Spearfish / Black Hills KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-0805

Info: 605-642-4633

Email

41 West Hwy 14 (I90/Exit 10)

PO Box 429

Spearfish, SD 57783

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 12:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 28, 2017
Awesome stay. We love this park. The owners and staff exceed our every expectation.
Aug 28, 2017
One of the better KOAs that I have stayed at. Great staff. A very nice new restroom/laundry area.
Aug 28, 2017
Everything was great!
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Well managed and maintained campground. The new pull-through sites are big, level and reasonably spaced. Staff in office/store extremely helpful, cortious and friendly. Will stay here again if our travels takes us back to Spearfish.
Aug 28, 2017
Well run clean, quiet campground, Only complaint was slow internet.
Aug 28, 2017
Very nice! Easy location.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
Beautiful campground, excellent staff, wonderful accommodations. Highly recommend this Spearfish KOA.
Aug 27, 2017
Very nice place and location to stay. All the staff were GREAT!!
Aug 27, 2017
It was a beautiful well kept camp site. The staff all were very friendly. We drove around a couple other camp grounds and we were so happy we choose the Spearfish KOA. We will be back, next year! And we tell evertone how wonderful it is.
Aug 27, 2017
Staff at the desk and the one directing us to our site need a lot Mom te training

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We were expecting your negative review. We were training a new employee the day you arrived. You asked & we refunded your card & charged another one. We explained that the campfire ban (forest svc) & the temp pool closure (thunder/lightning) were out of our control. You reserved a back-in site. At check-in wanted cable but didn't want to pay the addl $12 for an upgraded pull-thru site with cable.
Aug 26, 2017
Lovely hosts, very clean campsites and the bathrooms were wonderfully clean! Looking forward to heading back sometime next summer!
Aug 26, 2017
We cannot say enough great things about this KOA. We left a couple of days ago and are already singing its praises to everyone we know and meet in other campgrounds. The owners are doing a marvelous job keeping the campground beautiful and comfortable. The size of the sites and the distance between the sites are well kept up grassy areas, making it comfortable to sit outside. We love it!
Aug 26, 2017
Great experience, staff were helpful and accommodating. Weeere so close toall the big ticket sites and events.
Aug 25, 2017
We can't say enough good things about this property! We've stayed in several campgrounds (including KOA properties) in the Black Hills of SD and this is the finest. From the golf course quality grounds to the adjacent multi acre dog walking park...this place has it all. Our puppy really enjoyed spending time off leash and swimming in the nearby creek. I highly recommend this KOA.
Aug 25, 2017
This campground was very well kept you can tell they put a lot of work and pride into it
Aug 25, 2017
Nice stay but disappointed in the Wifi ... kept kicking us off while trying to look up info

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our Wi-Fi will block users that utilize too much of the bandwith by streaming or uploading. Usually this is the case when a camper is unable to connect. We apologize for the inconvenience while you were here camping with us for 4 days.
Aug 24, 2017
The campground is very clean and shady. Everyone is super friendly and helpful. Close to area attractions. Clean and spacious showers.
Aug 24, 2017
Very friendly and helpful owners. Everything was quite clean. We really enjoyed being there.
Aug 24, 2017
Loved staying here! Well organized, clean, modern, thought of everything! Dog play area and we'll layer out! So many different choices for camping!! Wished we could have stayed longerð¤ðð
Aug 24, 2017
We had a wonderful stay in Spearfish, SD. We were traveling with family and were able to get two side by side sites. We had lots of room to spread out and let the kids run. The owners were so nice and have done a great job with the place. We liked it so much we made reservations to go back in a couple weeks. Spearfish is a beautiful area to roam as well.
Aug 24, 2017
nice place , nice people
Aug 23, 2017
great
Aug 23, 2017
The camp grounds were surprisingly clean. The bathrooms were clean at all times. It was a nice touch to have flowers in the ladies bathroom. In the laundry room there were magazines and a table to sit at while waiting on the laundry to be done. Over all it was a wonderful experience.
Aug 23, 2017
The staff did an outstanding job accommadating our needs which were m,any with more than 40 attending over a 3 day period.Setting up extra chairs and allowing us use indoor facilities for some of our functions.It was great.Reccomend highly!!!!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
The family that runs the KOA in Spearfish was not only SO nice to us, but they were a total class act, in terms of being able to take care of all the campers' needs, as well as maintaining the site!
Aug 23, 2017
Very nice people running it but as a new RV'er (you don't find real campers there) & im not one- I RV which is different. I want all amenities full hook up & FULL WiFi ! You don't say it's restricted OR like some KOA's tell you it depends how close you are to the office! Cable too! KOA is a joke - we're stacked in like sardines with a patch of grass! I'll do Walmart before I go to another KOA!
Aug 23, 2017
Cleanest campground that I have ever seen, and I have seen a lot of them.
Aug 23, 2017
One of our favorite KOAs. Pleasant grassy campsites with some shaded. Owner is always there to make your stay a good experience.
Aug 23, 2017
Very nice clean bathhouses. Large grassy tent spaces.
Aug 22, 2017
Great stay! Wonderful staff!
Aug 22, 2017
As usual helpful staff, level site with shade...new bath house is awesome.
Aug 22, 2017
This was my first stay at the Spearfish KOA and enjoyed it Very Much! The hosts of the campground are Wonderful and I will come back to stay at this campground again!
Aug 22, 2017
Awesome place. Awesome owners. Will be back!
Aug 22, 2017
Great place to camp! Clean, friendly, and helpful.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Very impressed with the KOA in Spearfish. Very helpful and friendly owners and staff. Upon checking in, we were led out to our site and they made sure we were set up okay. All sites have grass and trees. The showers and bathrooms were all clean and impressive. Did not use the swimming pool, but it looked clean and it was always busy! Beautiful campground and would highly recommend!
Aug 21, 2017
Of all the KOA campgrounds we stayed at during our trip to YNP from Michigan- this was by far our favorite. Nice layout, well kept facilities, helpful friendly people. Thanks!
Aug 21, 2017
Everything was perfect. People were great and can't wait to return.
Aug 21, 2017
Excellent campground, gracious hosts, great little town, easy access to Mt. Rushmore, Deadwood, Devils Tower. Best KOA yet!! Clean and green. Great walking trail !
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Great staff, friendly environment, neat and clean campground. Nice long pull through sites.
Aug 21, 2017
Just one night but clean and quiet Easy access to I90
Aug 21, 2017
GREAT OWNERS/ OPERATORS! VERY CLEAN RESTROOMS AND SHOWERS! GROUNDS ARE WELL TAKEN CARE OF. REASONABLE PRICES IN STORE ON ITEMS. ONLY WISH POOL WAS OPEN LONGER HOURS.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello! Sorry about the pool hours. It is open until 9pm during June & July but closes at 8pm during August. Once the sun goes down in the fall the temps really drop plus it gets darker earlier in August and it becomes a safety concern as we do not have a light in the pool. Thanks for understanding!
Aug 20, 2017
Aug 20, 2017
Everything was absolutely wonderful!!
Aug 19, 2017
Very clean and the staff was wonderful!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Trip Advisor Award