Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 23, 2018
Had a wonderful time. Location was great right on the Little River. Plenty for kids to do. Only complaint was campfire smoke. Way too much due to the way the grounds are set up.
Jul 23, 2018
Jul 23, 2018
Cabin was clean and pleasant. We had a great experience.
Jul 23, 2018
we were in DC17 to start our vacation and had to switch to a different cabin for the remainder of the stay. i have handicap disabilities and the cabin we went to was not handicap friendly. I left the vacation in pain from having to go up and down stairs, having to bend up and down to the tiny refrigerator, and not to mention the shower and bathroom area!!!!! And my sister fell down the stairs!!!!
Jul 23, 2018
Everything was perfect! Very friendly and helpful staff. I knew my kids would like it but 2 hours in they saying how happy they were to be there. Our last day they were already requesting to come back! I'd say that's a win!
Jul 23, 2018
Easy access to camp sites, friendly staff. Close proximity to showers, river, store, playground and dog play area.
Jul 23, 2018
Despite the rain we had a wonderful stay at KOA townsend. Our daughter loved all the activities they had for kids. The campground and facilities were in top shape and all the faculty were great to work with. A+
Jul 23, 2018
Jul 23, 2018
Friendly staff from reservation, check in through check out. The cabin on the river was lovely and the kids enjoyed the playground, pool and river. Many amenities and close to the National Park and family friendly hikes. Townsend visitor center just up the road is a great place for maps, books and souvenirs too.
Jul 23, 2018
Jul 22, 2018
Jul 22, 2018
We have been staying at the KOA/Townsend for 19 years, which was before it became a KOA Campground. We love cabin # 7. We had a fantastic vacation this year. We already made reservations for next year.
Jul 22, 2018
Jul 22, 2018
Jul 22, 2018
Great time , every time.
Jul 22, 2018
Great park! Clean, friendly, quiet, great gift/candy shop! Backup took about 30 seconds with the expert guidance! Nice walking path across street and just a beautiful area! Huzzah KOA!
Jul 22, 2018
Jul 22, 2018
Loved the view by the river and tubing! Staff was very nice.
Jul 21, 2018
Jul 21, 2018
Clean, safe, relaxing. Made reservations for next year.
Jul 21, 2018
Friendly staff and beautiful campsites.
Jul 21, 2018
Jul 21, 2018
Most beautiful campgrounds we've ever stayed at! Mark and his team always go above and beyond. River rose quickly one morning, and the team always kept us notified and safe. Cannot recommend this campground enough!!!
Jul 21, 2018
Really unnecessary leaf blowing at all hours. Hard to enjoy the outdoors with that constant whirring sound. Why so worried about leaves? Also church led activities in the pavilion don't need a mega phone. It's disturbing and annoying to those not participating. And $8 for wet firewood is ridiculous. The sites were nice though.
Jul 21, 2018
Jul 21, 2018
This was my third time at this campground. Every June I meet me grandchildren there and we have an awesome time together. The tubing on the river is so much fun! I always say at 72 yrs I am the oldest person tubing! I have reservations for next June!
Jul 21, 2018
Very nice, clean campground with good amenities. Only negative was the too small laundromat, which is really a minor issue. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 21, 2018
One of our favorite campgrounds! The staff is top notch, Dominique is especially helpful. We will be back
Jul 21, 2018
Everything about our stay was very good with one exception. The wireless internet connectivity is pathetically bad. For both business and personal reasons, it is important to us to be able to have access to the internet. This is a very important issue with us, and it is also a very easy problem for you to fix. We hope you do. Thank you.
Jul 21, 2018
Fantastic location by the river! Great bath house, roomy RV sites, good playground.
Jul 21, 2018
Had a great stay. Everything is clean and well kept.
Jul 21, 2018
Jul 21, 2018
It’s a Beautiful Campground !! Lots of shade and very peaceful. Lots of things to do that are close, tubing, swimming pool, Bingo and lots of other things just in the campground then there are Restaurants close from Burgers to Steaks. Wonderful Place !! Definitely a Do Over !!!!
Jul 20, 2018
Jul 20, 2018
We stayed in a deluxe cabin and I was shocked at how clean it was! We had a wonderful visit. You can’t beat the location just outside the entrance to the Smokey Mountain National Park. Tubing is available right from the campground, as well. It was so much fun! We would definitely return.
Jul 20, 2018
Beautiful campground can’t wait to come back!!!!
Jul 20, 2018
Jul 20, 2018
Loved all the shade and being right by the river. The concrete patio was very nice too. The pool and playground were great also!
Jul 20, 2018
We had a good time overall !! There are a few things that could’ve been better. The fire pit filled up with water after a rain and there’s no way to drain the water to build a new fire. The coffee pot didn’t work properly and we had no idea there was a family night that we could’ve checked it until we saw it incidentally on a walk out last night. Maybe tell guest when they arrive of ev
Jul 19, 2018
It was more than we ever imagined! The river was awesome and Townsend is so close to everything. We were able to spend time in Pigon Forge, Gatlinburg, and drive to Cade’s Cove and Clingmans Dome. We explored Cherokee also when we rented A Jeep for our drives. What a blast. The staff at KOA were friendly and very helpful, and the grounds were well maintained. Awesome family night! Thanks!
Jul 19, 2018
Jul 18, 2018
We are repeat customers and have always enjoyed our stays At KOA. We were very disappointed by a staff member who yelled at our children for riding their bikes in the grass of the pavilion area. I was watching our kids and witnessed the interaction. He was red faced, raising his voice and yelling at them not to ride their bikes in the grass. This frightened our kids. Staff should be friendly.
Jul 18, 2018
We stayed at a campsite by the river. The river was beautiful, but children and adults were walking through our campsite to access the river during our entire stay. Since there is already a lack of privacy at the sites it would be nice if the campground made efforts to let campers know not to walk through campsites and to use the common access point for the river.
Jul 18, 2018
Jul 18, 2018
Beautiful campground right on the river. Facilities were clean and they had activities each night for campers. I highly recommend this campground. Had a great time
Jul 18, 2018
Staff was super friendly. Such a clean campground! The bathrooms we're so clean and the sound of the river was amazing!!
Jul 17, 2018
Love to tent by the river. Falling asleep to the sounds of the little rapids near 126 is heavenly and knowing that we are safe at KOA ...
Jul 17, 2018
Wonderful family destination
Jul 17, 2018
Total enjoyment!!
Jul 17, 2018
Place was very clean, and well maintained. Staff was very courteous, helping with anything. Grandkids loved pool and mountain stream, and all of the activities.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award