Santa Margarita KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 03, 2019
This was our second stay at the Santa Margarita KOA, and our first time in a cabin. We love the facilities, play areas, and proximity to where we live. We will definitely be returning again soon!
Aug 02, 2019
Aug 02, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
Great staff! Excellent games/events for kids. Our best KOA so far! Tell Kim, the food fairy says hello and can’t wait for our return trip ��
Aug 01, 2019
We stayed in a cabin which was very cute and cosy. Enjoyed the pool and star gazing at night. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Thanks very much!!
Jul 31, 2019
We were having a family get together for 2 nights, 3 days. All stayed in cabins within walking distance of each other.
Jul 30, 2019
It can be a nice park needs some up dates to the spots and the power needs a lot of work before it ruined someone’s trailer are burns it down power is very poor. The staff is very nice to deal with KimAnn is wonderful they are lucky to have her. We payed a lot of money to stay here for no power that’s hard to swallow. So I advise the owner to fix the power before they have a lawsuit on there h
Jul 30, 2019
Fantastic...as allways....the staff, our campsight...everything....fantastic!
Jul 29, 2019
Great location and excellent customer service. So glad we discovered it.
Jul 29, 2019
Power outage, dirty pool, limited bathroom/showers and convenient. Pretty dust. A little pricey for what you get
Jul 29, 2019
I was very disappointed with the facilities and the campground in general especially for the price of $70 per night. Specifically it was extremely hot the pool was dirty so we didn’t want to swim in it and the bathrooms are few and far between. Additionally the power went off when it was over 100° for several hours. I will not be returning to this campsite and request a 50% refund minimum.
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
Jul 29, 2019
Great tent camp site! Quiet and peaceful... Friendly staff, overall: great experience
Jul 29, 2019
While this is not a plush RV Park, the views were spectacular, the quiet was relaxing but most of all the employees that helped us (Kim Ann and Jonathan) could not have been more helpful and kind! What a pleasure they were. The Kampground was well-maintained. We loved it!!!!
Jul 29, 2019
Wonderful friendly staff. Had a General store where we picked up hotdogs and buns and had a fun safe time.
Jul 28, 2019
We loved staying in the Yurt for our first time. We appreciated the table and four chairs. My husband really appreciated the fans! The white lights were a nice addition too. The kids loved the jumpy bouncer. The pool was a nice size. We appreciated the cabanas seating/shaded areas at the pool too.
Jul 28, 2019
3 day stay, nice staff, quiet campground tucked away in the coastal foothills.
Jul 26, 2019
Jul 26, 2019
Very nice place to stay . Staff are very nice and helpful. It makes you feel at home. I would recommend it to anyone who likes to go for a camp trip. We’ll come back again
Jul 25, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
We loved our stay here. Our cabin was exactly what we envisioned it to be. We did have a slight issue with our shower the second night we were there but the manager, Ryan, took care of it right away. My kids loved the pool, jumping pillow, and especially Kevin, the Emu. Thank you for a wonderful camping experience. See you next year!
Jul 23, 2019
Cabins were very clean and functional; the staff were very enthusiastic (especially at the hay ride tour!) and made all of our party feel extremely welcomed. The pool, playground equipment provided ample entertainment for our children - we rented 4 cabins and all of our families (with kids ranging from 1 - 11 years old) had a great time!
Jul 23, 2019
Friendly staff, but the campground was hilly and dirty. Not worth the $70 fee charged.
Jul 23, 2019
Very courteous staff & large nice RV site!Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 23, 2019
Awesome experience. Kids and adults loved it. Staff is very friendly.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
We stayed for 2 days and the experience was great. There are a number of activities for the kids and adults. We enjoyed the water access, flushable toilets and hot water access. The only wish is there are more restrooms and more stairway access. Our site was not bad but it would be nicer if restrooms were closer especially with kids needing to use the restroom at night when it's pitched dark.
Jul 23, 2019
We had a wonderful time staying in the deluxe cabin of KOA. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool, jumping pillow, and hayride. Just the ranch hood in our cabin doesn't work, and the water is a bit brown. Except, everything is perfect. We will definitely come back again and will recommend KOA to our family and friends.
Jul 22, 2019
Super friendly and helpful staff. Reasonable sized spaces with lots of natural shade. Beautiful grounds with magnificent oaks, swimming pool and misc games. Use to the lake for boating, kayacking and fishing
Jul 22, 2019
The lady who checked us in was amazing and friendly. Pool could use some cleaning. The rest of the staff was ok but not friendly. The only friendly people were those at check in or working the market. Overall it was amazing! My 11 and 9 year old want to go back! We loved the delux cabin studio wish they had more. The volleyball area needs sand. We will return!
Jul 21, 2019
Omg. We were please with everything. From staff to our cabin. It feels good to tell the staff. Before we left. We will see u next year. (3). Cabin.
Jul 21, 2019
We stayed in a 1 bedroom cabin. The location was convenient and the area is nice. The mattresses could have been cleaner as we had to wipe them down again but overall the accommodations were acceptable. The noise in the campground continued well after the 10 pm quiet time.
Jul 20, 2019
The staff was very friendly and helpful but the RV site was not adequate for my 35 foot fifth-wheel (tree branches hanging so low that they rubbed our rig) There is no TV service.
Jul 20, 2019
We had a great time! The camp was clean and the pool was really nice (perfect for young kids). The kids spent at least an hour each day at the jumping pillow. The only thing I wish I had known about was the steep hike to the bathrooms. It was a little tough for our younger kids and my pregnant self. Even with that we would definitely come and stay again!
Jul 20, 2019
Brief, one time visit in 5th wheel. Camp was clean, unique in the multilevel site arrangement. Lots of trees and shrubs.Bathroom was not convenient to our site and was up long steep climb. Site was clean as was the campground and it all appears well maintained. Staff was friendly. Wouldn't hesitate to return for a visit.
Jul 20, 2019
Friendly and helpful staff. Campground and facilities are very well maintained.
Jul 20, 2019
Wonderful campground! The staff was absolutely lovely!!
Jul 19, 2019
The site was clean and private. We saw mother deer with their fawns and observed the sky from the tallest hill. Bathrooms were clean. We had a great stay and will be back!
Jul 18, 2019
Nice place and staff.
Jul 17, 2019
3rd year in a row. We love the grounds and ALL the friendly staff at Santa Margarita Lake. It is the reason why we keep coming back. We missed out on the new Octoball as we did not know where it was until we checked out. It just means something to look forward to next year.
Jul 17, 2019
Staff was very helpful and friendly! Great camp store, good rates. Only downside is the temperature in Summer, which of course you can't do anything about. This is the perfect campground the other three seasons of the year with close access to SLO, Paso Robles and the beaches.
Jul 16, 2019
Jul 16, 2019
Very nice, quiet, camp grounds are far apart for privacy, clean bathrooms and showers. We had a large group and had a wonderful time
Jul 16, 2019
at night it was quite loud because a power generator from the campsite ran
Jul 16, 2019
Pretty but also hilly. Clean with kind courteous staff. Kim Ann, I think. Thanks
Jul 15, 2019
Outstanding list of daily activities coupled with a nice pool and scenery makes this a great place to stay.
Jul 15, 2019
Jul 15, 2019
Fantastic service and clean facilities.
Jul 15, 2019
Dec 10, 2019
Cabins were small and cozy. My grandson loved the pool, playground and jumping pillow. The little store has everything you need. Very friendly staff. Several bathrooms all around the park. Reaaly fun, will be going back.
- Stony H on Trip Advisor
Dec 03, 2019
Great location and staff took care of us as one of their own. Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Definitely coming back here next year. Please give Kevin the Emu a bigger place!
- Baljinder Singh on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Thank you!
- Danielle Pennington on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.