Rapid City / Black Hills KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Info: 605-348-2111

Email

3010 East Highway 44

Rapid City, SD 57703

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 02, 2017
Always clean. Facilities ,..... great breakfast at campground...friendly service.thankyou!
Oct 02, 2017
Oct 02, 2017
Clean park, friendly staff
Oct 02, 2017
Beware they charge a junk fee. Walk in and they tell you the price but don't disclose the $2.00 charge for a pet. What a rip off!!! Junk fee to avoid paying a franchise fee on this added profit.
Oct 01, 2017
Made reservations a few months ago. I wasn't sure how long it would take to drive to Rapid City from Chicago. Made it in 2 days in stead of 3. KOA was accomodating in getting us in a day early. Great place. Great location. Easy to get in and out. Would definitely go again.
Oct 01, 2017
The staff was very friendly and the bathrooms, showers, and cabins were very well maintained and clean.
Oct 01, 2017
Great campground, great location. Good sites and amenities.
Oct 01, 2017
After hitting a deer 1400 miles from home, we were without a tow vehicle for 2 weeks, and had to choose a campground on-the-fly when the tow truck arrived. We chose this KOA because we've used and enjoyed KOA campgrounds in the past. Service was excellent; the manager, Carla Jacobsen, and her staff, worked with us and were extremely helpful. Thank you.
Oct 01, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
Love this KOA. Great location if you want to be close to Rapid City attractions/restaurants/shopping, or if you're passing through. We'd much rather stay in a Kamping Kabin than a hotel room. :) The cabins are clean, cute and comfortable... great playground and breakfast, too! (And we've stayed in summertime and enjoyed the pool as well!)
Sep 30, 2017
large beautiful grounds, very green. great for dog walks. separate showers/toilets. Very clean & well maintained. used laundry room, fine. Awesome gift shop.
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Convenient location. Good dog run and fenced area although it was a bit wet/muddy in the morning from the sprinklers. Slope of site required some blocking so front tires were on ground. Lots to do/see in the area if you have a towed car.
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 29, 2017
I would have given a 4.5 if that were an option. There was only one minor issue to bring up which was the availability of quarters for laundry. I thought there would be a change machine in the laundry facility, but it is located in the game room. Since I was attending a training from 7am-10pm daily, the game room was closed. Thankfully there was another guest who sold me some quarters.
Sep 29, 2017
I stayed here for a week to take care of business. Staff was friendly but a bit impersonal, probably to be expected from such a large and busy park. Pancake breakfast was a cute touch, even though I never took advantage of it. My stay was a bit marred by the rain, and thus getting mud everywhere. Will stay here again, but with rain boots next time!
Sep 29, 2017
Need more gravel at campsites to stay out of the mud. Good staff.
Sep 28, 2017
Great location from which we could see all the sites of the Black Hills. Clean,good sized sites for large RV. Enjoyed pancake breakfasts and friendliness of volunteer staff,such a personal contact and valuable in information about area. Nice pool, though I was too busy to use it. Garden was nice touch. Loved it there and added days to our stay.
Sep 28, 2017
Great location, loved Rapid City!
Sep 28, 2017
Sep 28, 2017
I have a class c and a level site is a must, no problem here.
Sep 27, 2017
Family, multigenerational stayed two nights. Very clean well run site with a great breakfast!
Sep 27, 2017
Carla, Bob, Valerie and others were very considerate of our need to extend our stay 3 times. The support that we got at the RC KAO was excellent, as it has been every time that we have stayed there.
Sep 27, 2017
We were told we couldn't have a map of the campground unless we were staying there. We inquired staying days before. Excuse me? We can't have a map? How does a person plan their stay without a map?! Mgmt needs some customer training. It was raining & they wanted to put us in a site that was under water. Know the sites before they put you in one that's inadequate. We won't be back to this koa.
Sep 27, 2017
nice,well maintained
Sep 26, 2017
Very well maintained campground. The staff was helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay there again.
Sep 26, 2017
The campground was great however the directions in the KOA book were very unclear. We ended up in a couple of subdivisions before finally finding the camp. Clarifying the directions would be a great help.
Sep 26, 2017
We had a dental emergency while at the campground and the staff was very helpful and understanding. We extended our stay and were glad to have a couple of extra days to enjoy the Rapid City experience. The pancake breakfasts were awesome and the campground was one of the larger and nicer ones we stayed at during our trip.
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
This is the second time we have stayed here. Everything was good. Clean restrooms and showers, which are very important to us. Enjoyed the breakfast one morning which was great. Good location that is convenient to most tourist spots.
Sep 25, 2017
Nice Campground! BEST Staff anywhere! CLEAN Bathrooms! AWESOME Pool & Hottub! Worth stopping! Met Valerie & Bonnie in the Checkin store and Don & Lynn at the pool! Nicest people anywhere! Night View shows Twinkling City Lights from the slight Hill the Campground sits on. Easy in & Out and Close to Everything! Safe, Good Night's Sleep! Thanks~ We'll be back! ~Cyd's LuLaRoe! (Find me on Facebook!)
Sep 25, 2017
When you asked if I would recommend this KOA to a friend of family member, I thought - "I already have!" What a great campground, at a great price, with wonderful and helpful staff. We look forward to staying with you again soon! Thanks for all you do to make our stays great.
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Nice people, clean restrooms, great stay
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Great KOA
Sep 24, 2017
Very friendly helpful staff! Well kept and clean campground!
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 24, 2017
Parking space not level very difficult getting the coach a 43 footer leveled
Sep 24, 2017
Nicest KOA I've ever been to.
Sep 24, 2017
Facilities were excellent and obviously the staff works hard to make the experience top rate. This is the best KOA ive ever stayed at (out of perhaps three or four). Showers and bathrooms were not only new but kept unbelievably clean. Staff was excellent.
Sep 24, 2017
The bathrooms were extremely clean, the cabin we stayed in was nice (especially with the heater/AC unit), and everything was very professional and top notch.
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
-Daily breakfast was nice, showers were very clean though could be updated a little. employees were very friendly and helpful.
Sep 23, 2017
Camp site was fine, but sprinkler system caused water to be standing where you needed to go to the restrooms. The wifi did not work most of the time. It took almost an hour trying to fix.
Sep 23, 2017
Manager so helpful to please and accommodate visitors
Sep 22, 2017
Clean and friendly
Sep 22, 2017
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy