Rapid City / Black Hills KOA

Open April 15 - October 15

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Reserve: 800-562-8504

Info: 605-348-2111

Info: 605-348-2111

Email

3010 East Highway 44

Rapid City, SD 57703

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4.5 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jul 26, 2017
fast, quiet and clean
Jul 26, 2017
Good for an overnight stop. Very parking lot like. Best KOA pool that we've seen so far.
Jul 26, 2017
Really need to water as it becomes very dusty.
Jul 25, 2017
The campground was okay. Would be nicer with some mature trees. It's unfortunate that the city has sprawled to engulf this campground. People were friendly and the pool was nice.
Jul 25, 2017
Terrible staff, uncaring about camping lot concerns, management arrogant! Never stay there again, even if free!
Jul 25, 2017
Very nice pool for the kids, park is well laid out with easy access to all sites.
Jul 25, 2017
customer service was good. Site was ok. Nothing special gravel and some grass. Informed we were located in an add on area. Paid for pull thru & premium sight.
Jul 25, 2017
The campground is not kept up very well, could use some help with landscaping. Electric kept going g out, they said it was electric company. WiFi is non existent and we were in a site close to main building. We expected more at this price. We stayed at this koa because others we re very good.
Jul 25, 2017
Restrooms were clean and modern. Liked the pancake breakfast and staff was friendly.
Jul 25, 2017
The entrance and grounds were welcoming BUT, the cabin we had was not move-in ready with all the matresses standing on their sides. The "store" was not stocked, COMPLETELY out of water and extremely low on ice. Mentioned this to the staff and felt they didn't care. I have been to this KOA before so this was a complete turn around from my previous experience. Problaby won't be back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your comments. We take pride in our grounds and campground. Sorry if the store was not stocked. The ice company was delivering every day. We leave our mattresses up so all sides can be aired and the guest can see the mattress and bed area were cleaned. Sorry for any inconvenience.
Jul 24, 2017
Very nice campground with helpful staff. Large clean pool. Easy access from I-90 and not far from Mount Rushmore and other black hills attractions.
Jul 24, 2017
The amenities were okay, but not for the $54 per night rate for a tent site. The pancake breakfast was good, however.
Jul 24, 2017
Would be nice if the shower house had A/C.
Jul 24, 2017
RĂ©al stay, clan,politesse and well situated
Jul 24, 2017
Awesome I would highly recommend staying at this location. Staff was helpful and pancakes were off the hook. Thumbs up KOA
Jul 24, 2017
Everyone was great! Enjoyed our stay!
Jul 24, 2017
Felt like a # instead of a person. The sites were too close together, no tree, extremely hot after driving all day. After around 8-9 KOA stays this is the first one that charged me for each dog. Noisy, it was like a circus too late into the night.
Jul 23, 2017
Staff was helpful and accommodating.
Jul 23, 2017
Tree needed trimmed had back out of a pull through site because of the tree
Jul 23, 2017
The staff here is really friendly. They offer an amazing pancake breakfast and the swimming pool, chess, basketball courts made it perfect spot for our family.
Jul 23, 2017
We loved the extras that the KOA offered. The pool was the perfect temp. The game room & showers where nice. The pancake breakfast was a nice touch & they had an additional activity for free or cheap everynight. Our tent site did not have any shade, was crawling with ants & we could not hammer our stakes in the ground. We were told we had "one of the better sites". It was clear it wasn't.
Jul 23, 2017
The only complaint I have is the campsites are a little too close together.
Jul 23, 2017
nice site. happy that the store was open so late.
Jul 23, 2017
Jul 23, 2017
The campground was large and roomy with good accommodations. Too bad that there aren't that many trees to provide shade, but this is South Dakota in the western semi-arid plains.
Jul 23, 2017
Very convenient location to a lot of sites, ie crazy hires, mt Rushmore, and several caverns
Jul 23, 2017
cabins were very clean .. bathrooms too far away . Campsite is in people's backyards .
Jul 23, 2017
Great location and staff
Jul 23, 2017
This was our 2nd or 3rd time staying and we will not return again
Jul 22, 2017
Very friendly and a nice place to stay
Jul 22, 2017
The pancakes were great!!
Jul 22, 2017
Jul 22, 2017
I like that there are thing s for the kids to do at the park after enjoying the sights around Rapid City
Jul 22, 2017
I had a great stay. The best part though was Donny the pancake maker. Thanks for a wonderful vacation.
Jul 22, 2017
It was nice to have on-site car rental available for places our RV could not go
Jul 22, 2017
We had a great stay. Pool was very refreshing. There needed to be a little more green grass.
Jul 22, 2017
Any KOA that we have stayed at has been wonderful I would recommend KOA to anyone
Jul 22, 2017
Friendly, accommodationS excellent. Enjoyed time there.
Jul 22, 2017
Place is clean. Maintained and staff was great! Kudos to the breakfast staff. Esp the pancake cooker!
Jul 22, 2017
Lovely showers. Breakfast was great. The sites are small and very close together. It was ok for one night.
Jul 21, 2017
much to do in area
Jul 21, 2017
Breakfast was awesome. More space between campers would be nice. Over all nice stay.
Jul 21, 2017
Good place but they need to disclose their cabins are based on a maximum of 2 people at rate they charge and extra people are charged at what rate? Nothing stated other than "additional charges per people may apply. Very vague. We had an additional 25 bucks or so charged for 2 cabins for 2 night because. Hard to budget and not cool
Jul 21, 2017
Nice pull through sites. Friendly staff. Well maintained facility. Convenient to area attractions and services. Only complaint was the kids from the cabins running through our site.
Jul 21, 2017
2 adults and 3 kids under 9... great experience! Clean. Helpful and easy to find staff.
Jul 20, 2017
Nice alternative to a hotel after a long day of driving. Appreciated the pool to cool off. Terrific option for breakfast the next morning!
Jul 20, 2017
Extremely nice campground. Very nice bathroom/showers, pool, playground, store, giant chess, volleyball... The cabins were clean and when our AC didn't work very well they lent us a fan to help with circulation. Would definitely recommend!
Jul 20, 2017
Good central location to highways and local attractions , morning breakfast was fantastic, employees were friendly and helpful. Would stay there again
Jul 20, 2017
It was a nice campground with a fun playground for our son. It was close to Mt Rushmore, Cosmos Mastery Area and Bear Country. Exactly what we were looking for!
Jul 20, 2017
Very friendly and helpful.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy