Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Sep 27, 2019
We loved the pond, the disk golf, clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Being close to the highway made getting there easy however it was noisy at night.
Sep 27, 2019
As others have mentioned there it’s a bit noisy due to the proximity to I-80. That being said it is a very nice park like setting & the staff is awesome.
Sep 27, 2019
Bob and June were wonderful! The location was a little noisy, due to location by the interstate, but the campground itself was lovely.! We would return!
Sep 24, 2019
Spent one night during week, fine for that. Very loud as campground is right off the highway. Wandering road through junk yards to the campground. Lots of marked dead trees that needed removal. One marked tree fell in front of our site across 2 empty sites.
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
Facilities are great but the freeway noise is terrible
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
Beautiful campground. Well taken care of. Bathrooms were very clean!
Sep 21, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
We had a small gravel pad with some small patches of grass on the sides but mostly mud. Lots of road noise from I-80. Our site was so narrow that our bedroom slide was over our neighbors picnic table. Only stayed one night while passing through. Would not stay again.
Sep 20, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
Easy access from I80 but still very quiet. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed the overnight stay very much.
Sep 20, 2019
Nice park. Second stay in 2 weeks. Site 12 is not suitable for Class A. It sits in a side of a hill and actually has to raise front wheels off the ground to level. Please DO NOT put Class A’s in that spot. We will be back ����
Sep 20, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
The grass hadn't been cut in a while. The road leading into the site is a junk yard on both sides of the street.
Sep 20, 2019
Nice stop. Friendly staff and clean facility.
Sep 19, 2019
Our motorhome is in the shop so we stayed in your small cabin and loved it
Sep 19, 2019
Too much highway noise. Buffer wall should be installed.
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
Location of KOA Kampgrounds is often a plus and a minus. Accessibility from travel routes is good but often times the close proximity to highways make for noisy nights. Such is the case with this campground as the freeway was only a matter of feet from our campsite. So it is. I have taken to checking aerial mapping to see if there are train tracks close before we select a KOA. Thanks
Sep 18, 2019
We were upgraded to the deluxe cabin. It was awesome.
Sep 16, 2019
We just stayed for an overnight on the road. It is a beautiful place with spacious, green, park-like spaces. The bathrooms were accommodating and clean. We would definitely return.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice place. Have stayed there before, and will stay there again when passing through the area.
Sep 14, 2019
We would have slept better, if we had pulled to the side of the road on I80. We were parked less then 200 ft. next to I80, we always run a fan and the air conditioner but that did not help. The workers were very friendly and the park is beautiful.
Sep 14, 2019
The hosts were delightful people. Very kind and accommodating. The campground was clean and easy to access. My low rating is solely based on the proximity to the freeway. Extremely noisy!
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 14, 2019
Sep 13, 2019
I liked the park except for the highway noise!
Sep 12, 2019
New KOA. Our sit was a barren gravel site away from the other amenities
Sep 10, 2019
everything was great except the map/campground info was a copy that you couldn't read....at least make a good copy for shame.
Sep 10, 2019
Great people and park. Cable tv signal was very bad but we did have a lot of rain so might have affected it � See you in about two weeks (reservation already made!) Mike Fisher
Sep 10, 2019
It kind of stunk at the site we were at and the space was small
Sep 10, 2019
Though short, we enjoyed our stay. I enjoyed the nature walk and the folks were very inviting and welcoming.
Sep 09, 2019
Very nice camp ground,clean and well organized. If we ever get a chance to stay there again I would try to stay away from the sights by the interstate, the truck traffic was loud.
Sep 09, 2019
Sep 09, 2019
The park is very clean and well organized. The staff is very friendly and helpful, even brought me fresh eggs! Great stop over place.
Sep 08, 2019
Sep 08, 2019
Very nice site. Very quiet.
Sep 07, 2019
Sep 07, 2019
Sep 06, 2019
Sites are too close and the noise from the Interstate is almost unbearable! But they do have a real nice hiking trail!
Sep 06, 2019
Thanks for site 25�
Sep 06, 2019
Stayed for one night on way home. Fairly level sites, high water pressure... need a water regulator., friendly staff, bit it is a bit noisy due to the expressway. But location is within minutes of the off and on ramps. We will stay here again on our way to see our Granddaughter at the USAFA in Colorado.
Sep 05, 2019
As many reviews before mentioned the freeway traffic noise- it’s true, it’s loud. Thank goodness I’m a heavy sleeper but I feel sorry for light sleepers. My biggest disappointment in this KOA was even though the staff was nice they were not accommodating at all. I always put a special request in my reservations that hasn’t been a problem to fill and this campground couldnt be bothered, I w

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

This customer made their reservation online...5 days before a labor day weekend stay. We were booked and there were a limited number of sites available by that time. Her request was for a "satellite friendly location". We had spaces up in our new section which were totally satellite friendly but did not have internet access yet and were farther from the pool and amenities. LVM no response
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
Sep 04, 2019
Nov 16, 2019
Cozy clean. Fun giant shuffle curling.
- Brent Wahlstrom on Google
Nov 14, 2019
Love it
- Jacob Esuph on Google
Nov 12, 2019
Love kamping kabins
- Candi Harringa on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.