Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

Info: 423-623-9004


240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Cabin Reviews

Mar 13, 2018
Very disappointed with this KOA. Cabin was very stuffy and full of cobwebs.
Mar 05, 2018
A KOA representative should contact me regarding our stay as these statements may be damaging to future business.
Feb 07, 2018
This is our third stay each time is more pleasant
Jan 30, 2018
we stayed in a cabin for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. the cabin was so clean it looked like new. bathrooms and shower house was extremely clean no matter what time we went in there. nice, quiet and relaxing. campground is very nice and once again, clean and neat looking. the staff were friendly and very welcoming. we will be back
Jan 08, 2018
I was in one of the 2 room cabins with the half bath. It was extremely disappointing to discover when I first saw the inside of the cabin that it did NOT come with hot water. It didn't say anything on the website about these cabins not having hot water. When you see it comes with a half bath, you automatically assume it will have HOT water. This was not the case. It should be noted online.
Dec 30, 2017
Dec 18, 2017
Nov 27, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. The restrooms were always immaculate. We like the fact that it is a smaller KOA not a huge one like some of the ones we have stayed at. The cabin we stayed in worked perfect for us. Would definitely stay there again.
Nov 27, 2017
Great site, staff were great. We enjoyed staying here.
Oct 30, 2017
We stayed there for 3 nights. Last time I was in Townsend KOA. The cabin was very clean and well maintained. It was close to most places including Blue Ridge parkway within 30-40 miles radius.
Oct 25, 2017
We were here on our short honeymoon! The cabins are beautiful. The staff was very friendly and helpful! I will recommend this site to friends because itâs so relaxing. I will definitely be back!
Oct 22, 2017
Oct 18, 2017
Just a quick overnight stay in a Kamper Kabin. Staff was friendly and helpful. The campground was well kept, quiet, and peaceful.
Oct 17, 2017
About what I expected. Staff at desk was friendly. I would suggest you add a place to fill water bottles, that was our biggest concern- we had to go out and buy water.
Oct 16, 2017
Oct 15, 2017
Cabins are infested with bed bugs. Soooooo gross
Oct 11, 2017
Oct 08, 2017
Staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly. Shower and bathroom facilities extremely clean. Will go back.
Sep 30, 2017
Sep 26, 2017
Sep 17, 2017
It was great! I'd do it again the next time we have to run from another hurricane!
Sep 14, 2017
Great facility and wonderful customer service! We will be back for sure! The little things like running over coffee for our mother in law...made a big impression. Good clean cabin, playground was great and the pool as well. I read reviews before our family stays at a KOA or any place else. I was compelled to leave this review because it was just simply a great place!
Sep 01, 2017
While this KOA is older it has more character (established trees, etc.). It is located close to all the stores you need and the staff was very accommodating.
Aug 31, 2017
Campground looked nice but I rented one of the small cabins and I got eat up by bed bugs!
Aug 29, 2017
It was awesome and everyone was very friendly! Thanks :)
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 25, 2017
As usual, we enjoyed our stay at the Newport KOA very much! This time we brought our two-year-old grandson with us. He loved the pool and he loved the playground! He also loved the waterfall and goldfish pond in front of the office The bathrooms and showers are always clean and the staff are always courteous and friendly. We will definitely be back!
Aug 24, 2017
Staff is very nice and helpful I just wouldn't stay in a cabin here again. We found bedbugs in the beds after getting bitten all night.If it wasn't for that I'd give the campground a 4 star rating, and the bathrooms good use a good update/clean as far as shower curtains and mats go. We usually stay at Koas over other parks because they are maintained better than others. Love the gift shop.
Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff Clean bathrooms and pool Close to Smoky Mountains, PigeonForge,Gaitlinburg, Dollywood. Nice mountainside setting with shade trees My third visit and I will be back
Aug 18, 2017
People friendly. Nice & quiet.
Aug 13, 2017
Love the online reservation and kamping Kabin. And the night registration was very convenient. We did have an incident where a drunken campground guest would not leave our site but he did not pose any danger- just uncomfortable inconvenience.
Aug 08, 2017
Very clean and friendly KOA. Recommended
Jul 31, 2017
Decent price but I guess you get what you pay for especially compared to other KOA's in area. Extremely disappointed the "fishing pond" was dry and nonexistent.
Jul 26, 2017
Nice place to stay. Mostly quiet area, but you can hear interstate noises in the background. Clean facilities and friendly staff. The pond was nearly dried up, so no fishing, but plenty of small turtles around. Cabin air conditioner was barely able to keep up with temperatures in the 80's and low 90's, but it was better than tent camping.
Jul 23, 2017
I very much enjoyed the quietness of the camp ground and the comfort of the Kamp Kabin at this park. It had a commode and a sink which made the stay more relaxing. The only complaint would be the lack of comfort provided by the mattress. It was extremely thin and hard. Otherwise a very pleasant experience and I would stay here again. Just bring my air mattress to put on the bed.
Jul 23, 2017
we stayed in one of their cabins which was a little smaller then other Koa cabins. The cabins that we have stayed at before all came with microwave, small refrigerator, and tv w/cable. Although this one did have access to cable but you had to bring your own tv or you could rent one. Paid alittle less for all the amenities compared to this site. But all in all we wanted to get away for a couple
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
Nice KOA. Stayed for one night in a one room cabin with bathroom. Very nice.
Jul 14, 2017
Alot smaller than some other koa's, we rented a cabin, it was nice!
Jul 10, 2017
It was an ok place to stay. There wasn't any hot water and the doors where very loud. Otherwise good. The pool was nice and people/employee's nice.
Jul 07, 2017
I stayed for just a night while on my way from MI to FL. I was traveling with my two dogs and prefer to stay in cabins as apposed to hotel rooms. My cabin was nice.I really loved the half bath. I would have liked to see a TV, microwave and small fridge in the cabin.Also the dog area was very small so my fur babies didn't get any exercise.My family members are thinking about giving KOAs too.
Jul 05, 2017
Clean facilities, super helpful staff, all around great campground
Jul 04, 2017
Great to have a half bath in the small 2 room cabin. Never had that before! Nice place, clean bathrooms. Could use a little AC in the shower rooms. Pool was nice.
Jul 03, 2017
Loved it
Jun 29, 2017
I absolutely loved it. The little cabin I stayed in was so adorable, It was so peaceful and so relaxing. Great place to go if your wanting a get away with your loved one. I will definitely be back!!
Jun 20, 2017
Asked for a more private cabin and was accommodated with no problem. Clean. Comfortable.
Jun 19, 2017
We stayed in a cabin and got completely covered in chigger bites. Confirmed by the doctor today. Unfortunately I would not go and stay at any of these cabins ever again.
Jun 08, 2017
When making the reservation for a deluxe cabin we were led to believe that one was available on a late arrival found that it was not true no linens were available and we could not remain there so requested a refund of the fees.
Jun 07, 2017
We had a late check in and the cabin was supposed to have been left unlocked and key inside. This did not happen and we ended up sleeping in our car.
May 23, 2017
Camp was peaceful and quiet. Fit our needs, would go back again. Friendly staff.

Reserve now or check dates


Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.

Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals