Newton KOA

Open April 1 - October 31

Reserve: 800-562-4670

Reserve: 800-562-4670

Info: 641-792-2428

Info: 641-792-2428

Email

1601 East 36th Street South

Newton, IA 50208

Get Directions

All, Deluxe Cabins

Check-in: 1:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 01, 2017
Oct 01, 2017
Very close to I80,very polite and nice staff.
Sep 30, 2017
Not impressed with the location or the site. Wifi wouldn't work and staff had no clue what to do. Lots of NOISE, like sleeping in Walmart parking lot but with power to run AC. Will just use generator next time. Good Sam parks seem to be much better so far
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 30, 2017
Very nice, clean, courteous. Too bad it was a short stay
Sep 29, 2017
Campgrounds were very clean but a little tight. Barely enough room to put your awning out without bumping into the camper next to you. It was Ok for a one night stop over but i don't think I would stay for a longer visit.
Sep 29, 2017
Sep 29, 2017
Very friendly stay, nice town, just a little too close to the interstate!!
Sep 27, 2017
Sep 27, 2017
Large dog park. Mature shade trees help dissipate I70 noise.
Sep 27, 2017
Facilties are basic. Half or more of the campsites, including ours, were within three hundred feet of Interstate 80 making sleep impossible. The gravel/dirt roads leading into and onsite are full of holes like those of a third world country. Their high rates are therefore not justified.
Sep 27, 2017
The lady was very helpful, we are a small family of three with a toddler staying in a tent only on a rainy night and she offered to gave us a covered shelter for our use near the office in case the weather gets really bad. We stayed in there to get our dinner but we went back to our tent but she was really thoughtful for offering us that place.
Sep 26, 2017
Came for a week to work in Newton. This KOA was a perfect place to stay. Easy access to stores and restaurants. Very clean and well kept.
Sep 26, 2017
Close to Interstate so you get a lot of traffic noise, entrance road is in dyer need of repair
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Check-In was slow and took too long. There was too much highway noise to sleep. Cable TV did not work. Over the Air TV had no reception. No coffee at the front desk. Water pressure was too high. Somewhat difficult to find.
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Sep 25, 2017
Newton is a terrific overnight stop. It is grassy and tree lined. There is a great pet area. There is a convenient Love's truck stop at the off ramp.
Sep 24, 2017
We were greeted by a friendly person and checked in promptly. Spaces for campers were a little tight. Restrooms and showers were nice, clean, and tidy!
Sep 24, 2017
I enjoyed the Newton KOA, what was really nice was how freindly. the people were. Not only the people in the office, but the people in the town. I got turned around and couldn't find the KOA, I flagged down a policeman and asked for directions. He said follow me, he said I was close and I followed him to the KOA. I will certainly. Stay at this KOA again.
Sep 24, 2017
Our staff encounter was friendly, and absolutely helpful!! The little cabin was comfortable and fit us perfectly!! My only regret was not enough time to enjoy!
Sep 24, 2017
Sep 23, 2017
We were there for 1 night stop over, convenient being right off Interstate 90. We were going to be cutting it close arriving before the office closed so I was in touch with them letting them know how close we were to arriving. We arrived 9:04 and the staff stayed open for us and we were warmly greeted. Not a big deal but to us it was nice to see customer care in action!
Sep 23, 2017
had a great time, was a little hot while we were there, but a nice place to stay
Sep 23, 2017
Sep 22, 2017
The new disc golf course and custom stamped discs for sale set this facility apart. A course map would help, but the tee signs were good. A little noisy from freeway but friendly helpful staff and beautiful grounds.
Sep 21, 2017
Sep 21, 2017
Great rate for tent camping. Large and well kept K-9 area. The best K-9 area out of the five KOAs that we stayed at during our road trip.
Sep 21, 2017
Staff was Awesome! Called ahead made reservations was taken care of well. Very nice campground with very pleasant staff. Keep up the good work, was a blessing! Thank you!
Sep 21, 2017
Lady in office quite nice but didn't have a clue about parking big rigs. Crammed us in a site we barely fit in and put smaller units in larger sites. Very narrow tight spaces. TERRIBLE road noise from interstate next to and above us. Long grass = very wet dogs. Could be a nice park but glad we only did an overnight.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

I'm sorry you were disappointed with your site assignment. It was a 65' long site for your 40' rig. Next time please call the office and we would be happy to reassign if you aren't pleased but this was the site type you requested and you fit in it well.
Sep 20, 2017
unfortunately very close to highway and very noisey all night
Sep 20, 2017
overnight stop, staff was very friendly and helpful, bath house very clean. will stay again if ever back this way
Sep 20, 2017
Sep 19, 2017
Amazing KOA!!
Sep 19, 2017
While the site (3) was "tight", I appreciated the playground and jumping pad for the kids. Easy access from I-80. Friendly helpful staff.
Sep 19, 2017
see you next year :)
Sep 18, 2017
Very friendly but a bit on the noisy side for sleeping.
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
Sep 18, 2017
We had a great time and it was a very clean and friendly campground and we will be back again next year. Thank you
Sep 18, 2017
Beautiful campground but the hilly interstate was so close the noise from all the truck traffic was deafening. Nothing could drown it out for a restful night.
Sep 17, 2017
Nice people running the place but a little too close to the Interstate and its highway noise. Close to town with stores and restaurants - that was a plus.
Sep 17, 2017
Nice campground for an overnight road stop. Also the first I have seen where all bathroom and shower doors open outward allowing room to get in and out without having to contort oneself. However, it is the loudest campground I have ever stayed at given it's proximity to I-80.
Sep 17, 2017
Sep 16, 2017
Nice park and friendly people, but a little noisy due to the freeway running right by it.
Sep 16, 2017
Sep 15, 2017
Acceuil très gentil, terrain un peu petit mais pour nos besoins très satisfaisant. Nous sommes restés qu'un soir. La seule chose que nous ayons regretter c'est que la piscine soit fermée alors qu'il faisait 35 C.
Sep 14, 2017
Beautiful park, friendly and helpful staff.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals