Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews

Campground Reviews

Oct 12, 2019
Just overnight stay
Oct 12, 2019
Friendly accommodating staff!!! Clean. Quiet.
Oct 10, 2019
Traffic noise was horrible
Oct 09, 2019
Overall, pleasant stay. Staff was friendly and helpful. Sites seemed a little narrow, but in good working order. Road noise was noticeable, but there's not much you can do about that. Would stay there again.
Oct 09, 2019
Friendly hosts and very helpful. Campsites were large and level. Didn't make use of amenities as it was an overnight stay. Close to interstate so could hear traffic noise but not offensive. Good park.
Oct 07, 2019
Oct 06, 2019
Friendly staff, nice sites, but close to highway and heard truck traffic all night
Oct 05, 2019
Oct 05, 2019
Good place to stay traveling through the area.
Oct 05, 2019
I arrived at Newton Ia. KOA on Monday afternoon and left on Friday morning. The folks running the kampground were very helpful and friendly. The facility is very close to the highway so it was rather noisy and it rained most of the time I was there so the were some issues with mud. But overall for a brief stop on my journey it fit my needs well.
Oct 05, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
Stayed here off and on for many years. Had a weather related problem this time, no fault of the owners/staff. All was resolved with their help in a timely manner so we could get back on the road. We'll be back!
Oct 04, 2019
nice camp ground just a little to much road noise
Oct 04, 2019
Oct 04, 2019
As always, our stay here was fine. It's the first time we have had to go into the laundry room and it wasn't to do our laundry. It was shelter from impending danger of an oncoming tornado. Staff did not seem a bit phased by the siren or the local newscasts of imminent danger. They kept guiding new arrivals to their campsites. I wish they would have checked on us.
Oct 04, 2019
Very exciting! After setting up and as we received our pizza a Tornado warning was issued and the staff saw to it everyone was aware and knew where to head. After 20-30 minutes we were told the warning was over. A ride back to site was offered to a lady on Oxygen. Well handled
Oct 04, 2019
Campground was a 4 and the stay could be a 7 or 8 but it is way to close to highway 80. Very busy traffic and the heavy noise is 24/7.
Oct 03, 2019
Very clean and well organized, and the staff were kind and polite. The only problem was the noise from I-80 about 100 yards away required ear plugs to keep it from interfering with our sleep.
Oct 03, 2019
Lots of empty, high and dry sites that would ha e put us away from others directly for a quick pitstop with late check-in (dark-9:30-ish), and early breakdown as we spoke and requested. But no, they wedged us tightly between 2 others that I am sure we disturbed, in a muddy site. Noisiest campground ever! Super highway road noise all night. Never again!
Oct 03, 2019
Sep 29, 2019
Only there for an overnight stay, but the site was great as was the staff.
Sep 29, 2019
Only stayed overnight, but the site was great and the staff friendly and helpful.
Sep 27, 2019
Narrow sites, no escort to site, VERY loud highway noise, site map was a photocopy that was hard to read. Will not stay again.
Sep 27, 2019
We loved the pond, the disk golf, clean bathrooms and friendly staff. Being close to the highway made getting there easy however it was noisy at night.
Sep 27, 2019
As others have mentioned there it’s a bit noisy due to the proximity to I-80. That being said it is a very nice park like setting & the staff is awesome.
Sep 27, 2019
Bob and June were wonderful! The location was a little noisy, due to location by the interstate, but the campground itself was lovely.! We would return!
Sep 24, 2019
Spent one night during week, fine for that. Very loud as campground is right off the highway. Wandering road through junk yards to the campground. Lots of marked dead trees that needed removal. One marked tree fell in front of our site across 2 empty sites.
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 23, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
Facilities are great but the freeway noise is terrible
Sep 22, 2019
Sep 22, 2019
Beautiful campground. Well taken care of. Bathrooms were very clean!
Sep 21, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
We had a small gravel pad with some small patches of grass on the sides but mostly mud. Lots of road noise from I-80. Our site was so narrow that our bedroom slide was over our neighbors picnic table. Only stayed one night while passing through. Would not stay again.
Sep 20, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
Easy access from I80 but still very quiet. Very friendly staff. Enjoyed the overnight stay very much.
Sep 20, 2019
Nice park. Second stay in 2 weeks. Site 12 is not suitable for Class A. It sits in a side of a hill and actually has to raise front wheels off the ground to level. Please DO NOT put Class A’s in that spot. We will be back ����
Sep 20, 2019
Sep 20, 2019
The grass hadn't been cut in a while. The road leading into the site is a junk yard on both sides of the street.
Sep 20, 2019
Nice stop. Friendly staff and clean facility.
Sep 19, 2019
Our motorhome is in the shop so we stayed in your small cabin and loved it
Sep 19, 2019
Too much highway noise. Buffer wall should be installed.
Sep 19, 2019
Sep 18, 2019
Location of KOA Kampgrounds is often a plus and a minus. Accessibility from travel routes is good but often times the close proximity to highways make for noisy nights. Such is the case with this campground as the freeway was only a matter of feet from our campsite. So it is. I have taken to checking aerial mapping to see if there are train tracks close before we select a KOA. Thanks
Sep 18, 2019
We were upgraded to the deluxe cabin. It was awesome.
Sep 16, 2019
We just stayed for an overnight on the road. It is a beautiful place with spacious, green, park-like spaces. The bathrooms were accommodating and clean. We would definitely return.
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Sep 16, 2019
Very nice place. Have stayed there before, and will stay there again when passing through the area.
Sep 14, 2019
We would have slept better, if we had pulled to the side of the road on I80. We were parked less then 200 ft. next to I80, we always run a fan and the air conditioner but that did not help. The workers were very friendly and the park is beautiful.
Oct 09, 2019
Great campground. Highly recommend!
- Carol Warner on Google
Sep 29, 2019
Wonderful campground, great amenities and facilities! Look forward to returning
- Thomas Ballard on Google
Sep 28, 2019
You are right next to the interstate for easy on and off camping. So yes, there is some good interstate noise. The staff here is absolutely wonderful! We camp here often and can not praise them enough! Some of the spaces down below are tight. The end lots are great! Up on the hill is newer less noise as well. With the newer spots I feel they are a little bit bigger areas. The area is more rock but give it time and it will be wonderful there.
- Jonathan Niece on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.