Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Tent Reviews

Nov 01, 2017
nice grounds, clean bathrooms, friendly staff, perfect place to set up camp for a trip to cedar point!!
Oct 30, 2017
I would give at least 4 stars but the WiFi service was terrible. I realize that when camping the last thing anyone should be doing is playing around with technology but when you rely on WiFi to provide your weather, directions, etc for your out of town trip it is a major inconvenience when its not available. There are approximately 10 WiFi networks at this camp and none of them consistently work.
Oct 23, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
Great location close to Cedar Point and offers many types of sites and amenities. Just be aware if you are tent camping that there are loud trains that run next to the campground at night.
Oct 17, 2017
Friendly helpful staff, beautiful landscape, extremely close to cedar point.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
Oct 12, 2017
The whole reason for our trip was to go fishing. We chose this site to camp at because when i called to ask about the bay shore area i was told we could get back there to fish. When we got there and walked back the whole area is over grown to where you can not fish at all. We had to drive 10 minutes every day to go fishing. Would greatly suggest cleaning up the bay area. We were disappointed.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the fishing problem.We sit on a wet lands that is owned by Metro Parks.We have no control over Lake growth.We are working with Metro Parks to better control the Phragmites which are an invasive reed plant that grows everywhere on Lake Erie.Yes you can fish from our bay view area but we are not a advertised fishing destination.We have close by fishing spots around us. GM
Oct 11, 2017
Such a great campground and friendly staff - we will come back year after year ! The bathroom were so clean and the grounds were kept clean as well! Be proud of this KOA !
Oct 11, 2017
Loud train ever hour of the night so it was impossible to sleep. Front desk staff was very lackluster and didnât look like that had any desire to be there at all. Would not recommend.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad stay. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the train for that we do apologize. Once again sorry for the bad experience. GM
Oct 06, 2017
Oct 05, 2017
Oct 05, 2017
Everyone was nice, the facility was clean. But the bugs, especially the spiders for this time of year was unbelievable!!
Oct 05, 2017
We've stayed here multiple times and each time has been a great experience. The front desk staff is amazing at handling our requests for specific campsites with no problems at all. They definitely go above and beyond. I will always stay here every time we are in town and because of this location, entertained the idea of getting a membership. Well done.
Sep 28, 2017
Sep 27, 2017
Very clean and well kept in bathrooms and camp sites. Lots of fun for the kids to do as well!
Sep 27, 2017
The facility and staff was excellent as always, this review reflects nothing negative on their part. The campgrounds proximity to an extremely active railroad with trains honking their horns at all hours of the night is what makes me never want to stay there again. If you have no issues sleeping within 200 meters from non stop train traffic, there will be no issues for you.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. We are glad you had a great time staying with us. Unfortunately we don't have any control over the train so we do apologize for that. GM
Sep 22, 2017
Awesome as always. Won't stay anywhere else when ever we are near. Looking very nice well kept very clean as always. Employees are all helpful and very friendly.
Sep 19, 2017
We stayed here earlier in the season, and since then have stayed at several KOA's in several states. While the staff are generally friendly, the campground, itself, is nothing to write home about. There is no privacy. Just a huge open field with tons of packed in sites with little landscaping. There also isn't anyone patrolling or enforcing "quiet time." Very loud groups past midnight. Close to CP
Sep 19, 2017
We liked the campground! The nature trail was pretty cool. Our kids loved the playgrounds and pools. Your staff was very nice!
Sep 19, 2017
First time camping with my kid! We liked it all. Great location and we rode the pedal karts for almost an hour too! Easy checkin/check out.
Sep 18, 2017
Had a great time. Clean,great. Customer. Service!!! Nice environment. Great price well worth it!!!
Sep 12, 2017
Sep 05, 2017
It was the busiest time we've stayed there but it was very enjoyable. Staff is always nice.
Sep 05, 2017
We were able to switch sites to a quieter location without any problems. It was busy, but enjoyable. Only complaint was the times were switched for the activities without notice. My kids were very disappointed that they didn't get to participate in the marshmallow shooters or the movie. It needed to be advertised correctly.
Sep 05, 2017
This was our second visit to this KOA. We were not very happy. There were several issues with kids on the jump pad and playground not handled very well, bathrooms were not kept very clean and stocked and the worst part was they had a garbage truck come through at 7:15 am on Monday to empty dumpsters. Also the activities sheet they gave had times which were not followed. Our first stay was better

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience.We did have a few very large family reunion and they kept my staff very busy that weekend,We have a lot of traffic through our facilities and having a wet campground does bring muddy shoes.Our g staff works hard to keep all 5 bath/shower houses clean everyday.Being its a holiday weekend trash was overflowing,we where not expecting that early. GM
Sep 05, 2017
I have stars at other KOA camp grounds and this is my least favorite by far. No trees in our area, no organization with kids crafts, they closed tye dye 30 minutes early on us, no one watched the bike rental had to hunt people down for that. They even turned off the bounce pillow multiple times

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience.We had to shut the pillow down to excessive rough housing.We had a few very big family reunions that cased a bit of problems that weekend,the safest thing to do at that point was to shut it down. Tye Dye was from 10am to 12pm very busy and had tons of kids.Rentals are watched but if campers don't return on time we have to find them. GM
Sep 04, 2017
Sep 04, 2017
The activities during the day were a blast.
Sep 03, 2017
Great location if you want to go to Cedar Shore. Staff was superfriendly. Campground was perfectly clean, restrooms were ok. Playground was a great spot to meet other kids. After a few nights we could barely hear the trains. The ice cream social could have gone better. Everything else was AOK.
Sep 03, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Very enjoyable and would gladly stay here again. Meet Lots of very interesting people and make new friends. Staff was very friendly and very helpful.
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
I enjoyed it a lot, but a lot of folks I know won't like it because of the very close proximity to a busy railway and crossing.
Aug 28, 2017
Was just what we needed, a nice place to set up a tent. We didn't spend much time at the campground.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
I really enjoyed my time. We had zero problems and had a ton of fun.
Aug 28, 2017
Great staff and clean campsite and bathrooms and all.
Aug 25, 2017
Great campground great people always a pleasure to stay...
Aug 24, 2017
Clean, well kept, friendly staff. I never rate anyone a 10 (or 5) because there is always room for improvement, but you folks were as close as you can get.
Aug 24, 2017
Everything was great except the cost of campfire wood was outrages. $6.50 a bundle which only had 6 pieces of wood. Why have a campfire ring if you can't afford the wood for one.
Aug 24, 2017
I camp here about twice a month every summer with my family and I enjoy it every time. Everyone here is very nice and we enjoy the 2nd pool that was put in.
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 22, 2017
Loved the activities for kids. Definitely a family campground. All staff were super nice and helpful. This is the cleanest and best kept campground we have ever stayed at. Loved it all!
Aug 22, 2017
stay every year!
Aug 21, 2017
This was our 1st camping trip in our new pop up. We had an Amazing time at KOA! The staff were Awesome! Very friendly n helpful. The kids activities were so cool, my kids loved it. Playground n pools were clean. We stayed in the very back of campground n that was perfect for us, gave us privacy. The only complaint would b that the back bathroom needs to b cleaned/checked more often. Wil come again
Aug 21, 2017
It's a nice KOA as far as the pool, playground and children activities, but it is a loud KOA. Train going through blaring horn at all hours, people coming and going until very late, staying up and playing music and talking very loudly until very late, If you don't mind noise, then this KOA is good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. Unfortunately we do not have control over the trains off property. We do have quite a few Cedar Point campers who stay with us and the park does not close till midnight and with traffic it can take up to 30min or more to make it out of the parking lot. We also have late arrivals because of Cedar Point as well. Once again sorry for the bad experience. GM
Aug 21, 2017
Aug 21, 2017
Campgrounds were very clean, and the bathrooms were well kept. Iâd be happy to stay here again!
Aug 21, 2017
There was a list if activities that were suppose to take place for. 5-8 pm. Only 3 of them on the list were done and it ended at 7. Also I was unaware there was a train track within 100yards of the campsite. Who puts a campground by a train track???? The pools were dirty/cloudy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our activities list can change depending on the attendance of campers, Family movie night started early do to the request of other family's attending the activities. We had rockets launching and other great activities going on that weekend. We are a 50 year old campground and we have little control of what goes around us.Unfortunately we have no control over the train that runs off our property.GM
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy