Salinas / Monterey KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-541-0085

Info: 831-663-2886

Email

8710 Prunedale North Road

Salinas, CA 93907

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 05, 2017
We went during a heat weave it was in the upper 90's when we got there as soon as we did power went out due to a car hitting a power pole. Next day power went out again and was on and off all day 104 outside 94 in our trailer then we get a notice the water was out. Horrible experience. All reviews I read complained of the noise from freeway that didn't bother me as much as the power being out.
Sep 05, 2017
We like it this our 2nd stay this year.
Sep 05, 2017
Hosts are great. Campground is too crowded, spaces too small and dated. People allowed to camp with too many children i close area, too much noise, riding bikes and playing with flashlights after 10PM. Four or five families camped together make too much commotion in small area. Generally not pleasant. Dog run area unkempt and not cleaned up. Dog feces everywhere, wouldn't take my toy size dog in
Sep 05, 2017
Had a lot of power outages and sites were a little cramped. Staff however was great and accommodating. Nice pool area and a great value.
Sep 05, 2017
The power constantly shut down so much it was horribly hot and not able to keep AC or refrigerator going
Sep 05, 2017
there was no electricity as they were performing brown outs to conserve energy during the hottest part of the day when it was 107 degrees outside. The staff told us just to use the pool to escape the heat which we found insensitive because one of our children is disabled and cannot swim. Also the water pump went out the same day, we should have received a discount since we paid for full hookups
Sep 05, 2017
Staff was great, super friendly and helpful. The pool was nice, bathrooms were fine. There is no grass at all at this KOA, which gives it a bit of an odd feel, but there was lots of shade and we had a really nice time.
Sep 03, 2017
Sep 03, 2017
We Love KOA, but this stay left a lot to be desired, we were in space 133, the distance to the showers and bathroom was Rediculous, I would rent a space like this for storage only , definately the worst that I have stayed at in my 35 plus years of camping and RVing, Sorry for complaining, will never be back.
Sep 02, 2017
The staff are wonderful and the managers, Tina & George, are AWESOME!
Sep 01, 2017
Very noisy. Cramped sites. Check in was good. Bathroom needed some TLC. Wouldn't stay there again
Aug 31, 2017
The traffic noise of the nearby freeways didn't disturb us, however, that Rooster! ð
Aug 31, 2017
Aug 30, 2017
Nice climate, close to the highway (which we like), good hiking, attractions near by, nice office staff. Bathrooms some of the worst we've seen, peeling paint on the walls, grimy floor, they seriously need a re-do. Same with the laundry room, made in the 1970's and not redone since, half of the washers dryers not working. They need to invest a little in the maintenance.
Aug 29, 2017
The staff was not as friendly as other KOA's we've stayed in. The RV site look as if it has never been cleaned. I pay money for a hotel room and the room is clean. I expect the same should happen at a camp ground that I pay to stay.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 26, 2017
Grate family stay in the clean and lovely KOA
Aug 25, 2017
We arrived late and easily checked ourselves in finishing the paperwork and getting the yummie cookie the next morning. We liked the trees and cool air after a hot drive through farm country. A great place to stop for the night.
Aug 24, 2017
nice and very helpfull employees. Campground is near 101 and you can hear that very good. It is something that te campground also 'warns' you for. Alin on all a good stay with very good beds.
Aug 24, 2017
People are very nice, place is good but a little bit loud!
Aug 23, 2017
Aug 23, 2017
The proximity to the road is really a pity. The staff was super friendly, the swimming pool excellent for the kids but I wouldn't recommend it because of the road next to it and the very small places.
Aug 23, 2017
The toilets are not clean. Very dirty.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our restrooms are old and in need of a good freshening up, and that project will begin immediately after the Labor Day holiday weekend. We will post before and after pictures on our website and Facebook pages. I hope your future camping experiences meet your expectations. All the best.
Aug 22, 2017
Great cabin for two people!!! Very clean & will come back again...Staff Was friendly & very helpful...
Aug 22, 2017
Perfect venue for exploring the Monterey / Carmel area. Why fight the crowds and pay a fortune staying in town when you can enjoy a comfortable cabin in the woods. While others are waiting for a table in an expensive restaurant you can enjoy the comfort of your own deck, sitting outside under the stars in the woods. With a swimming pool and laundry, you have all the comforts of home.
Aug 22, 2017
The campground is located right next to the freeway with easy access in and out. Although the freeway is loud, it settled down at night and didn't bother us much. The pull through sites are kinda tight and short but that is what you are going to get in this area. Very close to Monterey. Cheapest place to stay in the area.
Aug 22, 2017
The site managers, George and Tina were extremely helpful nad friendly. We experienced a water problem late Sunday night the 13th and called the emergency number. George was there in a short time and took care of the problem. We have stayed at this KOA several times and have recommended it to other RVers.
Aug 22, 2017
The bad: the campground is very run down. The bathrooms are very old. There was three days ina Row that the bathroom had no toilet paper. The landscape is shabby. The good: the pool is very nice, the rec room is big and has a book exchange and large movie, checkout, their small store has a great selection.
Aug 22, 2017
Place was clean an neat, people were very nice an helpful. Location was good.
Aug 22, 2017
it was fine, 150 bucks a night for a bed.
Aug 22, 2017
The staff are friendly and helpful. The restrooms & showers are kept clean. Since it's next to the freeway, there is traffic noise but just tell yourself you're on the coast and it's ocean waves!
Aug 22, 2017
It was a very pleasant stay. The free cookies at checkin really made us feel welcome. Thanks!
Aug 22, 2017
This park is either concrete or asphalt. The sites are narrow, some of which look worse than parking in a Walmart lot. Noise level is off the charts due to vicinity of 101 and a 24 hour gas station. Worst part, reserving a pull-thru site with a 25' trailer and being told that the site I reserved is only 32' long. Did they think my truck would only be 7' long? They knew my trailer was 25'.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Our vicinity to the highway is the reason we have a warning about the highway noise on our website to prevent anyone from being caught off guard. I apologize if you were given misinformation but the site you stayed in, but it is actually 50 feet long. I hope your future camping experiences meet your expectations. All the best.
Aug 21, 2017
Floor was dirty. I wore my socks the entire time! Tina and Staff were extremely polite!
Aug 21, 2017
We asked for a specific site in advance and we got it. We always attend "Car Week" in Monterey and this is the best place to stay
Aug 21, 2017
The pool was incredibly clean and a nice temperature. The office was also very clean and the staff was quite friendly. Overall, a nice place to stay.
Aug 20, 2017
Great Staff! The pool is beautiful. I know they give warnings about the noise but we were in a back in site and it never bothered us. Movie night on Saturday's was fun. Lots of upgrades going on in the park. While the bathrooms need an update they are super clean which is more important to me. We will be back!
Aug 20, 2017
Loud, very close to freeway. Very small sites, could barely open slides on both sides had to crawl under slide to get to back of rig. Only 30 amp service
Aug 20, 2017
Very helpful and friendly in office..Pretty environment nearby..Although my water hook up was unusable...A very good stay!
Aug 19, 2017
It was exciting. Some young campers a few doors down got in a fight by noon on the first day i was there. The police log stated he hit em with a gun. Wow I left my watch in the bathroom and was pleasantly surprised it was turned in. Thanks again The pool was awesome Jim
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Good location. Friendly staff. Old park that is difficult to get into in big rig.
Aug 16, 2017
Great location - easy access from the 101 and just a short drive to all the beach communities (Monterey/Carmel etc). Freeway noise is there but nothing terrible. Lovely lady at check in welcomed us with a smile and cookies. Nice heated pool and relaxation area. Restrooms and showers need some updating but it looks like they are working on that.
Aug 16, 2017
Wi-Fi was not working most of time. Cable didn't work, dog walk dangerous, One positive was pool
Aug 15, 2017
People were nice. I should have expected a concrete jungle in the bay area... The pool and play area were great! Maintenance could be improved - the fan in the restroom was not working and obviously not cleaned in years...
Aug 15, 2017
Place was nice and was able to accommodate my RV however the space was very narrow making it very difficult to get in out of the RV from my stairs.
Aug 15, 2017
First I requested A 50 amp site and was assigned a 30 amp but due to the moderate Temps it was ok . Second, during The night we lost all water. Thanks to having some water in our tanks, we had toilet and washing water. We left early and no water was available. Everyone's was asking about the Water situation.
Aug 15, 2017
We were in a back in stall with hedges on either side. That was nice for some extra privacy. There was no room for us to sit outside and enjoy the cooler weather. There was a picnic table at our site, but was behind our trailer on the hill we were not able to use. The bathroom/showers were very run down. The noise from the freeway is there, but not completely terrible. I will likely stay again.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for sharing your experience. Though our park is small, we do have larger sites that may have made your visit more pleasurable. When you make your next reservation, allow our staff to help you select a site that will accommodate your party better. All the best.
Aug 14, 2017
NICE BACK-IN SITE, VERY FRIENDLY AT RECEPTION
Aug 14, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy