but the sites not along the river were way too close. It was such a tight fit that my awening was almost touching the guy next to me; ad to move bushes & step on his patio to get to rear storage. Could not walk around slideout to my H2O, elec., & STG w/out stepping on the other neighbors patio. Firepit not useable because of parking.
Aug 13, 2018
Aug 13, 2018
As always, we had an amazing visit. We came from Michigan, our car broke down, and we had to extend our stay another night....koa Townsend’s staff was very accommodating. We really enjoyed tubing too! Thank you for another great vacation. Looking forward to our next visit!! -love, The DeJong Family.
Aug 12, 2018
Small campground with adequate facilities (clean bath house, restrooms, etc.) Not very many riverside sites that will accommodate campers larger than a pop-up or small travel trailer though. During our stay, there were LOTS of unattended children running around the campground & riding bikes on the roads. 1 particularly rude KOA employee almost ruined our whole stay but everyone else was PLEASANT
Aug 12, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
We love this campground! The sites are great, especially the ones along the creek. The staff is great and the location isn’t perfect!
Aug 11, 2018
Loved this campground! Staff and facilities were great! Great service with ice and wood delivery. Trash pickup is a bonus!!
Aug 11, 2018
We had a beautiful site, with many great amenities. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful! We were extremely impressed with Adam. His personality was top notch!
Aug 11, 2018
We have traveled here from Michigan 3 times in the last year. We absolutely love this place!! It’s so well maintained, has gorgeous views and the staff treat us like family�ϋ� Can’t wait to come back!!
Aug 11, 2018
Loved the woodsy feeling of the campground .Definitely a camp feeling instead of most campgrounds that are just a parking lot. We also enjoyed the river tubing.
Aug 11, 2018
Very helpful staff overall. Men’s bathroom floor dirty as were toilets. Lots of people riding around the park in golf carts doing various things, and attending to bathroom cleanliness is vitally important. I do not know about the women’s bathroom. Difficult to navigate around the park without good directional signs. The gravel roads look like the individual sites.
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 11, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
What a great campground! We had a riverfront camper cabin and loved it! The facilities were well kept, the showers were great, the whole campground was really clean and nice. We plan on coming here again for sure...we had a wonderful time and the folks who ran the place were fantastic as well. The river was so nice to be beside, we loved to hear it and spent lots of time just enjoying the view
Aug 10, 2018
Aug 10, 2018
Very clean friendly staff close to the smokies and a must to raft down the smokies
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award