Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 20, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Neat and clean grounds. Good central location to sites and things to do.
Oct 20, 2017
Staff was awesome! The campground was outstanding!! Well run KOA. Hats off to the management and staff. Thanks for a great stay!!!
Oct 20, 2017
Overall it was a good experience - what you'd expect with KOA, As others have mentioned, it was very clean. The only thing is that there was no recycling (not KOA's fault - it was not available in the state as we were told) so we brought our recyclables home. And it was a bit too big and got quite crowded (all spots were taken) the last couple days that we were there. Still a great experience!
Oct 20, 2017
Great place! Close to Little River and Nat Park
Oct 20, 2017
Very clean very friendly and the location is great! Iâm a repeat camper and will be back!
Oct 20, 2017
Love this campground! Have been coming here for 30+ years!
Oct 18, 2017
A Wonderful Relaxing and Fun filled trip for the whole family. The bathrooms are super clean and the camp site is beautiful. The kids loved the playground and the pool.
Oct 18, 2017
Great campground with awesome staff and amenity. Cades Cove is one of our favorite destinations. We already made reservations for next year. Thanks.
Oct 18, 2017
Fantastic time! Site was on the river (#80) and while not a huge site width-wise, because of the way the sites are on an angle, you are not right next to your neighbor. Campground was very clean and quiet. My only complaint was the Wifi connection. Couldn't get a signal over half the time and when I did have a signal, it was very weak. Had to walk up by the pool to make a phone call. Not Cool!
Oct 18, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
Beautiful park. The employees were very friendly and informative. The laundry facility was clean and neat. We would stay there again.
Oct 18, 2017
We enjoyed our weekend camping on the river. It was a peaceful and relaxing trip,
Oct 18, 2017
J'ai bien aimé l'expérience, mais j'ai trouvé très onéreux. J'ai apprécié le Wifi mais le câble TV ne fonctionnes it pas bien. Tout est très propre et impeccable et les employés très gentils
Oct 17, 2017
We love our stay at KOA in Townsend. We have been vacationing there for at least 15 years. We go to know the owners before it was KOA. We have gotten to know Mark & Samantha and some of the camp workers. KOA in Townsend has the best & most friendly workers in the USA. We feel right at home during the month we visit.
Oct 17, 2017
Wonderful! The staff is outstanding and the campground is emmaculate! We stayed at site 12 with the river view. We have already made reservations for October 2018. Canât wait to go back. ð
Oct 17, 2017
Love area it is not overly commercialized! Love the campsite! Only item I would change is the beds in the cabins need to be where nothing can get under the beds.When leaving I always check to make sure we didn't leave anything under the bed it was dirty and the bed covering was coming down. One concern is the cost. We payed 189.97 for one night is there any discounts or times better on price?
Oct 17, 2017
Fantastic, well maintained campground very close to Smoky Mountain national park. Sites were wooded and comfortable, and we had a beautiful patio, table, chairs and a stone fire pit. Staff were friendly and courteous. "Shorty" or Mike escorted me to my site and helped me park with ease! One of the nicest KOA's we've stayed at. My only suggestion would be better coffee at the store/gas station.
Oct 17, 2017
I loved it! The only "problem" was that there were no outlets available in the back bedroom.
Oct 17, 2017
Beautiful place, very friendly people and very clean facilities.
Oct 17, 2017
Employees were exceptionally helpful and nice. Campground was clean and well maintained.
Oct 16, 2017
We come to this campground every year in October with about 20 different people. We usually get several campsites and several cabins as well. We love the campground but our only disappointment is in the lack of activities offered for kids. Several years ago they used to offer activities like tie-dye T-shirts, bingo, movie night, etc. It seems that all of those have been dropped.
Oct 16, 2017
We had a wonderful time!!
Oct 16, 2017
It was great had big lots nice patio area just wish river lots were as big as these
Oct 16, 2017
The employees are very nice and the bathrooms were clean. Hated the sound of blowers blowing off sites from 8am until early afternoon. It ruined the peacefulness of our breakfast and lunch!!
Oct 16, 2017
Very Nice, clean, organized, and quiet campground. You pull into the campground and was greeted by a worker while still in my truck, and had someone show me to my campsite. He then helped me back in my site, Awesome! We stayed at the back-in concrete river site which was very tight. Will stay again!
Oct 16, 2017
Good service and a very nice camping site.
Oct 16, 2017
The best KOA
Oct 16, 2017
Enjoyed my stay. Staff is excellent. My campsite was overpriced for the size of the site, maybe 5 feet from awning to the next site's slide. Riverfront and premium sites looked to be much larger. Facilities, grounds, staff are outstanding.
Oct 16, 2017
Awesome, campground is great, beautiful landscaping, great bath houses, exceptional staff, everything gets 10's
Oct 16, 2017
It was a great experience beautiful place
Oct 16, 2017
We stayed here on our honeymoon and we have stayed here each year since for our anniversary. We love this campground and we are very thankful for the staff and all that they do to make our stay enjoyable.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
Very relaxing,nice staff,campsite nice until the camper beside us parked right in front of our patio. Some sites are a little small.
Oct 16, 2017
They were very friendly. The Kamper Kabins had a pretty large refrigerator and plenty of outlets. Late one night, I went to the store right after they closed, but they let me in to buy the things I needed. There was even a little flashlight on the key to the cabin. Everything was great.
Oct 16, 2017
The campground is absolutely beautiful. The staff is so accommodating; they great you promptly and assist in parking your camper on your site. Then the bring firewood and ice upon requests. Landscaping is added bonus. The campground bathrooms always clean and well lit. Our dog enjoyed the leash free dog run. It was so clean and we loved the vines that hung on the fence. Very nice touch.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 16, 2017
The staff was excellent. Chris went above and beyond by helping to position our RV in order to face the river. It would have been impossible to do with my truck but he assisted with his side by side. Very helpful and will recommend to our friends.
Oct 16, 2017
Staff at KOA Townsend were great.
Oct 16, 2017
AWESOME
Oct 16, 2017
I was given a reservation on the Little River, when I arrived my reservation had been changed.
Oct 16, 2017
We enjoyed the bicycle rental and riverside sites. Thank you.
Oct 16, 2017
We loved our cute little camping cabin! The only suggestion I have is for the door to have a screen door on it too.
Oct 15, 2017
Very nice people curtious, and knowledgeable, and a great location to the mountains.
Oct 15, 2017
Best campground we have been to. We will definitely be back! Thanks KOA!
Oct 15, 2017
Super awesome kindhearted people run this place. Staff are very attentive & extremely helpful, which I as a mother of 4 kids camping alone really appreciated. Campground is safe, quiet, clean, and beautiful. Bathrooms are very clean, shower are big & private. My kids love the playground and the creek. We will definitely be going back!
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
I rented a "studio" kabin and it was clean and quite comfortable. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful.
Oct 14, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
Oct 14, 2017
Grandchildren Fall Break. Great choice. Top shelf campground
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award