Rapid City / Black Hills KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Info: 605-348-2111

Info: 605-348-2111

Email This Campground

3010 East Highway 44

Rapid City, SD 57703

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 06, 2018
Enjoyed our stay even though it was short.
Jun 06, 2018
We stay here a lot, but I was very disappointed to see a charge for requesting our site! $10. I would think that you would be happy to have return customers. KOA's are getting ridiculous in their charges, we stopped going to Palmer Gulch because of it and may have to stop KOA all together, and got yelled at by a worker for parking on the grass, get bigger pads for us with 2 cars. Very Rude!!!!!!
Jun 06, 2018
We were doing the Yellowstone Hwy trip from Spokane, Wa to Ipswich, SD with a dip to Mt. Rushmore. We planned a 2 night stay but weather (Thunder/Lightning/Rain/Hail) caused us to stay a 3rd night. Totally enjoyed the storm. KOA was great, Fun Pancake Breakfast, Nice little store, Clean Clean Bathrooms/showers. Rapid City had more we wanted to see, but time ran out. Maybe Next Time.
Jun 06, 2018
Jun 06, 2018
Safe and quiet campground, great facilities, very friendly staff. Good location.
Jun 06, 2018
Great facilities and friendly, helpful staff.
Jun 06, 2018
Jun 05, 2018
Very very clean. Friendly, will go back again.
Jun 05, 2018
Clean and friendly staff
Jun 05, 2018
Nice place, nearby the highways and nearby the city. With a Lyft we could go and come back for les than 18 dollars. Friendly woman who registrated us.
Jun 05, 2018
We were there to see the sights and we saw them all. Great shopping and great food at the Colonial House.
Jun 05, 2018
Friendly folks, clean facility quiet park!
Jun 05, 2018
We did a 21 day trip from Mt. Carmel, IL to Yellowstone National Park and only stayed at KOA's. This one was close to the highway, easy to find but a little noisy and tight. They were remodeling the store and office. It was right next door to a Camping World.
Jun 05, 2018
Crowded but even the "well lubricated" Canadians next door didn't make enough noise to be heard over the sound of our AC. A bit of a ways from the Interstate but nicely maintained and a staff of friendly and helpful folks make up for the distance.
Jun 05, 2018
Great amenities! Thank you for the great stay.
Jun 05, 2018
Greatest guest service that I have encountered at any lodging I have stayed at. Great amenities that aren’t even offered at high end hotels. All you can eat pancakes were fantastic. Will definitely stay here again!!! The only downside is the stay was the Loud neighbors at the cabin next to us but was ok.
Jun 05, 2018
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Jun 05, 2018
Met our needs nicely. I was surprised that the #1 KOA did not provide a place to recycle at least aluminum cans.
Jun 05, 2018
Wi-Fi did not work but our stay was still excellent. Playgrounds were nice and the pancake breakfast was excellent!
Jun 04, 2018
My son enjoyed our time at the camp ground from the swimming to the pancakes and the gentleman and his pancake art
Jun 04, 2018
We arrived after hours and they happily guided us into our spot in the dark. The site was beautiful and wonderfully maintained!
Jun 04, 2018
The hot tub was colder than the pool, terrible! No ATM to get cash for the game room. Dog park was very small. Not as big as they advertise it to be. And the lady on the phone who took my reservation talked about free breakfast and events happening on our weekend. When we arrived I found out that none of those events were happening during our stay and there is a charge for breakfast. Disappointing
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 04, 2018
All KOA campgrounds need to RECYCLE more actively!!
Jun 04, 2018
Jun 04, 2018
Lots of good help, let us park a motorcycle trailer down in storage area, Palmer gulch would not, thanks jim
Jun 03, 2018
we had a problem with water in our MH. I wish I could remember their names but there is a husband and wife team that were so helpful that I cannot say enough good about them. He brought me a wet/dry vac and offered any assistance he could to us and the same for his wife. You are very fortunate to people of their caliber there at the KOA in Rapid City. Please convey to them our thanks.
Jun 03, 2018
Jun 03, 2018
Accueil chaleureux. Bien aménagé pour les longs séjours, piscine, jeux pour enfants, etc. Un peu cher pour le voyageur d'un soir, compte tenu que le wifi est pratiquement inutilisable le soir, même à la buanderie ou directement derrière la réception. Utilisateurs de la piscine bruyants jusqu'à 22 heures. Bruit d'autoroute et de train.
Jun 03, 2018
Nice people
Jun 02, 2018
Nice campground and nice location.
Jun 02, 2018
Very friendly staff, love the pancakes!!!
Jun 02, 2018
Good people running it grass was all cut nice place if you have dogs good dog run
Jun 02, 2018
Jun 02, 2018
Jun 01, 2018
I would not recommend this KOA location, simply because of the location. The campground is in town where you can hear a lot of noise from the city cars. This KOA is also not surrounded by anything, so when you have high gust winds/thunder storms, there is no protection (which left us with a broken tent). Staff was kind and accommodating though.
Jun 01, 2018
Easy to fine, and Park RV .. everyone was very friendly when checking in and during our stay.
May 31, 2018
Needs more bathrooms spread out across the property. We stayed in a cabin along the back of the property and it was a loong trek, especially during the middle of the night. Dog park was nice! Lots of good grass and a few agility equipment for the dogs. No shade trees though.
May 30, 2018
okay...nothing special. No TV or small refrig. as others have...Especially the KOA in Dayton, Ohio..
May 30, 2018
We had so much fun. The deluxe cabin was comfortable and cozy, and just enough room for our family of 5. So much to do in the area too!
May 30, 2018
Site was convenient to access.Good services and facilities. Staff was accessible. One major problem - the wifi system tengo is too convoluted, too awkward, too slow and inconsistent. I highly recommend to change to a better system. I have read other visitors similar comments about tengo at other parks. Your park is my first experience with that system and it was not good.
May 30, 2018
Excellent facilities. Clean and safe place to stay.
May 30, 2018
Hot showers, clean laundry facility, beautiful views and wonderful people. What more could you want? Oh yes, don’t forget the wonderful pancake breakfasts. Loved Donnie’s animals, flowers and fish!
May 29, 2018
Every one was very pleasant and very helpful.
May 29, 2018
Very nice camp sites and well maintained facility. Staff were great very friendly. There was a staff member that came around giving dog biscuits to the dogs. I would recommend people to stay at your KOA. Good job!
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
We stayed here while attending the state high school track meet. It was close to everything in Rapid City. All facilities were very clean and well maintained. Staff was friendly and helpful.
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
The internet connection simply sucks! I would rate the likelihood of me staying there again as a 10 IF YOU GET THE WIRELESS INTERNET FIXED. I stayed in space 227 and there is NO internet available in that part of the campground. The only way I could check email was to go up and sit outside the office. mike madden
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals