Santa Margarita KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-5619

Info: 805-438-5618

Email

4765 Santa Margarita Lake Road

Santa Margarita, CA 93453

Get Directions

Accommodations, Deluxe Cabins, Log Cabins & Yurts

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

RV Sites, Tent Sites, RV & Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 07, 2017
VERY friendly staff, beautiful campsite. Out of the way country location in a good way. The hills and the stairs didn't bother us and added to the appeal. The only thing I'd note for other guests is that the deluxe cabin is a duplex that shares the back wall with another cabin, we could hear the other guests coughing and talking but it wasn't a deal breaker.
Aug 06, 2017
Aug 05, 2017
Wonderful cabins nice location with lots of fun activities!
Aug 04, 2017
Awesome stay
Aug 03, 2017
Loved it! Spent one night but wish we stayed longer. Such a variety of activities and a cute clean cabin.
Aug 02, 2017
Everything was great. We just had ants show up the 2nd day. Someone came and sprayed where they were coming in.
Aug 02, 2017
Perfect spot at #6 tent site.
Aug 01, 2017
Hot, dry and dusty with very few activities for kids. The pool was dirty and there was no playground. The roads to and from the trailer sites are very steep and rocky. 4WD truck highly recommended to get your rig in and out of the site.
Aug 01, 2017
Aug 01, 2017
My experience at Santa Margarita KOA was great except for a dirty toilet near my campsite, a filthy toilet seat which was dirty at night and still filthy the next morning as well.
Jul 31, 2017
Jul 31, 2017
Great place! Nice, friendly people, clean and kid friendly!
Jul 31, 2017
It was a very quick trip and only one night's stay. However my husband would like to go back so we can try it for a bit longer. Thank you!
Jul 31, 2017
Staff is amazing. Some of the facilities could've been cleaner
Jul 31, 2017
The 1st thing I would say was the campground host was very nice,& she did her best. From here I was disappointed with my stay. The accommodations need a lot of update, it is probably the most unimproved or updated KOA I've stayed in. It apprears very little improments have been made since'90. we also had a group of 40 move in beside us with no regard for quiet hour, & were not corrected til 1am.
Jul 30, 2017
Great place great people everything was great. Except the bed. Very very bad bed.
Jul 29, 2017
It was scheduled to rain and we upgraded to cabin fairly easily.
Jul 29, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Also quiet. Some vehicles were driving to fast causing excessive dust in camp site.
Jul 28, 2017
great time & lov wild animals in the area
Jul 27, 2017
very helpful with big smile !!
Jul 27, 2017
Great stay! Great employees, so much help! Definitely will stay again!
Jul 26, 2017
We have been staying here for a few years and we LOVE this place. We have the lake close by and activities on site. Cabins are always clean and the staff is always helpfull and pleasant. Thank you Santa Margarita KOA!
Jul 26, 2017
Jul 26, 2017
LOVED the gals at the front desk, so friendly and helpful. Now this is a campground, true to KOA camping. Would highly recommend.
Jul 25, 2017
We paid for a 6 person cabin. The futon which sleeps two was broken and no one told us. We discovered it when the futon dropped on my foot and injured me. We did not have enough beds given the broken futon.
Jul 25, 2017
friendly staff and spacious sites
Jul 25, 2017
We had a great time!
Jul 24, 2017
We had a wonderful time camping at KOA Santa Margarita. My only complaints were that our campsite (#39) literally had no shade. It was very hot and even just one tree for shade would have helped. And my other complaint is that the bathrooms are very inconveniently placed. Quite a walk for young children.
Jul 24, 2017
It was a good stay, our plan was to go for the beach in Pismo and see sea elephants. Both are 30 min drive. Big plus for staff. Small minus for the dirt.
Jul 24, 2017
We had a lot of fun. We were in a more remote campsite, which we opted for, but it was difficult to find and get to. We could've walked to everything if the hills weren't so bad. I'm just glad we had a truck to take us around. The pool was freezing cold. And the basketball court is nothing more than a basketball hoop in a RV parking area. Other campsites seemed nice. The bathrooms were well kept.
Jul 24, 2017
The camp grounds were very clean and quiet, a little dusty, but overall a great spot. The star gazing event was spectacular. Looking forward to coming back.
Jul 23, 2017
Had an excellent stay. Everyone was incredibly nice. Cabin was great, but the bed was extremely uncomfortable. Other than that, everything was perfect!
Jul 23, 2017
Had a great time!
Jul 23, 2017
It was nice but the kids crying and parents yelling was stressful
Jul 21, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
Made a late same night reservation for a camping spot. Reservation person was outstanding. Upon check-in there were no envelopes which was confusing. Couldn't figure out phone. Bathrooms could use updating. Enjoyed short visit.
Jul 20, 2017
Really friendly staff, clean facilities, lots of space. What else do you want?
Jul 19, 2017
It was at a beautiful location with camp sites and cabins in very unique settings. Plus amenities like jumping pillow, pool and hayride were great fun for kids.
Jul 19, 2017
Jul 18, 2017
Lovely time! Amazing staff, fabulous accommodations, super fun activities and amenities. Only bummer is the dust, but you are camping after all! Highly recommend.
Jul 18, 2017
The staff was super friendly. One comment is that I think the website does not accurately reflect just how hilly the site is and how much climbing is necessary to use restrooms
Jul 17, 2017
Loved everything! Can't wait to come back in September.
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Arrived after 10 pm. Found reservation and map that led to rv site. Couldn't find my way to the restroom on the opposite side of a ravine. Staff happened by and showed me the way. All sites were filled. Obviously a popular place. We left early in the morning as we are photographers visiting the area.
Jul 16, 2017
Need dust control.
Jul 16, 2017
Great location right next to the lake and surrounding beaches, wineries and Hearst Castle. Staff was incredibly accommodating and super friendly. Cabin was spacious and clean. We primarily used this KOA as our base camp and didn't use any of the onsite amenities besides the pool. Will definitely return. This has definitely become one of our favorite destinations.
Jul 16, 2017
Well the cabins were great very peaceful and people did not bother me. Airflow was difficult one window did not open and fan blew around hot air. In campsite way too much dust maybe adding hay on roads might help or the road erosion netting. Having people yelling at kids disturbs the peace and they should be reminded that people are uncomfortable when they threaten their kids with punishment
Jul 14, 2017
It was our sons first camping trip and he enjoyed every bit of it. Thank you for everything, the staff was wonderful and made our stay even more enjoyable. Our favorite thing was the jumping pillow, which we visited multiple times a day. We will definitely visit again!
Jul 12, 2017
Fantastic KOA! The staff is super friendly and very helpful.
Jul 12, 2017
All the campers were pretty quiet, the area is very shady, the bathrooms are clean, and the staff was nice. Not a bad place to stay!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals