Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2021
Jul 26, 2021
Very disappointed in the site we got. It was very muddy with huge ruts in it with no grass. We were moved to another site with the same issues. We were told there was no where else to move us even though we seen plenty of empty sites. Another family also wanted to camp the same weekend as us and they were told it was full even though there were plenty of empty sites. The ruts should have been rake
Jul 26, 2021
Being on motorcycles the gravel road to the KOA was a surprise, but was manageable. The rains from the previous week also damaged the kampground roads making them very potted and rutty. HOWEVER! the KOA staff did an amazing job of finding a suitable site for us. Not an easy task mind you, but K'Lora, Kenny, and Evan did an amazing job. Only spent one night but he KOA looked like lots of fun.
Jul 26, 2021
Loved the fishing pond. Very peaceful campground.
Jul 26, 2021
Jul 25, 2021
Jul 24, 2021
Stayed in luxury pet friendly cabin. Cabin was nice inside but all cement and stone outside with absolutely no shade, no grass. Not very pet friendly. Would be nice if your picnic tables at least had an umbrella. Did not call ahead so my fault. But no stove inside all cooking needs done on outside grill. Pool heater was broken so water very cold and swimming pond was very murky and brown.
Jul 24, 2021
Friendly and easy check-in. Escort brought us directly to our site and pointed out electric, sewer and water connections. Firewood was delivered promptly to our site after our request and payment. Site was perfectly level side-to-side!!!! Beautiful shade tree. Wonderful stay and we will be back!
Jul 24, 2021
Very clean! KOA employees were great in everyway. A great experience too.
Jul 23, 2021
The false advertising bothered me. The pool isn’t heated - the nature trails are covered in poison ivy. The store has hardly anything in it. The pizza and ice cream don’t exist because they do not have a food license. We had dead hanging plants thrown in our bushes at the cabin. Just simple things that show lack of care.
Jul 23, 2021
Lots of amenities and very friendly staff.
Jul 23, 2021
Loved the pool and the swim lake.
Jul 23, 2021
Jul 22, 2021
We loved the cabin we stayed in and it was super clean! There were a lot of weeds around the cabin and the whole park in general. Some things in the park didn’t looked kept up. We were told the heater for the pool was “broken” so even on a day that was 83 degrees the kids were shivering due to the freezing cold water. Staff was friendly but young and had to ask older staff for answers.
Jul 22, 2021
There was an active bird nest in the peak of our cabin. This prohibited us from using the porch and also got us up very early in the morning from all the chirping. Other than that, we had a great stay.
Jul 22, 2021
Had a nice time, lots of amenities-especially for families. Very convenient location and very reasonable prices.
Jul 22, 2021
My husband, two children and fur babies had an amazing time swimming, fishing and exploring. Loved that there was a nice dog park area and I was able to give my Pup a bath at the dog wash, very convenient! The kids also loved the jump pillow! We will definitely stay again if we are in town!
Jul 22, 2021
Everyone on the staff was wonderful and the grounds were great. See you again in August!
Jul 22, 2021
Great campground!. Wish I was slot younger to be able to enjoy the amenities.
Jul 21, 2021
Disappointed in new ownership. Multiple issues during our stay. Amenities “broken” or not in use do to this or that. Not like it was a year ago.
Jul 21, 2021
This is a great place and the staff is outstanding
Jul 21, 2021
We were lucky to find an open site here after we arrived to Geneva State Park, and could not stay due to the site condition after all the rain. We stayed in the back, in a new section of pull-through full hookup sites. Nice, and good drainage, despite all the rain. The bad: on both nights, after dark, noisy people interrupted the calm. KOA needs to have staff available to keep the calm.
Jul 21, 2021
Beginning stages of decay. Obvious deferred maintenance. Golf carts are out of control, too many and create dust. Busy with car traffic through campground. Staff were working a job-did what they needed to do but did not have a care or concern, all office staff. They are young and probably inexperienced. Many full time people which changes atmosphere. Roads were rutted and poor
Jul 21, 2021
Beautiful park, will definitely keep in mind for another time when we can stay longer
Jul 20, 2021
We have come to Thompson the last 3 years. This trip has always been our most looked forward to trip of the season. However, this year we’re left feeling disappointed. With the transition to the new owners it seems many things have fallen to the wayside. From condition of the park, lack of seasonal sites, and the missing community feeling we’re just not sure if we’ll jump to book for next ye
Jul 20, 2021
New management (disappointment). Escort to our site (great) but experienced campers don't need this. The camp store has limited hours, plan ahead. No emergency number for campers, texts only responded to during store hours. Multiple bath facilities out of order. Lack of seasonal campers, pathetic showing of swim pond accessories (deflated). Enjoy the kids water balloon event. Depressing.
Jul 20, 2021
Jul 20, 2021
Not as well kept as under previous ownership. Bathrooms weren’t as clean as they used to be or cleaned as often. Roads need stones added to fill large ravines (ruts)and chick holes can’t park in cabin 1 & cabin 2 parking space without bottoming out undercarriage of cars. Multiple simple requests for garbage can liner bag, which should have been in place before we got there were not addresse
Jul 20, 2021
Setting was beautiful, large cabin was not cleaned, had a queen bed in master instead of king. For older people there was not any comfortable sitting very run down. . Many items needed to fixed, for the nightly expense of $250.00 everything should of been top notch. Would have to really think about going again.
Jul 20, 2021
We stayed in a deluxe cabin. It had all the amenities we were looking for. We loved the fact it was over looking the water. The park was very clean and the staff friendly. With that it was a more than huuuuuuuge disappointment that the pool was NOT heated as advertised nor was there a hot tub. This was one of the deciding factors at booking.
Jul 19, 2021
Love the area we were in with the upper deck and the large gazebo. The roads were bad, lots of holes and ruts due to the rain. Thought it was horrible that you allowed a parade with a big Trump flag and the Thompson fire dept was part of the parade. Political signs and flags should not be allowed .
Jul 19, 2021
Stay was great but the water run off is extremely poor. Need to put drainage system in the whole park. Then asphalt all the road ways. Then the number 1 question will go to a number 10 and the number 2 question will go to a star 5. The back end sites with the upper decks are so unlevel. Greatest thing of all that I liked is that the entire staff of Thompson/Grand River Valley KOA VERY RESPECTFUL.
Jul 19, 2021
Stay was nice I think the shower houses could've been cleaner and cleaned more often.
Jul 19, 2021
This stay was not up to par as it has been in past years. The campground lacked the superb upkeep & maintenance. The pool water was cold. There was a strong sewage smell in the new section where we were camping. After looking at recent reviews, the sewage smell & broken pool heater were on-going issues that haven't been resolved. I hope KOA gets the campground back to the way Don & Cheryl kept it.
Jul 19, 2021
The seasonal campers are not very friendly
Jul 19, 2021
Great place to stay after a long day on the road. Clean! Very restful for our family.
Jul 19, 2021
Though the weather was horrible, your workers were all still pleasant and happy to see us. The grounds had an impressive amount of stuff to offer! We will definitely be back! Thanks for a nice time!!
Jul 18, 2021
Our site was easy to pull through and clean. Showers were clean and cute! Roads were rough with several areas that had deep ruts. Good location for getting to Geneva-on-the-Lake and Geneva State Park.
Jul 18, 2021
Jul 18, 2021
I know that you have no control over the weather but we tented in Aspen site and spent the week with mud literally up to our ankles!! And when a storm went through and blew our tent over and flooded us ever worse. The only help given to us was a shovel and the opportunity to take down our large tent and move at 10pm on our last night!! I would like someone to call me to review my experience.
Jul 18, 2021
Great time! Wonderful area to stay.
Jul 17, 2021
The roads were terrible with holes, however at the end of our stay they were graded so that helped. The pond was awesome ! Thank you for providing life vests. My kids loved the he playground, jumping pillow, etc. people were friendly. Would have loved to had pizza from the pizzeria…. But it was not open!
Jul 17, 2021
Jul 17, 2021
Nice clean park. Loved the dog wash.
Jul 17, 2021
Beautiful place but had no idea it was on a dirt road. If we had followed our GPS it would have been shorter. As it was we followed the camping signs. Rained alot so we didn't get to explore.
Jul 17, 2021
The park was very nice and the area we were in was secluded. The gravel roads and pad sites in the park do need graded . With all the rain it took its toll on these areas.
Jul 16, 2021
One of the best KOAs we have stayed at. The deluxe cabin accommodations were top notch. The swimming pond was fun and a great way for kids to spend the day. While we didn’t explore the area, it seems as though it is a great location in comparison to activities around. It does get muddy in high traffic areas. We will be back!
Jul 16, 2021
The campground is very nice with a lot of fun activities available for the family. The pool was cold as the heater was broken and we were disappointed to see the outdoor playground in the back was not completed and available for use fully.
Jul 16, 2021
Jul 16, 2021
To bad the road is not paved to get there. It needs to be graded. Big dips. Campground is good.
May 16, 2022
We had a great time camping here.
- Michael Shaffer on Google
Dec 22, 2021
4.6 stars
- Teresa Grab on Google
Oct 20, 2021
I didn't realize campgrounds of this quality were still in existence.
- Matt Tucci on Google