Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 03, 2019
Little noisy from interstate other than that really nice
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
The noise from the highway was way to much for us to handle for sleeping and just hanging out! The area was beautiful the people were very nice but I would comeback because where we were parked the highway noise was very disruptive! Maybe you could get the county or city to build a sound barrier wall! I know neighborhoods that are next to highways have been able to get these walls built! J
Sep 03, 2019
Loved all the stuff for the kids to do!!
Sep 03, 2019
I have stayed at this campground several times and always had a great experience. On my latest trip I stayed here two different times. On the first time they stayed a little past closing time to guide me to my spot. The second time they looked at the lot I had chosen and then recommended a better one that would be easier to pull into.
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Wet dirty and way to many fies
Sep 02, 2019
This campground was convenient for a one night stop. Staff were very nice. Pretty setting. Fellow campers were quiet and respectful of others. There is noise from I-80 but it didn’t bother us. We actually enjoyed watching the traffic. The bathrooms were not as clean as we’re accustomed to at most KOA’s. The fee for a campsite was greatly over priced.
Sep 02, 2019
This is a campground we come back to often - service is always very good. We like the expansion going on and will request one of the "upper sites" next time. Easy to get to though there is some highway noise.
Sep 02, 2019
Very friendly staff and nice campground. Great pancake breakfast on Saturday morning.
Sep 01, 2019
A very nice KOA. We have stayed here several times. Our only complaint is the traffic noise from the interstate.
Sep 01, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
Nice KOA but narrow sites. Convenient to the Interstate but there is noise. Good TV & wi-fi. We stayed here one night on a trip to Indiana. We did not use the facilities.
Aug 30, 2019
Site number 1 was awesome!
Aug 30, 2019
Although our stay was for only one night we found the campground and site very clean, pleasant and comfortable with June and Bob truly accommodating and very courteous, friendly. Having full hook-up with sewer was excellent! Only our second experience at KOA but certainly won't be our last. Plan to stay there again on our next trip west. Thank you!
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 30, 2019
A little noisy from truck traffic on I-80. Good place to stay.
Aug 29, 2019
Too noisy. Right next to the interstate. Small lots also. Very tight.
Aug 29, 2019
Typical OLD needs UPGRADES. Staff was Great. Right up against freeway. They sure don't say anything about that in their ads!!
Aug 29, 2019
Very nice campground. Clean, site was level and staff was very nice. Thank you
Aug 29, 2019
Great stay like always! Staff is beyond great! My only complaint is the low trees. I wish that all the trees were cut to 14' whenever we park below we run our camper down trees. I am not a fan of scratching our camper.
Aug 29, 2019
Aug 28, 2019
We always stop at this KOA while traveling cross country. The people are friendly and the park is clean. Our site this time was a bit tight but we were only staying 1 night so it didn’t bother us. Plus it was the week before Labor Day so the park was a bit more full than usual so the roomier sites weren’t available.
Aug 28, 2019
Just an overnight but coming in and departing very easy. Clean grounds. A little noisy near the freeway but to be expected when you're looking for easy on/off. But if we were staying several days, I would still elect this place. Great place.
Aug 27, 2019
Just one night on our way to Colorado. A little noisy because you have e great access from I80. Staff is friendly, didn't use any facilities. Will stay here on our way back from Colorado.
Aug 27, 2019
Very friendly staff. Location next to the interstate took some time to get used to.
Aug 26, 2019
the folks that run the KOA were EXTREMELY NICE. very pleasant, very helpful. just don't like the camp sites. way to close together, and not long enough.
Aug 26, 2019
First time I ever had someone come out and greet me. Wonderful people.
Aug 26, 2019
Nice park, lots to do in the park for kids. Sites are kind of tight. Lots of highway noise.
Aug 26, 2019
Aug 25, 2019
The check in hosts were extremely nice people. A pleasurable stay. The only complaint is the highway noise which cannot be fixed. Nice place
Aug 25, 2019
Due to the highway being above you and packing you in like sardines. It’s a great place. Tons of open sites and no need for everyone to be set up on top of each other. Love KOA & will always pick KOA. This place was loud due to heavy highway traffic & Exhaust Brakes all night long. Sorry
Aug 25, 2019
Very nice campground. We’ve stayed there a couple of times. Only con is the sites are extremely close.
Aug 25, 2019
Price for the new sites with no wifi or cable was ridiculous. It rained and the ground would not dry out. No place to park when going to the laundry. Very disappointing
Aug 25, 2019
We arrived after the office was closed. We got to our site & found that the electricity was wired incorrectly at our post outlet, so we moved to another empty site, and notified the office. Site wasn't very level (inconvenient). Bathroom/shower facilities were dated, but clean. We will stay there again, if our first choice RV park in Kellogg is full.
Aug 24, 2019
Aug 24, 2019
Clean and friendly
Aug 24, 2019
Aug 23, 2019
We camped in a 31" TT; pull thru site; full hookup; 30 amp; gravel . The electric supply was good. They had 2.5" rain that morning, and our assigned site was pretty muddy. The gentleman that escorted us to our site moved us to a much higher dryer one. We really appreciated it! All the staff was friendly. We did not use other facilities.
Aug 21, 2019
Sites are small but the campground facilities are clean
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
We had a great time. Lot of things for grandkids to do. Nice pool. We come here every year.
Aug 19, 2019
Very narrow sites very close together. The staff was very helpful and anxious to solve any problem. The wifi was mostly unusable probably due to lack of bandwidth. They are supposed to be getting fiber optics which may solve that problem.
Aug 19, 2019
The roads and sites are very tight. We had 40ft motorhome and couldn’t get leveling in assigned but staff was very helpful moving us. Once we got to a site and level with our slides out we were right on top of our neighbor. If they had slides there is no way we both would have fit. We did not use facilities or pool but they appeared well kept.
Aug 19, 2019
Hosts were friendly and helpful. Overall, I was disappointed in our stay, payed 60+ dollars for a pull through site in the new area. New Sites are not quite up to par with the rest of the park. Sites and road way are comprised of large 2” plus rock that makes for a rough unpleasant surface. Grass between sites not yet filled in so a night of heavy rain turned everything to a muddy mess.
Aug 19, 2019
Site #3 under a tree is very nice, so no satellite reception. However, sites #2 and #4 are very close. Wifi was good. Easy to make a reservation and checkin. I would return.
Aug 19, 2019
ok, people were nice
Aug 18, 2019
No problems
Aug 17, 2019
Very friendly place, BUT way over price, small sites, not well maintained, a lot of gravel pads in need of additional gravel, fire pits WAY to close to other campers, the camper next to us if they had a fire it would be about 1 ft from our coach, very loud instate traffic noise..........
Nov 16, 2019
Cozy clean. Fun giant shuffle curling.
- Brent Wahlstrom on Google
Nov 14, 2019
Love it
- Jacob Esuph on Google
Nov 12, 2019
Love kamping kabins
- Candi Harringa on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.