Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

Email

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 11:00 am, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Aug 30, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
Aug 29, 2017
We have stayed at this KOA once a year for the last 10 years. We've always enjoyed our stay but this year it appeared they were working on cleaning up the park of excess brush, low branches and junk trailers. Though we didn't use the pool it was in use and clean. There were pot holes on the road In but they were being worked on. We will see y'all next year!
Aug 29, 2017
It was awesome and everyone was very friendly! Thanks :)
Aug 28, 2017
Very friendly & helpful staff.
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 28, 2017
For the most part we enjoyed our stay. We reserved a tent site with water and electric hook ups and were placed into a sight with out either. We were allowed to move sites without any problem except that the site we picked as a tent sight had RV hook ups instead but was marked as a tent sight on the map. Overall, we'll probably be back soon. Thanks a bunch!!
Aug 28, 2017
Aug 27, 2017
Super nice and clean KOA campground. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were super clean and the grounds were well landscaped. Sites were not huge, but they were big enough and we really didn't hear any highway noise, thanks to the crickets and other nocturnal insects. The drive to the Smoky Mountains Sugarland Visitor center took longer than I thought it would.
Aug 27, 2017
Great location. Close to the interstate. Very friendly
Aug 26, 2017
Beautiful facility, staff very friendly and bathrooms very clean. The only problem we had was the one lane road into the campground. We had to unhook our tow car and back up because we met another camper leaving while we were arriving.
Aug 26, 2017
The campground is fairly primitive with a number of unlevel sites. The staff are friendly, the campground is clean, and the bathrooms and showers are in good order.
Aug 25, 2017
Very nice KOA personnel. They made you feel welcome. The campground needs a little work and needs cleaned up a bit. Permanent residents are all over the park and needs to be in one location on the side of the campground. Overall the campground is in a good location. The sites are all gravel and somewhat level. It's close to dining and.shopping.
Aug 25, 2017
As usual, we enjoyed our stay at the Newport KOA very much! This time we brought our two-year-old grandson with us. He loved the pool and he loved the playground! He also loved the waterfall and goldfish pond in front of the office The bathrooms and showers are always clean and the staff are always courteous and friendly. We will definitely be back!
Aug 24, 2017
Staff is very nice and helpful I just wouldn't stay in a cabin here again. We found bedbugs in the beds after getting bitten all night.If it wasn't for that I'd give the campground a 4 star rating, and the bathrooms good use a good update/clean as far as shower curtains and mats go. We usually stay at Koas over other parks because they are maintained better than others. Love the gift shop.
Aug 24, 2017
Entry road is too small for class A use. Park is find for small units or tenting.
Aug 23, 2017
Friendly staff Clean bathrooms and pool Close to Smoky Mountains, PigeonForge,Gaitlinburg, Dollywood. Nice mountainside setting with shade trees My third visit and I will be back
Aug 23, 2017
Traffic noise, The sanitary area (esp. showers) not so clean. The rest o.k.
Aug 22, 2017
KOA ok. Tight access roads, utilities worked fine, wifi excluded, that didn't work. Had to use a cable converter box to hook up cable. Strange and didn't work on my system but was only staying one night. Staff was courteous and tried to be helpful. Lots of night highway noise. Stayed in a motorhome.
Aug 22, 2017
We were looking forward to our 1st stay at a KOA, but left disappointed. Our map & location wasn't waiting for us the night we got there. Perhaps someone else took it, but there was no one set up in our campsite # the next morning. We asked to move to a flatter site and the water was never turned on and there was a bright street light that shined on our tents and made sleep difficult.
Aug 22, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
People friendly. Nice & quiet.
Aug 18, 2017
Neighbors okay but a little more nosy than would have been preferred. Overall though, a nice location.
Aug 18, 2017
good for an overnight stay. clean restrooms and laundry. Site was too short for us to pull through and leave our car hooked up. nice campfire. grocery store close by.
Aug 18, 2017
Aug 18, 2017
Campground past its prime. Tight turns in the park. Site infrastructure needs attention, posts supporting water faucets and cable connection are rotten. Had to get a shovel to uncover my sewer connection. Horrible entry/egress road. There is a lengthy one lane road; if two rigs meet each other, a tricky backing challenge to resolve the issue. There are lots of old/abandoned campers throughout park
Aug 17, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights on a trip to the west from the east. located near I 40 easy on and off. I have a 36 " motorhome. Roads inside the park were very narrow requiring some coach back and forth maneuvering on tight turns to get to our parking spot. Staff were all very friendly. Their are many trees limiting satellite service. they do have excellent cable at no charge just ask for a converter box.
Aug 17, 2017
Aug 16, 2017
Nice little campground nestled back in a wooded area. Pull through site had a clear sky for satellite reception. Easy in and out. We came in and left during rain and unfortunately there were several low tree branches on the access road and the campground.
Aug 15, 2017
Really nice and pleasant team! Thanks a lot
Aug 15, 2017
very friendly and they worked hard to get the digital cable TV working for us
Aug 15, 2017
Aug 14, 2017
We were only there for an overnight stay while traveling but found a clean campground with a pull-thru spot as promised when we reserved it. Pleased!
Aug 14, 2017
We just stayed overnight, but it seemed to be a very well kept KOA. The pad was good size but was gravel. Lots of trees - beware there are some low lying branches. They have a small, but interesting shop. The people we interacted with were friendly.
Aug 14, 2017
The bathrooms were clean. The campsite was well kept. There was enough lighting to walk to the bathroom at night but not so bright it bothered us to sleep. Very nice, we will be back.
Aug 13, 2017
Love the online reservation and kamping Kabin. And the night registration was very convenient. We did have an incident where a drunken campground guest would not leave our site but he did not pose any danger- just uncomfortable inconvenience.
Aug 10, 2017
Staff very nice, roads tight for big rigs and electric service weak, only able run one a/c in middle of day.
Aug 09, 2017
Only stayed one night, but would not make it a base camp. Rough entry. Check-in fine. Lady at desk nice. Gravel roads need work. Tree limbs need cutting. Was placed in the back area where a lot of older RV's have been neglected. Good WIFI. If you watch any TV at all , you will need a "box"; need to up grade their cable. Not up to standards of other KOA's we have stayed at.
Aug 08, 2017
Very clean and friendly KOA. Recommended
Aug 08, 2017
clean pool, small quiet little campground
Aug 07, 2017
Aug 06, 2017
The staff was friendly and helpful. Sites are terribly uneven. Not a flat site in the place. Nice pool and laundry facilities. When it came time to flush out black tank the pipe in the ground was backed up. So we paid for sewer we could not use.
Aug 06, 2017
Had a break down in our RV. They held our site for a late arrival and when we didn't make it, they applied it to the next night when we arrived,
Aug 05, 2017
I tent camped for one night. There seem to be plenty of grass for spots but instead they had my spot on gravel. Luckily I brought an air mattress. The fwy was very close and I could hear it all night long. The price was right though.
Aug 05, 2017
Sites spaced way too close together. Layout os sites not as organized as other KOAs.
Aug 04, 2017
This KOA was way too cramped. Sites are VERY close together (compared to other KOAs) and the roar of the Interstate kept us up at night. Playground for kids was ok and pool seemed nice and clean although quite small.
Aug 03, 2017
FHU, Cable & wifi worked good. Pool & play areas looked well kept. PT site 23 plenty long for our 42 ft MH towing. Welcoming hosts & easy checkin. Road in narrow glad we didn't pass another unit. The grassy area w/table by our site very uneven, with some deeper ruts/holes.
Aug 03, 2017
Friendly people, we had a great night here.
Aug 02, 2017
Aug 02, 2017
We have not been here in years, the last time we were here was a few years ago & it still looks the same,we will be back here for sure.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy