Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Info: 805-438-5618

Email This Campground

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins, Log Cabins & Yurts

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2017
Staff is PHENOMINAL!!!!! I cannot say enough about their kindness and generosity. The only thing I wish is that there more things for the kiddos like other KOAs have (zip lining, bikes, etc).
Aug 24, 2017
One of the best kept secrets of KOA! Beautifull campground, very friendly and helpfull personell and nice scenery. At night you can really see the stars because it is dark enough. plenty of activities for young kids. Employees are really making an effort to make your stay really pleasant.
Aug 23, 2017
Everything was perfect!
Aug 23, 2017
People are great and campground rustic but not up to KOA standards. Had to drive 15 miles to do laundry. Campground not suited for bigger rigs.
Aug 22, 2017
Great campground - accommodating a late check in. Would recommend getting here in daylight as remote.
Aug 22, 2017
Beautiful campsite, quiet and with very large places.
Aug 22, 2017
We really enjoyed our time at this camp ground, cabin was clean and well appointed, staff was friendly and the coastal foothills are always beautiful. I guarantee you and your family will enjoy.
Aug 22, 2017
Great Camp ground, very pleasant staff. Constantly monitoring Campsites for clean up after campers leave. Hilly but great views.
Aug 22, 2017
I stayed overnight by myself in a cabin and felt totally safe! The cabin and bathroom facilities were clean and well maintained. The pool area had plenty of chairs and clean as well. The office staff were friendly and helpful. The store appeared to be well stocked with pantry items, wood for camp fires, ice and coffee for the morning. My cabin did not have a kitchen but did have WIFI!. Enjoyable!
Aug 21, 2017
great people, extremely helpful and professional. all facilities clean. .5 mile to the lake and easy walk. Only 8 miles to the town of Santa Margarita or Pozo Valley and some very good wine tasting rooms.
Aug 21, 2017
It was every thing that was promised. Very nice place, near a lake, and less than 10 miles from Pismo beach. I'll be back
Aug 16, 2017
The bathrooms and pool area were very dirty. the office staff was pleasant, but the office closed very early.
Aug 16, 2017
The staff are awesome. Always have a smile and great attitudes, making you feel very welcome!
Aug 16, 2017
Fun from the minute we drove in. Our 4 boys had smiles the entire week. Between the jump pillow, pool and exploring the camp ground they were on the go from sun up until quiet time! The staff never had anything less than an ear to ear smile. If you had any questions the staff had answers! RV sites were much larger than other camp grounds we have been to. Can't wait to go back!
Aug 16, 2017
Entire campground is well maintained with clean bathrooms and showers. Staff is excellent and helpful! Jumping pillow and pool are always a favorite. Was our 3rd year visiting Santa Margarita, and looking forward to many more fun years!
Aug 16, 2017
Very family friendly and the host was more than accommodating. We will stay there again.
Aug 15, 2017
Santa Margarita KOA staff is so friendly and helpful, it feels like they treat everyone like family (or better, depending on your family). This was our second trip and we will definitely be back again, the bounce pad and pool are so fun for the kids and the friendliness of the staff makes it easy to just enjoy your trip.
Aug 15, 2017
I LOOK FOR THE THE NEXT TIME TO STAIN AGAIN SOON .
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
I wasn't sure about this camping spot, having never been there. I was pleasantly surprised, and plan on going back at some point for a longer stay.Very well kept, little camp sites, and cool looking little rental cabins.I loved having the hookups for my trailer(power and water).There is also plenty of space to easily back your trailer or RV in any of the designated sites.Lots of fun for kids too.
Aug 13, 2017
felt like real camping. dusty roads,and out in the sticks. store was small with no suveniors.but owner very nice,
Aug 13, 2017
I liked the campground. However we were looking for something a little cooler so we left a little early. Everything about the campground was great. Just not the right location for us at the time. Management was very understanding and accommodating to us.
Aug 12, 2017
le camping est très bien sauf si : on enlève la propreté des sanitaires ( une grenouille habite dans les lavabos et un nids de fourmis rouges dans une douche ... )
Aug 12, 2017
The KOA staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The cabin we stayed in was very clean. The pool was clean and cool in hot weather. We had a great stay!
Aug 11, 2017
Noisy neighbor drinking until late night.
Aug 10, 2017
We greatly enjoyed our stay for our family reunion. Our cabin was amazingly clean and well-kept, and also well-equipped. Very friendly and helpful staff. Things that could be improved:; the walkie-talkie for calling the staff, when we arrived at night. I didn't know how to use it. A staff member in office would have been helpful for check-in. Also, the meeting place we used .was very hot.
Aug 09, 2017
We tent camped for one night. The site had a few large trees that gave great shade in the morning. What I didn't realize about Santa Margarita is that it is all dirt - the roads and the tent sites. I went back and looked at the pictures on the KOA website and the pictures showed this as well. A good location near San Luis Obispo, but not as nice as some KOA's we've been to.
Aug 09, 2017
Aug 08, 2017
Hot and dusty!! The pool did not appear clean and was over crowded as it is very small.... Not much for kiddos to do
Aug 07, 2017
I luv it here. the staff are truly the most kind, pleasant and helpful staff I have ever encountered. the restrooms are clean and have multiple showers. there is lots to do for the kids which is great. the pool is clean with lots of tables and chairs. I have the best time here and cant wait to come back!!
Aug 07, 2017
VERY friendly staff, beautiful campsite. Out of the way country location in a good way. The hills and the stairs didn't bother us and added to the appeal. The only thing I'd note for other guests is that the deluxe cabin is a duplex that shares the back wall with another cabin, we could hear the other guests coughing and talking but it wasn't a deal breaker.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
Wonderful cabins nice location with lots of fun activities!
Aug 04, 2017
Awesome stay
Aug 03, 2017
Loved it! Spent one night but wish we stayed longer. Such a variety of activities and a cute clean cabin.
Aug 02, 2017
Everything was great. We just had ants show up the 2nd day. Someone came and sprayed where they were coming in.
Aug 02, 2017
Perfect spot at #6 tent site.
Aug 01, 2017
Hot, dry and dusty with very few activities for kids. The pool was dirty and there was no playground. The roads to and from the trailer sites are very steep and rocky. 4WD truck highly recommended to get your rig in and out of the site.
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
My experience at Santa Margarita KOA was great except for a dirty toilet near my campsite, a filthy toilet seat which was dirty at night and still filthy the next morning as well.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Great place! Nice, friendly people, clean and kid friendly!
Jul 31, 2017
It was a very quick trip and only one night's stay. However my husband would like to go back so we can try it for a bit longer. Thank you!
Jul 31, 2017
Staff is amazing. Some of the facilities could've been cleaner
Jul 31, 2017
The 1st thing I would say was the campground host was very nice,& she did her best. From here I was disappointed with my stay. The accommodations need a lot of update, it is probably the most unimproved or updated KOA I've stayed in. It apprears very little improments have been made since'90. we also had a group of 40 move in beside us with no regard for quiet hour, & were not corrected til 1am.
Jul 30, 2017
Great place great people everything was great. Except the bed. Very very bad bed.
Jul 29, 2017
It was scheduled to rain and we upgraded to cabin fairly easily.
Jul 29, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Also quiet. Some vehicles were driving to fast causing excessive dust in camp site.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals