Newton KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-4670

Info: 641-792-2428

Email

1601 East 36th Street South

Newton, IA 50208

Get Directions

All, Deluxe Cabins

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

Jun 12, 2017
Stopped for 1 night. It always looked nice when we were traveling by. Very friendly staff and level sites.
Jun 12, 2017
While the amenities available were great we were less than impressed with the actual site. I had not ever stayed at a KOA before so was unsure about what to look for when reserving a spot. We arrived and found out that our site didn't have a fire ring- who goes camping and doesn't have a fire? Then we get to our spot and it was so small that our slide out went over into our neighbors spot.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thanks for staying with us! Within the perimeter of the campground we provide fire pots upon request. You were here for the Metallica Concert which we were very full. Glad you enjoyed your stay
Jun 12, 2017
Only stayed for the night & left early in the morning. Very well maintained CG. Our site was good for overnight. There was highway noise, but did not open windows so okay. Would stay again for overnight.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Thank you for staying with us! We hope to see you again real soon!
Jun 11, 2017
Lots of activities for the kids. Spaces are a little tight but 50amp power with full hookups makes everything better.
Jun 11, 2017
Amazing Staff! Fantastic campground! Highly recommend to anyone that enjoys camping!
Jun 11, 2017
Very nice campground, people running it were extremely friendly and helpful. The lots could be a little larger, a little tight between larger campers.
Jun 11, 2017
Stayed with motorcycle camper in RV site 6/9/2017 for Metallica/Avenged Sevenfold concert at raceway. Bathrooms and showers were clean. Shower had good pressure and warm water. Staff was friendly and helpful taking me to site. I stayed in camper pulled by bike. If staying in big rv with slide outs and awning, the sites are tight together. A lot of noise from I80 if you are looking for quiet.
Jun 10, 2017
nice campground
Jun 09, 2017
Jun 09, 2017
Nice park. Clean restrooms. Staff very friendly and helpful
Jun 09, 2017
Sites are very tight. Water pressure was high and park did not supply a hose regulator like most parks do with this issue. Road noise was way too loud that we could not sleep
Jun 08, 2017
Beautiful and well maintained campground. Very helpful staff, would highly recommend.
Jun 08, 2017
Nice place. Only stayed 1 night. Pool was clean. Has pond to fish in. Water pressure in shower a little lacking.
Jun 07, 2017
Campground was very clean. Staff was very helpful and kind. Perfect for a peaceful evening after a long drive.
Jun 07, 2017
Nice campground. Great area for dogs and alot of greass.
Jun 06, 2017
Old campground, not laid out for big rigs. Narrow sites, had to move us to a site with no one next to us so we could put our slides out. Utilities worked fine. Probably ok for smaller campers but not a place I would recommend for motor homes with slides. Firepits were ridiculously close to the motothome, thankfully no one was next to us wanting a bonfire. Not up to my expectations for KOA.
Jun 06, 2017
30 amp circuit breaker in site 17 is VERY VERY WEAK. We stay at many campgrounds (KOA) and never have any trouble but both times we have stayed with you, the breaker keeps going off. You need to address that issue. Thanks.
Jun 04, 2017
Great place, very helpful owner. Too much highway noise.
Jun 03, 2017
Great staff people, although a work in progress the campground has a lot going for it. It doesn't hurt that it's a stones throw from Rusty Wallace's Iowa Speedway.
Jun 03, 2017
We were there Memorial Weekend. Way overbooked for the size of the campground. Not much space for a bigger rig and no place to park after unhooking. Very cramped and tight area. Unable to leave without asking neighbors to move their vehicles to make the turn past trees.
Jun 02, 2017
Very nice and friendly people work at and run this campground.
Jun 02, 2017
Staff was great. We stayed on a 30amp pull thru site and it was extremely tight. We were not able to extend our awning. You will know your neighbors. There are sites with more room if you do some research.
Jun 01, 2017
Very 'kid' friendly. I enjoyed my stay.
May 31, 2017
Wonderful campground. Very clean, great amenities. My only complaint is that it was very crowded, but we were there over a holiday weekend, so that could account for that!
May 31, 2017
The site we were originally given was very small and had no fire ring because of the site being small. Helen was kind enough to move us to another site so we could have a fire ring and a bigger area to accommodate us hosting a potluck for our Iowa family. Also, when I asked about getting another picnic table, it was delivered within the hour. Overall it was nice...downfall, sites are small.
May 31, 2017
Shoe horn tight. As in I needed a shoe horn just to pull out after an overnight stay. No room to put out the awning. Good thing is that the class A next to me was tall enough that I didnt need the shade. Sewer hookups had the top broken off and was unusable. Did I say tight? The picnic table width covered the grass from end to end. For as many people as they had crammed in there it was quiet.
May 31, 2017
Nice spot good people
May 31, 2017
This is by far our favorite KOA we have stayed at. Very convenient from the Interstate, great facilities, and great people. We highly recommend the Newton, Iowa KOA.
May 30, 2017
We had a wonderful time at this KOA! There were plenty of family activities, a great playground with equipment, a game room, a jump pad, a nice fishing pond, and a great nature trail. The staff was super helpful and always offered to deliver anything to is from the store. We had a fantastic time!
May 30, 2017
The Hosts are very pleasant and top notch, the park is beautiful, well adapted for the younger children. Noise is of concern, rumble bars and interstate traffic. The costs are a premium you would expect from a high end facility, parking is very tight, the staff have a continued presence during your stay and are quick to assist in any way needed, they were awesome, to expensive for the end results
May 30, 2017
Nice campground and very nice place to camp
May 30, 2017
Way too much highway noise. Packed in like sardines over the Memorial Holiday. Love the fire pit with grills. Clean. Well kept up. Beautiful playground for kids. Love the dog park
May 30, 2017
Very nice place, well kept. The hosts are great
May 30, 2017
The owners are very nice couple
May 30, 2017
Very accommodating and helpful. We enjoyed our stay and will return.
May 30, 2017
May 29, 2017
May 29, 2017
First stop. Very accommodating and friendly. I80 noise is distracting, but not much they can do about that.
May 29, 2017
Love our stay here cant wait to come back to our home away from home with the convenience of being close to home
May 28, 2017
Wonderful people nice campground. Loud traffic from Interstate Hwy. Could not sleep.
May 27, 2017
All hosts extremely helpfull and great with the kids.like the new additional equipment from our stay last year.
May 27, 2017
Very nice staff beautiful grounds but the noise from Interstate is unbelievable. Too bad because so very convenient location. Close to shopping and racetrack
May 27, 2017
Stayed one night it was nice and quiet. People were friendly
May 25, 2017
Nice site. Great doggy area
May 23, 2017
WE WILL RETURN
May 23, 2017
Yes there is noise from the I-80 and you can hear it. Other than that this was an outstanding campground for a pull through. There is a brand new disc golf course and it was a great way to get some fun exercise after a day of travel. Helpful staff, level site, good utilities. Lots of area to walk the dog.
May 23, 2017
Very friendly staff and finally "great" cable. So hard to find nowadays. Stayed in a 40' DP & toad.
May 20, 2017
I would rate this KOA a 5 except for the Highway noise. Take away that noise, which is no fault of the owners, and it's an excellent Kampground. The vegetation (trees & bushes) make it feel like you are really out in the wilderness. Very helpful owners and staff. Next time in the Des Moines area, I would definitely come back.Missed out on a chance to fish their lake because of a tornado watch.
May 19, 2017
The grounds are great, but the noise level from freeway and race track disturbing for early to bed to leave early in am.
May 19, 2017
Great hosts , super helpful , but dogs running unleashed on campground , couldn't use enclosed dog run , people don't want your dogs running up to there's ,there's a reason for leash laws . Campground beautiful, but right along expressway with high volume of noise .
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy