Newton / Des Moines East KOA Reviews
  • There was an error gathering form errors.

Campground Reviews

May 28, 2020
friendly and clean campground
May 28, 2020
It was clean and well maintained. My only complaint is that the sites are so close together that the grass between the sites is only as wide as a picnic table. Not very much room for outdoor cooking or lounging.
May 28, 2020
Nice. But to close to the highway
May 28, 2020
My son loved the cabin and booking with the owner was very efficient and yet felt like old fashioned hospitality, unlike chain hotels.
May 28, 2020
May 26, 2020
Staff was wonderful, will stay here again.
May 26, 2020
Love staying at the Newton KOA. There is a great playground for kids. Lots of nice shade for sitting outside.
May 26, 2020
The staff is so friendly! It just a nice clean place to be at. We will be staying again!!
May 26, 2020
Great host, very friendly and helpful. Clean campground. Only stayed one night, pull through spot was spacious and easy to navigate.
May 26, 2020
May 25, 2020
Second time I have stayed here. Large sites. Wifi is okay. Cable TV worked fine. Very friendly staff. Clean campground. I would stay here again in the future.
May 24, 2020
Another great time! The staff is fantastic and the campground has always been clean. Looking forward to the next adventure!
May 22, 2020
Great staff - Tanya, Trish and Phil were friendly and helpful!!!!!!!!!!!
May 22, 2020
Helpful, friendly staff, road noise from I80, sites are narrow. While we were there everything was closed because of Covid19 so did not see facilities
May 21, 2020
Site not very level..even with our hydraulic levelers all the way down on one side we weren’t level Lots of highway noise Paid extra to have larger site with grassy area and neighbor on just one side...the grassy “yard” area and picnic table are on side opposite the rv door...not very convenient
May 21, 2020
May 20, 2020
Service was great and owner and management was awesome!
May 19, 2020
It was very nice and relaxing.
May 18, 2020
Loved, kids had a blast at the fishing pond. Mgmt was great. Only downfall is the freeway noise.
May 18, 2020
I don’t understand French.
May 18, 2020
We were exhausted from driving 12 hours on the road. Pulled into Newton KOA and greeted with a smile and everything ready for us. Site was level and clean. Thank you for a restful night!
May 14, 2020
May 12, 2020
We were there early in the camping season... early April. Our site was long and level. The persons overseeing the campground were professional and friendly. We had a 50 amp breaker issue which was repaired within 20 minutes. The campground is close to a fantastic grocery store, Hy-Vee, and Walmart. The Iowa Speedway is nearby as well. We would be happy to stay again.
May 12, 2020
We had a great weekend! The campground is clean and the owners have added a bunch of new sites. Looking forward to staying there again! There is a little I80 noise, but not obnoxious at all. Great on and off to I80.
May 12, 2020
Tanya was great!!
May 12, 2020
May 11, 2020
Owners are so friendly and campground is great! So many amenities for the family.
May 11, 2020
May 11, 2020
Our family had a great time spending the weekend here. Staff is very friendly. We enjoyed fishing in the pond and the hiking trail.
May 11, 2020
Loved it
May 09, 2020
Very nice place. We have stayed here a few times. Always a smile greeting us.
May 07, 2020
I was escorted to my spot, we were nicely spread out in the age of virus. Nice grassy area. Only negative was quite a bit of expressway noise, but not offensive.
May 06, 2020
May 06, 2020
Expensive. The highway noise was unbearable outside.
May 05, 2020
Thank you Tonya for guiding us in for this late night arrival. You made us feel very welcome. We appreciate you!
May 04, 2020
Best KOA we've stayed in!
May 03, 2020
May 02, 2020
No problems, easy hook ups. Very nice staff. Clean. Trail to search for Bigfoot if you want to �.
May 01, 2020
May 01, 2020
Overnight stay on way home
Apr 27, 2020
Apr 27, 2020
Tolerable traffic noise from I-80. Solid electricity, satellite friendly site, great water pressure. The staff is the best.
Apr 22, 2020
Excellent safety protocols in place during this pandemic!! Received a phone call asking about our ETA. Upon arrival, staff was waiting in the drive for us and escorted us to our site.
Apr 20, 2020
Some sites looked OK for a overnight stay. Site was long enough for pull thru but wasn't able to hook up septic because it was too far back.and pipe is well above the gravel level..Front was sloped 6" lower on the right side but air bags were able to level Site given was only about 75 feet from I80 so yes, it was very noisy all night....
Apr 15, 2020
Very nice campground - nice size sites with cement pads, patios and fire pits. Great staff!
Apr 12, 2020
My son and I enjoyed our stay at the Newton KOA. This is a very clean, spacious campground that allowed us to get in a good mile plus walk every day. The campground director was very welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed. I especially appreciated being able to fill up with propane when we arrived to the campground. It just made for a reassuring stay. And yes, we will be returning.
Apr 11, 2020
with the covid-19 epidemic I did not get to use all the facilities but that is not their fault. I was there for seven days and on the 2nd day I noticed It was pretty close to the interstate. The noise from the truck drivers who cant drive running over the rumble strips got really annoying at 2 in the morning. But the staff is very friendly. Other than that I would stay a night or two for sure.
Apr 11, 2020
Good people everything was great only stayed one night
Apr 10, 2020
People where very professional and friendly camp ground was very clean
Apr 10, 2020
We booked our site last minute during the Covid-19 quarantine, and were not arriving until 9:00pm. I called to confirm the reservation, and although the office was already closed and did not receive our reservation, the woman was kind enough to come and meet our family to show us to our site. She was patient, friendly, and so kind to us and we were very grateful for that during this crazy time!

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.