Salinas / Monterey KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 21, 2020
I was only there for one night it was quiet and pleasant.
May 06, 2020
I really hated to give Salinas/Monterey KOA only four stare. It is limited in area since it sits on the side of a hill. However, where it is is also one of its advantages. It has a better than expected view; it's right off a highway; and, it is cheaper than other camps in the area yet, is still close enough to many area attractions so that it makes for a great base camp. "Try it, you'll like it"!
May 05, 2020
Very nice park.
Apr 20, 2020
Apr 04, 2020
Park is clean, friendly and accommodating staff.
Mar 25, 2020
Great stay, large sites. One of the best.
Mar 14, 2020
Staff was friendly. Sites were a little tight but okay for a short stay. Price was reasonable.
Mar 10, 2020
Park did not have welcoming atmosphere. Lower level exit/entrance had sign indicating spikes, but there were none Pavement was not maintained making it very rough on vehicles and particularly trailers. Camp store not stocked, K9 Kamp not fully fenced on lower level by trailer sites. Blind exit due to foliage and no traffic mirror.
Mar 06, 2020
In one night and out in the morning. Just plugged in for internal power. Front desk very helpful and pleasant.
Mar 03, 2020
Staff very friendly. Sites extremely small. Deferred maintenance throughout the campground. Also, no gate to keep people out that are not camping there. We saw a few cars pull in and park at open sites at night for varying amounts of time. They clearly did not belong to people camping.
Mar 01, 2020
Feb 26, 2020
Great little place, kids loved the club house. Already booked our next stay
Feb 18, 2020
Stayed 2 nights with our daughter and 4 year old grandson. Was very enjoyable and easy to get in and out of. Will stay again
Feb 17, 2020
Feb 11, 2020
Check in was fast, gentleman was very nice. Sites clean easy in and out. Great location
Feb 11, 2020
Driveway entrance tight and steep, interior streets hilly with tight turns. Fence falling apart at our site 137. Access to the site required more than 180 degree turn. I have a KOA rewards card with enough points for $10 off my stay. Clerk said they had a new system and he couldn't figure out how to access the points, manager was off for 2 days. Would never stay here again.
Feb 10, 2020
Feb 04, 2020
While we really like the campgrounds, this is our second time staying there. I don't think we'll return. There were chickens and roosters roaming all over the place, while that's not normally a big deal it was awful at night; the roosters crowed all night long. I don't think there was a full hour when they were not crowing waking us up. So until something is done about that, we won't be back.
Jan 31, 2020
It’s too close to the highway. My socks were black after walking on the cabin floor. No fire ring at our cabin. The store closed at 5:00. We were at the San Diego KOA before this and it was so nice, so it was a disappointment to go from there to here.
Jan 28, 2020
Very Clean!
Jan 24, 2020
Easy parking and the place is clean.
Jan 23, 2020
Jan 20, 2020
This is the 2nd time I've stayed at this KOA and the amenities, cleanliness and staff are great. Sadly, there were a group of free range roosters that kept us up both nights we stayed. Apparently, campers have been feeding the roosters, which is why they've come down to the site. It's very annoying and I don't think I'll return to this KOA as a result. I would give it 5 stars if not for the roster
Jan 13, 2020
Spots are tight and dog park is unkempt but great location and staff.
Jan 13, 2020
Very convenient
Jan 06, 2020
Location worked well-close to Monterey, Santa Cruz & Pinnacles National Park. The dog area was decent & the wifi worked better than we expected. The sites are REALLY close together which we expected. The park could have used some tidying up. There were branches & twigs on the path to the dog park & there were a lot of pine cones on the dog walk which made for treacherous walking. Staff was nice.
Jan 06, 2020
The staff where great
Jan 06, 2020
I had previously read reviews about this site, and of course you have picky people and people who have enjoyed themselves. We personally liked it here, yes it’s close to freeway and it’s nose but your not there to focus on that nose, we got good nights sleep as well too. Pool was heated, recreational room was great too. All campers were great, the workers were helpful and genuinely nice people
Jan 04, 2020
So disappointed. So dirty. Trash everywhere in our site and others. Very clear that people are living there as their campsites are messy with junk everywhere. Bathrooms were filthy. Terrible!
Jan 01, 2020
If you like a 3am rooster alarm clock, freeway noise, and lack of maintenance RV sites, this is your place. Only plus is the staff is friendly. Otherwise it's just an over night stay only.
Jan 01, 2020
Great location except for the roosters. They never shut up and their chorus was well not appreciated :). Very nice location and wonderful amenities would stay again if no roosters.
Jan 01, 2020
Pro: it’s convenient to the 101... Con: I have never paid so much for such little space and it is 100% asphalt. At some point KOA has to draw the line at what it is willing to represent as a “campground”... I have never spent the night in a rest area on but I imagine that it would be about the same level of comfort.
Dec 29, 2019
no problem with the campground, just the noisy freeway. I'm a light sleeper, my wife did just fine.
Dec 28, 2019
Dec 27, 2019
Everything was great except the heater went out around 1am and did not turn on so my night was really cold..
Dec 19, 2019
We came in after hours, 5 pm. We were given sp 133. The space was so narrow we barely got our trailer in and out levelors down. Plus the ground on the door side of our trailer was broken up and dangerous to walk on. I requested a credit from KOA but they said I have to contact you direct. I also going to let Good Sam know as I found you in their book.
Dec 11, 2019
Clean room and very comfortable. Nice check in with friendly staff.
Dec 09, 2019
Enjoyed the stay. Spots are very small, both in width and length. Also there is no propane available on site.
Dec 08, 2019
Adequate.
Dec 04, 2019
The space had all the hook ups to make our stay pleasant. We had a disappointing arrival as someone allowed their dog to leave large amounts of dirt in the area where we needed to set up.
Dec 04, 2019
The staff making reservations was wonderful and easy to deal with and very clear and concise when I arrived my Room was staged with an envelope for me to go late at night into it and the heater was turned on nice touch
Dec 03, 2019
Dec 03, 2019
Dec 02, 2019
Price * Amenities = Great value!
Dec 02, 2019
The managers are amazing and kind! Made our trip memorable!
Nov 29, 2019
Nov 25, 2019
The place is good & convenient from the freeway! Facility is clean! People are friendly! The only problem is the RV space is too small for my RV. Trees block my awning. The next RV is too close. Feels more a like a parking lot.
Nov 24, 2019
The campsite is located close to a motorway, which is convenient for arrival but makes the place louder than others. The amenities were good. As it was just a stopover for one night for us it was a good choice.
Nov 12, 2019
This is not a Class A friendly park. Office guy was very nice and site was clean. But very tight and I suspect anything over 38' would have a problem maneuvering thru it.
Nov 12, 2019
Showers could be bigger but it was a good stay Thank you.
Jan 17, 2020
Friendly staff but also able to keep to yourself it seems if you choose. Not lots of nagging and no real problems while staying here. I would recommend them to update plumbing in the women’s bathroom though as the showers are always overflowing leaving the bathroom down to one shower.
- Brea L on Google
Jan 03, 2020
Terrific caring management, nice clean inviting pool, clean bathrooms, decent laundry facilities.
- Carl Satton on Google
Mar 09, 2020
Adam was a delight to talk to ☺ This KOA had become our family's gathering/memory making place.. We come from different states and will continue to make this our temporary home, year after year.. Even the germaphobes are content at this location! Satisfied costumer, planning on a trip to S.D this summer n looking forward to staying at KOA on the way, Regina Perez
- Regina Perez on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.