Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 16, 2017
The stay was nice. A lot of people complain about the train but it was not a big deal. The pull thru sites could be improved, there was a lot of mud and standing water around the sites. Next time I would get a site with a concrete pad to avoid the mud and standing water in the pull thru sites. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Jul 16, 2017
Our first time at this park, and it was an awesome experience! Our deluxe cabin was very clean and had everything we needed! Every staff member was very friendly and helpful, my grandkids loved all of the fun stuff for kids.
Jul 16, 2017
Campground was nice and in good location to cedar point and restaurants. Sites are nice and grassy but not too many trees. Staff was not as friendly as other KOA locations.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the the positive feedback on our grounds. We are currently in the process of adding more trees since we lost a bunch over the spring.Sorry you had a bad experience with us. GM
Jul 16, 2017
Positive: Great location as it is close to several area attractions. Negitive: I have stayed at several KOA campsites and this was not my fav for several reasons. First, it is noisy due to trains that run nearby. Second, when it rains it puddles around bath and the campsites. Lastly, the laundry room was really dirty and hot they did not even have a fan.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad stay with us.Unfortunately we do not have any control over the train and we are sorry for that.As for mother nature, she did give us a lot of rain over the past few days. We can not control the weather but our staff tries hard to do what we can. The site you were on has very nice drainage and handles the water very well??Our laundry gets used a lot and we do try and keep up.GM
Jul 16, 2017
Camp sites are extremely small for 9 people . They also forget to mention the train that comes through every other hour on the hour all day and night . If you leave few days early you don't get a refund. Also they are very rude you have to be quite by 8pm no music no laughing nothing you get yelled at or threaten to leave the park they don't pick up trash like they should

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience. Our E tent sites are for 4 people, if you have more then 4 people you are taking away from the space we provide. We have deluxe E tent sites that are 30X30 with plenty of room. Our quite time is at 11pm?? If we get complaints from fellow campers that a site is being loud we do send security down. We pick up trash just not after 4, we have that listed in the rules GM
Jul 15, 2017
Jul 15, 2017
Condition of cabin - poor. Grass (weeds) in the camping areas - poor Location to Cedar Point - very good Staff in camp store - sufficient but far from welcoming Have rented rv space and cabins here for 6 yrs straight. Time to update the campground. This year we were extremely disappointed in 1 of 3 cabins and grass (weeds) condition throughout the campground.
Jul 15, 2017
We had a really great time! Close to the lake and tons of activities. The campground and bathrooms were clean. Employees were friendly.
Jul 15, 2017
Excellent KOA. Friendly. Clean. Easy access. Nice pool.
Jul 15, 2017
Train tracks were 100 yards from our campsite. Trains ran 24 hours a day, making it impossible to sleep. Earplugs didn't help, since our entire popup camper shook each time a train went by. Our campsite was the closest in the campground to these tracks. When we complained after the first night, we were offered to move to another site. Why put us on that site in the first place if others were open?

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for the bad experience.When you booked you booked for a 30amp W&E back in site.After the complaint we offered to move you to the other section of back in W&E, we explained they are only 15amp and can be used with a adapter to make it 30amp, you decided not to move to that location. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 15, 2017
It was dirty everywhere mostly the bathrooms, the staff just did not seam to care, I stay in nothing but KOA's and this has got to be the worst one that I have ever stayed at. It was so bad I departed a day early.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you felt the need to leave a day early. We have tons of family's stay with us every season and have a blast. Our bathrooms are high volume and are used quite often at different times of the day and night. Our faculties team works hard to keep our bathrooms clean as does our grounds crew fro the grounds. Sorry you had a bad experience. GM
Jul 14, 2017
Very well kept
Jul 14, 2017
Excellent place. Need dedicated check-in staff. The store/coffee/ice cream needs its own dedicated staff too. Customers' ice cream were almost finished waiting to check out. We let several go ahead of our check-in because the other counter person was on the phone. By the time we got back to our camper, there was a line of campers.
Jul 14, 2017
Love the pool the kids area the cleanliness and how friendly everybody was. Would definitely come back and stay again.
Jul 13, 2017
Fast check in, very clean, great amenities, but loud train and traffic noise where we were located.
Jul 13, 2017
Wonderful, friendly folks who clearly care about the maintenance of their facility. We will be back!
Jul 13, 2017
Stayed here for close access to Cedar Point; very close to the park and very nice campground. Recommend anyone going to Cedar Point to stay here at a much more affordable price.
Jul 13, 2017
Was excellent very nice people!
Jul 13, 2017
Older Cabins but very clean
Jul 13, 2017
Stayed at trailer. Accommodations were adequate. Clean and roomy. Wifi was substandard (kept disconnecting).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Our WIFI is only for basic use, checking mail and things like that. If you try to stream or watch Netflix you will be booted. We do offer a high speed connection for a fee. Basic WIFI is given as a free amenity. Please let our office know next time so we could of helped out. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 12, 2017
Enjoyed all the great activities for children. Everything was well kept. Very polite, helpful and caring employees.
Jul 12, 2017
Clean bathrooms and showers. The front desk people were very friendly. Very close to Cedar Point!!!!
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
It was very nice.
Jul 12, 2017
Jul 12, 2017
Loved all the activities and the staff was really nice and helping with stuff
Jul 12, 2017
Nice place, very clean but the lots are very crowded (wasn't a problem because it was pretty empty while we were there but if you went during busy time it would be very crowded). They also came and cleaned out our firepit after the first night and took the wood we had left in there which we weren't happy about
Jul 12, 2017
We have been coming for the past 6 years,making reservations 8 months in advance, we arrived and were told we could not have the normal cabin we stay in. We ended up no where near the rest of our family! The refrigerator went out the first night. The place was absolute disgusting, dirty, carpeting stained, huge hole underneath the kitchen sink going right outside,dishes had bugs.No one care atall

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Making a reservation online does not guaranteed you will get what you requested. We are sorry for the inconvenience. We don't start taking reservations till March and we get flooded with calls and the request site was requested before you could make contact. Once again we are sorry for the refrigerator problem, we did give access to large cooler till we replaced w/new fridge in morning. GM
Jul 11, 2017
Friendly staff, great accommodations, close to everything. Really enjoyed our time!
Jul 11, 2017
Excellent value, super clean, very family friendly, will definitely return again
Jul 11, 2017
My husband and I stayed on the riverside for 3 days and had a great time! All the sites are very clean and spacious allowing some room for privacy. The best part were the staff members. Everyone was extremely friendly, helpful, and a pleasure to be around. A word of advice...check the weather prior to booking a site. We experienced a wild storm which did some damage. Other than that, wonder
Jul 11, 2017
Friendly staff,very accommadating. Our park model was very clean. We always enjoy our stay here.
Jul 11, 2017
Jul 11, 2017
Great staff and awesome amenities!
Jul 11, 2017
Great people great park ,big ,clean,now with brrakfast bar thanks for a great stay ,
Jul 11, 2017
Location is the problem - too close to streets, noise and trains. Also - there are way too few showers and toilets compared to the number of campsites. The pools were nice, grounds kept up well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We do have 5 bath and shower houses located on our grounds. But I do understand your concern.We do appreciate the feedback and are glad you enjoyed our amenities during your stay. GM
Jul 10, 2017
The amenities were great, loved the relaxed environment and flexibility, only complaint would be that the sites were narrow and ours specifically was all dirt, not gravel or grass. So when it rained we had quite the mess.
Jul 10, 2017
We came to Sandusky this past weekend to visit Cedar Point, which is only about a mile from the campground. We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins and it was an awesome stay! The cabin was clean, air conditioned and offered plenty of room. They supplied us with bed linens and a kitchen with all the needed utensils to prepare a meal. We would definitely stay here again! Thanks for a great experience
Jul 10, 2017
First time at this KOA. 3 nights after the 4th and we stayed in the deluxe cabin. Accommodations were pretty good other then the cabin needed some cleaning when we got there. Floor was dirty and under the mattresses were candy and pieces of food otherwise ok. I would stay again
Jul 10, 2017
Can't beat location for Cedar point. Place is geared for A LOT of campers - two pools, late store hours, lots of patrolling. Trailer sites a bit scrappy and next to train. Otherwise a 5.
Jul 10, 2017
Well-maintained campground with friendly staff. Campsites are a bit too close together for our liking, but we understand the need to offer a lot of sites for campers wanting to go to Cedar Point. Would definitely use this KOA again as a stop-over or as a base to explore the area.
Jul 10, 2017
Everything was just perfect. Just the right amount of needs for camping. The only bad thing is that it is next to a train crossing where the train comes through consistently blowing its horn at 12am, 4am etc.
Jul 10, 2017
It was very clean. I was impressed with the size of the two bedroom.
Jul 10, 2017
We enjoyed our stay at this campground, although we used it primarily as a base camp for our day trips to Cedar Point. We were first time campers and appreciated it's proximity to Cedar Point and to a nature preserve / marsh nearby. Enjoyed our evenings by the campfire and the offerings from the camp store, especially the ice cream and pastries. Thank you for everything!
Jul 10, 2017
Great camp ground! Clean and we'll kept! Friendly staff! Already been bragging about it to everyone!
Jul 10, 2017
Nice folks and friendly with the campers.
Jul 10, 2017
Had a great time. Kids loved all the activities on the grounds
Jul 10, 2017
Very friendly staff, beautiful campground
Jul 10, 2017
Had wonderful time.
Jul 10, 2017
Great! Thanks!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy