Ouray KOA Reviews

Mountain Top Destination

Book Now

Campground Reviews

Jul 10, 2020
This is a crowded campground. But it’s a great area. Lots of changes going on. Very Very very helpful staff Kendall and Taylor were extremely.
Jul 10, 2020
We had an amazing time in Ouray! It's truly a beautiful place! The campground was very organized and the staff was super helpful. The restroom and shower was very nice and clean. We especially appreciated the music choice at the office. We will be back.
Jul 10, 2020
Very helpful, hard working, engaging staff. Presented Covid protection. Clean laundromat and showers. Phil was quick to rewire our pedestal as our surge protector indicted reverse polarity but worked when we tested it with neighboring site. We’ll be back when we can enjoy bbq!!!
Jul 10, 2020
So much dust we could not be outside! We visited this area to enjoy its beauty and looked forward to being outside at our KOA site. All the staff were friendly and pleasant, but no mitigation for dust! Just not acceptable.
Jul 10, 2020
We loved staying! We will be definitely be back
Jul 10, 2020
We enjoyed our stay for the most part but felt it was a bit crowded. I’m sure it is not always like that but it was very busy when we were there. The only frustrating thing about that was that there were lines for the bathrooms and lines to wash your dishes. The facilities were clean and the staff were friendly though. The location was close enough to Ouray.
Jul 10, 2020
Felt like it was way too crowded, spaces way too close together, only dog walking space was on gravel. over priced. Staff were great!
Jul 10, 2020
Workers were very friendly and helpful. It was quieter than expected with so many people. Only complaint is the dust. Everything in my tent was coated with dust when I got back from the day even though all doors and the rain fly were closed
Jul 10, 2020
Jul 09, 2020
Jul 09, 2020
Great KOA, fantastic new owners, I give it a 5 rating but the campground has a dust problem due to the dusty gravel roads, this makes it hard to dine outdoors during dry conditions. Also some of the bathrooms were out of T.P. during the July 4th week, may need to service more often during peak periods.
Jul 09, 2020
Jul 09, 2020
The owner and many staff members were not wearing a mask or social distancing as per Colorado state law. The owner and staff were also racially profiling my children as evidenced by his personal visit to my camp site for a rule violation that I was not provided a copy of. Many other campers were in violation of this same rule but did not get a personal visit from the Owner of the KOA. Harass intim
Jul 09, 2020
Sites are packed tight here, with little thought to any sort of beauty. No activities or amenities. This is merely a spot to sleep, not enjoyable as a place for kids. The ONLY saving grace is the area itself, outside the campground, which we took advantage of, to the max, with our own Jeep. Also, the women at check in are rude and unwelcoming. The guy that brings wood was very nice.
Jul 09, 2020
We stayed for 5 nights over the July 4 holiday. Ouray is beautiful and the surrounding area offers tons of outdoor opportunities. The campground has some large spots for campers. It was extremely busy over the holiday which impacted wait time at the front office and the cleanliness of the bathrooms. We appreciated the music on the weekend.
Jul 09, 2020
Inadequate number of restrooms, particularly in the back area. Trash in these restrooms not cleared often enough. Many back area sites needs gravel base and better fire pits. Free wood upon arrival at site nice touch though we did not receive any. Cafe prices much too high for the quality of food. We've been here many, many times and the experience was less than anticipated. New owners....
Jul 09, 2020
One of the best KOA’s that we’ve been to! The staff is very helpful and friendly, and our favorite “go to” person was Tom in the office. The kitchen does a great job with the breakfasts ... unfortunately we weren’t there on the days that they have supper. The grounds have beautiful trees, so this isn’t one of those “parking lot” type campgrounds. Hip Hip Ouray for this KOA!
Jul 09, 2020
Very nice camp ground. Our site had a lot of room, but we had to share a sewer drain. They are remodeling so this may not be an issue. The scenery was fantastic! Staff was welcoming and helpful. Looking to stay again.
Jul 09, 2020
Super friendly staff. Great location.
Jul 08, 2020
The coffee/breakfast needs to stay open to a min of 11, not everyone is morning people. More gravy with the biscuits and gravy please, everyone at our table ended up throwing most of it away because there was hardly any gravy with the dry biscuits. Lastly, its not ok to charge regular customers $20 to reserve a cabin t when they have been coming for many years. Upgrades were awesome btw
Jul 08, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
Jul 08, 2020
We were in the motorcycle camping area in front of the office. Cars and trucks speed by all day at well over the 5mph speed limit. The dust is awful. And, it’s just a matter of time until a child is hurt or worse. The men’s room was not kept supplied with toilet paper and one day there was poop on the seat. They need to be cleaned and serviced more often.
Jul 08, 2020
I would like to rate this KOA as a five but checking in and checking out was very unorganized.
Jul 07, 2020
All was great, except:the mattresses in the Kamping Kabins were not comfortable. We plan on bringing something to supplement the mattresses next year. But, we are definitely returning. Thanks Troy and Penny for a great first year as the new owners. You are off to a great start. Only one rec: PLEASE never forget the young couple with 3 kids that just want to camp in a tent. $ can be tight.
Jul 07, 2020
Great. So many workers and all were so very friendly and attentive. KoA would even Text us on activities and services that were available. Restaurant was great. It was all good. We would definitely come back without any doubts. It was a little dusty but that was due to drought conditions. And we were sadden that there were no 4th fireworks/activities due to CV-19. Thumbs Up.
Jul 07, 2020
The scenery was beautiful, the staff was great but there are too many people/sites. I feel like the owners tried to use every inch of space and this I felt crammed. Our space, a back-in, backed up to a space that was perpendicular to ours and thus we had no privacy from the campers in this space. The whole family watched as we backed in and set up.
Jul 07, 2020
everything went very well. The text to order ice and firewood made social distancing easy. All the text updates were appreciated during our stay. Everything was clean and organize. All of the staff were extremely friendly..
Jul 07, 2020
Jul 07, 2020
Very dusty and too crowded. They really pack the tents and rv close no organization at all. Also lots of dog poop not picked up. Need better trash service. Need trash bins placed instead of them coming around and pick up. However the food was really good at the dining room.
Jul 07, 2020
The spot they put us in had a deck attached. Our stairs would not fully extend. They did not offer to accommodate us with a longer sewer hose. Our 5th wheel stuck out of the camping spot by 20 feet which meant that we were in the road. I asked for a different spot and they said they didn’t have any. Several spots were vacant and we could have moved. They were not very accommodating.
Jul 07, 2020
Great new owners
Jul 07, 2020
I've stayed at the Ouray KOA several times, and always enjoyed it. It's been several years since my last stay there, and this year there seemed to be far more campsites added, in very little space. It was crowded and full. Also, because of the Covid pandemic, I would have expected the bathrooms to have been cleaned several times a day. They were only cleaned once a day, not often enough.
Jul 07, 2020
We loved everything about it except the lack of masks and social distancing by the employees.
Jul 07, 2020
The campground was clean and comfortable. Staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jul 07, 2020
Our nice camp spot we’ve used for years is now many many spots. We spent a week sucking dirt since our tent was about five feet from the road. Seen the water truck once in a week. Tried one day to relax at camp but it’s hard to do with a tractor and three or four men with shovels ten feet from our tent. Good luck with your money pit, hope it brings you joy and happiness. Way to kill a nice spo
Jul 07, 2020
Jul 07, 2020
Ive been coming to this KOA for 35 years. But never again. Felt more like a tailgate party than a campsite. They've turned every Available inch of land into a campsite. You are a foot away from someone else on all sides. Nobody was wearing masks in the kitchen while preparing food and rarely in the office. The staff was nice, though, and i enjoyed the ability to text and get firewood delivered.
Jul 07, 2020
The staff was wonderful. Great attention to detail, especially the rangers that take you to your site. The sites are extremely close together and way too cramped. It's like being in a high rise in NYC. People play music...why do they think you want to listen to their music when they're 10 feet away? I will not stay here again just because of the cramped sites.
Jul 07, 2020
Troy was the best host, even made sure us older seniors got a cart ride from our site to the restaurant so we didn’t have to walk. The 4th of July Fire truck parade was a special surprise too and the young kids had a lot of fun. The view is fantastic, the sites are spacious and the staff very friendly and helpful !!! No doubt it’s a wonderful place to stay on your trip to Colorado.
Jul 07, 2020
I was amazed at how friendly EVERY one I came into contact with was at this KOA. From the cooks, to the grounds keepers, to the check-in staff–all had a friendly and helpful disposition. Am definitely coming back!
Jul 06, 2020
Great clean and friendly campground!!
Jul 06, 2020
communication through text message Excellent staff were very helpful and friendly. firewood delivered to campsites super. . The grass has been destroyed. Have seen water restrictions before but have never seen it this bad in 20 years. Tent sites crowded by the office looked like a getto or homeless camp. Long lines to the bathrooms at night common .Bathrooms not cleaned frequently enough .
Jul 06, 2020
I’ve been coming to this campground for 10 years now and it is by far my favorite campground to visit. The new staff is great and very friendly. The only thing I did not like was it was a bit overcrowded. The newly added tent sites and removal of the playground for new sites makes it feel very congested when you arrive. However still a great place to visit.
Jul 06, 2020
This was our 4th year in a row going to this KOA. It’s grown slowly over the years but this last year it came under new ownership. It has transformed from a quaint and dispersed camp ground to a packed-in tight and non-stop road traffic and construction zone. I’m hugely disappointed in where it’s heading. Someone new might not know the difference and it does have many amenities for adults an
Jul 06, 2020
My only complaint would be the bathrooms need to be cleaned more often. With Covid-19, there is no excuse for dirty bathrooms, and they were always filthy at night and in the morning. During these times, you need to up your game on cleaning common spaces like that. Everything else was great.
Jul 06, 2020
Enjoyed the campground & facilities. I feel that the restaurant should open earlier in the morning than 8 AM for those who want to start their day early. We rented Jeeps & that process was slow & frustrating. Jeeps were filthy when we got them - definitely not good in this COVID era. You need to notify people in advance that insurance information is needed for renting Jeeps.
Jul 06, 2020
The location is great and we’ve stayed here many times in the past. This time wasn’t as pleasant thanks to the one lady in the office that took every opportunity she could to yell at our kids. We had also requested that our two families have sites near one another yet we ended up on opposite sides of the park. It appeared to me that the folks in the office didn’t even attempt to put us to
Aug 13, 2020
Very, very nice koa. Lots of spots for tent, rv, etc. Hook ups for rv with water, electric, sewage. Free wifi but coverage is very limited. If your on the one side across from the welcome center over the small hill, you won't get reception even outside. No cable hook up. Nice restaurant with live music on certain days. Close to town, which is very quaint. Definitely recommend this koa just wish wifi would be accessible like other koa's. Staff is very nice and helpful. Be aware that dumpsters for your garbage are a ways so should drive to it if not on the far side behind the welcome center.
- Bart Truchanowicz on Google
Aug 10, 2020
Great location,Great staff
- Rick Broad on Google
Aug 08, 2020
If you love to camp/Rv and travel if you love the outdoors then you need to gas up the family vacation ride and head to Ouray Colorado for some beautiful R&R be sure to make your reservation 1st...😉😉😉😉
- Robert Gittens on Google