Thompson / Grand River Valley KOA Reviews

Located in the heart of wine country!

Book Now

RV Reviews

Jul 24, 2020
Our favorite campground of our 2-week Trip. Wished we had reserved for more days. Beautiful place and well maintained. And decorated so fun! Gorgeous flowers everywhere. Our kids played endlessly at the kid lake. Excellent place for kids and families. Safe, clean, and so much to do. Loved the pool. The staff are welcoming and eager to exceed your expectations. Really a fantastic vacation.
Jul 23, 2020
The staff was friendly and professional. The landscaping was amazing. There are too many amenities to list them all in the short review, but they were also amazing. I’ve only been in my RV about a year, but this is definitely the best place I’ve seen it so far.
Jul 23, 2020
Out of 3 weeks of travel, this was by far the best place we stayed. Even though some amenities were down, (covid19 or ??) the attitude of the owners and employees made it a very positive experience. Hope we get back here soon!
Jul 23, 2020
One of the nicest KOA campgrounds I have stayed at. Nice staff, clean sites, and the lake was a bonus.
Jul 23, 2020
Love the dog park and dog pen, the pond the pool, the trampoline and the layout
Jul 23, 2020
We stopped for the night as we traveled west, and this campground was awesome! We will definitely stay again!
Jul 22, 2020
I loved the cleanliness of the camp as well as the maintenance And beauty of the grounds. The staff were wonderful and so accommodating. We liked it so much we will be back in October!!
Jul 21, 2020
We love the campground! The owners work their butt's off. It is very well kept! Our area had lots of dogs that were not contained but I guess I can't blame the campground for that just the irresponsible dog owners.
Jul 21, 2020
Always a wonderful time at Thompson KOA Don and Cheryl are amazing!
Jul 21, 2020
Jul 21, 2020
As with every time we come to Thompson we were beyond thrilled and had the best time! The staff is both friendly and professional! I can’t wait for our next and final trip for 2020 and have already booked 2 trips for 2021! The grounds and staff are unmatched!
Jul 21, 2020
Wonderful, well maintained park.
Jul 21, 2020
Jul 21, 2020
Jul 21, 2020
Seasonal campers were not very friendly and act like you are impeding on their territory. Heard one yelling at other campers’ kids. They used some kind of salt filter in the pool, in lieu of chlorine, so pool water felt a little slimy and was extremely salty. We loved this campground, Very helpful and friendly staff, just a little disappointed this time.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

If you have a problem with another camper, we would like to know that while you are here so we can address it appropriately. We do not have a salt water pool. We use chlorine.
Jul 21, 2020
Overall we really enjoyed our stay. It’s a beautiful campground and is kept very clean. The staff was very friendly. They could do a better job with social distancing and masks. (No staff ever had a mask on) The swimming pool had guidelines in place but no one followed them or monitored them. This was frustrating as the pool was always over capacity and we did not feel comfortable using it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We can only address concerns if they are brought to our attention when you are here. We do monitor the pool and have a limit set in place. If you sign up for a time slot that is when you can swim.
Jul 20, 2020
Jul 19, 2020
Jul 19, 2020
We had a wonderful time all the employees were very friendly and helpful and we can’t wait to come back! ����� ����
Jul 19, 2020
Wonderful, clean well-maintained facility, staff friendly and helpful
Jul 19, 2020
Staff was awesome. Grounds and facilities very clean.
Jul 19, 2020
Short stay but super-comfy. Very nice grounds and well maintained.
Jul 19, 2020
Huge level sites, great staff, and lots of activities. Definitely recommend this campground.
Jul 18, 2020
This was the nicest campground we have stayed at I do believe. So much for young to do. Awesome. Everything was so inviting!
Jul 18, 2020
Jul 18, 2020
They made us feel very much at home. A very safe place to stay. Very clean
Jul 18, 2020
Very nice place
Jul 18, 2020
What a Beautiful spot!! And so many amenities. We were driving across the country and our schedule only allowed one night, but we wish we could have stayed longer. Our camping spot was perfect, clean and inviting. We would definitely stay again. Thank you!
Jul 16, 2020
Hosts were very helpful- facilities were very clean. On the road traveling a lot - will stay here again!!
Jul 16, 2020
This is our favorite campground Not just in Ohio but over all others we have stayed at over the last 20 years. The grandkids love it here. They always want to come back because there is so much to do. The staf is awesome!!! Campsites always clean and they try to update all the time. Well worth the site fee
Jul 15, 2020
Disappointing! Showers and bathroom were closed, electric only works in campers, we weren’t told about sign ups for pool or any weekend activities at check in. We also only received one gate ticket for 6 people and then were hassled when we shared it with each other, since we had 3 cars. For the cost of an avg hotel room, amenities and service were lacking
Jul 15, 2020
Absolutely loved all the activities for kids. Very well maintained with beautiful grounds and level sites! We love this KOA
Jul 15, 2020
We stayed one night and within 2 hours of arrival we already were trying to plan when we could come back! This is such a nice campground- the pool is clean and the pond with the water bounce toys is so wonderful for the kids to enjoy! We also appreciated the free kayak use. We didn't get a chance to try the pizza, but really loved their pizza delivery golf cart!
Jul 14, 2020
Very nice, clean staff friendly and helpful. Surprised that the pool was open with the coronavirus also all the staff were not wearing masks.
Jul 14, 2020
awesome
Jul 14, 2020
It has been several years since we were at Thompson KOA. We loved it then and really love it now. The progress you guys have made looks fabulous. It is great that we were able to come out and enjoy ourselves. BEAUTIFUL CAMPGROUND!!!!!
Jul 14, 2020
So much fun. Kids had a great time with the pool, the pond and panning for treasures. Convenience of the pizza place. Very clean and large sites. Will be back...did a great job of keeping bath rooms clean. Cleaned them constantly. Very friendly staff...
Jul 13, 2020
Another great weekend
Jul 13, 2020
Best customer service on the planet is the norm! Improvements are always in the works. We're there almost every week and I think we see something new or improved every time! Don, Cheryl and crew make every stay our favorite stay!
Jul 13, 2020
Everyone was very nice and helpful...this place was extremely clean and well kept ..Had something for all kids to do definitely will be back
Jul 13, 2020
Perfectly located for winery touring. Friendly staff and great facilities..
Jul 13, 2020
We had the Grand kids with us and let me tell you they had the best time at Grand River Valley KOA. They all wanted to stay another day some of them said they still had one more change of clothes! We are planning at least two more stays at Grand River Valley KOA with more grandkids! Very Clean and well kept KOA!
Jul 12, 2020
Staff were very friendly and helpful. Bathrooms were kept clean and love that it is dog friendly.
Jul 12, 2020
We were there in the middle of week. Grounds were well kept. Site was clean. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks to all the staff for doing such a good job!
Jul 11, 2020
This facility was very nice. High amount of seasonal campers
Jul 11, 2020
Awesome stay beautiful site and everyone was very courteous and helpful
Jul 10, 2020
This is one of our favorite campgrounds to visit. Very clean, super friendly, and so much for the kids to do and enjoy. The only reason I wouldn't give it 5 stars is because each time we've camped we've been next to guests who like to smoke the marijuana. You could almost get a contact buzz from it. As an employee for a Judge in another County, that is a little bothersome. We had to say something.
Jul 10, 2020
Jul 10, 2020
We enjoyed a short get away July 5-8. It’s the perfect place to camp if you want to explore the local wineries. This campground is clean, well maintained and gorgeous! The lakes offer fun, fishing and a scenic place to take a walk. Everyone is super helpful and friendly. We love staying here!
Jul 10, 2020
nice place especially if you have children. A little too much dust cable would be nice
Sep 16, 2020
Perfect and great fishing
- John Massolini on Google
Sep 03, 2020
Well kept friendly campground
- JEFF OVERMYER on Google
Sep 02, 2020
The best KOA in this part of the country - beautiful & alot of amenities offered!
- Cathy Manning on Google