Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
Campground is located very near active railroad system with loud trains. Otherwise- great location.
Jul 05, 2017
We have stayed here for years and love this KOA. So Clean, Super Friendly and fun!
Jul 05, 2017
We enjoyed our stay during the 4th of July weekend. It was our first time at this KOA and thought it was good. People were really nice.
Jul 05, 2017
This was one of the nicest KOA we have stayed at this season. Well done
Jul 05, 2017
Pros - overall well run and maintained. Cons - pretty expensive, proximity to railroad tracks, tight driveways and spaces for large RVs.
Jul 05, 2017
Nice clean campground, lots of activities, super convenient to Cedar Point. The transmission on our vehicle went out during our stay and we had to rent a trailer to get it home. With the transmission not working we couldn't drive it up onto the trailer and 6 or 7 guys from the maintenance and security staff came and helped us push it up onto the trailer and get it secured. Really helpful staff!
Jul 05, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly staff
Jul 05, 2017
My children and I had a wonderful stay!! The only recommendation from me would be to have tent sites larger. Felt very much on top of all of our neighbors.
Jul 05, 2017
Very nice, safe and clean place to stay.
Jul 05, 2017
Clean amenities and friendly staff.
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
Tons of stuff for the kids to do! A giant bouncy thing with a nice sandy edge. A huge sand pit. two jungle gyms! A water trough to mine for gems when you buy a bag of sand. 2 Pools. This place was great! Thanks!
Jul 05, 2017
the site had no shade and right next to a bathroom people kept cutting threw the middle of our site at all hours, the site was very uneven ad had holes everywhere they said they had a kamp kitchen when i called to make the reservation so no need to pack cooking things when i got tghere its just a fire ring on your site and a snack bar

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad stay with us. Some site have shade some have little or none. We do have many types of sites available. Kamp Kitchen is a place where tent campers can wash dishes and clean cooking utensils. Sorry you were under the impression we had a fully stocked kitchen on our =grounds for you to cook in? We do have nice big fire rings with a grill top for your cooking and fire needs. GM
Jul 05, 2017
Not very friendly

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Hello, sorry you had a bad experience with us. GM
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Fun
Jul 04, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Very nice... Thank you!
Jul 04, 2017
Camp sites are too close to one another. Had some fun kid activities: pudding eating contest and chocolate slip and slip. Park was clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Glad you and your family had a good time with us. Yes some of our sites are close but we do have some sites that are bigger and have more room, unfortunately they were not available during your stay. GM
Jul 03, 2017
Wifi signal not strong enough reach the room.
Jul 03, 2017
All night long Trains and train whistles. The sites for large campers were very small(Narrow)...We felt uncomfortable sitting outside as we could hear our neighbors conversations etc...intermittent Internet and Cable outages. The camp ground was taken care of and was quite clean. The trains are horrible.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience. We do have bigger sites but they were not available during your stay. I wish we had control over the trains, so we do apologize for the bad experience. GM
Jul 03, 2017
This was not like any state park campgrounds.!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes we are not a state park? We are a family owned KOA Campground. All KOA Campgrounds are different and have there own corky way about them. Sorry you had a bad experience at ours. GM
Jul 03, 2017
Place is clean but it is located in a dumpy city on a massive cement slab for miles! Hardly any grass or trees. No camping feel to it. A very small swampy beach. Train tracks on side of park. They run every half hour or so. All night long. Very loud!! Kids park is decent. Pools cloudy and dirty. A ton of campers sandwiched in. A decent place to rest for a night. But not to have a camping expieren

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had such a bad experience with us.We do sit on a nature preserve/wet lands.I do apologize for the trains I wish we had control. GM
Jul 02, 2017
Pleasant, very clean in bathrooms and grounds...satisfying and will definitely return and refer.
Jul 02, 2017
It was good wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy amenities there
Jul 02, 2017
ALWAYS A GREAT TIME!
Jul 02, 2017
We have stayed here several years now as our base for visiting Cedar Point. I have enjoyed the convenience but there is one negative; it's the water - tastes awful, so we didn't even hook up this year. We tried a filter last year but didn't help at all. There is also an odor at times from the area mining activities but that is not the fault of the KOA.
Jul 02, 2017
Campsites very tight. We were enjoying a campfire in designated ring when neighbor Rv emptied their black tank, which the connection is within 4 feet from campfire. Fines so bad we had to go inside. Also quiet times are not enforced. Not a very enjoyable stay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience with us. We do have bigger sites available but they were occupied during your stay. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 01, 2017
Very clean bathrooms. very friendly staff. Fire wood was over priced
Jul 01, 2017
Very close to Cedar Point. The trains were a beast but we adjusted. The floor of the cabin could have been mopped better. Overall convenient. Our group rented 2 cabins and 2 RV pads so it was a good time. Easy to do business with.
Jul 01, 2017
Jul 01, 2017
Nice, clean campground. Friendly staff. Excellent stay!
Jul 01, 2017
We had a great time. Only a couple of nights a little noisy after 11. But kids will be kids. Lol we highly recommend staying here. Great and friendly staff. Thanks for a great time. Lots of activities for kids and adults alike!
Jul 01, 2017
Love this place . Have been going over 10 years . Glad to see more electric on tent sights and more for the kids . Keep it up
Jul 01, 2017
Crowded and expensive. Ok for overnight stays.
Jul 01, 2017
We found a bed bug in on the bed spread they told me that it was probably from a previous camper and I'm the one who put the bedding on the bed so I know it wasn't there before hand so am very disappointed at they way they handled the situation and will never recommend it it to any one

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We understand your concern with your problem during your stay.Any time we have a guest claim they have a bug problem we have a company come out and test the unit for activity.I did email you the report from the company we go through to inspect when such a problem occurs.The results where negative and showed no signs of any activity.We are sorry you had this problem occur during your last night.GM
Jul 01, 2017
The campground was great but the trains are a deal breaker for us. Our family slept terribly and you can still hear the trains through earplugs!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry to hear about the bad stay. I wish we could control the trains. GM
Jul 01, 2017
First the location is next to a trailer park and apartments, they didn't look like the best either. The day we got there we witnessed a fight between 2 groups of black people and both were yelling the n word next to the pool full of kids. Security came and told them to stop, I'm sorry but they should have been kicked out of the campground. The first pool was dirty and then some kid threw up in it.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience during your stay, there was a altercation involving a group of campers staying with us. Our security addressed the situation and tried to control the language being used. We do have 2 pools to choose from when one is getting heavy used. Sorry about your bad experience. GM
Jul 01, 2017
The campground was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly. The problem was that it is located across the street from train tracks and train whistles could be heard 24 hours a day about every 30-45 min. If you are not used to this type of noise it makes it very difficult to get rest at night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience wit us. I do wish we could control the train. Sorry for the train. GM
Jun 30, 2017
it was very pleasant. everyone was nice and everything was clean
Jun 30, 2017
Sites are very tight you have a camper or rv in your patio. Restrooms clean. Staff helpful.
Jun 30, 2017
Very nice KOA with lots of extras.....snack bar, 2 pools, bikes, etc. Cabin & bathrooms very clean.
Jun 30, 2017
AC in cabin made lots of noise, but did not cool. A train goes right through the back of the campground, so it's pretty noisy. The bathroom has 3 toilets and 6 showers, when it should have been the opposite. Cottonwood was everywhere and I never noticed them cleaning anything. The paper towels in bathroom were constantly jammed and had a note that said "don't push button all the way in"

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for your bad experience with us. We do not have any control over the train that runs behind our property. Cotton wood is everywhere for a 2 week period and is pretty hard to control when it is flowering from the trees. We try our best to battle what nature gives us. We do have cleaners and grounds working hard to keep our campground clean, sorry you did not see them. GM
Jun 30, 2017
The sites were very small. The site next to me could have roasted marshmallows from their camper window at my fire ring. My waste line was less than 2 foot from the fire ring of the site next to me. One of the long-term sites across from me looked like a junk yard with all the "stuff" in front of the camper. As a child I remember KOA's being much cleaner. This was very disappointing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience with us. We do have bigger sites available but may have not been available during your stay. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jun 30, 2017
Very noisy. Put everyone in tent area right on top of each other. On Sunday night a sight was being belligerent with security and they did nothing

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Alcohol is always a fun interaction, unfortunately some campers are those people. Our security staff patrol throughout the night. Sorry for the bad experience GM
Jun 29, 2017
Honestly only thing I would like to see done differently is the showers to be in the back of the bathhouse I feel that would offer more privacy and the toilets in the front. Other then that I wish our stay could have been longer
Jun 29, 2017
Jun 29, 2017
The tent area was area what is great You had the place very clean The workers and the other guest were very friendly We were very surprised to find nice hot showers
Jun 29, 2017
staff was friendly and helpful.Pool was not enjoyable, it was murky.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy