Thompson / Grand River Valley KOA Reviews

Located in the heart of wine country!

Book Now

RV Reviews

Jul 28, 2020
One or favorite campgrounds in the area. Have been visiting each year for past 4 years and too see it grow and improve is wonderful. The owners are great, staff is friendly and customer service is top notch. This year we stayed in a newer site, complete with gazebo style patio and elevated deck. We liked it so much, already booked for next year. HIGHLY RECOMMEND this KOA, one of the best!!!!
Jul 28, 2020
We'll managed KOA with outstanding facilities and grounds. We totally enjoyed our stay. We'll done!
Jul 28, 2020
This is by far the best campground! There is so much for the kids and adults to do. And the owners are so amazing.
Jul 28, 2020
Beautiful area lots to do and see in area. Bad water smell. But will be back.
Jul 28, 2020
Wonderful, clean park with many amenities. Will definitely book there again. Staff is very friendly and very accommodating.
Jul 28, 2020
The campgrounds was very clean. The staff was friendly. And there was alot of amenities offered. We would love to spend time there again.
Jul 28, 2020
Great campground. Very clean and doing a great job during covid19. We were very impressed
Jul 28, 2020
Jul 28, 2020
Great place to stay. Tons for the family to do.
Jul 28, 2020
Your campsites are a step up from most camping experiences. Campgrounds are well maintained; grounds crew does a great job too!
Jul 26, 2020
Hosts Don and Cheryl go above and beyond to accommodate you! Always feel welcome here, and never look forward to leaving!
Jul 26, 2020
I think this was the best looking KOA I have been in. Everything was beautiful. Service was great and friendly. Will definitely try to get back there and will also recommend it to friends and family
Jul 26, 2020
Very clean staff where so friendly the sites where very spacious the kids was asking to go back before we even left
Jul 25, 2020
Definitely a new favorite. Kid and pet friendly. Our dog loved being able to swim.
Jul 24, 2020
The family loves this place,so much to do for the grandkids,and us adults too. The staff goes above and beyond to make your stay great. We've already recommended this place to many friends. We'll be back.
Jul 24, 2020
One of our favorite KOAs. Great owners, nice sites, nice pool and many activities!
Jul 24, 2020
Everything was clean and everyone was friendly. Great stay!
Jul 24, 2020
The staff was excellent! Great Job all of you guys! The campsite is well kept and can't wait for our return trip in August!
Jul 24, 2020
Very nice amenities. Nice buddy site. Kids loved the lake. Staff very friendly.
Jul 24, 2020
Our favorite campground of our 2-week Trip. Wished we had reserved for more days. Beautiful place and well maintained. And decorated so fun! Gorgeous flowers everywhere. Our kids played endlessly at the kid lake. Excellent place for kids and families. Safe, clean, and so much to do. Loved the pool. The staff are welcoming and eager to exceed your expectations. Really a fantastic vacation.
Jul 23, 2020
The staff was friendly and professional. The landscaping was amazing. There are too many amenities to list them all in the short review, but they were also amazing. I’ve only been in my RV about a year, but this is definitely the best place I’ve seen it so far.
Jul 23, 2020
Out of 3 weeks of travel, this was by far the best place we stayed. Even though some amenities were down, (covid19 or ??) the attitude of the owners and employees made it a very positive experience. Hope we get back here soon!
Jul 23, 2020
One of the nicest KOA campgrounds I have stayed at. Nice staff, clean sites, and the lake was a bonus.
Jul 23, 2020
Love the dog park and dog pen, the pond the pool, the trampoline and the layout
Jul 23, 2020
We stopped for the night as we traveled west, and this campground was awesome! We will definitely stay again!
Jul 22, 2020
I loved the cleanliness of the camp as well as the maintenance And beauty of the grounds. The staff were wonderful and so accommodating. We liked it so much we will be back in October!!
Jul 21, 2020
We love the campground! The owners work their butt's off. It is very well kept! Our area had lots of dogs that were not contained but I guess I can't blame the campground for that just the irresponsible dog owners.
Jul 21, 2020
Always a wonderful time at Thompson KOA Don and Cheryl are amazing!
Jul 21, 2020
Jul 21, 2020
As with every time we come to Thompson we were beyond thrilled and had the best time! The staff is both friendly and professional! I can’t wait for our next and final trip for 2020 and have already booked 2 trips for 2021! The grounds and staff are unmatched!
Jul 21, 2020
Wonderful, well maintained park.
Jul 21, 2020
Jul 21, 2020
Jul 21, 2020
Seasonal campers were not very friendly and act like you are impeding on their territory. Heard one yelling at other campers’ kids. They used some kind of salt filter in the pool, in lieu of chlorine, so pool water felt a little slimy and was extremely salty. We loved this campground, Very helpful and friendly staff, just a little disappointed this time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

If you have a problem with another camper, we would like to know that while you are here so we can address it appropriately. We do not have a salt water pool. We use chlorine.
Jul 21, 2020
Overall we really enjoyed our stay. It’s a beautiful campground and is kept very clean. The staff was very friendly. They could do a better job with social distancing and masks. (No staff ever had a mask on) The swimming pool had guidelines in place but no one followed them or monitored them. This was frustrating as the pool was always over capacity and we did not feel comfortable using it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We can only address concerns if they are brought to our attention when you are here. We do monitor the pool and have a limit set in place. If you sign up for a time slot that is when you can swim.
Jul 20, 2020
Jul 19, 2020
Jul 19, 2020
We had a wonderful time all the employees were very friendly and helpful and we can’t wait to come back! ����� ����
Jul 19, 2020
Wonderful, clean well-maintained facility, staff friendly and helpful
Jul 19, 2020
Staff was awesome. Grounds and facilities very clean.
Jul 19, 2020
Short stay but super-comfy. Very nice grounds and well maintained.
Jul 19, 2020
Huge level sites, great staff, and lots of activities. Definitely recommend this campground.
Jul 18, 2020
This was the nicest campground we have stayed at I do believe. So much for young to do. Awesome. Everything was so inviting!
Jul 18, 2020
Jul 18, 2020
They made us feel very much at home. A very safe place to stay. Very clean
Jul 18, 2020
Very nice place
Jul 18, 2020
What a Beautiful spot!! And so many amenities. We were driving across the country and our schedule only allowed one night, but we wish we could have stayed longer. Our camping spot was perfect, clean and inviting. We would definitely stay again. Thank you!
Jul 16, 2020
Hosts were very helpful- facilities were very clean. On the road traveling a lot - will stay here again!!
Jul 16, 2020
This is our favorite campground Not just in Ohio but over all others we have stayed at over the last 20 years. The grandkids love it here. They always want to come back because there is so much to do. The staf is awesome!!! Campsites always clean and they try to update all the time. Well worth the site fee
Jul 15, 2020
Absolutely loved all the activities for kids. Very well maintained with beautiful grounds and level sites! We love this KOA
Oct 20, 2020
We have stayed at many, many KOA's and this has to be one of our favorites! The grounds and facilities are immaculate. We were here for one night with our pups and stayed in one of the teepees (there are 3 of them) that are along the pond, what a view! Very spacious inside, nice to have a mini fridge and air conditioning. One thing to be aware of is that there is no latch for the entrance in to the teepee and the tarp that zips up (the front door) doesn't completely reach the ground so there is a gap. We were concerned about maybe critters getting in, which didn't happen. We did put all of our food in the car at night. Also concerned about the dogs maybe sneaking out so we placed our suitcase and cooler to block that area (worked out perfectly). We walked around the campground in the morning checking out the different accommodation options and Halloween decorations that alot of folks had put up, seems like there are quite a bit of permanent, semi-permanent sites here. Staff was super friendly, easy check in and check out process. It's nice that they are gated so you have to check in to gain access to the campground. The location is off the beaten path but just a short drive to some of the wineries in the area. We loved it and plan to go back next season!
- MelissaLasVegas on Trip Advisor
Oct 19, 2020
This KOA with a western country theme has it all for families and friends. Fishing, boat and cart rentals and so much more. Wish we had stayed longer. Very relaxing.
- Craig Stow on Google
Oct 13, 2020
It was wonderful, peaceful and beautiful.
- Sheila Rhodes on Google