Santa Margarita KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2019
It was probably just the time of year but there were way too many bugs and dirt for us! Bathrooms were not as clean as I would have liked. We stayed at campsite 22, i liked being so close to the bathroom, but would be better if the bench by the bathroom wasnt there, would have felt more private for us.
Aug 25, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
Beautiful surrounding, lot of space, Nice pool
Aug 21, 2019
I simply enjoy the setting and atmosphere at this wonderful campground. Kim, Michelle, Daisey are always polite and informative, They make you feel part of their KOA family. With the lake nearby this my "go to" place to stay when camping. Thanks to All! And I noticed that your constantly improving things.. Looks Great!!
Aug 20, 2019
Really enjoyed our stay. Very nice campground! Only problem was the accessibility to the bathroom where our yurt was located. The pathway has been eroded away, and is in need of repair. If not for this, I would rate five stars instead of four.
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
The gal that checked me in was great, loved her. My site had trash left on the ground; the bathroom stalls were very small and the shower drain was plugged.
Aug 19, 2019
It is wonderful to camp here. Kim made checking in comfortable and easy. All staff is so polite too.
Aug 19, 2019
The emu, the bouncer, the movie night, the pool, the scenery, and the drive out there was all a great experience!!
Aug 18, 2019
Second time at the campground... LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!
Aug 18, 2019
KOA is a wonderful family friendly place to stay. My kids enjoyed the foam pit, jumping pillow, painting and other activities. I am looking forward to having many more family vacations with KOA
Aug 17, 2019
Great staff. Awesome amenities.
Aug 17, 2019
We arrived at 6:30pm with no way to get wood or ice. There is a radio you use to call for help at the desk but no one answered multiple calls. No one answered the phone number either. We stayed at Petaluma and it was only $86 and that place is great. How is santa margarita $95!? I would understand if it was cheaper but it was more for way less.
Aug 16, 2019
We were only spending one night on our way to our destination at Santa Cruz North/Costanoa KOA. The place is quiet and uniquely nestled in the oak covered hills of the area. We would have stayed longer if time had permitted. It was nice to wake up to deer on the hillside above our camp. And the emu was a nice touch as well.
Aug 16, 2019
We arrived after hours and were having a little trouble finding a spot. We called and she came right down(Kim Ann I think) Made us feel right at home and took great care in finding us just the right spot for our motorhome and trailer. Site was awesome and the area is great. Felt very much taken care of for sure.
Aug 14, 2019
Your KOA is one of our favorite destinations for a get away from our daily routine. Your KOA is beautiful and your staff is wonderful. We're already planning our next visit.
Aug 14, 2019
Only word I can use? OUTSTANDING!!! Every employee was courteous and looked for ways to make our stay even better. Tent camp sites are well maintained and clean. As were bathroom and showers. We will be back again next year. Way to go KOA
Aug 13, 2019
Staff is amazing, as always! Kids activities rock!
Aug 13, 2019
Great staff, pretty location. Pool water was dirty and our campsite was very dirty too. Last time we visited, the pool was clean. We collected at least 50 bottle and beer caps at our campsite plus a ton of plastic zips and papers. There were also animal feces at the back of it and it smelled bad. I do think it's an isolated problem, since while walking around, the other campsites seemed clean.
Aug 12, 2019
We haven’t been for awhile to camp and I love the changes and the activities - amazing a new pool or fix that one completely to make It big enough to hold more people - I love camping there and cabin 3 the best except the fridge was on the blink and the stove on one side was not safe We o my had six adults and wanted to know if we can get refund for those issues not working - fridge stove
Aug 12, 2019
Our stay was very relaxing and full of fun things to do. We went bike riding to the lake and went straight to a boat ride. Enjoyed the pool and the activities with our kids. It was a nice experience just the area is nothing but slope hills took a little of time to adjust but other than that everything was nice and pleasant.
Aug 12, 2019
Very clean place. Great views of stars at night. Many things to do and kind people. It was a great stay!
Aug 12, 2019
My family really enjoyed the camp ground. We had site #13 and it was really big and to itself. We fed Kevin the Emu, painted birdhouses and a nome, purchased snow cones by the pool and joined in on the hay ride wagon water fun and sprayed people as they went by with the water hose provided to us. Only problem was the dust was a little much. Lake was beautiful. Thanks KOA for a great camping trip.
Aug 12, 2019
We had so much fun and look forward to coming back soon!
Aug 12, 2019
Had a wonderful time, it’s out second time back. Grounds were clean and well maintained by staff who were all very nice and helpful!
Aug 12, 2019
We love the experience camping at your place. Although the dirt road are really narrow we found the place so relaxing. Next time we would love to reserved camp site no. 22 if possible. We are definitely coming back. - marissa 8/10/19 to 8/11/19.�����‍���
Aug 11, 2019
Super friendly staff and high quality campsites. Couldn't ask for more
Aug 11, 2019
Clean , comfortable, nice place !!
Aug 11, 2019
Aug 10, 2019
Park was nice but too far from the sites we were there to see. For example the Hearst Castle, Pacific Coast Highway etc. I returning to that area I would seek a campground closer to my interests.
Aug 09, 2019
Beautiful friendly campsite, very well organised, piping hot clean showers, wonderful view from the top of stargazer hill of the heavens.deer strolling past our RV early in the morning was magical. We will stay here again on our next trip.
Aug 09, 2019
Aug 07, 2019
Amazing customer service. Very clean campsite and restroom. Well maintained and would come back again.
Aug 06, 2019
I have stayed at numerous private campgrounds and the customer service here is top shelf. The campsite and amenities were clean and well maintained. A great place to unplug and enjoy the pool during the day and the billions of stars at night. Saturdays activities for the families was a welcomed surprise and the movie was a great way to end the night. Thank you for a great weekend!
Aug 06, 2019
Very nice campground. Good atmosphere and cosy spots. Nice pool and showers / bathrooms were fine. We would definitely come back here.
Aug 06, 2019
Had a great time staff was great
Aug 06, 2019
The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. We were able to get all the ice we needed as well as an inflatable mattress pump when we realized we didn't have ours. The campsite was beautiful and we were even given another choice of campsite if we preferred even when the camp was nearly full. The staff always checked in with us and made us feel welcome.
Aug 06, 2019
We had a great time and everything was well kept!
Aug 06, 2019
Aug 06, 2019
We did not know that it would be so clean and comfortable. A great place to vacation and a great lake area. Lots of beauty and chances for us to venture into camping.
Aug 06, 2019
Everything was very good except the wifi signal is too weak even under the repeaters.
Aug 05, 2019
We have been coming to this amazing KOA for almost 20 years! We love the terrain and that there are so many different types of sites and amenities for all kinds of campers. Since we are a couple with no kids, we like the remote tent camping sites. The campground is well-maintained, and it is nice to have restrooms with showers. We love the camp store and the down-to-earth, friendly staff!�
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
We had so much fun! We booked another visit there!!! Love it!
Aug 05, 2019
It was hot but epic
Aug 04, 2019
We loved the quiet, star-filled evenings! The cabin was very clean and we loved our personal sundeck.
Aug 04, 2019
Aug 04, 2019
Fabulous setting. Friendly and helpful staff. Great facilities. We could have spent longer there. Lots to keep the kids occupied.
Aug 03, 2019
We loved our campsite! Very shady and had a beautiful view. The general store had what we needed and the pool was refreshing after a nice hike. The air pillow was a perfect little activity for the kids in the twilight hours. The bathrooms were clean and well lit.
Aug 03, 2019
Great tenting locations, some with tremendous views. (Cabins too, but we were camping.) Clean rest areas and a handy convenience store. Plus a pool for kids to cool off in. Hillside wildlife included a group — properly know as "a rafter" — of wild turkeys: a tom + a hen + four poults. Good vibes here.
Dec 03, 2019
Great location and staff took care of us as one of their own. Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Definitely coming back here next year. Please give Kevin the Emu a bigger place!
- Baljinder Singh on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Thank you!
- Danielle Pennington on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! It was sort of in the middle of nowhere, but a very cool campground and very close to the lake (about a half mile down the road). We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Our favorite activities off site we’re visiting Tin City and the Templeton Farmer’s Market.
- DanielleNicole1985 on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.