Santa Margarita KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 07, 2019
The place is nice and well kept. The difference for my family was the STAFF!!! Very rarely do you get to experience the genuine and courteous employees like we saw there. We'll be back!! Thank you for the great weekend! I live locally in Atascadero and I will start spreading this positive experience!
Oct 06, 2019
Very short stay, arrived after the reception had closed, but our keys were left for us, then we were leaving the next morning around 9am, the kabin was spacious, clean and tidy and the shared bathrooms were also clean and never a queue Wish we'd stayed longer so we could've taken advantage of the facilities, but we'll definitely stay at another KOA when we next visit the USA
Oct 02, 2019
We have been to the Santa Margarita KOA a few time and have enjoyed it each time. They keep the area clean, water the dirt roads regularly, have a nice pool, have a great kids area w/ a big jumping pillow, the staff has always been very welcoming and accommodating. The spaces above the play ground are a little close, but that is a minor tradeoff for being able to watch the kids from the trailer.
Oct 01, 2019
Cabins were much smaller than advertised on the website. Being “near bath row” meant climbing down and back up a hill to the bathrooms. We had to upgrade to a cabin with a bathroom due to the inaccurate website description. Not likely to recommend. We have stayed at much nicer KOA’s.
Sep 30, 2019
Sep 30, 2019
Great new cabins. Only the pull out was unusable, but the rest.... top notch. Can’t wait to go back
Sep 29, 2019
Camp sites are spaced apart as much as possible, very friendly staff.
Sep 28, 2019
Very pleasant staff. The facility is great for access to Lake Santa Margarita. The campground itself is a bit hilly and somewhat open. Regardless, the facilities are nice.
Sep 26, 2019
One of our favorite KOAs. The campground is nice and well kept. They are always making improvements that have made the campground even better. Kim is a wonderful camp host that goes above and beyond to make your stay pleasurable. All of the staff is great friendly and helpful.
Sep 24, 2019
Sep 24, 2019
Great secluded site amongst trees!
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 21, 2019
eh
Sep 19, 2019
Wonderful host,makes it possible to reach her at all hours of the day. Campsite is separated and spacious.
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
The nicest lady at the front desk greeted us immediately when my girlfriend and I walked in, her name was Kim Ann. She was the sweetest and most informative person imaginable. We ended up loving the campsite and the attractions. We fed an Emu, jumped on the jumper till we couldn't and swam in the pool on the hottest days. We stayed an extra night in a cabin, it was amazing!
Sep 17, 2019
Everyone was so friendly. Great spot for base camp. Vineyards all around. Great Antiques in Santa Margarita and San Luis Obispo Can't wait to go back.
Sep 17, 2019
The staff are friendly and welcoming. The bounce pad was fun for my kids. We enjoyed the pool for four hours. The pool was really cold and refreshing on a hot day but if you go on a colder day then you may want to skip it.
Sep 16, 2019
fantastic as always, love the staff
Sep 16, 2019
We love Santa Margarita KOA! Our stay was so pleasant! Kim was so helpful and she's always smiling! This is our second time staying at santa margarita this year! We just wish that the slope at our cabin wasn't so steep! We almost couldn't make it at the top..hahaha! Other than that everything was perfect we'll just choose a lower cabin next time! Love! Love! Santa Margarita!
Sep 16, 2019
We were very disappointed that there were no activities for kids. On the website it’s displayed like there was a lot of stuff going on.
Sep 15, 2019
Great kampground but very busy
Sep 15, 2019
A very nice campground with good space between sites and clean grounds. I arrived late...about 8 PM and still a woman greeted me as she was leaving the office and offered assistance. I love the small cabins. So simple yet functional. This is my favorite place to stay near San Luis Obispo.
Sep 15, 2019
Dirty and inconvenient!
Sep 14, 2019
I was in RV site 27, it is a little dangerous due to the extreme slop on the utility side, I would suggest enforcing the hillside with either cement blocks or railroad ties and then leveling the sit as there is a dramatic slop downward to site 26. The grounds were extremely clean and very kid friendly. I would suggest for a family or group of families, not really a place for a single couple.
Sep 14, 2019
Nice quiet campground. There’s nice play area for kids and Emu on site for kids to see. Pen for Emu is really small kind of feel sorry for it.
Sep 11, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Very relaxing place to unwind! Had a great time.
Sep 09, 2019
I’ve been to KOA camps since the 80s and this one is beautiful, but our site was tight. If we had brought two cars, not sure if they would have fit. The main issues were the lack of privacy between sites (too close) and no site administrators making rounds to quiet down campers past 10 - I had to yell extremely loud at other campers after 11 PM to shut off music and stop singing - ridiculous!
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
Wonderful. Helpful. Fun. Awesome people. Michelle is great.
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
Dirty and dusty. The restroom/showers were abominable.
Sep 04, 2019
Super happy to be back. Everybody in the office was so nice and helpful. We brought a big group of about 50 campers with us and many are planning to come back! The foam party was awesome, kids were grateful for the movie and next time we have to jump on the GLOW HAYRIDE :)
Sep 04, 2019
We stayed in a cabin and absolutely had THE best time. Kids had lots to do and staff was super friendly and attentive.
Sep 04, 2019
Very hard to get to the bathroom, water spigot was damaged and could not connect a hose, need more shade, otherwise an ok trip...
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
We live next to the generator the whole 4 days it was on every single minute. It doesn't feel like we are camping in nature but rather living on a construction site. The cabins some of the families stay in don't have electricity when they plugged in an appliance. Very inconvenient.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
It’s a beautiful area with stars very clearly visible at night and a gorgeous lake a half mile away. Only thing that I didn’t like was that it was super hot and that it was also super dusty. The nice pool is a great way to cool off though! Very close to San Luis Obispo, Pismo Beach and Hearst Castle (an hour away).
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
My grandkids had a amazing time, so much for them to see and do. They loved Kevin the Emu and the pool. Can’t wait to come back! Matt
Sep 03, 2019
Visiting the area for a couple of weeks beautiful hills to climb nice camping lots clean bathrooms refreshing pool clean laundry room nice general store felt very safe
Aug 27, 2019
We loved everything about it. It was beautiful and quiet, and the staff was wonderful. We enjoyed the pool too.
Aug 27, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Dec 10, 2019
Cabins were small and cozy. My grandson loved the pool, playground and jumping pillow. The little store has everything you need. Very friendly staff. Several bathrooms all around the park. Reaaly fun, will be going back.
- Stony H on Trip Advisor
Dec 03, 2019
Great location and staff took care of us as one of their own. Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Definitely coming back here next year. Please give Kevin the Emu a bigger place!
- Baljinder Singh on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Thank you!
- Danielle Pennington on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.