Sandusky / Bayshore KOA

Open May 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Reserve: 800-562-2486

Info: 419-625-1495

Info: 419-625-1495

Email

2 East Shoreway Drive

Sandusky, OH 44870

Get Directions

Accommodations, ALL LODGING

Check-in: 4:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

RV Sites, Tent Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2017
Residential campgrounds are not appealing. Sites are too close and the cost too high. Sorry but there is nothing relaxing or fun about a junky campground where your residential campsites look like redneck campsites.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you feel so strongly about our seasonal campers.We do have bigger sites in our campground but they may have not been available during the time of your stay. We have a lot to do on grounds, jump-pillow,activities program,pedal cart rentals,volleyball,basketball,ice cream social,weekend breakfast and more.We even had Santa come out for x-mass in July. Sorry you had such a bad experience. GM
Jul 25, 2017
we had an awesome time. so much for our kids to do!!!!!thank you!!!!!!!
Jul 25, 2017
I thank you need a bigger selection of things in your store and your gaurds could be at the gate 100% of the time not 5% of the time.
Jul 25, 2017
Nice KOA with a great nature walk. If you enjoy trains, you'll get to view and hear many of them.
Jul 25, 2017
Family gathering. Peacefull
Jul 25, 2017
Very nice place.
Jul 25, 2017
Absolutely loved the campground and the friendliness of the staff. The only thing I didn't like was the size of the showers in the community bathroom. Just a tad cramped, but manageable. I would definitely come again!
Jul 25, 2017
Traveling across country and mapped out. Called for reservation, but Restaurant closed Sun before we arrived at 4 pm. Trains ran all night long very close to campground. Called to clarify directions and sounded like a kid on phone, who was no help at all. Would not stay again nor recommend.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience.Our snack bar only does full menu Fri-Sat 4pmto8pm,Sundays are very big check out days.Unfortunately when we are that slow we don't run the snack bar during the weekday to avoid food waste.Sorry we do not have control over the train.We try to teach our staff the local exits and roads,depending where you were travailing from. GM
Jul 24, 2017
Nice place very close to the cute town of Sandusky and the water access point to Lake Erie. The kids liked Cedar Point park. The staff was very responsive to any small issues we had like a light bulb out in our lodge. Nice place!
Jul 24, 2017
Great local to Cedar Point. Great price too but I should have read the reviews! THE TRAINS! Counted 17 our second night! Tracks rumbling and whistles blowing.
Jul 24, 2017
Jul 24, 2017
, great day everyone had fun, polite staff, I only found one laundromat downside cuz it rain, but the kids had a great time, would go back again,
Jul 24, 2017
Camp was nice and clean and extremely friendly staff. Like all the camps, WIFI is extremely slow
Jul 24, 2017
Website did not notify of train proximity to campground. Trains came every 10-30 minutes all night. Terrible, terrible experience. Requested refund, and was denied. I will activately discourage anyone from staying here.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had a bad experience with us. Unfortunately we do not have any control over the train.We do not offer refunds because the train in not on our property and its out of our control. Its part of the surrounding neighborhood and area. Once again sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 24, 2017
Nice area restrooms clean laundromat not so much.
Jul 24, 2017
Very friendly and very nice place! We will be back in the future! Thank you The Eldridge's 😊
Jul 23, 2017
Terrific
Jul 23, 2017
Great stay, quiet and clean, when had a problem, someone was sent to clear it up.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
Sag Fm sG U
Jul 23, 2017
This campground is too close to train tracks. You will hear trains all night. However This campground is really close to Cedar Point. We stayed in park model and I felt it was a bit pricey.
Jul 23, 2017
Convenient location - not too far from i-80. I think it would be nice to have someone guide campers to their sites. We were in a full hook up that was not very easy to get to. Great pools. The late hours for the pools (9 and 10 p.m.) were very much appreciated.
Jul 23, 2017
Very clean, fun, and friendly staff! I would choose a rustic cabin over any normal hotel room in Sandusky!!
Jul 23, 2017
Packed in like sardines so not much privacy. Needs updating and some good cleaning. Young women staff in the office were very helpful and friendly. Nice people

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the feedback. Yes we are making future plans by adding more pull thur and back in deluxe RV sites that are more accommodating. Glad our staff was friendly and helpful. GM
Jul 22, 2017
Extremely pleasant and helpful staff. Shower houses were clean for their age. For the most part campground was nice.
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
Staff was fantastic. The cabin was WAY too small and located right next to the men's bathroom. Poor location. The other visitors and seasonals were very nice. I would go back with a larger cabin more strategically located.
Jul 22, 2017
We camped there with our 7 grandkids from July 16th till the 22nd and we all had a great time ! People were friendly, restrooms were clean and well taken care of and we enjoyed playing volleyball and basketball! Pools looked nice but we all went to Cedar Point to the new swim park. We plan on camping there again !!
Jul 22, 2017
Need handicap bathroom and shower. Stay was great. Thanks
Jul 22, 2017
Our stay was wonderful. They were able to switch our spot with another spot that was in the shade easily.
Jul 21, 2017
We were happy with the condition and cleanliness of the campground. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location of the campground allows campers to visit nearby attractions conveniently. Thanks for another wonderful stay!
Jul 21, 2017
Employees were very nice.
Jul 21, 2017
Staff was really friendly, site was adequate, bathrooms/showers were not as clean as the should be. Granted there were a lot of people there.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Yes we get very busy on the weekends and we have a lot of campers come and go with us. Our facilities and grounds get used a a lot over the weekend. Our grounds and facilities staff works very hard even when is's 90+ degrees out.. Sorry you had a bad time with us. GM
Jul 21, 2017
the freight train came by every 20 min. all night long

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry for train, we have no control over it. Sorry you had a bad experience with us.
Jul 21, 2017
The cabin was fine. However, the floors were filthy. You definitely need to keep your shoes on. There are also billboards right behind the D cabins that come onto the KOA property. Not very nice. Fire rings for the D cabins are at the back near propane tanks. Would be better if they were in the front.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Sorry you had such a bad experience with us.I do believe you are referring to our G 2 bedroom park models.fire rings are located in the back since parking is upfront, this gives you more space behind the park models, the one you stayed in does share a bit of the back line with a billboard since our back runs along a main road. Not sure what happened w/floors,Our HK staff is very meticulous. GM
Jul 20, 2017
Jul 20, 2017
Stayed two nights,full hookup. Nice park, friendly employees. The WIFI sucks, 1/2 bar.
Jul 20, 2017
we love your koa.its the best one i have been too.the staff is great.i reccomend it to every one i know.thank you for such a nice place to camp.we will be comming back again and again.have a great day,jane
Jul 20, 2017
We had a great time there!
Jul 20, 2017
Staff was fantastic and very accommodating to special considerations for disabled people. Campground, pools, playground and facilities were very well kept and clean. Very nice campground to spend some time at. Thank you
Jul 20, 2017
Great place for RV camping, close to Cedar Point. We were able to get the Squeaky wheel taxi service to pick us up to and from the park with no problem.
Jul 20, 2017
This is not a campground for big rigs, the pants were uneven, and very narrow. The dumpsters in the park were overflowing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Since you arrived on the Sunday after our big weekend yes our dumpsters get very full, trash does not pick up on the weekends, first thing Monday our dumpsters get picked up.As for the RV pads, we do have bigger sites with better pads but they are back-in's. Our deluxe pull thru w/new pads were all booked.Sorry for the bad experience GM
Jul 20, 2017
Friendly staff, even campsite. Our site did have allot of ants, couldnt walk without stepping on a hill. Wish the campsites were a bit more spread out, people didn't really obey quiet hours

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately rain makes the insects a little more active after a few showers. As for the size of the sites we just made them bigger. The deluxe electric site you were on is a 35x35 size spot. We do have more isolated sites in our bay area if you did not like the size. Next time please let our office know so we help and move you to a better location. Sorry for the bad experience. GM
Jul 20, 2017
The location was great, but the bathrooms were disgusting. I chose to brush my teeth at the water spicket because there were so many bugs in the bathrooms. In the morning, I had to kill bugs while I showered because the bathrooms still hadn't been cleaned at 9:30am

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Unfortunately during this time of the season we have mayflies and muffle heads that hatch on the lake.We have signs posted all over explaining the life cycles and the need for them to help Lake Erie.Our bathroom staff does an outstanding job keeping our facilities clean.With 5 bath & shower houses to clean every morning,cleaning bugs and up keep they are very busy.Sorry for your bad experience. GM
Jul 19, 2017
Nice campground, close to Cedar Point. Site was easy to get into and the place was clean and well kept. Would stay again if we go back to Cedar Point.
Jul 19, 2017
They told us breakfast was included and it wasn't. Also little pricey.
Jul 18, 2017
Although we weren't at the campsite during the day much, what we experienced at nights, mornings, and later afternoons was wonderful. Amenities are well cleaned and nice, activities are nice and the staff is friendly.
Jul 18, 2017
Just wish the camp site was a little larger.
Jul 18, 2017
Overall, the park was nice but we were disappointed with several things. We reserved a pull through, full hookup site and thought the sites were way too close together. Front desk staff did not give us a listing of activities for the weekend at check in - I had to go back up and ask, but they only gave me a list of sample activities. Security was present all day/night which was great! Clean too.
Jul 18, 2017
Nice getaway. Second visit this summer. Everyone was very nice during our visit.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals