Salinas / Monterey KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 10, 2019
Our second visit to this campground. Convenient location for visiting the area. Friendly staff. Clean facilities. Lovely pool. Much more affordable than many other campgrounds in the area, not as scenic and sites are tight.
Sep 09, 2019
Sites too close together. Could have eaten off neighbor's picnic table, pushouts touched neighbours, could see inside their trailer. Hydro kept going out entire campground when using air conditioners. Wi-fi never worked. Sites so small could hardly get truck off the road.
Sep 09, 2019
There is road noise, but tolerable. We like this park for an overnight stop on our way North.
Sep 08, 2019
Campsite very small. Not even enough room to set up our chairs. We needed a place to spend the night and it served that purpose , but nothing more. Trash was left in site from previous campers also. Very disappointing.
Sep 07, 2019
WiFi didn’t work. Also we were in a spot where we faced another rig and shared the patio. Way too small for that. Access to the resort was marginal. Very steep approach
Sep 06, 2019
OK place for a quick stop. Mostly pavement so not the best if traveling with pups. There is a dog area at the far end of the park. Dog walk area is mulch. Back-in site was a tad short.
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
It was a very pleasant stay. Cabin was clean and comfortable.
Sep 03, 2019
Power went out several times, pet area steps are steep
Sep 03, 2019
It was a nice campgrounds, but the power kept going out and I had my 90 year old mother and my wife with COPD and they needed air conditioning. Also my mom fell with her walker, because of holes in the asphalt.
Sep 03, 2019
No one cleaned bathrooms the entire Labor day weekend. 1 of 2 toilets plugged. Wastebaskets overflowing. Mud on floor. Instead of signs about sewer, they need to fix it. Campsites were gravel parking lot.
Sep 03, 2019
We have never stayed at a KOA before. We really had a nice stay, the staff was really friendly and answered all our questions during check-in. The facilities were actually very well lit and clean. I was a little nervous regarding all the claims of traffic noise from the the freeway, that didn't bother so much compared to the local rooster. We look forward to returning next time we visit Monterey.
Sep 03, 2019
We enjoyed our stay. Great location for weekend activities in Monterey. We will be coming back again. Enjoyed the BBQ for Labor Day. The staff was very friendly and pleasant.
Sep 03, 2019
It was perfect and awesome Spot! Just bathroom had only one working shower in women's bathroom, and it need to be cleaned
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Aug 29, 2019
The sites were so small as to be claustrophobic! Had to crawl under the slide to get to the door. No amenities
Aug 27, 2019
Lack of WI-FI and the cheek to jowl arrangement of "spots" made this KOA not one of my favorites.
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 26, 2019
Always a great place to stay. Close to the coast, restaurants and grocery store...
Aug 26, 2019
If you wanted to stay to go do stuff around the beach etc. bit of drive to do that. There are other RV parks closer to amenities and beach. Nice that Safeway and other stuff across the freeway so long as you have another vehicle. Park was kept well but some of the individuals coming in and out questionable. I would stay again based on the purpose I stayed for.
Aug 23, 2019
Most KOAs we've enjoyed, but this one? Never again. 1) All asphalt everyone, no green. 2) Spaces way too small. I took off a hubcab on the corner of the picnic table just trying to squeeze in. We could even put slideouts all the way. I measured, and the 3 spaces neighboring us (all empty) were at least 3' wider. 3) Leaky spigot and nonstandard sewer tube size. 4) Hi highway noise. I could go on!
Aug 23, 2019
Staff was friendly and helpful. RV spots were not very clearly marked out, and was difficult to line up in the spot properly. The electrical connection shorted out and damaged the end of my power cord. This is the second KOA in the area (the other being in Los Banos, CA) where I have had electrical problems.
Aug 22, 2019
Aug 22, 2019
Toilets and shower not clean in the 3 days we stayed
Aug 22, 2019
Campground was generally good. The bathroom (mens) was a total mess. The showers were overflowing the floor area around the toilets and sinks. At aprox 7 pm Saturday night 2 kids were racing fire pits with wheels on them. They almost hit our motorhome. At the edge of our camp spot were stacked a number of fire pits and extra tables which were irritating to maneuver around them.
Aug 22, 2019
We stayed in a cabin and it would have been nice to have some rugs and a broom/dustpan to keep the floor clean for walking. Beds were good.
Aug 21, 2019
We love staying here. Quiet, clean, and priced right!
Aug 21, 2019
The staff were very helpful, friendly and welcoming.
Aug 21, 2019
Cute, cozy and pet friendly! Would definitely stay again!
Aug 20, 2019
Nice pool. Only 1 women's shower was working (hence line). Noisy location overall (proximity to highway and nightclub).
Aug 20, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
Was everything ok!
Aug 19, 2019
Good location, spaces are packed in close, some downhill and uphill backing required. Bathrooms and showers are fairly clean. Staff is friendly and helpful. Freeway noise is quite loud.
Aug 19, 2019
Everything was wonderful. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Bathroom floors were always wet is my only complaint.
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
It was a nice place to stay. However, if you're not a morning person be warn that the random roosters' crow often.
Aug 18, 2019
Campground just next to a major highway crossing - very noisy.
Aug 17, 2019
Wonderful place, we will be back.
Aug 17, 2019
Worked out perfectly for us. Close to the freeway for access to the places we wanted to visit. we'll be back.
Aug 16, 2019
Aug 16, 2019
Convenient for a short drive to Monterey
Aug 16, 2019
Great KOA, nice staff and very good access to the site, pool was so fun.
Aug 16, 2019
Site was super small, difficult to get into and angled. Couldn’t hook up sewer or water because I had to pull so far forward to not have my tow in the road. My RV is 24’. Staff was friendly. Dog park was wet, and dirty too. Not my favorite KOA.
Aug 15, 2019
We stay here when we can't find another spot or as in this case its very close to what we were doing. They are really trying to improve it but its really old and there is a lot to do still. This time and the last time we stayed here the men's restroom always had about a quarter inch of water on the floor. I thought they would have fixed it. The TV cable went out and the WIFI is better but weak.
Aug 15, 2019
The KOA in Salinas was relatively clean. It was comfortable cabins but I wish they would provide more towels since they have a pool and when you get back to your cabin you use the same small towel after your shower. Our bathroom rug too is soaking wet after just one day stay there. The guy in the store is not very friendly and not helpful at all.
Aug 13, 2019
Great location away from town.
Aug 12, 2019
Very friendly staff. Clean park. Traffic noise from Hwy 101 was bearable, like white noise. We’ve experienced much worse! We liked the sites, set up back to back, and front provided privacy. Did not have to eat facing someone’s sewer pipe!
Aug 12, 2019
Only issue was the bathroom/shower area as the floors were wet in both the Men's and women's. Staff was great!