Port Lavaca / Matagorda Bay KOA Reviews

With social- distancing now in place please call 361.893.5120 to check-in once you arrive

  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

Mar 03, 2020
Great staff. If they fulfill the plans they have for this place, it will be exceptional

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy camping! :)
Mar 01, 2020
Feb 25, 2020
Very nice facility and staff. Happened to hit the weekend where the owner was grilling chicken and serving dinner. Nice bonus. View of bay was awesome.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! So glad you enjoyed our Guest Appreciation Dinner and campground! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and Happy KOA Kamping! :)
Feb 25, 2020
From the time we arrived we felt welcomed. The campground was in perfect condition, clean, orderly and very nice scenery. The restrooms and showers, to the supply store were all in tip top shape. We will be coming back.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy KOA Kamping! :)
Feb 24, 2020
Everything was great, but I wish that there was cable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We apologize for the inconvenience of not having cable. Unfortunately they do not service our area. However, we do sell HD antennas in the Camp Store and have a Dish Outdoors Satellite available to rent as well. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us, otherwise! Thank you for being our guests and we look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and Happy KOA Kamping!
Feb 24, 2020
Very pleasant park. The weather did not favor our party, but still the stay was pleasant. The staff were courteous and helpful at every turn. The park was immaculate and clearly well tended.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to hosting you again soon! :) Safe travels and happy KOA Kamping!
Feb 24, 2020
The staff is friendly and very helpful. We stayed in cabin#1 over valentines weekend and in our cabin was a handwritten card roses and balloons and some cheese n crackers bc we missed the wine n cheese social! The cabin is very nice and faces the bay and there is a small porch and patio. The bathroom is tiny with no vanity but it was fine for 2 of us. The KOA is smaller than others but is newer.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guests and taking the time to leave a review! We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay in one of our cabins and the roses, card, and treats. We look forward to hosting you again soon. Safe travels! :)
Feb 23, 2020
Most friendly staff, and clean property. CLEANEST restrooms ever.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and Happy KOA Kamping! :)
Feb 20, 2020
Nice location well maintained and clean. Helpful staff. Would stay there again

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We are so thrilled to see you enjoyed your camping experience with us! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy KOA Kamping!
Feb 20, 2020
We were impressed by the campground, office, staff and amenities; however, the website led us to believe that campers fished there on the bank or pier, and there is even a fish cleaning station. The main draw for us to your campground was the fishing, and we were disappointed to learn that the bay is only 3 feet deep and it's seldom that fish are caught there. Very nice place otherwise!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We apologize that you felt mislead and didn't have much luck fishing this time, but please know, guests catch fish frequently. We'd love to host you again and hopefully you'll catch several at your next visit! Safe travels and
Feb 20, 2020
Love it there. Staff very friendly. Camp is clean and quiet. Great place to get away

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We are so thrilled to see you enjoyed your camping experience with us! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy KOA Kamping!
Feb 20, 2020
Great staff, friendly and helpful

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We are so thrilled to see you enjoyed your camping experience with us! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy KOA Kamping!
Feb 18, 2020
The bay is pretty. Otherwise nothing is remarkable. The place is way too far from everything to be convenient to anything. (13 long miles to a grocery store and 13 back.) There is NOTHING to do in the immediate area. We drove to Port O'Connor and to Rockport to find good restaurants. No good seafood in Port Lavaca. They messed our reservation up and we had to move spots. Also too expensive.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for your review. We love when our guests are pleased with our country setting on the bay and want to extend their stay. Unfortunately, our waterfront sites book quickly. Before you extended, someone else had a reservation on the last waterfront site. We apologize for any inconvenience this
Feb 17, 2020
Staff were beyond fabulous! Park was clean, bathrooms were clean and had a nice clubhouse. Wine and cheese nights, game nights, good fun. No complaints with the park at all, except sometimes the wind, can’t be helped on the water tho.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guest and thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are pleased to see that you enjoyed your camping experience with us and we look forward to hosting you again soon! :)
Feb 15, 2020
This KOA is run by some very nice people. I enjoyed my stay there and would stay there again if needed. The reason I would not recommend it to others is that there is not much to do in the area. It is located in a rural setting, which was nice but void of anything to do outside the campground. There are a lot of transient workers living there for one of the industries.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest. Happy camping!
Feb 11, 2020
Feb 11, 2020
Campground very clean. Staff is very friendly and attentive. This seems common throughout KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels! :)
Feb 10, 2020
Beautiful site and helpful staff. Gravel pad was not as level as It should have been. Main turn off was the political adverting for sale in the office store. Poor judgement does not match the property.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and bringing the site issue to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you for being our guest. Safe travels and happy camping!
Feb 10, 2020
Absolutely beautiful and awesome. Staff were so accommodating and nice. Would highly recommend.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guest and for leaving a review! We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Feb 09, 2020
Very nice quiet place out of the way from all the hubbub. The county road leading into it needs desperate repair. Great folks. Need to get some TV connections.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We look forward to hosting you again in the future! Safe travels and happy camping!
Feb 08, 2020
Very clean and friendly scenic campsite

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Feb 04, 2020
Feb 03, 2020
I give 4 stars instead of 5 because concrete slabs with patio areas at each camper site would be a huge improvement. Area, park and employees are phenomenal at such an early stage, being a new KOA ! Facilities are super clean. Employees are the best I've ever encountered in any park anywhere in my construction travels !

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! Safe travels and happy camping!
Feb 03, 2020
Very friendly staff even with us coming in around 10 pm he still came out to help us get backed in ok. Add more things to do lighted pool , hot tub , club house . Grand kids really enjoyed playing bingo. We will be back in summer. Hope we will be able to find a spot

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We are pleased to see that you and your family enjoyed our campground and our amenities! We have several great things to come! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy camping! :)
Feb 03, 2020
Beautiful park!!! Be great if they had cable.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We would love to offer our guests cable, but unfortunately cable is not offered in our area. However, we do offer Dish Outdoors, and it is available for rent in the office. We also have HD Antennas for sale in the camp store.
Feb 02, 2020
Feb 02, 2020
Too expensive for an over night stay. Very pretty setting on the bay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We look forward to hosting you again! Safe travels!
Feb 01, 2020
Beautiful spot on the bay.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy camping!
Jan 31, 2020
This new KOA is still basically under construction, with many more great plans for the near future. Our stay was lovely. Our rear bumper of our 5th Wheel was literally only a few yards from the shoreline of Lavaca Bay, or Matagorda Bay (whatever it is called). The location was gorgeous. The park is clean, organized and well maintained. If we're ever back here, we will stay at this KOA.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping :)
Jan 29, 2020
Loved the entire staff!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guests! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy Kamping :)
Jan 26, 2020
We had a great stay at Port Lavaca KOA. The staff was outstanding! The park is very clean and current. We enjoyed the activities and the views! This KOA is very peaceful. I think the price of $68 dollars is high, but really enjoyed the place. Maybe in the future...concrete sites???

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your camping experience with us! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Thank you for choosing Port Lavaca KOA! Safe travels and happy camping! :)
Jan 22, 2020
My stay was awesome! The staff is helpful and understanding, as well as very friendly. I spent 3 months here and my only 2 complaints are the lack of cable TV (which really isn't a huge issue) and the lack of fire pits at the sites. The other big plus is the location. You're in the middle of the open country right on the water, the night sky is amazing here. 10/10 will return some day.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We will miss seeing you and look forward to your returned visit! Safe travels and happy camping! :)
Jan 17, 2020
Jan 15, 2020
Jan 14, 2020
D’Anne and the entire team were super friendly and provided the highest quality of service. We hope to go back sometime soon!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We strive to make this the best camping experience around and we are happy we could achieve that for you! Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We look forward to hosting you again, soon!! Safe travels and Happy KOA Kamping! :)
Jan 10, 2020
Jan 09, 2020
We stayed in the new cabin #1, great inside and out, facing directly toward the ocean. The amenities are exactly what you need for a short stay, frig, coffee maker, MW, 2 burner stove w/utensils and dishes. There's a TV, but the front porch view was more interesting! Thank you, D'An, Donny, Angie and Michel, and anybody we didn't meet. Your hard work made our mini vacation really easy!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in our cabin! Thank you for being our guests and thank you for taking the time to leave a review! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels :)
Jan 07, 2020
Jan 03, 2020
Really nice area and people there! Very welcoming and good company! We wanted to stay for one night but stayed for two nights because we liked it so much!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We love when guests enjoy their time with us that they extend their stay :) We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and Happy KOA Kamping :)
Jan 02, 2020
Jan 02, 2020
Enjoyed our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Ground are nice and clean.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We are please to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again, soon!
Jan 02, 2020
Noisy, under construction, people living there leave for work at 5 and 6 am. Upside, clean and pleasant staff

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are deeply sorry to see you were disappointed in your stay. As stated on our website, we are a new build campground and are undergoing improvements to make this the best campground in Texas. However, we do try to keep the noise at a bare minimum so we do not disturb our guests. Again, we apologize we did not meet your expectations and would love to host you again to make it right. Safe travels
Jan 02, 2020
Awesome time! My wife, two young kids (2 and 4) and myself enjoyed the New Year's Celebration for 2019-2020. Very clean bathrooms/showers, amazing club house, awesome fireworks and a lot of fun. The staff is very friendly. We will definitely be back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We are thrilled to see that you & your family had a great time at our New Years Celebration and enjoyed your stay! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and Happy KOA Kamping :)
Jan 01, 2020
The park is new and it's very beautiful. The staff are very helpful and welcoming. We would highly recommend this as a must see!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for the kind words and for being our guest! We look forward to hosting you again, soon! Safe travels and happy KOA kamping! :)
Jan 01, 2020
The staff were amazingly friendly & helpful. The bathrooms were spotless. We enjoyed bingo, pinball, fishing, cheese & wine. Management seems to be making daily improvements to the entire facility. We highly recommend this KIA and will definitely go back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and for being our guest! We strive to make this the best camping experience around and are always finding ways to improve! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and happy kamping! :)
Dec 31, 2019
Great place right on the bay, very laid back. Even a a free happy hour. Thanks Angie.
Dec 30, 2019
Very relaxing and the staff was very friendly!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to hosting you again soon! Safe travels and Happy Kamping! :)
Dec 30, 2019
Great place to stay. I was a late arrival and the park called to ensure we were safe and not having any troubles on our drive. The waited up for us to help get us backed in to our spot as well. We had a great time at the "Wine and Cheese" get together that the park hosted. We will be back!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We are pleased that you enjoyed our campground and our activities! Thank you for being our guest and for leaving a review! We look forward to hosting you again soon. Safe travels and Happy Kamping! :)
Dec 27, 2019
Nice campground near the Bay. But pictures on website gave me another Idea than the reality... Website say there is a year round pool so you assume IT is heated in winter time... Other than fishing there is nothing to do...

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

We would first like to thank you for being our guest.Secondly we would like to apologize. While our pool is open year round, it's not heated, however, our hot tub is located next to the pool and open all year. We do offer several recreational activities, arcade game, campground activities, kayak rental & a pickleball court coming soon. We would love to host you again, if given the opportunity! :)
Dec 25, 2019

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.