Salida / Mt. Shavano KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 26, 2020
The entire campsite is covered in stickers which neither the dogs nor my kid enjoyed in their paws, hands, and feet. The plus side were the managers! Anthony is a great guy and probably the friendliest camp host I’ve ever met!
May 18, 2020
The beauty of the surrounding mountains is spectacular. But not enough to justify the high price. I got tired of resetting the 30 amp breaker. I felt cheated at those prices.
May 08, 2020
We were traveling across country to Florida and we stayed at the KOA Salida (KOA’s are our go to). Property was quaint and quiet; however, there were no bathrooms - and the location on the map had a pile of scraps?! Little did we know it was going to be a little windy that night - winds up to 24 miles / hour. Thankfully our tent stayed in tact :) Thank you KOA Salida for a pleasant stay!
May 07, 2020
Todd was amazing! He was very helpful in assisting us troubleshooting our brand new RV. He was friendly and shared sites to visit in area. Actual site was very dusty with little green grass. Dog park way to small. Some lots need to level. Enjoyed the stream onsite.
May 05, 2020
The KOA host was wonderful. He answered any questions we had and checked on us daily.
Apr 27, 2020
Mar 28, 2020
Mar 28, 2020
Mar 17, 2020
Mar 17, 2020
Arrived at 7:30. No info at the office to tell us what to do since no one was there. There was a phone in our confirmation email. I called and a man drove over. There were no lights, only headlights so he told us to follow him. He put us in a site that was so slanted we couldn't level RV.. Propped up table to keep dishes from sliding off. Next am we saw sites on either side were level. Horrible!!
Mar 17, 2020
We were the only tent campers out, and the area was very nice and secluded. The person running the campground was also very nice; he even came and jumped my car when it wouldn't start as we were getting ready to leave. Would definitely stay there again!
Mar 10, 2020
Their campground was a great focal point for many outdoor activities, just a short drive from their camp. They offer full hook up pull through sites with 30 amp service. Free WiFi was available, we even streamed a movie! Great dog park! Coin operated laundry provided 24/7 access to clean clothes. Their heated bath house was a blessing in the cold! They had games and books in the Rec. room.
Feb 23, 2020
Beautiful scenery, very friendly staff, nice dog park for my dogs to run around. Pretty good winery across the street. Full hook ups all year around!
Feb 09, 2020
Todd the manager was very helpful to us, including while we left the RV for a side trip to Crested Butte - we rate him a 5. The campground itself is just rutted dirt. one small tree at each site, although Todd was working on the RV sites by leveling, widening, and filling with gravel. The location is nice in being away from town, with wide open views. Salida is fun and quirky.
Feb 09, 2020
Jan 22, 2020
Manger was quick and very helpful
Jan 21, 2020
We choose the Salida/Mt Shavano KOA due to it's proximity to Monarch Mountain. We stayed for only 1 night, checking in on a Thursday with our truck camper with the plan to snowboard on Friday. Pros: Camp site was nice and flat, camp host was very informative over the phone, bathrooms were warm and clean. Cons: Campground could use some more trees and improvements, charged extra for 3rd person.
Jan 21, 2020
Jan 21, 2020
Very awesome stay. Definitely will stay in season.
Jan 17, 2020
So grateful for this KOA, which is only 15 minutes to Monarch ski mountain! Grounds her calf very well, staff is very friendly and flexible! Had a wonderful time and look forward to the next time!
Jan 06, 2020
My son and I wanted to see what Salida was like in the dead of winter! This KOA was a great choice. Heated Bathroom/showers, laundry room, community room. Power was good, Water faucets were heated and working. Seems to be family run and they were super sweet. The only thing I would like to see fixed would be hot water faucet in laundry room. I'm sure they will get to it. Would stay again!
Jan 02, 2020
This being a new KOA, I feel there are some kinks that need to be worked out. That being said, I feel this would be a great summer campground (although it is open year round), and there are lots of things to do in the area. Our stay was over New Years 2020. It was cold, and windy but the electricity was steady and reliable, although we didn't get out much to enjoy the area.
Dec 30, 2019
-Paid for a site with power ($36) & there was no hookup on my pad -Plugged in the building next door -Drunk guy staying in the shed yelled at me at 10pm saying I couldn't plug in there, then the breaker tripped in the middle of the night from because he had 3 space heaters. -Filthy bathrooms with broken lock, so it wouldn't stay shut -The pad wasn't plowed so I had to shovel to get my van it.
Dec 17, 2019
Nov 12, 2019
Oct 24, 2019
Had a nice visit . Rented one of the cabins . I was hunting and it was easy access to hunting grounds from the facility . The cabins are not really cold weather cabins but a space heater was provided. All in all was a good visit . Thank you KOA Sincerely Aaron A Rupp . Keenesburg Colo
Oct 20, 2019
Wifi did not work so we went to the office to ask about moving closer to the antenna but they were already closed. This was at 3:30 pm and office hours were until 4 pm... Restrooms were very dirty. Laundry was the most expensive during our 5 weeks in the USA and our laundry did not dry. Could not get more quarters because the office was already closed so we had to take our moist laundry with us.
Oct 15, 2019
The utility hookup is near the head of the pull-thru, most RV's are either in the middle of the rig or towards the rear, this made hooking everything up very difficult, had we not recently purchased a much longer hose we would have been without water. The holding tank on my rig is also in the rear, I literally had no spare drain hose as it was stretched to its maximum capacity.
Oct 06, 2019
They are fairly new to the KOA family. but there are alot of improvements needed to be up there with others I've stayed at. Sand pads for tents, more trees, fire rings, bath house closer to tent sites, and hot water far washing dishes. But we had a great stay, other than the wind and the red flag days, but that's not KOAs fault.
Oct 05, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Good location. Great 24 hour access with community room for reading after dark. When adding cost for creekside, need to inform public That creek is bone dry so no sound of running water. Some tent sites subpar with no level nor pad areas. Friendly staff helpful when changing sites or bathroom out of paper towels.
Oct 01, 2019
site clean and met all our needs.
Sep 30, 2019
needs grass
Sep 25, 2019
This is just not a pretty KOA. I know it is a new KOA acquisition, so maybe some improvements are planned. It is quite close to the hwy.- therefore lots of traffic noise. Nearly no trees around the sites which are quite close together. The community room has a nice variety of games, books, ping pong, etc., and staff person at check in was very nice.
Sep 23, 2019
Location is nice and the place has potential. It is still new to the KOA world. Water pressure is a little low. It was dusty during our stay and that was mostly due to seasonal high winds.
Sep 22, 2019
Very friendly staff
Sep 21, 2019
Sep 21, 2019
The sites are roomy and in a beautiful location. My rating is based on my husband's experience with the men's restroom. Only one toilet was working and the restroom wasn't clean (clogged toilet overflowing...). Also the pool looked like it hadn't been used in years.
Sep 21, 2019
Nice park. Good facilities. Each site has a fire pit. Very nice staff. Site rows are tight for bigger rigs. A lot off dust from gravel roads. Sits on top of a hill and no trees to block wind. Would consider staying if ever in that area again.
Sep 19, 2019
In and out 1 night never saw a Koa employee. But that’s Ok
Sep 18, 2019
We love the variety of places to walk our dog; the hosts and workers are super friendly. We enjoyed our stay. We hope in the future you will introduce recycling; that would be nice! Quiet and beautiful area.
Sep 16, 2019
Like many other reviews, I would say that this KOA is in the process of converting a previous campground to a KOA. I thought the facilities were good but not outstanding. Many things are in need of being upgraded. The staff was friendly and helpful.
Sep 15, 2019
We had a quiet tent spot by the stream. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Sep 13, 2019
Sep 12, 2019
Basically used as a base camp for exploring the area.... being that I have stayed at several KOA's whiles traveling - I am rating this one against the others I have stayed... found the short office hours a bit odd ( 10:00 am till 4:00 pm) - the place has potential to be nicer
Sep 05, 2019
The sites were clean, and more importantly the restrooms/showers were very clean. We will stay there again.
Sep 04, 2019
Very friendly staff. Clean bathrooms.
Sep 03, 2019
Says its a new KOA but its an older campground. There needs to be at least 2 more bath houses (1 near the tent camping and 1 on the other end of the RV spots). For the price we would expect to get more amenities. Being located right next to a winery is nice. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The camping store was lacking in supplies (no bread, eggs, milk, butter) not even the basics.
Sep 03, 2019
Thank you for the clean bathrooms, ping-pong and free coffee. Friendly service. Could use a facelift and a pool though. Pricey for the amenities.
Aug 31, 2019
Beautiful location. Very good temps for summer. No A/C needed. Shout out Anthony, Amber, and Jeremy. All very hard workers, and saw several occasions that they went above and beyond to make sure guests had a good experience. With Anthony and Jeremy's hard work, campground asthetics are improving daily.

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.