Campground Reviews

May 10, 2022
Hello! It is a beautiful resort and we stayed in the newer cabins by the pool. However, the floors were filthy and all of us had very black feet no matter how much we kept cleaning them. We saw that we were cleaning the floors that seemed to not be mopped up after each family stay. Please do this next time! It really is gross when they get black walking across the hall in cabin.
May 10, 2022
May 10, 2022
Excellent thank you. Staff was great and grounds well kept.
May 10, 2022
We absolutely LOVE San Diego Metro KOA!l and we are San Diego natives! The best local getaway and we can’t wait to visit again soon!
May 10, 2022
There was a lot of bird poop in our space (3212) and it got on everything. Otherwise, our stay was great and will be back.
May 10, 2022
My kids loved the activities
May 10, 2022
We always enjoy our stay when we can get a camp site. Also you need to improve on your Wi-Fi it’s terrible.
May 10, 2022
May 10, 2022
May 10, 2022
Very good exelent
May 09, 2022
It was absolutely perfect! We stayed in one of the poolside cabins for my son's 7th birthday and we all had a great time. The cabins were very comfortable and fit our family of four just fine. The outside was landscaped beautifully and parking was right next to our cabin. Great family atmosphere as well. We will be booking again shortly!
May 09, 2022
Been coming here for over 20 years. As always we enjoyed our stay. It would of been nice if the Sandcastle Cafe was open a bit longer but understand there was staffing issues. Still enjoyed our stay.
May 09, 2022
Thank you to the manager for granting our late check out. We enjoy our stay every year. We love all the fun activities you put in for the kids!
May 09, 2022
They were not willing to keep us together, even when I ask for spot on Friday that went infilled till Saturday. When I ask about my reservation they would not give me any information. This is the first time that has happened, most of the time they work with us
May 09, 2022
Our youth group had a fantastic time and the cabins were clean and roomy.
May 09, 2022
It was an amaziing camping trip! Will definitely be coming back or book at another KOA location.
May 09, 2022
May 09, 2022
Its always a pleasure to stay at San Diego Metro KOA.
May 09, 2022
Great. Staff (Al) above and beyond. Park is pricey. Sites are tight and even the pull throughs are tough to negotiate. The park vehicles seem, including the kids little train, seem to travel a little to fast considering all the small children in the park. We had a good time. We felt safe and secure. We will be back.
May 09, 2022
First time there brought our 4 year old Grand daughter she had a blast !!
May 09, 2022
We love this little campsite. Wish others were as updated as this one cause it’s great!
May 09, 2022
Customer service has diminished since the many years before we've stayed. Still definitely safe and enjoyable campground.
May 09, 2022
We enjoyed our 6 days working and playing from here. Staff were friendly, helpful and accommodating. Kampground was very clean, modern, and location was central to all the sites we wanted to see in San Diego. Thank you!
May 09, 2022
We Came down for the weekend, We had a very nice stay, Everything was great. I was told we could have late checkout when I checked in, and then when I went down to the office to double check on the late check out, I was told it wasn't available. We were offered to park in the overflow lot, which was nice and helpful. But when we came back from the zoo, we noticed that the space was still empty.
May 09, 2022
It was very nice. We love all the activities offered for children. We relaxed. Great place to visit.
May 09, 2022
Peaceful, love the trees and clean pool. Great staff.
May 08, 2022
The grounds are so well kept. The pool is amazing! ALL of the employees are fantastic.
May 08, 2022
Very nice 3 day 2 nite stay , weather was great.
May 07, 2022
This is my Go To KOA every year originally because of its' proximity to beaches. But, over the years, I have started to enjoy just being at this KOA. The landscaping is beautiful, the facilities impeccably maintained, the staff are friendly and professional, the Sand Castle Cafe pizza is top notch, and the guests are all maintaining a safe distance and say hello when I walk around the entire area.
May 07, 2022
This KOA is the best KOA we've seen! We are storage customers who had a staycation. It's obvious a lot of thought went into the design of the grounds and they are impeccably maintained. The staff is excellent...professional, eager to help...from the front desk to the maintenance crew. It's rare these days to see such a well-run operation but this is it! Definitely a great value for the price.
May 07, 2022
Beautifully landscaped and very clean. Very inviting for families!
May 06, 2022
The best place for family memories , I celebrate my son birthday ��� Every year . “Al” is the best manager in KOA
May 06, 2022
Repeat customer, this was our worst experience here. You had less staff than last year during covid lock downs. It's unfortunate you could not staff the cafe in the evening. Futhermore, our neighbors played music with cussing and vulgar lyrics very loud, the campsite next to us was dirty, had a terrible odor emanating from the camper and rats could be seen infesting the inside of their camper.
May 05, 2022
Over crowded. Sketchy neighborhood. Bathrooms and showers needed more cleaning during weekend. Gun shots heard every night from neighborhood
May 05, 2022
Incredible family campgrounds, Everyone that works there is a very personal and makes sure your stay is very comfortable.
May 05, 2022
very good just need to bring back Sunday pancake breakfast
May 05, 2022
May 04, 2022
We had a wonderful time. Restrooms and showers were cleaned daily. Everything was clean. Will definitely return again.
May 04, 2022
Staff was amazing.
May 04, 2022
It is so beautiful and clean. The amenities were incredible. The gorgeous economy tents and cabins made me want to have a family reunion. It is also close enough to every thing on San Diego. We loved it
May 03, 2022
Great activities and options for kids. Bathrooms and showers clean.
May 03, 2022
We had a great time, campground was quiet, clean and had great activities for kiddos
May 03, 2022
May 03, 2022
There was a power outage Thursday night and none of the guests were made aware of it in advance. Even though we were told it was short notice we should have been made aware it was coming so we could have made some preparations. I was caught in the restroom at the time of the outage. Power was not restored until around 9 am Friday morning. Other that that we have a great time. All staff very nice.
May 03, 2022
Not our first time here, but it was our first time in our RV. Absolutely loved it. Friendly staff make this KOA what it is. A very enjoyable place to spend the weekend! Looking forward to our next stay!
May 02, 2022
So enjoyable and much needed break. A hidden gem in the middle of the city. Booked again in December! Can't wait to get back there.
May 02, 2022
We enjoyed our stay. Site was clean and equipped as stated. Location was great for exploring San Diego.
May 02, 2022
Beautiful, well- maintained KOA. The best we’ve ever Visited!
May 02, 2022
It was a girl family retreat and we had an amazing time.
May 02, 2022
The place is just awesome. We were bummed the cafe closed early and or wasn't open late or opened at all at some point but we understood the staffing shortages. This is one of our favorite places to camp at.
May 23, 2022
Excellent KOA resort! A very attentive and enthusiastic staff, combined with the most on site activities and amenities I have ever experienced at a KOA park, make this a must stay for any RVer traveling through the San Diego metro area. The entire park is well tended and manicured with constant attention from a large and active ground crew. The camp store has all those little things that everyone forgets, plus an excellent selection of wines, craft beers, and ice cream!! The real topper is location. You are less than 20 minutes from downtown, the San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld, Coronado Island, the USS Midway museum, Balboa Park, and the beach.
- Sapper Mac on Google
May 22, 2022
UPDATE. We checked in on a Wednesday and the campsite was pretty quiet after 10pm. A few people tending to their campfire but nothing too crazy. Came Friday..... EVERYTHING CHANGED. The atmosphere was so different and chaotic. People screaming, laughing, yelling at each other, kids riding bikes ( till 2 am ), people walking around with flashlights pointed at RV windows and laughing, drunk individuals dropping their beer bottles breaking them and thinking how funny that was.....ALL till 3:30am! I wanted to say something but I noticed it was a huge gathering doing this. Who wants to confront a crowd of 30 plus drunk people at 3 in the morning?!?!?! We were so happy to leave on Saturday. One night of that was enough for us!!! I will give 4 stars for the friendly staff and amenities but the atmosphere is a no for us on weekends Here is my original review This KOA is just beyond beautiful. We decided to take a 4 day trip for our wedding anniversary and thought San Diego would be perfect. It was super easy to find our spot ( there are colored lines that path your way thru the park ) and the amenities are beyond perfect. Everything has been remodeled and updated. The pool is heated and the showers are so clean. There is a play area for the kiddos and a gift shop. They also offer a train type ride thru the park and fun activities for the kids. The cabins look roomy and loft style. The beach is only a few miles away and plenty of shops nearby to visit. A few things I'd like to bring up The sprinklers go off and will get everything you have soaked. I believe they go off in the very early morning hours so prepare that anything out will get wet. We were told the pool was heated but it was freezing. I only could get my feet in and decided the spa was best. The showers in the evening are gross. Go in the morning and they will be very clean. The cafe has limited hours during the week. Friday's they are open till 7pm. Express check in is not any good. We thought it saved time but the lady at the counter said that " it doesn't mean anything, you still have to check in " Golf cart traffic galore! Golf carts with staff members go around what felt like every 10 seconds. Be prepared to hear them and see them constantly.
- Danielle Carrillo Whitmore on Google
May 21, 2022
Our first stay at this campground and it exceeded or expectations. Clean, organized, well maintained with lots of amenities. It's nicely laid out with lots of trees and greeneries. The San Diego Bay marina is a short bike ride away with local stores just two minutes by car. We'd definitely stay here again.
- Rand Beveridge on Google