Salinas / Monterey KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-541-0085

Info: 831-663-2886

Email

8710 Prunedale North Road

Salinas, CA 93907

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Aug 30, 2017
Nice climate, close to the highway (which we like), good hiking, attractions near by, nice office staff. Bathrooms some of the worst we've seen, peeling paint on the walls, grimy floor, they seriously need a re-do. Same with the laundry room, made in the 1970's and not redone since, half of the washers dryers not working. They need to invest a little in the maintenance.
Aug 29, 2017
The staff was not as friendly as other KOA's we've stayed in. The RV site look as if it has never been cleaned. I pay money for a hotel room and the room is clean. I expect the same should happen at a camp ground that I pay to stay.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
We arrived late and easily checked ourselves in finishing the paperwork and getting the yummie cookie the next morning. We liked the trees and cool air after a hot drive through farm country. A great place to stop for the night.
Aug 24, 2017
People are very nice, place is good but a little bit loud!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
The proximity to the road is really a pity. The staff was super friendly, the swimming pool excellent for the kids but I wouldn't recommend it because of the road next to it and the very small places.
Aug 23, 2017
The toilets are not clean. Very dirty.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our restrooms are old and in need of a good freshening up, and that project will begin immediately after the Labor Day holiday weekend. We will post before and after pictures on our website and Facebook pages. I hope your future camping experiences meet your expectations. All the best.
Aug 22, 2017
The campground is located right next to the freeway with easy access in and out. Although the freeway is loud, it settled down at night and didn't bother us much. The pull through sites are kinda tight and short but that is what you are going to get in this area. Very close to Monterey. Cheapest place to stay in the area.
Aug 22, 2017
The site managers, George and Tina were extremely helpful nad friendly. We experienced a water problem late Sunday night the 13th and called the emergency number. George was there in a short time and took care of the problem. We have stayed at this KOA several times and have recommended it to other RVers.
Aug 22, 2017
The bad: the campground is very run down. The bathrooms are very old. There was three days ina Row that the bathroom had no toilet paper. The landscape is shabby. The good: the pool is very nice, the rec room is big and has a book exchange and large movie, checkout, their small store has a great selection.
Aug 22, 2017
Place was clean an neat, people were very nice an helpful. Location was good.
Aug 22, 2017
The staff are friendly and helpful. The restrooms & showers are kept clean. Since it's next to the freeway, there is traffic noise but just tell yourself you're on the coast and it's ocean waves!
Aug 22, 2017
It was a very pleasant stay. The free cookies at checkin really made us feel welcome. Thanks!
Aug 22, 2017
This park is either concrete or asphalt. The sites are narrow, some of which look worse than parking in a Walmart lot. Noise level is off the charts due to vicinity of 101 and a 24 hour gas station. Worst part, reserving a pull-thru site with a 25' trailer and being told that the site I reserved is only 32' long. Did they think my truck would only be 7' long? They knew my trailer was 25'.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Our vicinity to the highway is the reason we have a warning about the highway noise on our website to prevent anyone from being caught off guard. I apologize if you were given misinformation but the site you stayed in, but it is actually 50 feet long. I hope your future camping experiences meet your expectations. All the best.
Aug 21, 2017
We asked for a specific site in advance and we got it. We always attend "Car Week" in Monterey and this is the best place to stay
Aug 20, 2017
Great Staff! The pool is beautiful. I know they give warnings about the noise but we were in a back in site and it never bothered us. Movie night on Saturday's was fun. Lots of upgrades going on in the park. While the bathrooms need an update they are super clean which is more important to me. We will be back!
Aug 20, 2017
Loud, very close to freeway. Very small sites, could barely open slides on both sides had to crawl under slide to get to back of rig. Only 30 amp service
Aug 20, 2017
Very helpful and friendly in office..Pretty environment nearby..Although my water hook up was unusable...A very good stay!
Aug 19, 2017
It was exciting. Some young campers a few doors down got in a fight by noon on the first day i was there. The police log stated he hit em with a gun. Wow I left my watch in the bathroom and was pleasantly surprised it was turned in. Thanks again The pool was awesome Jim
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Good location. Friendly staff. Old park that is difficult to get into in big rig.
Aug 16, 2017
Great location - easy access from the 101 and just a short drive to all the beach communities (Monterey/Carmel etc). Freeway noise is there but nothing terrible. Lovely lady at check in welcomed us with a smile and cookies. Nice heated pool and relaxation area. Restrooms and showers need some updating but it looks like they are working on that.
Aug 16, 2017
Wi-Fi was not working most of time. Cable didn't work, dog walk dangerous, One positive was pool
Aug 15, 2017
People were nice. I should have expected a concrete jungle in the bay area... The pool and play area were great! Maintenance could be improved - the fan in the restroom was not working and obviously not cleaned in years...
Aug 15, 2017
Place was nice and was able to accommodate my RV however the space was very narrow making it very difficult to get in out of the RV from my stairs.
Aug 15, 2017
First I requested A 50 amp site and was assigned a 30 amp but due to the moderate Temps it was ok . Second, during The night we lost all water. Thanks to having some water in our tanks, we had toilet and washing water. We left early and no water was available. Everyone's was asking about the Water situation.
Aug 15, 2017
We were in a back in stall with hedges on either side. That was nice for some extra privacy. There was no room for us to sit outside and enjoy the cooler weather. There was a picnic table at our site, but was behind our trailer on the hill we were not able to use. The bathroom/showers were very run down. The noise from the freeway is there, but not completely terrible. I will likely stay again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. Though our park is small, we do have larger sites that may have made your visit more pleasurable. When you make your next reservation, allow our staff to help you select a site that will accommodate your party better. All the best.
Aug 14, 2017
NICE BACK-IN SITE, VERY FRIENDLY AT RECEPTION
Aug 14, 2017
The place seemed nice. We arrived late and only stayed the one night so we did not see much of the campground. The people in the office were great to deal with.
Aug 14, 2017
Clean campground. Warm pool and hot showers. Managers were fantastic. I would recommend this place if you want to drive 30 minutes to explore Monterey and the Aquarium.
Aug 14, 2017
This KOA is pretty run down. The bathrooms are very old and not clean. The grounds/landscape is mostly dirt or dried up grass. Last night we woke up to NO WATER. They did get it up and running rather quickly.
Aug 14, 2017
I drove from Fort Bragg to attend the races at Laguna Seca all the hotels in the area were booked so I decided to checkout the KOA. I made a two night reservation online and it asked me what type of camping rig I have and I selected van from the dropdown list, specified its length, number of campers one, and no pets. Upon my arrival I was informed that my vehicle was not acceptable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry your experience wasn't pleasant. The van selection is for camper vans that are self-contained units, not just automobiles. I am updating the information on our website to add more clarity to the issue.
Aug 12, 2017
Aug 12, 2017
The park was convenient to where we wanted to go, Monterey and Carmel. The spaces were tight and too close together. The bathrooms were old and in need of repair.
Aug 12, 2017
Wonderful campground for taking "daytrips" in the area. A lot of helpful amenities at the park. And stores close by for shopping. Park was clean.
Aug 09, 2017
Toilets are dirty and showes was dirty as well. Friendly staff and a nice pool.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry found our restrooms and showers in that condition. If you had brought it to our attention during your visit we would have taken care of it immediately. I hope your future kamping experiences meet your expectations and you kamp with us again in the near future. Thanks for sharing your experience. All the best.
Aug 08, 2017
The new managers are great loved Christmas in July
Aug 08, 2017
Great hosts! Clean grounds!!
Aug 07, 2017
Super friendly staff (Mr Smith), the site was great, Internet not so good at the back of the campground
Aug 06, 2017
Great place if you need a somewhere to stay over night or a couple of nights used as a base camp to visit surrounding areas. Office staff are really nice! Pool area is really nice! Location is great! However, sites are really tight. Would be nice if park was secured and gated. And laundry facility seemed to be tied up by long term residents. Maybe add additional laundry facility for RV guests.
Aug 06, 2017
We only stayed for one night. Got there at 830pm, and left at 630 the next morning. The site was big and fit our party very well. We had 2 trucks and a trailer, so we needed the biggest site possible, the staff at the office was able to accommodate us, by giving us the biggest site they had. Also, i was impresssed with the space available for being able to back in the trailer. Not all have that!
Aug 05, 2017
It's a nice place for one night stay. The people are very, very sweet. And they do funny things like X-mas in July :)). We've had a good breakfast!
Aug 05, 2017
Good location for us. Didnt really hear any traffic noise but we didn't stay at the site too much. Good price compared to other locations. Pool is great. It's heated so the kids really enjoyed it. Game room is nice. Didn't use laundry, showers or bathrooms so cannot comment to those. Cute little shop and front desk staff friendly.
Aug 04, 2017
Very friendly staff, nice pool, clean sites
Aug 02, 2017
I will never go back to this park again because the Owner & the Manager of the KOA Park don't know what the difference is between a tent & a EZ-UP POP-UP with sides because they had us take down our EZ-UP because they said it looked like a tent & they don't allow tents so I took it down & when I went to the office to talk to them about it they were rude and just didn't want to hear it that's sad!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry you were unhappy about your stay. We did not have you take down your easy up but rather the tarps around it which turned it into a tent, which is what I explained to you. I hope your future camping experiences meet your expectations. All the best.
Aug 01, 2017
Surpassed our expectations. Great central location to visit Gilroy (Garlic Festival, Gilroy Gardens, Mt Madonna) as well as Monterey (Wharf, Aquarium). Great and Friendly Staff and Awesome Events.
Aug 01, 2017
I know they warn you about traffic noise, but it truly is LOUD! The good is the staff are friendly and accommodating, They planned fun activities and events for July. Cookie in arrival was yummy and welcomed, and their location is ideal to go to Monterey and the surrounding areas. Just really be aware the traffic from the highway is constant and noisy.
Aug 01, 2017
We were warned about the noise so we were happy with the site.
Jul 31, 2017
Our stay was nice but they are renovating a lot of the facilities so I am sure that it will look very nice in the near future. There was a chicken roaming around and she ended up in our camper when she was chased by two roosters at our campsite. Also was a feral cat meowing and roaming the campground.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy