Santa Cruz / Monterey Bay KOA Reviews

Check out our Fall Cabin Deal $25 off a Night

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Aug 25, 2020
Great kid friendly camping spot! We love the bikes!!
Aug 25, 2020
This was our first trip to a KOA. Beautiful place, friendly staff. Our spot was a "standard" patio 50 amp back in. Tight for a 34' 5W/ 2500 Truck. I thought the sewer connect was too close to picnic table/bbq area. Otherwise, good spot, loved the beach so close but NOT walkable, not a safe bike bath to beach (tight roads). Would stay again hopefully when fires are gone.
Aug 25, 2020
Aug 25, 2020
The cabin was clean and setup nicely.
Aug 25, 2020
This was our first experience at a KOA, great campground for families. We will definitely be coming back It’s a great location in Monterey. We were Impressed at how well everyone follows the quite hours. Even with Covid rules it was still a fun and enjoyable time.
Aug 25, 2020
Aug 25, 2020
My dog was attacked by two pit bulls who were not on a leash. This was the second attack by those dogs at this koa. This should never happen.
Aug 25, 2020
Aug 24, 2020
Aug 24, 2020
Very, very overpriced for the "privilege" of getting to stay on a piece of dirt! When I made my reservations about a month before arrival, I was told that 50amp sites were not available and I agreed to a 30amp site in a "nice lot nestled up against the open preserve with plenty of shade and trees." Well, I received a dirt lot! Sorry, but I will never stay here again, nor recommend this KOA.
Aug 24, 2020
I love the cleanliness and staff always around. When it’s quiet time, staff are around to remind people and really courteous.
Aug 24, 2020
Very nice facility, like most camp sites the WiFi was the only feature that was not acceptable, with poor cell coverage most campers use the WiFi backbone to make calls and the quality drops fast. Hopefully in the future they will upgrade the WiFi coverage and quality.
Aug 24, 2020
This KOA is so fun for the family! Unfortunately there were many restrictions and amenities closed due to Covid-19 so I am excited to return next year and experience all this KOA has to offer without restrictions. All in all it was a great stay and we will be back soon!
Aug 24, 2020
Estuvo muy agradable excepto porque esta vez nos privaron de muchas de las actividades que regularmente tienen incluyendo el jacuzzi que es uno de mis favoritos.
Aug 24, 2020
First time staying at a KOA and we were not disappointed. Great location as a base camp for exploring Santa Cruz or Monterey or any nearby beach. The grounds are clean and trash free. Parking the trailer was easy, hookups in good working condition. We stayed in the Nature Preserve and it was quiet and relaxing. General store was fully stocked and they deliver fire wood. We will be back w/ friends!
Aug 24, 2020
I was just looking for a little getaway and I found so much more! There were so many activities for us throughout the weekend that time just flew by! We will be back for sure.
Aug 24, 2020
Normally we prefer off grid camping but were evacuated due to the wildfires in Bonny Doon. I have to say that KOA is awesome!! It's SO nice having a laundry facility & store. I especially want to give a shout out to Sara (not sure of the spelling) at the store/reservation desk. She was VERY kind, competent and helpful when I was totally stressed. Thank you-Laurie Taylor
Aug 24, 2020
It was a very good game experience. Felt safe not to close to our neighbors. Fun activities. Enjoy d staying there. Only one night. But very good experience Thank you
Aug 24, 2020
Evacue.e from Scott's Valley ,CA. Excellent treatment Is there a bias. To Santa Cruz from KOA. Watsonville CA?
Aug 23, 2020
We had a great time!
Aug 23, 2020
Enjoyed ourselves and the staff was amazing and helpful
Aug 23, 2020
It was great experience except our floor was so dirty. I do not think that it was wiped
Aug 23, 2020
Everything was great but the showers were moldy both the shower and the shower curtains. During these times cleanliness must be top priority. Our family still had a great time. Staff was very friendly and everything else was very clean.
Aug 23, 2020
Wifi horrible, no t-mobile and at&t reception
Aug 23, 2020
Aug 23, 2020
Nice place, too many kids for us
Aug 23, 2020
Our RV space was more spacious than I have experienced at other campsites. Even with a few activities closed due to COVID-19, the staff still had daily activities for kids to do. The WiFi allowed distant learning to continue while not home.
Aug 23, 2020
Very friendly and helpful staff, clean facilities and just all around great stay!
Aug 23, 2020
It was nice and cozy. We were evacuating the fires from Scotts Valley and we’re grateful for anything! The only downside was amount of kids not being watched by parents while riding bikes and scooters.
Aug 22, 2020
Super friendly and helpful staff and clean facilities. The cabin we stayed in could use some updating and the floors should be mopped prior to new arrivals. We cleaned the floors when we arrived and they were filthy. Some of the sheets for the bunk beds were not clean. There was gum on one set and hair on another.
Aug 22, 2020
The staff was excellent at picking up trash and keeping grounds nice. We would have appreciated noise control next to us our last two nights. Loud talking late into the night Tue and loud music all day and talking until at least 10:30 Wed night. One day teenagers were running a KOA golf cart up and down the hill below us. It must have been left unlocked. The same group on closed playground.
Aug 22, 2020
Everything was great! The only issue I had was when I went into the store the first night and it was packed, no social distancing or limiting how many people in the store. There was a large family in there with no masks and no one said anything to them. We avoided the store after that.
Aug 22, 2020
Aug 22, 2020
it was our first time at staying at a KOA and it was great. friendly staff, very clean campground easy check in.
Aug 22, 2020
We had a great time. All campsite staff was friendly and our cabin was clean and bug free!
Aug 22, 2020
The entire staff were very helpful! Very friendly!
Aug 22, 2020
Great place to stay. So much to do. Great staff. Very clean
Aug 22, 2020
We were here two weeks prior and loved it so much we decided to come back and escape the 100+ temps back in Sacramento. Cabin/airstream was a blast for my two kids. Staff was extremely friendly and everyone wore masks. The beach is only 1 mile away which was perfect! This will be added to our annual summer vacation spot!
Aug 22, 2020
Great stay, even with the Covid restrictions. WiFi went down the last full day we were there but everything else worked great.
Aug 22, 2020
We were evacuated due to fire and then asked to pay $50 bucks extra for a site with a fire ring, because our cabin wasn't ready. They wouldn't allow me to wait for the cabin I had already reserved and paid for. Way to gouge people while in a crisis.
Aug 21, 2020
Everyone was so friendly and kind ♥��
Aug 21, 2020
Aug 21, 2020
Power grid was taxed due to high temps. Power wouldn't hold on my post, It took 2 v/m messages and 2 direct calls and 2 KOA workers to fix the problem. The resort fee should be waived, due to no internet at that end of the park, I sat behind a septic reclamation In the "nature preserve" which smelled. I will ask for specific site next time I book. Overall park is nice in the lower preserve area.
Aug 21, 2020
Excelente atención. Buen espacio. Buen ambiente.
Aug 21, 2020
Easy access to our camp site. The cement pad wasn’t perfectly located but that was minor. We failed to pack a bbq expecting to have one at the site and that was really our only disappointment. Cable tv service was spotty but hey we’re camping right? Bathrooms were clean and nice. Families were enjoying themselves and allowing kids to run free which was quite alright with us. Just shows how saf
Aug 21, 2020
It was not easy to change towels otherwise it was really good.
Aug 21, 2020
Our first Camping trip. very clean and quiet. Staff is always busy maintaining the grounds and ready to help.
Aug 21, 2020
Aug 20, 2020
Our campsite was very small. �
Aug 20, 2020
I stayed in premium cabin 113 with my kids. I slept in cabin and the kids loved to set up tent, campfire, s'more. Oh, I liked the gas grill, so convenient to grill steak, corns. The only thing I don't like during my stay is the bad smell (sewer problem) around the sink areas where I need to wash my pot & pans outside the restroom.
Sep 20, 2020
As fire evacuees we were extremely happy to have a place to stay during the almost 3 weeks we were displaced. I was extremely impressed with their desire to accommodate so many of us. Having a travel trailer and a place to stay with these friendly folks was so comforting and we will always make a point to stay at this great establishment. Thank you!
- tim mcguire on Google
Sep 10, 2020
We are both Work Kampers at this KOA. We have stayed at many other KOAs during our travels and this is one of the nicest ones that we have seen. Right in the middle of the Monterey Bay coast, close to Santa Cruz and Monterey, there is limitless things to do here.
- Michael Figueroa on Google
Sep 09, 2020
Nice, quiet, clean, close to beach.
- Jay Miller on Google