Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email This Campground

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 07, 2018
Love camping at this KOA. Great staff!
Jul 07, 2018
Beautiful scenery, quiet, lots to do in and near campground, very friendly staff. We plan to stay again.
Jul 07, 2018
My family had a wonderful stay. One recommendation I would make is add more amenities to your deluxe cabins... more hooks on the walls, perhaps another small table, shelf for toiletries in the bath, a floor lamp, or a table lamp in the kitchen. Your staff is second to none. Everyone is very friendly and courteous.
Jul 07, 2018
we had a great spot by the river. They guided us to our site and assisted with backing in our unit. Wifi was virtually non existent and cable was bad.Office staff nice but not knowledge about directions except to go to visitors center. lol.
Jul 07, 2018
Our stay was amazing! Clean, friendly and quiet. We will definitely return!!
Jul 06, 2018
Jul 05, 2018
Wonderful Christian based programs for the kids
Jul 05, 2018
Everything was perfect!
Jul 05, 2018
This campground has it all. Fantastic location, helpful staff and quaint mountain town. Away from the crowds but a pleasant and short drive to the middle of all the action. Also plenty to do in the town itself. We will be back.
Jul 05, 2018
That campground is clean and right on the river. It’s close to other activities such as a cavern, riding stable, tubing etc...
Jul 05, 2018
Enjoyed stay with 2 young children. Plenty to keep them busy. Did not leave the place until check out.
Jul 04, 2018
Jul 03, 2018
The experiences we have here every year are always top notch! Everyone is so kind and helpful. We cherish this campground and how family friendly it is.
Jul 03, 2018
We stayed in a camping cabin and it was great except the mattress will kill your back. My husband could barely move the next morning and I could not sleep at all. We may have stayed another night but no way we could tolerate the bed. At over 120 a night you expect better. The campground was nice and the staff was very nice. Need more activities for kids.
Jul 03, 2018
Clean and beautiful grounds with convenient access to river and small store with gas station. The workers and guests were pleasant and family friendly.
Jul 02, 2018
We had a great time your staff was very helpful as this was our first time Thank you
Jul 01, 2018
Due to heavy rains, the campground flooded but the staff at KOA handled everything calmly and efficiently. By far, my favorite campground!!
Jul 01, 2018
Awesome all around
Jul 01, 2018
3rd vacation to Townsend in 4 years & still our favorite campground. Grounds/facilities were top notch (as usual), wifi was usable (although not super fast), staff was very friendly & eager to help. There was a flash flood this trip and was especially impressed at the staff's quick response to ensure the safety of campers and to correct the damage the same day. Already booked for next year!
Jun 30, 2018
This was our first camping trip ever! Kids had a blast. The staff was awesome, friendly and so helpful. We were out of town when the river unexpectedly rose above regular levels. There staff moved our tent, supplies and clothes to higher level. Then helped move again when we got back. Can’t say thanks enough and how great our experience was, can’t wait for next summerThank KOA of Townsen
Jun 29, 2018
Great location with the river running through it. Took off for horrible Wi-Fi, having no cell service in the campground only makes it more important to have adequate Wi-Fi. But would be a good place to take family and unplug!
Jun 29, 2018
This is a nice campground with good facilities.
Jun 29, 2018
Can’t say enough about this place! Clean and welcoming with amazing views
Jun 28, 2018
We love the KOA. Activities are great, campground clean and well kept, very helpful and friendly staff. We have made the trip for several years and plan to go back as often as pissible!
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 27, 2018
Needs better wifi
Jun 27, 2018
Had a great time!! One of the nicest campgrounds. Beautiful
Jun 27, 2018
Very nice. Suggest installing gray water hookup in all RV slots. Your main dump station is in a rather difficult area to use. Next to pool pedestrians,bicycle parking and just a lot of congestion. Hard to pull a large RV to it. I don't think there should be a charge for the honey wagon services because of the location of the dump station. Other than the dump station location all was great. Well ma
Jun 27, 2018
I think it's the best one we have stayed in!
Jun 27, 2018
So good we asked for an extra 2 nights.
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 27, 2018
Loved the experience as a whole. Our cabin was really close to the road and thus pretty noisy with road traffic. But inside the cabin the air conditioner kept it quiet enough to sleep. The mattresses were clean and comfortable. I loved the outdoor space and the view of the Little River.
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 27, 2018
Jun 26, 2018
To be honest, my group of 5 twenty something year olds was a lot to deal with for the staff (my friend went into anaphylactic shock and we locked my keys inside my car without an hour of checking in). However, the staff continued to be super accommodating and sweet. At checkout, they remembered to check in on my friend and make sure we had a good stay. Hospitality is a 10 out of 10!
Jun 26, 2018
Beautiful campsite and campground. We can’t wait to come again!
Jun 26, 2018
Always a good stay in Townsend. Workers are helpful and polite and the facilities are clean. Plenty of activities for the kids. We will definitely be back!
Jun 26, 2018
Jun 25, 2018
Wonderful stay. Great time! Cabins were fabulous and great location to bathroom! Lots to do for the kids!
Jun 25, 2018
It was great. Had an awesome stay. The one site we were at was a little smaller than the rest but it was great for us!!
Jun 25, 2018
Too expensive
Jun 25, 2018
The "MOST EXPENSIVE" campground that we've ever stayed at in the united states. We will not go back.
Jun 25, 2018
Not a bad campground in general, sites are a little small in my opinion, but well kept. Good location, and family friendly. An option to pick your actual site would help as I Certainly would never have chosen a spot right next to the basketball goal and Children’s pavilion. Understood that kids will play in a campground, but I wouldn’t choose to hear bouncing balls, movies, bingo, ect camping.
Jun 25, 2018
Jun 24, 2018
Kids liked it better than anywhere we’ve stayed. Lots to do, without the over commercialization of most places
Jun 24, 2018
2nd time here. Pros:Campsite clean and ready when we arrived. Staff escort to our site and help to park in the best spot for our travel trailer and our lot. Was on the creek as requested. Pool & playground enjoyed daily by our granddaughter. Bathhouse clean. Cons: Internet reception VERY poor & office staff not interested in my complaint until I persisted, Needed it for work, so a problem for me!
Jun 24, 2018
Great shady spot..crowded but quiet. Great stay!
Jun 24, 2018
Only negative. WiFiis the pits. Very slow and trouble with connectivity throughout campground. It would start working the go away.
Jun 23, 2018
The campground & staff were perfect! We cut our stay from 4 to 2 days due to unruly campers beside us. Management made it right by refunding us for the 2 nights. We will return & recommend this campground to others! Thank you for taking care of us!
Jun 22, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals