Salinas / Monterey KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-541-0085

Reserve: 800-541-0085

Info: 831-663-2886

Info: 831-663-2886

Email

8710 Prunedale North Road

Salinas, CA 93907

Get Directions

RV Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 12:00 pm

Accommodations

Check-in: 3:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 22, 2018
Our stay was excellent! The only snafu was the heater did not work and it was cold! The next day you made up for it by providing a wonderful portable heater which added to the ambiance! Thank you so much!
Apr 21, 2018
It was peaceful and clean. The pool was nice and warm. The floor in the cabin was cold and hard. Maybe a couple throw rugs would be nice.
Apr 20, 2018
We stayed two nights. The restrooms and showers were a bit distant. The fenced dog park had seepage of water that was of uncertain origin. Good location and nearby to Monterey. We enjoyed staying without day trips.
Apr 19, 2018
Had to walk miles to get to showers and bathrooms. Apparently closer ones were out of order. No one cared. Was really a parking lot. Hedges did not make it worth any more.
Apr 17, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Apr 16, 2018
Only one Far away restroom. And the sole toilet bowl was clogged. The Free WiFi Access Point did Not exist. And the freewayvwas very noisy. For this, they charged over 80$ per night! Stay away!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are sorry you had a negative experience. If you had called the after hours phone number that is posted, we could have taken care of the restroom. We are renovating the restrooms close to the RV sites now, and will be starting the other restroom soon. The rate you were charged was $65/plus tax (low for the area) and the bill was more due to your store purchase of Wine.
Apr 13, 2018
Cost too much for having nothing except a place to park and sleep for the night.
Apr 10, 2018
staff was very helpful. sites were very clean. large gas station located across the street.
Apr 09, 2018
I just wish the game room would stay open a little longer than 8 pm especially on rained days.
Apr 09, 2018
Awesome place
Apr 08, 2018
Le personnel était très gentil.
Apr 08, 2018
The only operating bathroom was far away, up a hill. Had issues with the wifi operating on our phones. The sites were very narrow and fire pots were rusted out on the bottom.
Apr 07, 2018
Bathroom was over 1/4 mile walk and was worn out and dirty. This was by far the worst KOA I have ever stay at
Apr 05, 2018
Very nice, clean KOA. Restrooms were being renovated which was slightly inconvenient. Hedges between sites needed trimming. Expensive, but comparable to other area campgrounds.
Apr 04, 2018
Lace made our trip very pleasant made suggestion what to see they were in the middle of remodeling the restroom so it was a little difficult for My handicapped Brother but still had a great time thank Lace for being so pleasant
Apr 04, 2018
Checked in late and package available, but no info on wifi. Only one shower quite a way from campsite. They were working on the other shower. Working shower was below KOA standards.
Apr 03, 2018
Wonderful. Lace, the manager went above and beyond to accommodate our late arrival. We’ve stayed at a lot of places on a lot of road trips over the years and this was the best customer service experience I’ve ever had. Thank you, Lace!
Apr 02, 2018
Nice location. However, many spaces are too small for the modern rigs, and there is nobody to assist with parking as the office closes too early. We helped a total of 7 large RV's get parked into these tight spaces. Damage occurred to three of them. The office should be more diligent about reserving large spaces for large RV's, and ensuring the tight spaces are only given to smaller rigs.
Apr 02, 2018
Bedsides the constant sound of the freeway but the campground is by a freeway it was very nice. They are still working on the landscaping, and fixing campsites. Pool was clean and nice. The campground was 30 minutes for Monterey sure that was nice. The gas station next to the campground was perfect easy to get into and out of. I would stay again.
Apr 01, 2018
I would have given perfect scores but the site we were given had a raised curb that scraped bottom of my trailer. If they fix this on the several sites with this issue I’d be more inclined to recommend.
Mar 29, 2018
The Place is a Little dirty
Mar 29, 2018
Service was good. Campgrounds can be maintained better. Very noisy from freeway. Someone's kids were screaming and playing in front of their RV until late and nobody cared. Two of the nights our electric service was on and off at least 5 times. For the price this place charges, more should be offered. Parking spaces kind of narrow and cramped together. Will avoid staying here in the future.
Mar 29, 2018
It was a good visit. Thanks
Mar 28, 2018
Nice place, I'll stay again. Close to local attractions for Monterey & Santa Cruz. Freeway noise is not as noticeable as you would think. This is NOT the place if you have a low riding RV. Level spaces, somewhat tight, with a significant pitch that makes it hard to enter the space without damage to your RV. Great service moved me to a space I could get barely get into without the pitch.
Mar 27, 2018
Staff very friendly and helpful. Sites are a little small and tight to get in and out. Close to grocery stores and other shops and services.
Mar 27, 2018
The spots were very small. I scraped the bumper on my rv getting into mine and watched another guy backing his trailer into a spot have his tire go over the edge of the embankment.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your response to KOA's Satisfaction Survey. We appreciate the time you took to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us. We apologize for any problems you had during your stay, but hope you will give us another chance in the future. Feedback is very important to us. It enables us to identify areas where we need to focus and improve.
Mar 26, 2018
Lovely pool and well stocked general store. Enjoyed the cookies at check in. Campground and other camp amenities would benefit from better upkeep and attention.
Mar 24, 2018
Mar 22, 2018
First its $50 for a slab of buckled asphalt, not good. The main restroom and showers are closed. You walk to the far end of the park to get to the other restrooms. They were disgusting. Both toilets were plugged up and looked like it hadn't been cleaned in days. There was no way I would take a shower there. Dirty, moldy, just not what I have been used to in KOA campgrounds.
Mar 20, 2018
free wifi did'n work ....(or I made a mistake)
Mar 19, 2018
Friendly, helpful staff. Just minor issues like cable TV not working (needed to go off-site to watch a game from my alma mater) and light fixture missing. Defective lamp and deck lights were corrected very quickly. Thank you!
Mar 18, 2018
Messy, cluttered RV spots. Barking dogs, no one in RV. Bathroom in dire need of repair. "Owners" were helpful.
Mar 16, 2018
Too noisy
Mar 11, 2018
Grounds unkept, spaces small. Overpriced.
Mar 08, 2018
Tight spots for large RV’s with big toter trucks. No lighting for after hours arrivals. Management was courteous and friendly. Easy access from highway.
Mar 07, 2018
The could have been good but it is more about the host that was not good.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I am very sorry for the negative experience you had. Our goal is to have Excellent Customer Service. Sometimes we fail, and for that I am sorry.
Mar 04, 2018
We had to extend and they accommodated us efficiently and without having to move.
Mar 04, 2018
Convenient, close to Monterey and Carmel by the sea. The sites are very tight and not private at all. The TV reception was very poor. When we complained we were told we could move to a different site.... not very convenient. Why not fixing the problem. Some very disturbing discrimination against a Latin couple that was ahead of us. Had we not had a reservation we would have left.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We take any allegations of discrimination very seriously. Camera footage has been reviewed and we cannot find any issues. Thank you.
Mar 04, 2018
Old and spaces are small and close together. No nice area to walk dogs. GPS didn't work well in the area. Shower was very clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We have two brand new dog walking areas. They are listed on the map for your convenience.
Mar 01, 2018
Back again, great base camp exploring area. Staff just wants to make you happy and is great. If you need something just ask. This is on our list of KOA to use, we'll be back.
Feb 28, 2018
FRAUD INFO! 1. Location - "Prunedale, CA". 2. WIFI virtually non-existent & while checking we were told it would be better to use own cell phone data. 3. Litter, wood, gloves, plastic pvc pipe scattered around. 4. Some trailers were permanent looking with duct-taped siding & equipment piled around, Freeway noise atrocious! Chickens in the neighboring mobile home park had to compete.
Feb 27, 2018
Feb 27, 2018
Cable tv not working they knew about it. But nothing done
Feb 26, 2018
Ok for an overnight. Noisy.
Feb 26, 2018
This was an unexpected stop on our trip because of a minor problem with our rig. We spent the night, I fixed the issue, and we left the next morning. The site was just a parking spot, with power, which is what we needed at the time. I will say the staff was very friendly and the facilities were clean and maintained, but I probably wouldn't choose this facility for a lengthy stay.
Feb 26, 2018
Site was misrepresented by phone. The “grassy area” behind our site was a hill with weeds. A street light glared into our RV all night. Noises all night including loud freeway noise (right next to campground). A nightmare spot. Wouldn’t recommend to anyone.
Feb 22, 2018
Needs quite a bit of work to upgrade. Bathroom are old & dismal. Lost power from Fri-Mon at least 3-4 times a nite. Was told it was because the park was full & people were using too much power & tripping the breaker. Staff was cordial; location was convenient for us. Checked out other parks & will probably only stay here again as a last resort.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry for the electrical issues. The electricians were not available on the holiday. The parts have now been received & we are just waiting for PG&E to give us access to complete the repairs. In addition, we are upgrading the amps to avoid this in the future. Thank you, Mgmnt
Feb 21, 2018
Each night that we stayed, the 3 nights, the power went off anywhere from 10 to 20 minutes, about every hour, from 6 pm to 5 am. My husband was using the KOA restroom while the power was out and had to finish up in the dark. There was no emergency/back up lighting system. The management neglected to inform us of the electrical situation. Garbage was left days in camp sites after campers left.
Feb 20, 2018
Power tripped repeatedly throughout the weekend. Was involved in an accident on site and host just drove past.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals