Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 18, 2017
I really enjoyed my stay with my family and the staff was nice as well. I cant wait to return. I wish I could give it 5 stars, except the shower stalls were a bit small.
Jul 18, 2017
I thought this was a great campground. I've visited many KOA cabins and this was one of the best. If I had to make a complaint though, it would just be that I feel like more restrooms and showers are needed.
Jul 17, 2017
Great place, very clean. Outside space is very tight.
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
WiFi is not consistent
Jul 17, 2017
Our cabin was not very clean and was missing some necessary items, but the staff was helpful in getting us what we needed. I was disappointed though that they just handed my mother cleaning supplies instead of offering to do it themselves.
Jul 17, 2017
Very nice. Thanks
Jul 17, 2017
Bathroom facilities are very clean. Lots of activities. 2 nice pools. The only complaint is that the sites are small/ narrow. We had a pull through site and our patio/ picnic table was right next to the camper next to us. The fire pit was right next to the septic connection- no very appetizing for Smores!
Jul 17, 2017
I loved the clean cabin that we stayed in. The patio was real nice and loved that it was by the pool. The water temp in the shower was either too hot or cool, no in between and the toilet kept clogging up. I would recommend the stay and would go back to the same site.
Jul 17, 2017
Really enjoyed all the things you have for kids to do from swimming to activities,all the convince
Jul 17, 2017
This was the BEST! We're not necessarily "camping people" and stayed here because other family members were here in a motor home! I don't think I would have thought of it! We stayed in two deluxe cabins (10 of us) and were very comfortable. So much better than a hotel! VERY CLEAN!!! A lot to do. Everyone wants to make this a yearly family trip!!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
It was nice to have the pool and access to water and electricity so readily but the campsites can get really crowded and noisy. The trains coming in and out made it tough to sleep at times.
Jul 17, 2017
A lot to do here. Close to everything
Jul 17, 2017
Nice Campground. Great staff! Very helpful and friendly. Great location . The only negative is camping spots are way too close together. Next door neighbors bump out was halfway across our Green Space.
Jul 17, 2017
It was great affordable and close to the attractions of sandusky will definitely come back
Jul 17, 2017
Great getaway for the family! The staff are wonderful and we will be returning again next year!!!
Jul 17, 2017
Jul 17, 2017
Very nice place. The rv spot we reserved was kinda small but we made it work. The workers were friendly and the showers and bathrooms were pretty clean for the most part. Had a great experience.
Jul 17, 2017
Overall a good stay. Had a view of a GMC dealership. Lots of trains run by the campground.
Jul 17, 2017
Poor set up for sewer hook ups, main electric and water too close to fire ring. Moved fire ring with permission then was questioned about missing fire ring. Lack of communication with employees. Staff were not friendly and welcoming. Customer service needs improvement.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

The fire ring was questioned because it was left on the site beside you and not on the registered site you were on. Campers have stolen rings in the past when left on the wrong sites. This was explained during the questioning by the GM of the campground. Sorry you had a bad experience with us. GM
Jul 17, 2017
Bathrooms were always a mess, campsites too close together, felt like sardines, neighbors up until 2am, office staff knew nothing of the local area.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

During weekends our facilities get used a lot and not everyone has the same cleaning standards as others.Our bathroom staff works hard to keep every bath house clean and bug free.Depending on what you wanted to do,we have an entire information station with brochures on every listing local and 50 miles around.Our staff may not know everything about what to do,our info booth should of help out. GM
Jul 16, 2017
Clean - comfortable Friendly folks Exactly what we needed for our visit to Cedar Point
Jul 16, 2017
Disappointed that wifi would not pick up.
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 16, 2017
The stay was nice. A lot of people complain about the train but it was not a big deal. The pull thru sites could be improved, there was a lot of mud and standing water around the sites. Next time I would get a site with a concrete pad to avoid the mud and standing water in the pull thru sites. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2017
Our first time at this park, and it was an awesome experience! Our deluxe cabin was very clean and had everything we needed! Every staff member was very friendly and helpful, my grandkids loved all of the fun stuff for kids.
Jul 16, 2017
Campground was nice and in good location to cedar point and restaurants. Sites are nice and grassy but not too many trees. Staff was not as friendly as other KOA locations.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the the positive feedback on our grounds. We are currently in the process of adding more trees since we lost a bunch over the spring.Sorry you had a bad experience with us. GM
Jul 16, 2017
Positive: Great location as it is close to several area attractions. Negitive: I have stayed at several KOA campsites and this was not my fav for several reasons. First, it is noisy due to trains that run nearby. Second, when it rains it puddles around bath and the campsites. Lastly, the laundry room was really dirty and hot they did not even have a fan.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad stay with us.Unfortunately we do not have any control over the train and we are sorry for that.As for mother nature, she did give us a lot of rain over the past few days. We can not control the weather but our staff tries hard to do what we can. The site you were on has very nice drainage and handles the water very well??Our laundry gets used a lot and we do try and keep up.GM
Jul 16, 2017
Camp sites are extremely small for 9 people . They also forget to mention the train that comes through every other hour on the hour all day and night . If you leave few days early you don't get a refund. Also they are very rude you have to be quite by 8pm no music no laughing nothing you get yelled at or threaten to leave the park they don't pick up trash like they should

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience. Our E tent sites are for 4 people, if you have more then 4 people you are taking away from the space we provide. We have deluxe E tent sites that are 30X30 with plenty of room. Our quite time is at 11pm?? If we get complaints from fellow campers that a site is being loud we do send security down. We pick up trash just not after 4, we have that listed in the rules GM
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
Condition of cabin - poor. Grass (weeds) in the camping areas - poor Location to Cedar Point - very good Staff in camp store - sufficient but far from welcoming Have rented rv space and cabins here for 6 yrs straight. Time to update the campground. This year we were extremely disappointed in 1 of 3 cabins and grass (weeds) condition throughout the campground.
Jul 15, 2017
We had a really great time! Close to the lake and tons of activities. The campground and bathrooms were clean. Employees were friendly.
Jul 15, 2017
Excellent KOA. Friendly. Clean. Easy access. Nice pool.
Jul 15, 2017
Train tracks were 100 yards from our campsite. Trains ran 24 hours a day, making it impossible to sleep. Earplugs didn't help, since our entire popup camper shook each time a train went by. Our campsite was the closest in the campground to these tracks. When we complained after the first night, we were offered to move to another site. Why put us on that site in the first place if others were open?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience.When you booked you booked for a 30amp W&E back in site.After the complaint we offered to move you to the other section of back in W&E, we explained they are only 15amp and can be used with a adapter to make it 30amp, you decided not to move to that location. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 15, 2017
It was dirty everywhere mostly the bathrooms, the staff just did not seam to care, I stay in nothing but KOA's and this has got to be the worst one that I have ever stayed at. It was so bad I departed a day early.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you felt the need to leave a day early. We have tons of family's stay with us every season and have a blast. Our bathrooms are high volume and are used quite often at different times of the day and night. Our faculties team works hard to keep our bathrooms clean as does our grounds crew fro the grounds. Sorry you had a bad experience. GM
Jul 14, 2017
Very well kept
Jul 14, 2017
Excellent place. Need dedicated check-in staff. The store/coffee/ice cream needs its own dedicated staff too. Customers' ice cream were almost finished waiting to check out. We let several go ahead of our check-in because the other counter person was on the phone. By the time we got back to our camper, there was a line of campers.
Jul 14, 2017
Love the pool the kids area the cleanliness and how friendly everybody was. Would definitely come back and stay again.
Jul 13, 2017
Fast check in, very clean, great amenities, but loud train and traffic noise where we were located.
Jul 13, 2017
Wonderful, friendly folks who clearly care about the maintenance of their facility. We will be back!
Jul 13, 2017
Stayed here for close access to Cedar Point; very close to the park and very nice campground. Recommend anyone going to Cedar Point to stay here at a much more affordable price.
Jul 13, 2017
Was excellent very nice people!
Jul 13, 2017
Older Cabins but very clean
Jul 13, 2017
Stayed at trailer. Accommodations were adequate. Clean and roomy. Wifi was substandard (kept disconnecting).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our WIFI is only for basic use, checking mail and things like that. If you try to stream or watch Netflix you will be booted. We do offer a high speed connection for a fee. Basic WIFI is given as a free amenity. Please let our office know next time so we could of helped out. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 12, 2017
Enjoyed all the great activities for children. Everything was well kept. Very polite, helpful and caring employees.
Jul 12, 2017
Clean bathrooms and showers. The front desk people were very friendly. Very close to Cedar Point!!!!
Jul 12, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy