Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 19, 2019
Site #3 under a tree is very nice, so no satellite reception. However, sites #2 and #4 are very close. Wifi was good. Easy to make a reservation and checkin. I would return.
Aug 19, 2019
ok, people were nice
Aug 18, 2019
No problems
Aug 17, 2019
Very friendly place, BUT way over price, small sites, not well maintained, a lot of gravel pads in need of additional gravel, fire pits WAY to close to other campers, the camper next to us if they had a fire it would be about 1 ft from our coach, very loud instate traffic noise..........
Aug 16, 2019
Staff very nice. Only thing, sites were very close together. Thought must have been an older campground. Not much room for the picnic table and grass beside the sewage plug in. Other than that, was very nice. Walked the nature trail. They have a lake and I saw they were expanding the campgrounds.
Aug 16, 2019
This was our second overnight stay on our across country.
Aug 16, 2019
Sites are way too tight. We are a 40 foot motorhome. Instead of putting us in an end slot like several other large motorhomes were assigned, they put us in the middle. In order to get out of our drive thru slot, my husband had to disconnect car and back out. Trailers and fifth wheels were partially on what small road they was. Sewer was too high. It didn’t allow black water to drain.
Aug 14, 2019
Aug 14, 2019
Stay was uneventful, park was clean, organized, and staffed with competent friendly people. I would stay here again! It is just your average KOA. An upgrade to the park would be to create a Pickleball court on a little used cement pad in the park common area.
Aug 14, 2019
Aug 14, 2019
Aug 14, 2019
Very noisey from traffic on I 80 that is adjacent. spaces are very small, thus units parked close together. On top of this, this is the most I have ever paid for a stay!!!!

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Customer reserved an end site with patio on a premium Knoxville Nationals weekend where we had special rates. He also bought a VKR membership when making his reservation....maybe he forgot that. LVM no response
Aug 13, 2019
Friendly staff. A special thank you and shout out to Jackie for her help and knowledge!
Aug 13, 2019
Aug 13, 2019
The KOA was directly beside I-80, so there was traffic noise constantly, making it difficult to sleep at night. Also, there was ZERO shade at our site (along with many other sites). And the sites were so crammed together we had little to no room to move, in fact, my husband hit his head on our neighbor's slideout trying to move around the picnic table. It is safe to say we won't stay here again
Aug 13, 2019
For us pretty crowded. Not much room between neighbors. Our fire pit was just a few feet from neighbors pick up. Not allot of room to spread out. Very nice owners, park and pool area outstanding. I wish when you make reservations you could pick and know what sites are available.
Aug 13, 2019
Other than interstate road noise, it's a great place
Aug 12, 2019
Convient off the highway, only complaint were of highway noise and close to each other campspots, staff great!
Aug 12, 2019
Aug 12, 2019
Very nice place. Little bit of road noise.
Aug 12, 2019
We stayed at the campground to visit family in town not really to 'camp' but its is a very nice campground and I would definitely stay there again when we are in Newton.
Aug 12, 2019
We had a great stay! The grounds were clean, the pool was great and most importantly, our hosts were amazing! Thank you!
Aug 12, 2019
Spent 2 nites on new non shaded sites. Remote from main campground. No WiFi No Cable. Severe Road noise all nite.
Aug 12, 2019
Very friendly staff and clean campground. We were in the new part which meant no trees, no landscaping just row after row of gravel barebones sites that are very close together. An okay campground for stopping for the night which is what we there for.
Aug 12, 2019
We had a tent site. Tents sites are away from the camper jungle. VERY nice area for tent sites. Flat area and grassy with shade trees. VERY NICE!!!.. Great pool, small area for little kids but went to like 8 feet deep. SUPER NICE campground. Well maintained. Extra helpful and friendly staff. BEAUTIFUL park. Lots of things for kids as well as adults to do. We missed the ice cream social! :(
Aug 11, 2019
The stay was great!!! Everyone was helpful and friendly! The grandkids loved the outside activities. The grounds were well kept , clean and quiet! We will be back! Very nice and peaceful!! Good Saturday donation breakfast also! I liked the money went to good causes! Good food! Thank you for the nice time!
Aug 11, 2019
Very friendly, helpful staff. Good-looking, well-planned site.
Aug 10, 2019
This KOA would be wonderful to stay in but the campsites are so close together I felt claustrophobic. There is a lot of land so I am wondering why campers have to be crowded in like they are? Sorry, because of this we wont stay again.
Aug 10, 2019
Aug 09, 2019
Wonderful staff, a little tight for our 44 foot motorhome, but still love this place
Aug 09, 2019
Aug 09, 2019
Very nice KOA. Employees were very nice too.
Aug 08, 2019
Aug 08, 2019
Wow, just an overnight stay but certainly a place to spend some time. Nice grounds, large spaces, lots of grass. Love the shade trees. Would definitely make this a destination sometime. Well done. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Office is open late. Thanks Des Moines East for the accommodations. Only downside is the highway noise, but didn’t keep me from sleeping well.
Aug 07, 2019
Great hosts, super accommodating. Nice campground and clean showers. Only recommendation would be increased laundry facilities...only 3 washers and there was a big wait for them.
Aug 06, 2019
Should advertise the noise level which is very high being located right on the interstate I80. The rest is great
Aug 06, 2019
Very clean and very friendly staff on site.
Aug 06, 2019
Very nice staff, plus cold beer and fresh pizza available!
Aug 05, 2019
Spent three days with family sightseeing and attending the national balloon fest in indianola. The staff that I dealt with were friendly and very helpful. They are expanding their sites to double capacity.
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
Staff are excellent! Sites are above average for KOA. There is plenty for the kids to do. The only reason why I did not rate them higher is because of the close location to the highway.
Aug 05, 2019
We had an excellent wide-open level site for our two days. Our site was plenty big enough for our 45" DP and Jeep SUV. As a bonus, we got an excellent recommendation from the office about the Maytag Cheese factory down the street. The cows mike blue cheese is fantastic!
Aug 05, 2019
Aug 05, 2019
We stayed for 1 night while traveling. The campground was extremely clean. The owners and employees went out of their way to help with anything they could. We will definitely be back when traveling through the area. They also had one of the largest playground for kids that I have ever seen at an RV park.
Aug 04, 2019
Very upset that we were charged extra $5.00 for site that literally was backwards to hookups and NOT as advertised. Site is a normal 50 amp pull thru hookup that yes is on end cap but ONLY if you reverse direction and can only hook up to electric water because sewer is also on electric side. Also when we checked in, they did did bot tell us only way to get sure we reserved. Road noise bad too
Aug 04, 2019
Nice clean campground, pleasant folks. Very noisy from interstate. Saw your KOA fifth wheel trailer and truck there. For those of who have been camping for years and seeing the rates change increasingly, it looks like that’s where the money is going- KOA- in talking with campground owners, it puts a lot of stress on them to keep up with the demands of Koa, cabins, cottages, rates, etc. thank y
Aug 04, 2019
Nice park nice people
Aug 04, 2019
The campground is super clean, the staff very helpful and friendly. The only reason for 4 stars is that the spaces are very close together.
Aug 04, 2019
They were amazing considering what the weather's handed them.
Aug 04, 2019
We were very disappointed initially. We told them when reserving we needed a site that was level, large pull thru as we are a Motorcoach towing. We got site 107 that is a new area. This KOA shouldn’t be assigning sites there till the area is complete. We could not get level and there are a lot of sharp rocks mixed in with the gravel. Our site was changed. The new area will be nice when don
Nov 26, 2019
Great campground
- Dusty H on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.