St. Ignace / Mackinac Island KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 906-643-9303

Reserve: 906-643-9303

Info: 800-562-0534

Info: 800-562-0534

Email

W1118 US-2 Highway

St Ignace, MI 49781

Get Directions

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Kabins

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 3.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 14, 2017
Sanitation was terrible, we arrived 7:30pm to find bath house disgusting. 3 out of 4 toilets plugged, trash not picked up & was left for several days. Staff left at 9 pm with no one to report problems to or enforce rules. By Thurs. trash dumpsters were filled & by Sun. bags were piled up all around it. This really shook my belief that KOA has uniform standards at its campground.
Jul 14, 2017
We had a cabin. It was fine until rain came down. It was hard to get to the cabin. The front location is noisy - the highway is close and all RVs/buses coming to the campground park with engine running in front of the cabin. The chipmunk came to our cabin because of holes in window screen. The rest was fine.
Jul 14, 2017
Very courteous staff. Excellent washers and dryers
Jul 13, 2017
Worst koa ever been in. Terrible site, extremely unlevel and small. Dirty bathrooms.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 13, 2017
The staff was friendly and helpful. This campground is under new ownership, and you can tell that they are working to improve it. Visit was positive overall & I'd return again and see if they continue with improvements. The bath house/restrooms were clean. They do not currently have fire rings out at all the sites at this time. Mini golf course & Pool were OK, but needed some updates/ maintenance
Jul 13, 2017
Under new ownership, so may improve, but we stayed during some heavy rain and a lot of the lower areas of the campground, including our space, was under water. We had easily 2-3 inches of water under the rear of our m/h. Serious drainage problems.
Jul 13, 2017
Pleasant. Convenient. Shady. Nice helpful staff.
Jul 13, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
I under stand that it had rained before our arrival, but the management assigned us a camp site that had a inch of water on it. There was no gravel pad or any grass just mud. The site that we were reassigned to at least did not have standing water on it. Unit sank in the mud a inch or so no gravel at all. Bath rooms were in need of repair.
Jul 12, 2017
this campground needs a drainage system badly and the sites need to be stripped of mud and re-graveled
Jul 12, 2017
Bathrooms not the cleanest
Jul 12, 2017
campground very nice, staff also nice. bathrooms could be slightly cleaner. no number to call at night in case of emergency. woke at 6am to no water in campground, no one to call and let know. no security or staff rounding at night.
Jul 11, 2017
It's hard to control the weather but the grounds were so saturated with rain it was a mess. The bathrooms were frequently backed up. Could use updated bathroom/showers. Updated playground would be nice. Pool and laundry facility were good.
Jul 11, 2017
We had a wonderful vacation minus your KOA. The bathrooms were discussing and there are no activities for kids. I can say our staff was very nice and helpful.
Jul 11, 2017
I rated this CG 5 stars 14 months ago, now only 2 stars since the CG is going downhill. Only 2 dumpsters for the whole park and park is only 1/2 full and no trash pickup for 4 days. Trash overflowed and stunk. New owners may not know that trash needs dumped daily....
Jul 11, 2017
Bathrooms were horrible. Looked as if the floors were washed with dirty water & dirty mops. Didn't even want to touch the walls of the shower stalls. Overall look of the campground is unkempt. Good location, but needs TLC. Maintainence was most helpful pulling our 35' rig out of extremely soft grounds when we attempted to enter our pull through site.
Jul 10, 2017
The trailer sites were loaded out extremely poorly. Shared water and electric but even worse water, electric and sewer were all in completely different places on the site. The Tent site I reserved was unavailable because it had rained and the entire RV area had drained into the tent sites and yet I was still charged for it! Bathrooms were poorly maintained I even had to fix a toilet myself.
Jul 10, 2017
Making great improvements and revitalizing this KOA. Convenient, clean and very friendly.
Jul 10, 2017
Jul 10, 2017
I was disappointed with the office Staffs lack of knowledge of there own campground. They had me pull in the opposite direction of their sites. If they had the map correct showing that their sites are all angled that would help out considerable. They also have alternating hook ups which is confusing. If they marked on their map where the electric and water that would help.
Jul 10, 2017
The location of camp site was perfect but the site itself was not something I would ever go back to. The main bathroom was disgusting. During our entire stay the men's and womens toilets were constantly clogged. They tried to plunge them but it was never enough. Dirty toilet water was left on the floor for days at a time. But, the bathrooms at the front were always clean. New management
Jul 10, 2017
The bathrooms were extremely dirty. The dumpsters were overflowing with garbage that left a terrible smell when you walked by or were using the bathroom. Our campsite was also messy, a lot of small piece of garbage scattered throughout. Thankfully we were just there to sleep.
Jul 10, 2017
Our stay at this campground was a very bad experience. There had been days of rain before our arrival. We stayed on the backside of the campground which was nothing but a muddy mess in the sites. This campground has a lot of potential, but the new management is going to have to spend some money to put in drainage and a lot of stone in the sites.
Jul 10, 2017
Nice place but only 30amp hookup and no sewer, we were told we had full hookup when we made reservation and had no sewer. A little muddy but that is out of there control as they had a lot of rain.
Jul 10, 2017
Poubelles qui debordent! Un laisser aller generalise. Par contre un bel acceuil de la persons de la reception.
Jul 10, 2017
The staff was helpful & nice,the pull thru sites need gravel so can get above water level. The site has many trees, shaded. The bathroom/showers need repair, locks, stools in shower.
Jul 10, 2017
Sites were extremely narrow and muddy. Jacks sank into ground. hookups very far from site and on the wrong side. had to add an extension cord to reach power. Water in same place.
Jul 09, 2017
Easy access to the ferry to Mackinac island. Quiet. Site next to us did set up too close.
Jul 09, 2017
Given the adverse weather conditions the area has been going through, there was an extreme effort to accommodate everyone and the staff was always pleasant and professional.
Jul 09, 2017
Where to begin. Disgustingly filthy bathrooms and just overall dirty! (clogged toilets, non-functioning toilets, clogged drains, cold water or no water at all.) The pool was non-functioning for several days and small. The put-put course is a small and run down. Clearly very little money has been put into maintenance and upkeep. The staff was OK, the owners non-existent. Do not recommend.
Jul 09, 2017
The campsite was very tight, this could have been due to the neighboring campers setting up outside their own site. The pool was nice. We were lucky to be up front, the back of the camp was very muddy.
Jul 09, 2017
Campground was muddy the entire stay. We had a huge mud hole on our site and the rest was boggy. No activities for the kids and the pool closed at early at 9.
Jul 09, 2017
Really enjoyed the cabins except for the huge puddle in front of it. The bathrooms could have been cleaner, but other than that, it was a great stay.
Jul 09, 2017
Bathrooms were not kept clean.
Jul 09, 2017
This place seemed run down and "tired" looking. The grounds weren't well maintained like other KOAs we've stayed at. The Wi-Fi was so weak, making it impossible to get online and make reservations for our next stop. The grounds were also very saturated, it was obvious several vehicles had been stuck. Not sure what can be done to help drain all the standing water, maybe aerating the grounds.
Jul 08, 2017
The flooding I can understand as they have no control over the weather. However they can control cleanliness of the bathrooms and shower areas. Have gone there this being our third year and this year I was not impressed. With that being said I believe new owners will work through these issues and it will all work out for them.
Jul 08, 2017
My site pad was level. Sides of it were steep, though. Very old KOA and in need of restoration. Only 2 shower in our section and not handicap friendly. Staff was nice and helpful. I would stay again but only a day or 2 and not longer.
Jul 08, 2017
We loved this camp ground! We even booked for next year before we left
Jul 08, 2017
Bathrooms were extremely dirty and not well stocked with toilet paper or paper towel. The arcade games did not work after they took your money
Jul 08, 2017
second time here, but will be out last. no hot water for showers. sites need some work. Realize that it is new owners, but they deserve some assistance from KOA.
Jul 08, 2017
Very nice facility.
Jul 08, 2017
The site was completely underwater, the paths were so muddy my vehicle got stuck driving to it. I made the reservation the night before the site should have never been sold under those conditions!!! We ended up leaving and staying at a local hotel
Jul 08, 2017
My wife and I enjoy staying at KOAs , because they normally have a consistent high quality. This particular KOA does not meet that standard. It is run down, with muddy sites and filthy restrooms. There is a sign that says "Under New Management", but it will take some financial investment and care to turn this place around.
Jul 07, 2017
I've been going to this park for years one thing I could always say was the bathrooms were well maintained. Not this time:( as far as the park it was flooded from heavy rains that kept hitting the area. I do like the new fire rings. I hope the new owner continues to improve the camp grounds. They only owned it for three weeks so I know they can't change it overnight. Some spots had new gravel..
Jul 07, 2017
Dirty bathrooms, several toilets constantly clogged, not nearly enough toilets & showers for # of campers packed in, 3 of 5 dryers broken, ice cold water for shower. Will never stay in another KOA again!
Jul 07, 2017
Campground was clean,. Hookups were a little different. Water and some electrical were on the wrong side. Almost no activities for kids besides a tiny little playground and a pool. Mini golf course has caution tape around some of the holes.
Jul 07, 2017
Our kabin was infested with insects and mice.The maintenance man and his crew were wonderful,and tried their best to help us out. They sprayed for the insects and killed some of the mice, however,we had to deal with the problem the entire four days we were there.Some of the flying ants were brought home in our luggage.The bathrooms only had one or two working stalls at a time.Will not stay again.
Jul 07, 2017
Unfortunately, I can't give this KOA very good marks. Several factors conspired to disappoint us: 1. Heavy rain left lots of flooded sites (need to put limestone in pull through sites so vehicles and trailers don't get stuck), 2. Clean bathrooms more often (currently once per day), 3. Don't sell green/wet firewood ($5/bundle). We probably won't come back.
Jul 07, 2017
The bathrooms were nasty and not enough. The campground was muddy. The actual hours for laundry were shorter than those posted.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy