Rapid City / Black Hills KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Info: 605-348-2111

Email

3010 East Highway 44

Rapid City, SD 57703

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2017
Convenient location for visiting everything. Great pool and hot tub.
Jul 10, 2017
Great KOA at the gateway to the Black Hills! We've been before and will come again.
Jul 10, 2017
We only stayed for one night, but we would love to stay longer. Staff were very helpful. The pancake breakfast was well worth it, and the cook even made racecar and flower shaped pancakes for the kids. Bathhouses were very clean.
Jul 10, 2017
too crowded and no trees. Not what a campsite should be.
Jul 10, 2017
This was the most crowded of the KOA's we stayed at on a 13 day road trip. However, I liked the privacy of the showers, the pool & breakfast available at the campground. In terms of location, it was fabulous being centrally located between Mount Rushmore & the Badlands! If I get back to Rapid City, I'd stay at least a few days.
Jul 10, 2017
We stay here every year and love this KOA. Has a very nice pool and hot tub. Nice spacious spots.
Jul 10, 2017
Very nice
Jul 10, 2017
very clean nice pool area .
Jul 10, 2017
Great environment, tons of amenities, and activities for everyone. We needed a late checkout, the KOA was flexible with us and allowed the late checkout.
Jul 10, 2017
Very nice campground. Friendly and helpful staff. K9 playground very nice.
Jul 09, 2017
Second time at this KOA and it's one of our favorites! Everything is very clean and the amenities are the best! Awesome pool/ hot tub, kids park, and dog park!
Jul 09, 2017
sites have no shade and at 90 plus very uncomfortable laundry had several dryers that were broken good activities and pancakes at breakfast were great but heat really with no shade over shadowed stay
Jul 09, 2017
very nice staff! sites are very small
Jul 09, 2017
Campground was comfortable and clean throughout. Wi-Fi was a HUGE disappointment as it was impossible for all five in our part to connect. As we are from Canada our roaming charges for data ended up being in excess of $100. I would strongly recommend boosting the daily camping rates to cover a Wi-Fi service that can actually be connected to without individual logins and creation of user accounts.
Jul 09, 2017
Needs more upkeep, grass dying, lack of maintenance. Looks like they need more workers.
Jul 09, 2017
The tent spots were tiny! We had a hard time figuring out where to fit the tent. The good is that there were lots of communal activities, i.e. ice cream social and smores party. Facilities were clean though crowded. It's also pretty convenient to the Badlands and Mount Rushmore and all the awesome things to do in the area.
Jul 09, 2017
THE best KOA I've stayed in
Jul 09, 2017
Outstanding.
Jul 08, 2017
Great stay for us. Had some mud due to a sprinkler but that is offset by how the staff responded to a fuel leak from mu resserve tank in the driveway. Very helpful and understanding.
Jul 08, 2017
This was a very clean and nice KOA. The only situation that we had which was minimal is that the KOA has an ice cream social but it didn't give the exact times except it started at 7pm, we got there at 8pm and the young lady serving the ice cream was rude and when asked if the ice cream social was over she abrubtly said "Yea"
Jul 08, 2017
Jul 08, 2017
because im minority dont give me a bad sight thats on a hill and no waste disposal
Jul 08, 2017
Our site was tiny, unshaded and exposed to a noisy basketball court. Pool was closed early on several occasions, which could have been the only saving grace. Did not enforce no fireworks rules. Bathrooms were not well cleaned.
Jul 07, 2017
We had stayed at a national park campground the night before and the KOA was a dream compared to those facilities! Also the pancake breakfast was so nice :)
Jul 07, 2017
Air conditioner didn't work and staff was very rude. Maintenance man yelled at me for keeping door open when it was 90 degrees air kept going off. Will not stay koa ever again. Complained to desk clerk young lady with glasses and older lady were very rude. Asked how many people I had in cabin there were 4 camp sites staying there we were having family reunion.
Jul 07, 2017
Large campground, but spaces are generous and many have trees. Staff is friendly and helpful. Facilities were clean.
Jul 07, 2017
Older camp ground. Spaces can be tight. Our reservations was messed up although made 6 weeks in advance. Facilities are very nice if you need to use them.
Jul 07, 2017
The Kamping Kabin was clean and it was so nice to have the option to use the a/c (ice cold!) and heat. Only suggestion would be to add more of the shelters to sites over picnic table like are currently at some tent sites. We will return!
Jul 07, 2017
Very clean and quiet.
Jul 07, 2017
HOT as Haites in July. Our site had zero shade. We asked to be moved to the next site over and were told no. Amenities were very good.
Jul 07, 2017
Bathrooms were usually in bad shape: dirty toilets, no paper towels. Witnessed an employee use restroom and walk out without washing hands. He then proceeded into the kitchen area and was cooking breakfast.
Jul 07, 2017
Your location was perfect for what we wanted. Our site was a bit small and awkward to move the camper in and out.
Jul 07, 2017
Very clean and friendly resort. It was located right in town, close to things, but felt secluded. Only complaint would be more games in the arcade for the kids.
Jul 07, 2017
very helpful staff, friendly and tasty breakfast made on site
Jul 06, 2017
Cabins to close together but other than that it was a nice place to stay! Pancakes were wonderful!!!
Jul 06, 2017
This KOA was a great base for our various day excursions. Clean and friendly. Great breakfast.
Jul 06, 2017
Wonderful,clean facilities. Wish the neighboring sewer connections,weren't next to picnic table, but not a huge deal. Pool rules unclear. We're told no tubes allowed. Signs don't mention it, though. Worker told us it goes under category of appropriate swimwear. What? Tubes are not swimwear...rule not consistently enforced. Unfair. There was a man in pool on raft fully clothed. That was ok...
Jul 06, 2017
The site we were in was recommended for a 25 ft. Camper on the website. We have a 40 ft. 5th wheel and they knew the size of our camper when we made the reservation. The grounds staff was very unfriendly, Other campgrounds we have stayed at employees are very helpful and hospitable. We were very disappointed.
Jul 06, 2017
I liked how clean the bathroom and showers were. And the pool was a plus!
Jul 06, 2017
Some of the gals at the desk were lacking on which side of the lot number we were supposed to set up on. Last year we had to move our tent
Jul 06, 2017
Very friendly. The supply store was great with reasonable prices. The pool was perfect for my kids (ages 6 and 8).
Jul 06, 2017
Nice campground with mostly 30 amp hook-ups unfortunately! Smaller sites. Great pancake breakfasts reasonably priced. Main objection was $2/day fee for our small dog (that we cleaned up afterwards)! Have traveled extensively & use a lot of KOA campgrounds! First time we were ever charged a fee!!! We will ask in the future!
Jul 06, 2017
The customer service was fantastic! We like the pancake breakfast, the hot tub the bathrooms were clean and nice coed showers. Only suggestion would be more trees.
Jul 05, 2017
Had a short over night stay. Campground was very busy so bathrooms were a bit un kept. I am sure they couldn't keep up. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Tent sites are too close together at the top of the hill. No privacy!
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 05, 2017
The bathrooms were very dirty and the tent sites are excessively small. Tents are side by side with each other.would not recommend this koa if staying in a tent
Jul 05, 2017
This was our first time at a KOA. I think KOA camping is just not for us. I don't like being so close to other people on all sides. Had some shining car lights in our tent a couple of times and people walking and talking while we were trying to sleep. The kids enjoyed the pool.
Jul 05, 2017
Our first KOA and we were blown away with the hospitality. Such nice and friendly staff. Pancakes were awesome.
Jul 05, 2017
very nice place
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy