Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 02, 2020
Aug 02, 2020
Very friendly staff Clean sites Would definitely stay there again!
Aug 01, 2020
Aug 01, 2020
Aug 01, 2020
Aug 01, 2020
Good for overnight. Tight spaces. Trees are too low and hit rooftops of coaches. The WiFi is extremely weak and there is no recycling.
Jul 31, 2020
It was easy to park and the swimming pool was a hit with the grandson.
Jul 30, 2020
The staff was kind. amenities were nice. the interstate traffic was very loud. and they closed the pool early one night with no notice or reasoning.
Jul 30, 2020
Very friendly and courteous.
Jul 30, 2020
Jul 28, 2020
Very friendly staff. Check in smooth. Very neat and well-kept park! Fabulous to have off-leash dog area.
Jul 28, 2020
Enjoyed are stay.
Jul 27, 2020
Jul 27, 2020
Sites are too tight for Big Rigs and cable is sketchy at best!
Jul 27, 2020
Was nice quiet. Peaceful and not to busy. Very friendly staff and office people. Would stay here again.
Jul 27, 2020
Host were so nice and helpful everything clean kids had a blast, was highway noise but it didn’t bother us nice dog park
Jul 27, 2020
Jul 27, 2020
Jul 27, 2020
If I would have known the tent site was next to a stagnant stretch of mosquito breeding ground and literally a stones throw from interstate 80 I would never even considered staying there. The noise of the traffic was deafening Just awful We broke down camp and left 3 hours after arriving. The nerve you have to charge someone 30 dollars for the privilege to endure that crap is unacceptable
Jul 27, 2020
Loads of fun! So glad there's a pool. It was extremely hot. What a relief. The kids loved the barrel train, and the sand pit. It was the perfect campout experience!
Jul 27, 2020
Thank you for a great overnight on our way home to Texas! Our kids were entertained from the moment we parked.... fun bounce mat, pool, train rides, walking trails and a nice clean park!
Jul 27, 2020
We have always enjoyed staying at the Newton KOA. EVERYONE is very helpful and friendly. So many activities for the grandkids! We've already booked our next stay in a couple of weeks.
Jul 27, 2020
Very friendly and helpful staff. Felt safe staying by myself. Will definitely be back!
Jul 26, 2020
Very slow check in, only one person working. Very friendly man driving golf cart who showed us to our spot. The CLEANEST swimming pool I’ve ever seen, lots of chlorine and perfect temperature. VERY LOUD highway right by you. Campground itself was lush, green, beautiful, lots of trees but you drive through a junkyard area to get there.
Jul 26, 2020
My least favorite KOA out of the 4 we stayed at as we drove across the U.S. Pulled into a very smoky fire burning in campsite several feet from our spot. So bad we had to back up 10 feet to get out of the smoke. Needs a bathroom down the other end for non self-contained units. We spent a quick night and were out early so can't speak to other amenities. Staff was friendly.
Jul 25, 2020
Clean and well organized. Difficult to find the road to the campground as the signage is not clear. The guide who took us to our site had us pull too far into our site making hookup problematic
Jul 25, 2020
A great campground! Nice dog area, playground, and pool. Sites had enough space.
Jul 24, 2020
The owner knew who I was when I called and was informative about the race happening at the Speedway across the street. The dog run was very appreciated after having dogs in the car all day. It was clean and it seems like people are respectful of cleaning up after their pets. The people around us were very nice and the entire check-in process was safe and socially distanced.
Jul 24, 2020
Campground was average on the whole,but campsites were way too close. we were packed in like sardines. For $62.00 a night, way overpriced. We've stayed at lots of KOA's that were nicer than this one for less.
Jul 24, 2020
Bought tickets for a race from the owner (very cheap). Had no way of getting there. So his wife made arrangements for Brenden (the part time summer help) to drive us to the races. He then agreed to come and drive us back to the campground after the race. Very cool of them.
Jul 23, 2020
Jul 22, 2020
Very clean and the staff was very accommodating. Quiet and convenient to everything we needed...thank you!
Jul 22, 2020
We so enjoyed our stay, especially when we moved to spot 1! Loved the view! Keep up the great work! Everyone was so friendly at the office.
Jul 22, 2020
Front desk a bit grumpy, but I understand when you have a camper that won't fit in a site assigned it's frustrating. We were moved and all was well. New addition coming along nicely.
Jul 22, 2020
We had to do a late night check in - and it went smooth as silk. Easy in / Easy out.
Jul 22, 2020
Great stay with great and clean amenities!
Jul 22, 2020
Not very level sites and road noise
Jul 22, 2020
Very nice and helpful staff. Bathroom and showers clean. However the spaces are too close together so that social distancing is an issue and the campground hugs up against the interstate so it can be noisy.
Jul 22, 2020
Super nice people. Nice shady spots with grass. Very helpful and happy hosts.
Jul 21, 2020
Have been staying there for a few years do to proximity to the track however they gouge you on the prices on race weekend
Jul 21, 2020
Jul 21, 2020
Our stay was short but sweet. We need to make a last minute change to the days we were there and they were very gracious. We liked the hiking trail. We also enjoyed visiting with our neighbors and marveled at where we had all come from!
Jul 21, 2020
We were given a spot up on top which had full service. That was good. However, the site your RV sat on was covered by rocks the size of a 6-9 year olds fist. Very uncomfortable to walk on. Also, not conducive for outside lounging. I would not make a reservation there unless I had a space on the lower level. The other negative !-80 noise is constant.
Jul 20, 2020
Like staying at Newton KOA. Owners are very friendly and easy to work with! � always making improvements! That’s my kind of KOA.
Jul 20, 2020
Jul 20, 2020
Friendly staff as always.
Jul 20, 2020
Did not get the site I requested, but was still ok, as always we have a great time!
Jul 20, 2020
Jul 20, 2020
Jul 20, 2020
Pleasant staff
Aug 06, 2020
Very clean, lots of amenities, great staff!
- J States on Google
Jul 30, 2020
It is beautiful out here
- Marshall Williams on Google
Jul 26, 2020
Most family friendly place you will love.
- Robert Rush on Google