Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

Info: 423-623-9004

Email

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 04, 2017
This KOA was way too cramped. Sites are VERY close together (compared to other KOAs) and the roar of the Interstate kept us up at night. Playground for kids was ok and pool seemed nice and clean although quite small.
Aug 03, 2017
FHU, Cable & wifi worked good. Pool & play areas looked well kept. PT site 23 plenty long for our 42 ft MH towing. Welcoming hosts & easy checkin. Road in narrow glad we didn't pass another unit. The grassy area w/table by our site very uneven, with some deeper ruts/holes.
Aug 03, 2017
Friendly people, we had a great night here.
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
We have not been here in years, the last time we were here was a few years ago & it still looks the same,we will be back here for sure.
Jul 31, 2017
Decent price but I guess you get what you pay for especially compared to other KOA's in area. Extremely disappointed the "fishing pond" was dry and nonexistent.
Jul 31, 2017
Trees drag on camper top..need 16ft minimum clearance from ground Wifi very poor, Antenna at my sight hanging down. Pavilion rafters showing mold. Dangerous. Shower was flooding in floor, stopped Drain, I guess. To many dead trees in park that can fall on campers or persons. Dog in camper beside us, barked at everything.
Jul 30, 2017
OK
Jul 28, 2017
It was ok for overnite. The noise from highway traffic was very loud.
Jul 27, 2017
Clean, friendly host. Nice shade area's. Only spent 1 night but would again. You can hear freeway noise
Jul 27, 2017
nice campground but site 78 should not be given to a big rig. stie was very small with 2 LARGE stumps. was suppose to be pill through but had to back out because of trees. We could make the turn out.
Jul 26, 2017
The campground was small, yet very clean and friendly. We loved being close enough to tour Gatlinburg, yet being far enough away from the chaos.
Jul 26, 2017
Nice place to stay. Mostly quiet area, but you can hear interstate noises in the background. Clean facilities and friendly staff. The pond was nearly dried up, so no fishing, but plenty of small turtles around. Cabin air conditioner was barely able to keep up with temperatures in the 80's and low 90's, but it was better than tent camping.
Jul 26, 2017
Difficult entry. Poor condition of some sights.
Jul 24, 2017
This KOA continues to improve the property every year. The owners and full time staff are great. I just wish they could get the lake to refill (its dried up) and improve their wifi which is all but non existent. Very convenient location to several outdoor recreation activities and also about 30 minutes from either Gatlinburg or Pigeon Forge
Jul 23, 2017
I very much enjoyed the quietness of the camp ground and the comfort of the Kamp Kabin at this park. It had a commode and a sink which made the stay more relaxing. The only complaint would be the lack of comfort provided by the mattress. It was extremely thin and hard. Otherwise a very pleasant experience and I would stay here again. Just bring my air mattress to put on the bed.
Jul 23, 2017
we stayed in one of their cabins which was a little smaller then other Koa cabins. The cabins that we have stayed at before all came with microwave, small refrigerator, and tv w/cable. Although this one did have access to cable but you had to bring your own tv or you could rent one. Paid alittle less for all the amenities compared to this site. But all in all we wanted to get away for a couple
Jul 22, 2017
Old but clean and well maintained campground. Very helpful during phone call.
Jul 22, 2017
Nice place
Jul 19, 2017
a quick overnight stop.
Jul 19, 2017
Wonderful campground handy tp I-40 . Our only complaint that being that !handy to the interstate is that we could hear to traffic. Very friendly staff
Jul 18, 2017
Nice campground. Friendly staff, Shady sites.
Jul 17, 2017
Friendly staff. Sites are shaded well. Internet and cable are awesome. Very clean.
Jul 17, 2017
Nice lots. Friendly staff.
Jul 16, 2017
Jul 14, 2017
We scheduled a 6 night stay months in advance and I think we were assigned the smallest site there. Staff not helpful nor friendly. Ok for overnight but any longer a mistake. Good local to Smokey Mtn attractions only plus I saw. Lots of noise from interstate and owners dogs.
Jul 14, 2017
Nice KOA. Stayed for one night in a one room cabin with bathroom. Very nice.
Jul 14, 2017
Alot smaller than some other koa's, we rented a cabin, it was nice!
Jul 14, 2017
Not the quality we are accustomed to at a KOA. Far too many things to note here.
Jul 11, 2017
Access road was a little challenging for a not so experienced Motorhome driver, otherwise a good experience. Just stayed overnight.
Jul 10, 2017
It was an ok place to stay. There wasn't any hot water and the doors where very loud. Otherwise good. The pool was nice and people/employee's nice.
Jul 10, 2017
Very busy weekend at campground. Not a bad tent site. Too bad there weren't some more food options available
Jul 10, 2017
Nice campgrounds. Friendly staff.
Jul 10, 2017
This park is very run down. We definitely didn't get the service we have come to expect from KOA. Our brand new RV bottomed out just driving in the entrance.
Jul 08, 2017
Nice, quiet place even though right in town. A bit tight for our 34 ft trailer with slide outs. Clean pool and grounds. Nice walking trail.
Jul 08, 2017
Nice park, clean restrooms and sites. The gravel sites were relatively large and level. The only negative is thyat the cable requires a box that you get from the office. I was looking forward to catching up on the news after 2 weeks without cell phone, internet, or tv but we arrived late and did not have access to a box (who still uses a cable bo in 2017?), so no go on TV news.
Jul 07, 2017
Jul 07, 2017
I stayed for just a night while on my way from MI to FL. I was traveling with my two dogs and prefer to stay in cabins as apposed to hotel rooms. My cabin was nice.I really loved the half bath. I would have liked to see a TV, microwave and small fridge in the cabin.Also the dog area was very small so my fur babies didn't get any exercise.My family members are thinking about giving KOAs too.
Jul 06, 2017
this koa should be closed sewer on the grounds. the people who own the place is rude and cause many problems.wish you could see the full time people living there, drugs in the park. unbelievable never would stay there again.
Jul 06, 2017
We made a reservation on- line. Asked for a campsite with water and electricity and stated that we would be a late arrival. Upon arrival we picked up our map with the assigned site. Located the site only to find out there was no water or electricity. It was 9:30 p.m. and had been raining for hours. We had no fire ring and a grill with holes in the bottom. The WORST customer service at a KOA ever!
Jul 05, 2017
We stayed there 2 times in June. We loved it and will return! The campsites were shaded. The campground had plenty of room for the dogs. The pool was nice. The staff was super friendly and very helpful.
Jul 05, 2017
Clean facilities, super helpful staff, all around great campground
Jul 05, 2017
Jul 04, 2017
Great to have a half bath in the small 2 room cabin. Never had that before! Nice place, clean bathrooms. Could use a little AC in the shower rooms. Pool was nice.
Jul 03, 2017
Loved it
Jul 03, 2017
Terrible entrance to the campground. Poorly marked and it you get there after dark beware of the 8ft concrete shoddy bridge with no guard rails. Did 8000$ damage to my travel trailer. Would never recommend this to anyone. Considering lawsuit for damage to my camper.
Jul 03, 2017
Not well maintained and run down! Lots of old RVs with junk outside. Shower and bath house ok but this place is in dire need of a good cleaning and up grade!
Jul 01, 2017
Small areas. Couldn't open my awning. Hard to level out trailer.
Jun 30, 2017
Great, clean sites but too close together and not level. So close to interstate 40, that the noise is unacceptable.
Jun 29, 2017
I absolutely loved it. The little cabin I stayed in was so adorable, It was so peaceful and so relaxing. Great place to go if your wanting a get away with your loved one. I will definitely be back!!
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals