Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 08, 2019
Wow, just an overnight stay but certainly a place to spend some time. Nice grounds, large spaces, lots of grass. Love the shade trees. Would definitely make this a destination sometime. Well done. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Office is open late. Thanks Des Moines East for the accommodations. Only downside is the highway noise, but didn’t keep me from sleeping well.
Aug 07, 2019
Great hosts, super accommodating. Nice campground and clean showers. Only recommendation would be increased laundry facilities...only 3 washers and there was a big wait for them.
Aug 06, 2019
Should advertise the noise level which is very high being located right on the interstate I80. The rest is great
Aug 06, 2019
Very clean and very friendly staff on site.
Aug 06, 2019
Very nice staff, plus cold beer and fresh pizza available!
Aug 05, 2019
Spent three days with family sightseeing and attending the national balloon fest in indianola. The staff that I dealt with were friendly and very helpful. They are expanding their sites to double capacity.
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
Staff are excellent! Sites are above average for KOA. There is plenty for the kids to do. The only reason why I did not rate them higher is because of the close location to the highway.
Aug 05, 2019
We had an excellent wide-open level site for our two days. Our site was plenty big enough for our 45" DP and Jeep SUV. As a bonus, we got an excellent recommendation from the office about the Maytag Cheese factory down the street. The cows mike blue cheese is fantastic!
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
We stayed for 1 night while traveling. The campground was extremely clean. The owners and employees went out of their way to help with anything they could. We will definitely be back when traveling through the area. They also had one of the largest playground for kids that I have ever seen at an RV park.
Aug 04, 2019
Very upset that we were charged extra $5.00 for site that literally was backwards to hookups and NOT as advertised. Site is a normal 50 amp pull thru hookup that yes is on end cap but ONLY if you reverse direction and can only hook up to electric water because sewer is also on electric side. Also when we checked in, they did did bot tell us only way to get sure we reserved. Road noise bad too
Aug 04, 2019
Nice clean campground, pleasant folks. Very noisy from interstate. Saw your KOA fifth wheel trailer and truck there. For those of who have been camping for years and seeing the rates change increasingly, it looks like that’s where the money is going- KOA- in talking with campground owners, it puts a lot of stress on them to keep up with the demands of Koa, cabins, cottages, rates, etc. thank y
Aug 04, 2019
Nice park nice people
Aug 04, 2019
The campground is super clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. The only reason for 4 stars is that the spaces are very close together.
Aug 04, 2019
They were amazing considering what the weather's handed them.
Aug 04, 2019
We were very disappointed initially. We told them when reserving we needed a site that was level, large pull thru as we are a Motorcoach towing. We got site 107 that is a new area. This KOA shouldn’t be assigning sites there till the area is complete. We could not get level and there are a lot of sharp rocks mixed in with the gravel. Our site was changed. The new area will be nice when don
Aug 02, 2019
pool nice, bathrooms stalls too shallow and small. handicap stall is not handicap. too noisy, no sound barriers to highway. will not stay again.
Aug 01, 2019
Aug 01, 2019
Very neat and clean. Pool was clear and a good temperature. It is a very safe place for an overnight we while traveling. Friendly folks���
Jul 31, 2019
Great place to camp! Employees are very friendly.
Jul 31, 2019
Thanks for another great stay. I will most certainly be back.
Jul 31, 2019
Stay was for a race weekend.
Jul 30, 2019
Great place to stay, staff is awesome.
Jul 30, 2019
Great place great people
Jul 30, 2019
We have stopped there numerous times for an overnight. Always clean. Some of the sights are a little to level out and the interstate is right there. This last time we were put in the last row closest to the interstate and it was hard to sleep.
Jul 29, 2019
Campgrounds was very clean and staff was extremely friendly as always.
Jul 29, 2019
Friendly and helpful staff. The campground was filled due to the races that weekend. The spaces are very small but since we were there overnight, it was not a problem. Would probably not stay there for more than one night. Our dog loved the K9 Park. Wish we could give it a more positive review. Interstate noise was not really a problem.
Jul 29, 2019
Great folks - Curtis was a super help Sites worked out fine
Jul 29, 2019
We always like staying at Newton. First time we were here during the races and it was noisy but we just turned sour air conditioning on and had a good nights sleep. Somehow I accidentally got charged for a KOA card even though I already had one. Thanks to Dana she took care of the cituation and I was credited the amount. Thanks Dana
Jul 29, 2019
In new section, site 77 is nowhere acceptable for 40’ coach. Front tires off ground 5”. Still not level. Drive lanes are 3” gravel, very rough to walk on. Seems a premier RV Park provider would have better ideas for site development. I will stay in other locations near Newton in future. Old portion of park looked better all around. This particular row was not up to KOA standards.
Jul 28, 2019
Highway noise is a bit of a downside but otherwise great. Staff was very accommodating. Enjoyed our stay.
Jul 27, 2019
Main complaint is the noise level coming from nearby I-80. The highway is elevated and you easily hear some trucks and cars.
Jul 27, 2019
We are so appreciative that you let us have a great site on a very busy weekend even if were just passing through.
Jul 27, 2019
Pull thru sites are very narrow. I couldn’t extend my awning without touch the camper in the next site. Very overpriced on an ordinary day but more so if there are car races scheduled for the weekend
Jul 27, 2019
Only one night; ice dog run.
Jul 26, 2019
We had a wonderful time. They are very helpful and friendly.
Jul 26, 2019
Great park, nice sites, friendly staff...aside from the interstate noise it was great. And we would stay there again!
Jul 26, 2019
Jul 25, 2019
Jul 24, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
We stay here often for the races. First time bringing family and grand-kids. Everyone had fun, lots of things for the kids to entertain themselves with. Stayed an extra night to include a trip to Adventureland. Will definitely do this trip again next year. Staff is great as always. They keep updating and upgrading the place to stay current. Could use better Wifi but still a great place.
Jul 23, 2019
Here for the IRL Iowa Corn 300. Good facility, perfect for my needs. Nice pool in the heat, good staff.
Jul 23, 2019
The facility was very nice, but the road noise was a bit overwhelming. There should be a way to built a noise abatement wall out near the interstate to block the noise. Otherwise the stay was very good.
Jul 23, 2019
Jul 23, 2019
It was okay but too close together. We couldn’t put our awning out. Men next to us were outside talking until very late. Woke us up
Jul 22, 2019
A bit confusing when talking to owners/hosts getting our reservation squared away. Just seemed liked lots of confusion as always with this park
Jul 22, 2019
We have stayed here several times and always found all the employees friendly and helpful. But this year one of the staff was exceptional. Dana went the extra mile when we were faced with an uncertain situation (not related to the campground). We really appreciate her calm and efforts. The campground has always been well kept. I know we will visit again.
Jul 22, 2019
Curtis was amazing and so friendly! We felt so welcome. We stayed in the upper camp ground and it was ok, it looks like they may be adding more sites and doing improvements. It’s very far from the main camp ground and there are no trees. But we had a good night there and we were on our way!
Jul 22, 2019
TV cable didn't have a signal. Sites are very tight.
Oct 09, 2019
Great campground. Highly recommend!
- Carol Warner on Google
Sep 29, 2019
Wonderful campground, great amenities and facilities! Look forward to returning
- Thomas Ballard on Google
Sep 28, 2019
You are right next to the interstate for easy on and off camping. So yes, there is some good interstate noise. The staff here is absolutely wonderful! We camp here often and can not praise them enough! Some of the spaces down below are tight. The end lots are great! Up on the hill is newer less noise as well. With the newer spots I feel they are a little bit bigger areas. The area is more rock but give it time and it will be wonderful there.
- Jonathan Niece on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.