Santa Margarita KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Dec 03, 2019
Great campground, great service! Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Coming back in summers.
Dec 02, 2019
Had a great time even with the rain. The jumpy was great fun for our 9 kids in group. Kevin was awesome. ....however, your electrical problem was awful. We were afraid for our turkey being cooked and our heaters keeping us warm. Hope you can fix the problem so we can come back next year.
Dec 02, 2019
Awesome Thanksgiving week (even with the rain and mud!) Camp hosts were very hospitable and accommodating. Beautiful setting fun primitive cabins-- perfect reset for our tech-addicted adult kids! Quality time was had and we will be back.
Dec 02, 2019
Kim Ann and Vince were the best hosts!! They helped us immediately! We had a little power outage and Vince came over within minutes. They were both so nice. I cannot believe how many things there are to do there. I want to go when it is nicer out. I love the jumping pillow, Kevin the Emu, Camp Store and dog play yard. Our little cabin was impeccable.
Nov 29, 2019
The campsites were very narrow and not flat. Not a pretty location just Trees and dirt. Large bathroom that needed cleaning.
Nov 27, 2019
Nice campground!
Nov 25, 2019
Very friendly service! Bathrooms a little dated
Nov 25, 2019
koa staff r the best and made or stay even better can't wait to go back
Nov 24, 2019
Returned to this koa after 20 years and it was extremely quiet and enjoyable, wonderful memories and will return again.
Nov 22, 2019
Very clean and well maintained. Had a great stay.
Nov 19, 2019
Nov 19, 2019
Had a good time. Campsites were spacious. Grandkids loved the bounce pillow and Kevin the emu. Friendly staff. Easy check in.
Nov 12, 2019
Very friendly and helpful staff. I arrived late and it was dark. My fault, but I could have used some help getting into the site. They did help me when I jackknifed my toad.
Nov 11, 2019
Our scout troop reserved a spot. Staff was amazing and helpful from start to finish of or trip. Clean and big spaces.
Nov 11, 2019
friendly staff, great scenery, wild turkeys, an emu, and great nearby hiking at santa margarita lake
Nov 07, 2019
The staff are the best ever
Nov 05, 2019
Very nice and clean. Kept up well. Very friendly staff. We will for sure be back !
Nov 05, 2019
What an awesome experience at KOA Santa Margarita friendly staff great amenities bathrooms very clean full hook up I recommend anyone looking too camp or fish to visit thanks KOA
Nov 04, 2019
Quick overnight stay, staff very friendly and campground appeared well maintained. I realize the cabins are going to be dusty but for $130 night I at least expect a clean bathroom, free of clumps of hair on bathroom floor etc.
Nov 02, 2019
I had such an enjoyable stay , the employees were so sweet and accommodating, the entire campground was clean lots of different animals to see the weather was perfect the entire time I was there I had such fun
Oct 30, 2019
It was great! The little store in the front office was well stocked. The entire camp grounds were immaculate, the bathrooms and showers were also. The little cabins were decorated with white icicle lights which gave a cozy mountain feeling. The staff were extremely pleasant, and helpful! I will make reservations to stay there again!
Oct 29, 2019
Oct 29, 2019
It was so dirty and dusty!!!! You had us right on the corner between 2 roads and the dust just billowed every time someone drove by. (watering the road might have helped) We had paid for 2 nights, but, left right after the first.
Oct 29, 2019
Nice place
Oct 29, 2019
Had a great time . the cabin was wonderful! The Lady at the front desk was awesome and very helpful.
Oct 28, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Friendly and helpful staff. Our first stay at the cabins. Great experience. Our third time staying at Santa Margarita KOA. We love this place and will be back.
Oct 23, 2019
Oct 22, 2019
Everything was perfect for us. The reception was great and a gentleman helped us with our dumping of Rv. Very nice location would love to visit again
Oct 21, 2019
Oct 21, 2019
Great place to stay & relax.
Oct 20, 2019
Great customer service...KimAnn was so helpful ...taking great care of us.
Oct 19, 2019
The bathroom needed paper towels for all 4 days we stayed and there were more spiders than usual in the stalls and shower. The new mattress pads are harder than the old ones, they made sleeping a bit difficult. Other than that, everything was wonderful. Thank you.
Oct 17, 2019
We got there late 9pm. There was a walkies talkie at the door saying if you need help, please call and directions on how to use it. Campsite is very dark. We have a class A. We found our reservation, yellow card for tow and map. We called for help because of darkness and size of coach. called at least 10 times. We know how to use these walkies we use them for business.Horrible customer servic
Oct 16, 2019
Easy check in, beautiful grounds, spotless bathrooms!
Oct 16, 2019
ABSOLUTELY PERFECT!
Oct 16, 2019
Oct 15, 2019
We had an amazing time at the KOA. The staff were friendly and accommodating . The grounds were clean. Will definitely stay here again.
Oct 15, 2019
Easy check out process. Clean site. Awesome accommodations. Would come back again!
Oct 15, 2019
Nice clean campground with fun activities for the kids campsites are a little small but overall I would recommend and we will return again
Oct 15, 2019
Very friendly staff and cute campground! We will definitely be back! :)
Oct 14, 2019
Fall in love with fall camping at this KOA. The staff are so warming and welcome, Kim Ann is such a wonderful camp host. The trees are beautiful, the smell of fall in the air, the tarantula visitors and crisp mornings in need of a camp fire. Always a great stay!
Oct 14, 2019
Oct 14, 2019
The cabin was wonderful but please do something about the driveway. I would like To use the cabin again, but will NOT drive up there again. Very dangerous!!!
Oct 13, 2019
Great stay as usual. We come back every year, however the cabin wasn’t the cleanest. Next time check under mattresses- found a ton of candy wrappers and the floors were super dirty.
Oct 12, 2019
Extremely attentive camp hosts who went out of their way to help us out. Would definitely stay here again. We showed up late and they didn’t care a bit and helped us carry the stuff we bought (girlfriend and showed up on motorcycles). They make customer service their mission! You will not be disappointed if you stay here.
Oct 08, 2019
Oct 07, 2019
The place is nice and well kept. The difference for my family was the STAFF!!! Very rarely do you get to experience the genuine and courteous employees like we saw there. We'll be back!! Thank you for the great weekend! I live locally in Atascadero and I will start spreading this positive experience!
Oct 06, 2019
Very short stay, arrived after the reception had closed, but our keys were left for us, then we were leaving the next morning around 9am, the kabin was spacious, clean and tidy and the shared bathrooms were also clean and never a queue Wish we'd stayed longer so we could've taken advantage of the facilities, but we'll definitely stay at another KOA when we next visit the USA
Dec 03, 2019
Great location and staff took care of us as one of their own. Even the rain couldn't dampen our spirits. Definitely coming back here next year. Please give Kevin the Emu a bigger place!
- Baljinder Singh on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Thank you!
- Danielle Pennington on Google
Nov 10, 2019
We just left this RV park and we’re very pleased with our experience! It was sort of in the middle of nowhere, but a very cool campground and very close to the lake (about a half mile down the road). We (me, the hubs and a 14 month old and 5 yr old) stayed in our camper and our site was decent sized and loved we had a fire pit! The staff was super helpful, especially when we locked our keys in the camper (🤦🏽‍♀️ rookie mistake)...the woman at the front was quick to come down and bring us the info for a local locksmith and offered us water and anything we needed to keep the kids happy in the meantime. Luckily we were able to get in pretty quickly and while the hubs was working to get in I kept the kids occupied at the swings and bounce pillow! We also visited Kevin the Emu and one of the other staff members brought us food to feed him. Just very friendly staff and an overall nice site! Our favorite activities off site we’re visiting Tin City and the Templeton Farmer’s Market.
- DanielleNicole1985 on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.