Reno KOA at Boomtown Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 25, 2019
We were a little hesitant to book over inet due to very critical reviews. Decided to give it a try. Glad we did . All those reviews showed to be false. Stayed 2 nights in a nice roomy pull thru. Park and employees were nice. Will visit again.
Sep 24, 2019
Convenient, clean, and friendly staff.
Sep 24, 2019
sites are really crammed together - I get that as it is popular place- signage to entry confusing. but I got there and had great neighbors who moved their truck so I could pull out - super nice desk staff - easy walk to Boomtown. to bad no way to reach the river from camp ground
Sep 23, 2019
Could be a beautiful campground if there were more daily maintenance of the grounds. Grass is dead and trash throughout. Has potential but just not well kept. Office staff is great.
Sep 23, 2019
This is a nice park, well designed with green areas. The site we stayed in was backed up to the bluff and overlooked the Truckee River. Nice site but lacked trees and had not been cleaned or shrubs trimmed for some time. Restrooms were a decided cut above other campgrounds, I wish every KOA had restrooms as nice. I am not a fan of the long term/permanent campers in the campground.
Sep 23, 2019
I love this place and would give a 5 star, but they no longer have a large grass area to walk dogs they have replaced it with a kids play area. You have to walk out of the park to walk your dogs. Other then that it’s great friendly helpful staff and always clean bathrooms
Sep 22, 2019
I’ve rated it once ...the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The site was terrible .. hook up Hal most falling down / chipped ..two bathrooms / shower combos for 206 sites .. thirty minute allowance ..not available and smelly .. inside bathrooms very nice , but not available after hours . The grounds need some updating .. wouldn’t go back ..
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
This is basically a black top parking lot. Not much of a camping experience.
Sep 22, 2019
Very uncomfortable. Restrooms only at the front with only 2 open in the evening. People getting upset in line to use them. Lots of people live there and it doesn’t feel like a campground more like a low end trailer park. Maybe keep the residents on one side and make the other side like a real campground. So no we won’t be back
Sep 21, 2019
nice site, easy drive to fishing and other local activities
Sep 20, 2019
While the sites at this KOA are close together, the pull-thru we were given was easy in/easy out and big enough to accomodate our 40 foot diesel pusher and tow car. We enjoyed our stay and will be back next year. The ability for us to receive our satellite signal from the dish mounted on the roof of our Coach was also much appreciated!
Sep 20, 2019
stay at boomtown alot this trip was for the air races that we have gone to for 30+ years we always have a great time there great staff everything always works well this trip they had an issue with the hot tub and had it resolved fast place is great the only thing that maybe could improve is the laundry which is inside the store would be great if it was separate so could have 24 hrs access
Sep 20, 2019
The camp was great, neat and very friendly people. No issues at all
Sep 20, 2019
I stayed at this park on the first day of my recent trip. It was vg except they couldn't fill the propane tank on my motorhome and I had to go to the nearby Chevron. Nice enough that I stayed there again on the last day of this same trip. I will be back next year.
Sep 20, 2019
Great location for traveling between northern Nevada and California. Quick and easy check-in even though we didn't have reservations. Nearby casino has some good choices for somewhere to eat - and KOA gives coupons at check-in. Advertise propane, but no one there to handle it (may have just been the time we wanted a fill), but were referring to nearby Chevron station that had propane and easy a
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 19, 2019
I think of KOAs as clean and family oriented. Not! Bathrm doors often broken, it’s FULL of residents - junk around the RVs, loud trucks lvg for work at 4-6am, 4 noisy windchimes in the trees around our site (42j! (Were told our favorite Sp 58 was taken, but it wasn’t.) It’s a handy stopping if leaving home and heading out I-80, but we may not stay there again. It gets worse every time.
Sep 18, 2019
We came in late at night after the office closed. Your late arrival system worked well. The big paved roads were great.
Sep 18, 2019
The camp was packed and busy. The ladies in the office were extremely helpful with advice. Made phone calls for us and loaned us a cable connection.
Sep 18, 2019
Everything was great.
Sep 17, 2019
Loved my stay here Tracy and Stephanie are great amd always there to help all the others down to security help were real friendly and that is great customer service!!!!
Sep 17, 2019
It needs some work. Most of the grass was dead, and the picnic table looked like it was ready to fall apart any minute. The landscaping definitely needs work. I will say it was quiet and served our needs. If their is a problem with keeping up the grounds, maybe you should invest in a new look. More cement or rocks.
Sep 17, 2019
Thank you for the pleasant stay, we appreciated the quiet, the view of the river and the train, and the chance to rest.
Sep 17, 2019
Okay for a night but it is old and tired. The full time spots are not very well kept
Sep 17, 2019
I really appreciated the clean private bathrooms. I hate using public restrooms because there are always other people in them and they are dirty. These bathrooms were clean and private that was so great. The property was also clean and conveniently located.
Sep 17, 2019
Nice.stay..all good.:-)
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 17, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Our stay met the expectations. The toilet building was a little walk for us. We had guests over for a bbq, after signing them up, it was no problem for them to stay a couple of hours.
Sep 16, 2019
Nice staff. The campground is older and is need of some updating. We had a great time and look forward to visiting again. This was our second trip to Boomtown.
Sep 16, 2019
We have a great time here. The pool is great, never crowded and clean! My only complaint is that we were parked in between two RV's that were smokers. Of course they were outside their RV smoking so there was no way to avoid the smell outside or inside our own RV. If there were ever a "Non Smoking" section of the RV park available to reserve, I would definitely be an active participant!!
Sep 16, 2019
We got a lovely spot rt over-looking the river below, since we came in a camper. Had a beautiful pine tree for shade and we could hear the river rushing by. Lovely view of the mountains & clear blue skies, since we came to escape the forest fire smoke of the Walker Fire. The only issue we had was the shuttle service was unreliable. But we came away from the casino with extra money & full tummies.
Sep 16, 2019
It was full of RV’s and people and everyone was quiet �...we were traveling and stayed in a campground that was so noisy we felt like we should have stayed home! Then we arrived here and were able to sleep. Plus there is a lot to do 8n the immediate area.
Sep 15, 2019
To many live-ins there! I’ve had the same site for 17 years (yes been staying there before it was KOA) and because of all the live-ins my family can’t camp near us like before. The garbage has cleaned up some from the last couple of years but someone dumped there old tires in front of the dumpster. Our gas can and gasoline was stolen from our site (campers don’t steal from campers)!
Sep 15, 2019
The bathrooms are in the office and you have to ask for a key. No rubber mats by shower. In the evening u have only two bathrooms, which are full with contractors, and the door lock didn’t open properly. Tight spaces.
Sep 15, 2019
it was 117 degrees one day and 109 another day. Our air conditioner did not keep up with the heat. So the experience was not desirable. The campground was ok.
Sep 15, 2019
Short stop over Clean restrooms and shower
Sep 15, 2019
There were disgusting misogynistic t shirts for sale in the registration. “Why is a hand gun better than a woman” etc. made me rethink staying at a KOA
Sep 14, 2019
Staff was super helpful and polite. Laundry area was very clean. The camp site was very nice.
Sep 14, 2019
If the sites we’ve stayed in, they need to be leveled out.
Sep 14, 2019
Easy registration. Comfortable and convenient RV sites. A nice walk to restaurant food. Problems: nite entry door to restrooms electric keys did not work well, it took me six tries to open the door; also the first bathroom toilet did not flush well.
Sep 13, 2019
Since our last stay two years ago Boomtown has gotten dirtier, run down and the guests have been allowed to have messy campsites. We may stay again, but we going to seek out other locations for our Reno stays.
Sep 13, 2019
We were at the end and had a good view of the river going around the campground. It would have been nice to have more trees planted and maybe even grass put into the sites. The scenery around the campground was very nice.
Sep 13, 2019
Sep 13, 2019
First time at the Reno KOA, we are already planning for a second visit. the folks that work there were just awesome and treated us ike royalty
Sep 13, 2019
All the girls who work there and we came in contact with were friendly, helpful, all around made our stay great!! We will be back between your staff and grounds it was a pleasurable time. Thank You!!
Sep 12, 2019
Lot is very large, mostly dark, so it's harder to find your way back after the casino. Free shuttle to casinos. Need more showers for such a large park. Would stay again.
Sep 12, 2019
very friendly easy acess and quiet i will be back for sure thanks for a very nice park.
Nov 03, 2019
Great place to stay next to the interstate
- Rebecca Whiteside on Google
Oct 21, 2019
Super easy check in and friendly staff. Clean RV park just outside of Reno off of I 80. They have shuttles back and forth to the casino or it's a quick walk if the weather is good. I highly recommend this KOA for year round camping!! Oh the local fall colors were the best in the area!
- Cindy Whitaker on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.