Salinas / Monterey KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-541-0085

Reserve: 800-541-0085

Info: 831-663-2886

Info: 831-663-2886

Email This Campground

8710 Prunedale North Road

Salinas, CA 93907

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

May 14, 2018
Overpriced, $25 more than most KOA’s, one working bathroom 300 yds away, and if you like asphalt it great, no one respected the direction you are supposed to travel on it however. Had planned on staying on our way back but canceled. Hosts at the counter we very sweet and friendly
May 14, 2018
The staff was terrific, the facilities were ok, the bench provided at the site was not sturdy and the partition wall was in terrible shape, no grass all pavement. We had a great time overall but facilities and upkeep needs attention.
May 14, 2018
It right by the hwy so loudness all day and night , way to tight spaces! Fire place fits one avg. size log, no desire to sit outside since your neighbors are all up in our face! Only went Bcuz it was a sale weekend, other wise way to expensive I’d rather stay at a motel, sorry I wish I could have given a better review but this is my honest review.
May 14, 2018
The staff was friendly and helpful. However, the campground was extremely difficult to enter and exit, the spaces were narrow and the noise from the gas station adjacent to the campground made it impossible to sleep.
May 13, 2018
We could smell the sewer when the kids played basketball on the court & the restrooms were out of order our whole stay...pretty clean pool though.
May 12, 2018
Friendly staff but very noisy. Lousy camp sight……I had to stand on a hill to hook up my water.
May 09, 2018
I do enjoy staying here for the most part. Last weekend I had to deal with very loud country music until exactly 10pm. The same family had their dogs off leash and one dog came across and grabbed my leashed dog. They’re very lucky I didn’t kill their dog after kicking it in the head. The owners didn’t react to the dog being aggressive. They said, she’s always been dog aggressive.
May 08, 2018
May 08, 2018
May 03, 2018
1. The rate quoted to me on the phone an hour before my arrival was $28 less than the rate on the check-in envelope. 2. The bathroom closest to our site was not in service. The next closest was the opposite side of the campground. 3. Our trailer was backed up against a concrete wall planted with shrubs. The staff used a weed-eater immediately outside our door at 8 am. There's more....

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am sorry for your issues during your stay. We put a limited number of "No Reservation" envelopes out. I am showing you paid $48. We have no sites for $20. Perhaps you called a different campground? In the future, to guarantee a price, advance reservations are suggested.
May 02, 2018
May 01, 2018
The sites are very narrow. We had to choose to either use the slideout OR the awning. The campground is just off the highway, so it is rather noisy. But, the owners are wonderful.
May 01, 2018
May 01, 2018
Wonderful. Great Staff. Nice park.
Apr 30, 2018
The office staff, and in particular, Bonnie are AMAZING! Bonnie should teach a course to all KOA employees on delivering top notch customer service. That said, the Salinas KOA is the LOUDEST campground we have ever been at. From the 101 vehicles/motorcycles/fire engines/ambulances streaming by, the rooster at 5 am & the super noisy long term renters at 6:30 - big thumbs down to this spot.
Apr 30, 2018
Apr 30, 2018
It is a great place to stay with your trailer when you just want to have a comfortable place to sleep. We used the play area and dog area. Kids liked it and dog did too. We would stay agai. Hopefully next time we go restrooms are renovated. Didnt use the showers or restrooms, they needed some work. Butfor tbe price i feel i got what i paid for lowest price around.
Apr 29, 2018
Lace is quite accommodating, efficient & responsive to our inquiries & needs during our stay. While there were a few glitches in our reservation, Lace addressed them right away. The cabins were clean and well-maintained. Check in & check out process is fast, organized & stress-free. This KOA campground has affordable rates considering its prime location. We would definitely stay here again!
Apr 27, 2018
Apr 26, 2018
Spaces were close together in a big parking lot on a hill. No one led you to the sites, so parking was very haphazard. Difficult time getting out because other rigs were in the road. WiFi was non existent
Apr 24, 2018
Just one simultaneous access to wifi and difficult procedure to connect to it Parking on the Highway with view on the gasoil station Just One local to take shower Not deserve 60$
Apr 24, 2018
NIce people, but bathrooms were borderline.
Apr 22, 2018
Our stay was excellent! The only snafu was the heater did not work and it was cold! The next day you made up for it by providing a wonderful portable heater which added to the ambiance! Thank you so much!
Apr 21, 2018
It was peaceful and clean. The pool was nice and warm. The floor in the cabin was cold and hard. Maybe a couple throw rugs would be nice.
Apr 20, 2018
We stayed two nights. The restrooms and showers were a bit distant. The fenced dog park had seepage of water that was of uncertain origin. Good location and nearby to Monterey. We enjoyed staying without day trips.
Apr 19, 2018
Had to walk miles to get to showers and bathrooms. Apparently closer ones were out of order. No one cared. Was really a parking lot. Hedges did not make it worth any more.
Apr 17, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Only one Far away restroom. And the sole toilet bowl was clogged. The Free WiFi Access Point did Not exist. And the freewayvwas very noisy. For this, they charged over 80$ per night! Stay away!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you had a negative experience. If you had called the after hours phone number that is posted, we could have taken care of the restroom. We are renovating the restrooms close to the RV sites now, and will be starting the other restroom soon. The rate you were charged was $65/plus tax (low for the area) and the bill was more due to your store purchase of Wine.
Apr 13, 2018
Cost too much for having nothing except a place to park and sleep for the night.
Apr 10, 2018
staff was very helpful. sites were very clean. large gas station located across the street.
Apr 09, 2018
I just wish the game room would stay open a little longer than 8 pm especially on rained days.
Apr 09, 2018
Awesome place
Apr 08, 2018
Le personnel était très gentil.
Apr 08, 2018
The only operating bathroom was far away, up a hill. Had issues with the wifi operating on our phones. The sites were very narrow and fire pots were rusted out on the bottom.
Apr 07, 2018
Bathroom was over 1/4 mile walk and was worn out and dirty. This was by far the worst KOA I have ever stay at
Apr 05, 2018
Very nice, clean KOA. Restrooms were being renovated which was slightly inconvenient. Hedges between sites needed trimming. Expensive, but comparable to other area campgrounds.
Apr 04, 2018
Lace made our trip very pleasant made suggestion what to see they were in the middle of remodeling the restroom so it was a little difficult for My handicapped Brother but still had a great time thank Lace for being so pleasant
Apr 04, 2018
Checked in late and package available, but no info on wifi. Only one shower quite a way from campsite. They were working on the other shower. Working shower was below KOA standards.
Apr 03, 2018
Wonderful. Lace, the manager went above and beyond to accommodate our late arrival. We’ve stayed at a lot of places on a lot of road trips over the years and this was the best customer service experience I’ve ever had. Thank you, Lace!
Apr 02, 2018
Nice location. However, many spaces are too small for the modern rigs, and there is nobody to assist with parking as the office closes too early. We helped a total of 7 large RV's get parked into these tight spaces. Damage occurred to three of them. The office should be more diligent about reserving large spaces for large RV's, and ensuring the tight spaces are only given to smaller rigs.
Apr 02, 2018
Bedsides the constant sound of the freeway but the campground is by a freeway it was very nice. They are still working on the landscaping, and fixing campsites. Pool was clean and nice. The campground was 30 minutes for Monterey sure that was nice. The gas station next to the campground was perfect easy to get into and out of. I would stay again.
Apr 01, 2018
I would have given perfect scores but the site we were given had a raised curb that scraped bottom of my trailer. If they fix this on the several sites with this issue I’d be more inclined to recommend.
Mar 29, 2018
The Place is a Little dirty
Mar 29, 2018
Service was good. Campgrounds can be maintained better. Very noisy from freeway. Someone's kids were screaming and playing in front of their RV until late and nobody cared. Two of the nights our electric service was on and off at least 5 times. For the price this place charges, more should be offered. Parking spaces kind of narrow and cramped together. Will avoid staying here in the future.
Mar 29, 2018
It was a good visit. Thanks
Mar 28, 2018
Nice place, I'll stay again. Close to local attractions for Monterey & Santa Cruz. Freeway noise is not as noticeable as you would think. This is NOT the place if you have a low riding RV. Level spaces, somewhat tight, with a significant pitch that makes it hard to enter the space without damage to your RV. Great service moved me to a space I could get barely get into without the pitch.
Mar 27, 2018
Staff very friendly and helpful. Sites are a little small and tight to get in and out. Close to grocery stores and other shops and services.
Mar 27, 2018
The spots were very small. I scraped the bumper on my rv getting into mine and watched another guy backing his trailer into a spot have his tire go over the edge of the embankment.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your response to KOA's Satisfaction Survey. We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We apologize for any problems you had during your stay, but hope you will give us another chance in the future. Feedback is very important to us. It enables us to identify areas where we need to focus and improve.
Mar 26, 2018
Lovely pool and well stocked general store. Enjoyed the cookies at check in. Campground and other camp amenities would benefit from better upkeep and attention.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals