Salinas / Monterey KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-541-0085

Reserve: 800-541-0085

Info: 831-663-2886

Info: 831-663-2886

Email

8710 Prunedale North Road

Salinas, CA 93907

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 14, 2017
I've stayed here several times with my small trailer. Now that I have a larger one I realize how small the spaces are. It's a minor issue and this will always be a place I return on my short getaways

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience at our campground. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to have you as a guest in the near future.
May 13, 2017
May 13, 2017
This site has the friendliest and most helpful staff of any KOA we've stayed at. The pool was excellent and playground good. Only downsides were road noise from 101 and lack of step free access to showers
May 10, 2017
The entrance is straight up a hill with not much room to park for check in. The sites are narrow with no trees or ambience. Many full-timers. I gave 2 stars because the staff was so nice and helpful.
May 10, 2017
kind people and very nice to get an cookie (home baked) at arrival

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to hear that our Kamp host were able to help you during your stay. We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!
May 10, 2017
The hillside sites could be a little wider and longer. You plan for new bathrooms should include construction of a new facility somewhere near the bottom of the hill. Pool was nice, cable and wifi worked well. Construct a new bath house and the place is a 9/10.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our restroom renovation is a major project and has unfortunately taken longer than we anticipated. It is still a priority and will be completed soon. Thanks again.
May 05, 2017
Great people and a great place

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience at our campground. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to have you as a guest in the near future.
May 05, 2017
The people working there are great.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to hear that our Kamp host were able to help you during your stay. We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!
May 04, 2017
Very friendly & helpful staff, but a huge problem with sewer flies coming out of vents nxt.to rv. They plagued us our whole stay(week).

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for bringing it to our attention. We addressed the issue as soon as you notified our staff and you told us the it was resolved. We hope to have you as a guest again in the future.
May 02, 2017
The campgrounds are clean and well run. The people are great and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to hear that our Kamp host were able to help you during your stay. We hope to have you as a guest again in the near future!
May 02, 2017
Really nice staff at check-in and throughout the stay. Good camp store and swimming pool. RV hookups are well maintained. I saw plenty of effort to maintain and improve. RV spaces are narrow and except for a line that backs up to a fence line, all RV spaces are barren asphalt. Freeway noise is 24/7 and location is neither Salinas nor Monterey. I would call it remote. Only a place to stop overnight

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Our park is older and was designed when RV's were considerably smaller. Our location allows convenient off and on access to highways 101 and 156 which does mean there is highway noise. We hope this didn't ruin your stay.
May 02, 2017
This was our first time here and was pleasantly surprised at how nice this property is. They are making improvements, some due to age, some from storm damage. Very nice management and employees, great pool and store in the office area. We will definitely be back in the future.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope you stay with us again soon.
May 01, 2017
Space was too small and no private space to sit outside. Could not put awning or chairs. Dog run is non existent. Price is high for quality. We've had better and more space for less$

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Our spaces are small due to the age of our park. It was designed when RV's were considerably smaller. We hope your future camping experiences meet your expectations.
May 01, 2017
Clean, comfortable, good night sleep. Just stayed the night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience at our campground. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to have you as a guest in the near future.
May 01, 2017
We enjoyed the quite at night but it is really noisy during the day with a gas station within a stone's throw. In there defense it was a beautiful weekend and the Harley's we're out in full force. The sites are small and all concrete. Dog park was under construction. Pool was awesome and clean. I will be back but in a better site.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry the noise disturbed your stay during the day. Our convenient location does make highway noise a side effect of the easy access to the highway. We hope your future kamping experiences meet your expectations.
Apr 27, 2017
Spots are too close together
Apr 23, 2017
Très bien

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Apr 19, 2017
I always love staying at KOA wherever I travel. I know that I can expect consistent amenities and a truly great experience.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Apr 18, 2017
wifi availability is important. the wifi here was very bad. the place is rundown and needs an upgrade! the dog run turns into a muddy mess when wet rendering it useless. the location of the showers/bathrooms is poor. it is not worth the charge per night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time share your experience. Our dog walk is a major problem. It has been closed until it can be cleaned up. The repair of damage from the series of storms was the priorty but the dog walk repair will be completed soon. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.
Apr 18, 2017
Owners I felt went way beyond what they could have during this difficult time in my life. Thank you Brian

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Brian is very compassionate manager and we are glad he was able to help make your stay enjoyable. We look forward to having you as our guest in the future.
Apr 18, 2017
Some parking pads in need of repair. Some pads seem dangerous with possible drop offs for both RV's and pedestrians. Great staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Apr 17, 2017
We were very happy with our stay except for the dirt path to walk our dog was muddy in the morning. I guess I am somewhat spoiled. We also had a run in with a German Sheppard that was not leashed and tried to attack my Boxer puppy. Thankfully he backed off after my husband kicked him and no one got hurt. The owner came over and apologized but it definitely made our stay uncomfortable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time share your experience. Our dog walk is a major problem. It has been closed until it can be cleaned up. The repair of damage from the series of storms was the priorty but the dog walk repair will be completed soon. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.
Apr 17, 2017
Dog park needed grading, maybe the rainier weather postponed it. Otherwise nice park, newly plastered pool. Undergoing some upgrades. Nice, friendly staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time share your experience. Our dog walk is a major problem. It has been closed until it can be cleaned up. The repair of damage from the series of storms was the priorty but the dog walk repair will be completed soon. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.
Apr 15, 2017
For the price, this KOA could stand to be maintained a little better. The dog walk was full of fox tails and weeds. A maintenance man came and cleaned the lights, which dropped dust and spider webs right over our heads, while we were sitting there. The playground equipment was enjoyable for kids. The RV spaces are a decent size. Overall, I would rate this KOA as average.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. We apolgize for the maintenance man getting any dust on you. That was unnecessary and we sincerely apologize. The dog walk has been closed and is being cleaned to make it serviceable. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.
Apr 15, 2017
Good for an overnight. Noisy and bathroom is a long walk - realize most people don't need it. Tight spots Friendly staff.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for sharing your experience. Our location does make us prone to highway noise. We are glad our staff was able to make your stay enjoyable and we hope to have you as a guest in the future.
Apr 12, 2017
Staff very friendly and helpful. Shop well stocked. Restrooms/showers let the site down. They are too old and in need of replacing. Price for the stay was low so overall the site was ok as a stopover for one night.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our restroom renovation is a major project and has unfortunately taken longer than we anticipated. It is still a priority and will be completed soon. Thanks again.
Apr 10, 2017
TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THE QUALITY OF THE PARK. NICE PEOPLE IN MGT THO.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry to hear you were disappointed in your stay with us. We are constantly working to repair the damage from the series of storms we just endured. We apologize for the inconvenience and hope your future camping trips meet your expectations.
Apr 10, 2017
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Great cable too!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Apr 06, 2017
This property is in awful disrepair with dirty bathrooms, a swimming pool with no water and crumbling concrete RV spots. Facilities old with maintenance deferred. And way overpriced at more than $50. Showers have hair and bugs. Looked forward to ping pong bOnly reason for any stars at all: Person at check in was nice and when we stayed one night instead of two, they only charged for the one night

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our park is in the middle of a remodel and during your stay our pool was being completely redone. We apologize for the inconvenience during your stay and we hope your future camping trips meet your expectations.
Apr 06, 2017
nice setting friendly staff! Easy - no issues.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Apr 05, 2017
Throwback to the 1950s. The spaces are extremely tight, especially if you have a slide out, and maneuvering around the campsite is very difficult. The worse part is that if you have a dog, there is no place to walk it except on other campsites or through a sticker-laden weeded foot trail at an impossible slope. Great hosts, but I recommend staying away from this one.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time share your experience. Our dog walk is a major problem. It has been closed until it can be cleaned up. The repair of damage from the series of storms was the priorty but the dog walk repair will be completed soon. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.
Apr 04, 2017
Dirty, cramped, entry dangerous

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Our entrance is a not traditional but it overall manageable. we are sorry you had a bad experience and we hope your future camping
Apr 04, 2017
Loved the fire pits.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Apr 02, 2017
Brian and Summer were wonderful camp hosts. The camp was well maintained

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Mar 29, 2017
It was ok. Only stayed one night and was the first time there. My wife never enjoys the parking lot feel of any site, but it is always better than a mud pit. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Only issue I had was finding the restrooms in the dark and the lighting around the steps was horrible. The store had a lot to offer. The over all setting is nice, but the freeway is noisy.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for bringing the lighting issue to our attention. Someone had actually turned off the lgihts to the stairs. We have fixed the issue and it would happen again. We were delighted to have you as our guests and we hope to have you stay with again in the near future.
Mar 25, 2017
Accueil fantastique. Toilettes ont besoin d'un rafraîchissement.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our restroom renovation is a major project and has unfortunately taken longer than we anticipated. It is still a priority and will be completed soon. Thanks again.
Mar 23, 2017
I had a really nice time out here staff was. Really helpful and friendly. Thank you,

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Mar 22, 2017
This park is run down and needs a lot of work. Everywhere we looked, the sites were small, the washrooms needed to be up dated, fences needed replacing.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience with our campground. You stayed with us after we suffered a series of severe storms that left us with a lot of damage. Our staff has been working 7 days a week to clean up the damage while still keeping the park running. We apologize the inconvenience.
Mar 21, 2017
terrible

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We hope your future camping trips meet your expectations. All the best.
Mar 13, 2017
This was our first experience at a KOA. The bathrooms could use some maintenance and I accidentally opened the men's rr using the Women's code. All staff were super friendly and helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. Thanks for bringing the restroom codes to our attention. They have been changed since your visit. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Mar 13, 2017
The hosts were awesome. They were still cleaning up from the severe storm and yet had time for every detail we needed. They only have a few 50 AMP sites. We had a pull through that had plenty of space on each side. A few shade trees. Didn't use WIFI and cable was limited. Site was level and paved. We camped here in a 45' motorhome.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Mar 11, 2017
Didn't look like a K.O.A.spots very tight

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

While every KOA has a unique look. Our park is older than most other KOA's and does have smaller sites. We are in the process of updating the appearance and amenities of the park and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
Mar 07, 2017
Had a Pleasant stay for three months, friendly staff ,clean , I would stay again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Feb 28, 2017
KOA called before our reservation said no elec. due to a store. so no fee if you want to use your generator. 2 nights no elec. When we got our receipt we were bill for all the days full price. I went to the office and asked to speak to management they never would respond back... Down loose wires also blocking exit I reported to get some cones up and they just said ya later... by evening done.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. We did respond back and we did give you the promotion of buy 6 nights get the 7th free. I'm sorry if you feel we did not respond fast enough to the cones, we had emergencies throughout the entire park.
Feb 25, 2017
The staff was very nice, but the place smelled of sewage and there wasn't a lot of space around each spot.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comment. We apologize again, but the due to the power outage, it ruined our sewage pump and we installed a new one asap. We disinfected the affected area above health code regulations. We are sorry you had a bad experience.
Feb 25, 2017
This is a good campground. Well maintained.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Feb 15, 2017
WiFi didn't work. TV was out first day. We couldn't fit into original assigned spot because of incline. Overall, park needs work.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for bringing it to our attention. You stayed with us after a major storm which took out the utilities in our entire area. Our services were poor during your visit and we apologize for that inconvenience.
Feb 09, 2017
Friendly staff as well as helpful. The savings with the card is always helpful.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience at our campground. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to have you as a guest in the near future.
Feb 07, 2017
It was clean and easy to get around in...The staff was friendly and very helpful. I will be going back to visit again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks so much for taking the time to share your experience with our campground. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.
Jan 30, 2017
Pulling into koa was a challenge, needed to unhook for pull through as downhill and dangerous turn for site. It was nice being close to Monterey and Santa Cruz

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. Our entrance is a not traditional but it overall manageable. we are sorry you had a bad experience and we hope your future camping meets your expectations.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy