Santa Cruz North / Costanoa KOA Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 19, 2019
We arrived after hours and located our paperwork easily. The tent sites are way off to one end. It rained all night and we packed up and headed out first thing. There was only one shower in the comfort station and it was always occupied. Overall, it was a pleasant stay, but we will choose another location next time. We parked wrong and some worker asked us to move. He seemed in a bad mood.
Jul 18, 2019
Simply magical. We enjoyed the chill atmosphere and had an amazing full moon hike! We also enjoyed the plethora of amenities. What a wonderful place to stay. We'd like to come back at Thanksgiving!
Jul 17, 2019
Very friendly staff and easy check-in process. Setting is quiet (we were tent-camping), with a good mix of sun and shade. Close to Hwy 1 and therefore within minutes of the many beaches along PCH. Affordable family vacation. Clean showers and bathrooms (being attended daily by staff - the same folks who set up and start a wood fire every night). Additional plus for kids: ADORABLE GOATS!
Jul 12, 2019
Beautiful campground, very clean, very close proximity to the beach, very quiet and peaceful. We hope to be back very soon!
Jul 09, 2019
Very nice campsite. Family and kids friendly. Walking distance to the beach, but you have to cross the highway 1. It takes about 15 mins walking. Campsite is very close to each other, good for big groups and several families going together. It doesn't feel too much sounds from the tent next to you even the site is very close to each other. Shower and bathroom is very clean.
Jul 09, 2019
My family loved the animals, garden, and playground.
Jun 28, 2019
Jun 28, 2019
Great location, nice facilities, friendly and accomodating staff. I will be booking my campsite for next summer!
Jun 26, 2019
Besides the fact that the advertised saunas did not work, it was relaxing and beautiful. The camp sites are small and crowded but the setting is nice.
Jun 26, 2019
A great facility.
Jun 24, 2019
First let me say your staff are wonderful, your restaurant had delicious well prepared food. The reason I will Not be telling friends or family to stay there are your bathroom showers, You have stalls for privacy for the toilets but you have only 1 shower and that is a disgrace. Woman were lined up to take a shower, the curtain didn't go all the way across and the floor was soaked. Sad so sad
Jun 21, 2019
It was a good experience. Bathroom was kept clean . But the water was clear yellow even in the dishwashing area.
Jun 21, 2019
Jun 19, 2019
Jun 18, 2019
We had a great six night stay!
Jun 17, 2019
The best campground we have ever stayed at! So many cool things to see and do at the campground itself.
Jun 17, 2019
Jun 16, 2019
Super nice, almost resort quality, and just a short walk to the beach. Great amenities with laundry available, showers, community fireplace, and picnic areas. We didn't realize that the tent sites didn't have firepits or trees, but it worked out fine.
Jun 12, 2019
Campsite was clean and accessible, wish we would’ve been closer to the fire pits as it was inconvenient for cooking
Jun 10, 2019
Jun 08, 2019
Jun 06, 2019
The best KOA I've experienced. We used a tent site which was very basic but the showers and toilet were very clean and updated and even had a sauna which worked great! No fires at the tent site but a beautiful fireplace and seating area at the sauna/bath with free firewood included to use there. The general store was awesome and the restaurant was beyond expectation. Overall EXCEPTIONAL!
May 17, 2019
May 17, 2019
i have stayed at castanoa 3 times over the years. i love hearing the ocean at night while in my tent.
May 16, 2019
This was the most amazing campground we have ever stayed at. It was clean, friendly and beautiful. We will definitely be staying again and recommending it to everyone we know. Thank you!
May 15, 2019
What a beautiful campground! Lovely landscaping, beach across the street, and a dry sauna for those cool evenings.
May 12, 2019
Apr 28, 2019
Wonderful couple at the check in office. Very helpful and friendly.
Apr 17, 2019
Lovely stop over for camping. It was very quiet during our Monday night stay.
Apr 09, 2019
We stayed here during a bike tour and it was so luxurious! We really enjoyed the comfort station and being able to relax by the fire while we ate dinner. Next time we’ll pack towels so we can enjoy the showers and sauna!! Oh and Hwy 1 brewing being right down the street was an amazing treat!
Apr 02, 2019
We had not much idea what to expect, but we (myself, two 15 year olds) were delighted at the sounds of the ocean, and abundant stars above!
Mar 31, 2019
Nice staff and grounds. Would be nice if there were campfire pits at the tent grounds.
Mar 25, 2019
Really enjoyed it. Shame there weren't fires going in the shared shower areas - we weren't sure how to get them going and we weren't allowed them in the camping area.
Mar 18, 2019
Mar 08, 2019
Feb 25, 2019
Jan 28, 2019
Dec 28, 2018
Amazing staff, absolutely INCREDIBLE location! Loved every minute of our stay there
Dec 17, 2018
Everyone was friendly and the camp was clean but little things like the bathroom outlets and some other outlets in the comfort stations and the camp kitchen are where broken and sinks little maintenance issues are nothing huge
Nov 25, 2018
Very good, nice area! Only complaint would be bathrooms weren’t very close and no electricity.
Nov 21, 2018
I enjoyed the wonderful setting and the tent camping area was acceptable. My only criticism is that I called the KOA office earlier in the day and asked about power hookups in the camping area. I understood from my phone conversation with a staff member that the tent camping area would have a 120V receptacle for me to use. Next time I will know to reserve a trailer camping spot with power.
Nov 17, 2018
Terrible experience, the noise and drunkenness from the neighbors on my last night, 11/17 was more than I could tolerate. Security did nothing, Party raged on until 1 am, on a Thursday night!! Not only was I annoyed but I also felt threaten by the unpredictable drunken mob. I purchased a KOA membership thinking I was going to utilize Costonoa quite frequentlybutaftermylastexperienceillneverbebac
Nov 13, 2018
Nov 13, 2018
Beautiful facility in great location, well maintained, very clean, perfect for children. We also loved all the programs they have offered. However the tent camping area is not great. It's an unnaturally fenced area without your own fireplace and it feels like an afterthought that doesn't really fit in the overall theme.
Nov 11, 2018
Nov 10, 2018
Oct 29, 2018
We stayed at the pitch your tent site. The camp ground is flat and has grass which makes more comfortable.
Oct 28, 2018
Great campsite. Very clean and the kids loved it.
Oct 22, 2018
Hello, the grounds and location are Amazing, worth cost. Our major concern with the resort was the restaurant. We ate there three times within the 3 days once dinner lunch breakfast. As the staff on the floor seemed to be trying to keep up with the flow the service was horrible. We waited over 20 minutes for our morning coffee, bartenders were very dismissal. You need a manager, food was good
Oct 15, 2018
Nov 30, 2019
What a facility! If you know nothing about camping or RVing, may I recommend spending some time at Costanoa KOA Campground! There are so many activities to enjoy and the scenery is spectacular. There is something for everyone, from hiking to horseback riding and of course enjoying the playground. The Costanoa KOA was the most expensive KOA we stayed at, but we're so thankful we ended our last day of camping here. Safe Travels!
- thomh235 on Trip Advisor
Nov 23, 2019
First and foremost, this area of coastline and the grounds are incredible! We stayed for 7 nights on the SeaScape Loop. Unbelievable. Mountain biking, site seeing, beaching, all there! My #1 Suggestion: A restaurant on site that is not fine dining. I love fine dining and Costanoa Restaurant is incredible, but it would be nice to have a lunch or dinner alternative. #2 Suggestion: This General Store is fantastic, but they do not carry lager beer of any kind. So, it's a local brewery Mexican Lager or an IPA (literally) $12/6 pack. Bring in some local variety please. Otherwise it's a great general store. And everyone is friendly and great! Finally, Costanoa is incredible. The staff is/was extremely accommodating and the facilities are well cleaned, maintained, etc. Also: Verizon is good for WiFi / Connectivity - If you need to work on direct campground WiFi it's best to be M-F. I would highly recommend this resort. It's beautiful.
- James Frady on Google
Oct 27, 2019
Excellent site, with good space between RVs, picnic table, patio, sun, shade and we were very lucky being on the end we had a great view. Well set out camp and best KOA Ive been too so far across Canada and Pacific highway.
- Fran Owen on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.