Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

Info: 423-623-9004

Email This Campground

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

RV Reviews

May 20, 2018
Campground have noise from road, interstate 40, could not sleep much.
May 20, 2018
May 20, 2018
Just an overnight stay between Cincinnati and home (Raleigh, NC), but quite pleased with the location and the shady setting. The manager was very friendly and helpful. We’re making reservations for our return in August.
May 18, 2018
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
The worst KOA I've been to. There site says level spots,their NOT,Hooking up,my rv rolled and fell off stand and broke one of my stablelizers. The manger could care less.This was booked 4 weeks in advance,so they knew we were coming,, The grass was high,not cut.The fire pit was not cleaned,full of trash and ashes.You have to hook up a cable box to your tv ,just to watch TV. I will not come back.
May 14, 2018
Excellent hosts. Clean and near. Recommend for a destination stop or while visiting the area.
May 14, 2018
WIFI didn't work, cable tv was some hokey system using a cable box. Fine for a house, sucked in the rv. Would not recommend to any one.
May 14, 2018
May 09, 2018
May 08, 2018
May 08, 2018
Apr 30, 2018
Apr 24, 2018
Weekend stay to visit with my son, too many full time campers at this campground.
Apr 21, 2018
Friendly staff. Very pretty setting. Bathrooms need renovating. Camp spot we used was very difficult to get out of. Cable TV required Cable box that they forgot to give us. Very pretty lake. Getting to the campsight was a little worrysome. The road was very narrow and had some low hanging trees that I was a little worried they'd hit my roof. Bathrooms need to be renovated.
Apr 21, 2018
Apr 17, 2018
Super clean showers and restrooms.
Apr 17, 2018
The road in was a mess. The park looked like it had not had maintenance in years. Would never stay here again.
Apr 10, 2018
Apr 10, 2018
Apr 07, 2018
We're in a big rig, was very tight getting onto site. The cablevision was terrible, could only recieve 1 channel, asked a neighbor, said a box was needed to get cablevision. Although we arived after offie closed, we were not told of this info. Due to conditions there, could not recieve reception with antennea or satellite. Thank goodness we were just passing thru and were only there for 1 night.
Mar 28, 2018
Mar 27, 2018
Tried to cancel this reservation for several weeks. Tried email, calling which went to a voice mail . I could never get in contact with anyone. I would advise to be careful on making a reservation at this KOA if you need to make any changes or cancel. I love KOA campgrounds, and was terribly disappointed in receiving a response from anyone for the help I needed.
Mar 27, 2018
I was a late arrival due to traffic and my packet was ready. The water lines were insulated well because they were expecting a freeze. My site number sign was buried under 3 inches of insulation but I figured it out. I was shocked awake by 4 falling branches during the night that sounded like bombs dropping from 40 feet. Burt was nice and papa John delivers so all is well in the world.
Mar 26, 2018
They need to add more gravel so campers are not walking around in mud!
Mar 25, 2018
Easy off & on I-40, nice staff!
Mar 20, 2018
I called prior to arriving and advised I would be late, was told to take a map from the late arrival box. The only map was for site 40 which was up quite a hill for a 40 Ft Motor home towing a car. I also was unable to use cable TV because a box was needed from the office which was closed.
Mar 19, 2018
Site was a pull thru it was perfect for my camper.
Mar 06, 2018
Just a stopover, but easy on and off the interstate and a nicely secluded campground
Mar 01, 2018
Feb 28, 2018
Feb 22, 2018
Feb 21, 2018
Feb 15, 2018
I got there after hours & took a listed open site, but when I went to it, a car was parked in it. So I selected another site -- eventhough it said "no water". I spoke with the manager and said that was OK if I could use the laundry for water. He said it was closed this time of year. I said OK, but could I get a discount on the site. He said OK. But had to make several calls to get bill corrected.
Feb 14, 2018
Feb 14, 2018
Feb 12, 2018
Jan 17, 2018
We were just passing through on our way to FL. Very friendly staff. Would stay here again.
Dec 27, 2017
We loved the campground and the staff. They were very friendly and were able to help us with our stay.
Dec 19, 2017
Dec 18, 2017
I won't be staying here again. Pretty rough for a KOA. We stay at KOA's all over the east coast and this one was definitely below par. Rude office lady, she insisted we owed tax on the bill even though we paid with c card on KOA's reservation site (the bill included $4.12 tax) but she charged us $4.07 more. I finally proved we had a receipt and she refunded the tax. Guy there was very helpful
Dec 08, 2017
Very friendly
Dec 04, 2017
Nov 29, 2017
Nov 27, 2017
We stayed in the off season but found that they were so helpful and kind as we are new to camping. We enjoyed our stay there.
Nov 25, 2017
The folks there seemed nice but we reserved a 50amp site but were put on 30amp site. We arrived late and there was no one around to discuss this with so I had to talk it. The staff said I was only charged for a 30amp site and it had to be some issue with the online reservation system. Regardless, I didn’t get the 50amp site I had reserved I confined my reservation said 50amp site as well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Am so sorry for your inconvenience. The next time you pass thru please let us know so that we can accommodate you. Staff Smokey Mountain KOA
Nov 22, 2017
Some very beautiful country. Nice staff. Good stay
Nov 20, 2017
STAFF VERY FRIENDLY & ACCOMODATING. FACILITIES WERE CLEAN AND WELL KEPT.
Nov 15, 2017
1st time to the area, staff was very friendly and courteous. Bathrooms were very clean. Campground very close to highway, this was off season so the pool was closed and no activity on the grounds. A lot of permanent residents living there. Not much at all for entertainment in the city of Newport. Pigeon Forge about 45 minutes away along with Gatlinburg.
Nov 13, 2017
Beautiful sites. Friendly staff. Roads are small but doable.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals