Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Jul 25, 2017
Traveling across country and mapped out. Called for reservation, but Restaurant closed Sun before we arrived at 4 pm. Trains ran all night long very close to campground. Called to clarify directions and sounded like a kid on phone, who was no help at all. Would not stay again nor recommend.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience.Our snack bar only does full menu Fri-Sat 4pmto8pm,Sundays are very big check out days.Unfortunately when we are that slow we don't run the snack bar during the weekday to avoid food waste.Sorry we do not have control over the train.We try to teach our staff the local exits and roads,depending where you were travailing from. GM
Jul 24, 2017
, great day everyone had fun, polite staff, I only found one laundromat downside cuz it rain, but the kids had a great time, would go back again,
Jul 24, 2017
Website did not notify of train proximity to campground. Trains came every 10-30 minutes all night. Terrible, terrible experience. Requested refund, and was denied. I will activately discourage anyone from staying here.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the train.We do not offer refunds because the train in not on our property and its out of our control. Its part of the surrounding neighborhood and area. Once again sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 22, 2017
Need handicap bathroom and shower. Stay was great. Thanks
Jul 22, 2017
Our stay was wonderful. They were able to switch our spot with another spot that was in the shade easily.
Jul 21, 2017
Staff was really friendly, site was adequate, bathrooms/showers were not as clean as the should be. Granted there were a lot of people there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes we get very busy on the weekends and we have a lot of campers come and go with us. Our facilities and grounds get used a a lot over the weekend. Our grounds and facilities staff works very hard even when is's 90+ degrees out.. Sorry you had a bad time with us. GM
Jul 20, 2017
we love your koa.its the best one i have been too.the staff is great.i reccomend it to every one i know.thank you for such a nice place to camp.we will be comming back again and again.have a great day,jane
Jul 20, 2017
Friendly staff, even campsite. Our site did have allot of ants, couldnt walk without stepping on a hill. Wish the campsites were a bit more spread out, people didn't really obey quiet hours

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately rain makes the insects a little more active after a few showers. As for the size of the sites we just made them bigger. The deluxe electric site you were on is a 35x35 size spot. We do have more isolated sites in our bay area if you did not like the size. Next time please let our office know so we help and move you to a better location. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 20, 2017
The location was great, but the bathrooms were disgusting. I chose to brush my teeth at the water spicket because there were so many bugs in the bathrooms. In the morning, I had to kill bugs while I showered because the bathrooms still hadn't been cleaned at 9:30am

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately during this time of the season we have mayflies and muffle heads that hatch on the lake.We have signs posted all over explaining the life cycles and the need for them to help Lake Erie.Our bathroom staff does an outstanding job keeping our facilities clean.With 5 bath & shower houses to clean every morning,cleaning bugs and up keep they are very busy.Sorry for your bad experience. GM
Jul 18, 2017
Although we weren't at the campsite during the day much, what we experienced at nights, mornings, and later afternoons was wonderful. Amenities are well cleaned and nice, activities are nice and the staff is friendly.
Jul 18, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay with my family and the staff was nice as well. I cant wait to return. I wish I could give it 5 stars, except the shower stalls were a bit small.
Jul 17, 2017
It was nice to have the pool and access to water and electricity so readily but the campsites can get really crowded and noisy. The trains coming in and out made it tough to sleep at times.
Jul 17, 2017
It was great affordable and close to the attractions of sandusky will definitely come back
Jul 17, 2017
Great getaway for the family! The staff are wonderful and we will be returning again next year!!!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Campground was nice and in good location to cedar point and restaurants. Sites are nice and grassy but not too many trees. Staff was not as friendly as other KOA locations.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the the positive feedback on our grounds. We are currently in the process of adding more trees since we lost a bunch over the spring.Sorry you had a bad experience with us. GM
Jul 16, 2017
Camp sites are extremely small for 9 people . They also forget to mention the train that comes through every other hour on the hour all day and night . If you leave few days early you don't get a refund. Also they are very rude you have to be quite by 8pm no music no laughing nothing you get yelled at or threaten to leave the park they don't pick up trash like they should

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience. Our E tent sites are for 4 people, if you have more then 4 people you are taking away from the space we provide. We have deluxe E tent sites that are 30X30 with plenty of room. Our quite time is at 11pm?? If we get complaints from fellow campers that a site is being loud we do send security down. We pick up trash just not after 4, we have that listed in the rules GM
Jul 15, 2017
We had a really great time! Close to the lake and tons of activities. The campground and bathrooms were clean. Employees were friendly.
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
Nice place, very clean but the lots are very crowded (wasn't a problem because it was pretty empty while we were there but if you went during busy time it would be very crowded). They also came and cleaned out our firepit after the first night and took the wood we had left in there which we weren't happy about
Jul 11, 2017
My husband and I stayed on the riverside for 3 days and had a great time! All the sites are very clean and spacious allowing some room for privacy. The best part were the staff members. Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful, and a pleasure to be around. A word of advice...check the weather prior to booking a site. We experienced a wild storm which did some damage. Other than that, wonder
Jul 10, 2017
Everything was just perfect. Just the right amount of needs for camping. The only bad thing is that it is next to a train crossing where the train comes through consistently blowing its horn at 12am, 4am etc.
Jul 10, 2017
Very friendly staff, beautiful campground
Jul 10, 2017
Our stay was short but we really enjoyed the pool and bouncy place. Looking forward to renting those pedal carts next time.
Jul 10, 2017
Stay was good
Jul 09, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
I was very disappointed in this stay. The neighbors beside us took up almost our whole site. They had 2 tents, a camper, and a shelter. We couldn't even park in our spot.The issue for me were the bathrooms. I know bugs are an issue this time of year. But I would have had someone go in before people get up and clean them up. That and the shower knobs are nasty!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our deluxe tent sites are 30+ X 30+ feet, very large for a tent site. Sorry that you had no room, Please notify front desk next time so we can take care of any situation that may occur. As for the bugs, we do our best with multiple shifts cleaning our restrooms. Nature can be very difficult at times, but we do our best. Sorry you had a bad experience. GM
Jul 06, 2017
My family and I made this trip a family reunion and everyone enjoyed being there, we even had nice and respectful neighbors which made our stay even better
Jul 06, 2017
Wonderful
Jul 06, 2017
What a fun trip and nice campground! Everyone was so nice! It's extremely clean and has so much to offer!!! Our kids really enjoyed the park, jump pad and pool and we loved the breakfast choices. The location is super convenient to everything. We will definitely be back!!
Jul 05, 2017
Nice clean campground, lots of activities, super convenient to Cedar Point. The transmission on our vehicle went out during our stay and we had to rent a trailer to get it home. With the transmission not working we couldn't drive it up onto the trailer and 6 or 7 guys from the maintenance and security staff came and helped us push it up onto the trailer and get it secured. Really helpful staff!
Jul 05, 2017
My children and I had a wonderful stay!! The only recommendation from me would be to have tent sites larger. Felt very much on top of all of our neighbors.
Jul 05, 2017
Very nice, safe and clean place to stay.
Jul 05, 2017
Clean amenities and friendly staff.
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
the site had no shade and right next to a bathroom people kept cutting threw the middle of our site at all hours, the site was very uneven ad had holes everywhere they said they had a kamp kitchen when i called to make the reservation so no need to pack cooking things when i got tghere its just a fire ring on your site and a snack bar

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad stay with us. Some site have shade some have little or none. We do have many types of sites available. Kamp Kitchen is a place where tent campers can wash dishes and clean cooking utensils. Sorry you were under the impression we had a fully stocked kitchen on our =grounds for you to cook in? We do have nice big fire rings with a grill top for your cooking and fire needs. GM
Jul 03, 2017
This was not like any state park campgrounds.!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes we are not a state park? We are a family owned KOA Campground. All KOA Campgrounds are different and have there own corky way about them. Sorry you had a bad experience at ours. GM
Jul 02, 2017
Pleasant, very clean in bathrooms and grounds...satisfying and will definitely return and refer.
Jul 02, 2017
ALWAYS A GREAT TIME!
Jul 01, 2017
Very clean bathrooms. very friendly staff. Fire wood was over priced
Jul 01, 2017
We had a great time. Only a couple of nights a little noisy after 11. But kids will be kids. Lol we highly recommend staying here. Great and friendly staff. Thanks for a great time. Lots of activities for kids and adults alike!
Jul 01, 2017
Love this place . Have been going over 10 years . Glad to see more electric on tent sights and more for the kids . Keep it up
Jul 01, 2017
The campground was great but the trains are a deal breaker for us. Our family slept terribly and you can still hear the trains through earplugs!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to hear about the bad stay. I wish we could control the trains. GM
Jun 30, 2017
Very noisy. Put everyone in tent area right on top of each other. On Sunday night a sight was being belligerent with security and they did nothing

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Alcohol is always a fun interaction, unfortunately some campers are those people. Our security staff patrol throughout the night. Sorry for the bad experience GM
Jun 29, 2017
The tent area was area what is great You had the place very clean The workers and the other guest were very friendly We were very surprised to find nice hot showers
Jun 28, 2017
My daughter and I enjoyed our stay very much. She had a blast and the cost and location relative to cedar point made it even better. Thanks
Jun 27, 2017
We stayed on a Saturday night and a Sunday night. There was very little camp oversight and people were partying until 2 am. There was also a fight between guests and visitors at the swimming pool. The only thing this camp really has going for it is that it is near cedar point.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have bigger tent sites available. Sorry for the bad experience with us.
Jun 26, 2017
All of the facilities were clean, and the staff were nice and helpful. My group had a really great time. The only downside about the camp was the location. There were loud trains going by all night which made it hard to sleep for some people in my group. I would come again, but would need ear plugs. It might be nice if they offered some free cheap ones at the main office. Overall was great
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy