Townsend / Great Smokies KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Reserve: 800-562-3428

Info: 865-448-2241

Info: 865-448-2241

Email

8533 State Highway 73

Townsend, TN 37882

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 16, 2018
There were 14 of us camping by the river in 5 sites (3 adjoining). Mid-April, weather was great ... we had a blast! Loved the scenery, food and the area attractions. The locals were so friendly! We're coming back in September!
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Nice campground. Very convenient. Showers great! Staff very friendly. Definitely would stay there again!
Apr 16, 2018
Relaxing and beautiful weather. We both had a great night's sleep. We will see you again in June.
Apr 16, 2018
Just a get away weekend for my husband and I. The cabin was close to the Great Smoky National park which is what we wanted. It was clean and very comfortable. And absolutely loved being on the river and the fire pit.
Apr 15, 2018
Very nice place to stay
Apr 14, 2018
We had a fantastic stay. We arrived after hours. Our cabin was ready for us. The air was on and cool, the porch light was on. Everything was immaculate. We were so very impressed. Thank you so much for a wonderful stay in a beautiful place.
Apr 13, 2018
Apr 11, 2018
We arrived Later in the day and the staff was very very helpful. They brought us firewood ice and marshmallows from the camp store even though it was closed and let us settle up with everything in the morning. A beautiful location and a beautifully well kept campground. Will definitely stay again
Apr 10, 2018
As always we enjoy our stay at Townsend KOA. The added improvements to the sites over the winter are very nice as well.
Apr 10, 2018
We loved our stay!!! We have two small girls and we loved that the playground was right next to us. All of the staff were very helpful and friendly. Very clean place also. We will be back.
Apr 10, 2018
The cabin was very nice and our pets stayed with us which was great.
Apr 10, 2018
We loved our stay and plan on coming back with our family. Our site was along the river and very peaceful. The patio was spacious and a blessing on those rainy days. The staff was helpful and courteous. Hope to be back soon.
Apr 09, 2018
We were very pleased with the facilities and staff. Staff were very helpful and considerate. Facilities were clean and well kept. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return in the near future.
Apr 09, 2018
Very nice, spacious cabins. Easy access to clean restrooms and water.
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
Great campground. Employees very helpful & friendly.
Apr 09, 2018
We stayed 6 nights while visiting the area and as this was our very first RV experience, we certainly picked a great location. The front office staff was MORE than helpful when we ran into issues. The grounds crew did everything possible to make our stay a great one, even lending us a few items we forgot. The overall site is well-maintained and clean. The area is nice and quiet.
Apr 09, 2018
The deluxe cabin was awesome! Everything was just as expected based on the description. Will stay again soon!
Apr 09, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
Everyone was super friendly and helpful!
Apr 09, 2018
ended up at the Townsend KOA due to weather. Had res at Cherokee. I arrived late in the dark, and the attendant on duty was very helpful. I love KOA's. I camp in my car when traveling, its cheaper than hotels, and at the KOA's all the amenities are superb.
Apr 08, 2018
Such a nice campground on the river. Nice facilities. Wonderful, helpful staff! Playground is neat. Will definitely stay again in the future.
Apr 08, 2018
WONDERFUL TIME! CABIN WAS CLEAN AND WELL MAINTAINED. EVERYONE WAS SMILING AND NICE. WILL STAY AGAIN!
Apr 08, 2018
My first time staying at a KOA facility but it won’t be the last, if Townsend, Tn. is any indication of KOA quality. Outstanding staff, wonderful and very efficient Deluxe Cabin. It was a very well kept & clean facility. Thank you for providing such a great place to stay & experience the “ Peaceful Side of the Smokies”.
Apr 08, 2018
Apr 08, 2018
Excellent staff. Our cabin was very clean and smelled fresh. We will be back again.
Apr 07, 2018
Everything was very clean and very friendly people thank you
Apr 07, 2018
Very,very nice.The only thing that was an inconvenience was the store closed to early. But our family loved staying. Thank you
Apr 07, 2018
This was a very clean and well maintained campground. My family had a great visit! The only reason I'm giving this 4 stars instead of 5 is that the sites were a bit on the small side and I needed to enforce quiet hours with one of our neighbors rather than campground personnel.
Apr 07, 2018
Staff friendly/helpful except rude store staff. Appreciate efforts to get our parties campsites closer together! Bathrooms not maintained, no potty paper for men and no paper towels for women all of one day and the morning of the next before we left. River access needs scaping/cleaning..dirty diapers, bags of trash, and trashcan stinch was terrible. Loved BB courts/playground! Nice place to ride
Apr 07, 2018
This KOA campsite was our first time camping and we had a fabulous time. The staff were fantastic & very kind. The location of the campsite we had was perfect near the river .... view was outstanding. My family & I will definitely will return at this KOA. To the staff, THANK YOU so much for great to us. �
Apr 05, 2018
Great location before the smoky mountains entrance. Really nice kids playground area. We stayed along the riverfront. Very pleasant. Great patios. A little pricey. For what you pay, it would be nice if they would have main paved roads so you could ride bikes.
Apr 05, 2018
Wonderful. The upgrades are amazing. It is a beautiful campground
Apr 05, 2018
The staff was very supportive and welcoming upon arrival. We had a great time while on site and the campground was very clean. Everyone was willing to help if you needed additional tourist information and advised on fun things to do in the area.
Apr 04, 2018
We stayed in cabin 7. Really wished the internet would have worked better over that way. Clean site and cabin. Beautiful view.
Apr 04, 2018
We had a wonderful stay. I've been coming to this campground (under this and a prior name) since I was 8 years old - nearly 30 years! I love it there and cannot wait to go back!
Apr 04, 2018
The cabin was nice, but the cable TV did not have all the channels that were on the guide sheet and the channels it did have were "fuzzy." The internet also periodically quit working. Other than that, everything was great.
Apr 04, 2018
Great family-friendly place to stay.
Apr 03, 2018
Had a awesome stay
Apr 03, 2018
Apr 03, 2018
Your campground was beautiful. Our site was very nice. The bathroom was cold in the morning. People in the office very nice. My only real complaint was the only news station on cable was Fox. That was very disturbing to us as we never never never watch FOX news!
Apr 03, 2018
Beautiful place, clean, quiet Until the party campers moved in on Friday and played loud music loud laughing from Late morning until app 10 pm and put something like lighter fluid on the fire that blew toward us and we had to retreat inside. But First night was great!
Apr 03, 2018
Fantastic as usual. Can’t get much better than this.
Apr 03, 2018
great place to stay. friendly amazing helpful staff. they show you to your spot and help you get parked.
Apr 02, 2018
We were hopeful for a peaceful weekend trip by the river, but will not be back. The campsite across from us constantly had 15-20 people there and most were in and out until 2 in the morning, there cars thumping loud music. "Quiet time" was never enforced and about 5 people a day walked through the middle of our campsite, not around....actually through the middle. Kids were not supervised at all
Apr 02, 2018
Wonderful place for kids to play magnificent river sites with patios. My kids had the best spring break week at the campground
Apr 02, 2018
Love everything about this Koa # 83 was the BEST !!! Really enjoyed Adam � Great place !!!!�
Apr 02, 2018
Family friendly, clean and nestled in a lovely community. We will definitely be back!
 

Reserve now or check dates

ft. long

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals Trip Advisor Award