Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

Info: 423-623-9004

Email

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Apr 17, 2018
Super clean showers and restrooms.
Apr 17, 2018
The road in was a mess. The park looked like it had not had maintenance in years. Would never stay here again.
Apr 16, 2018
I paid for water at my site, but the water spot was not connected to any water. There was no place to put my tent aside from on tree roots. The other lots were empty and better, yet I'm stuck with one that doesn't work. I will not be returning to camp here.
Apr 10, 2018
Apr 10, 2018
Apr 09, 2018
Great people and cozy accommodations (cabin). Convenient to I-40.
Apr 07, 2018
We're in a big rig, was very tight getting onto site. The cablevision was terrible, could only recieve 1 channel, asked a neighbor, said a box was needed to get cablevision. Although we arived after offie closed, we were not told of this info. Due to conditions there, could not recieve reception with antennea or satellite. Thank goodness we were just passing thru and were only there for 1 night.
Apr 06, 2018
The number of signs about trespassers and “registered guests only” was a bit unnerving. I don’t think signs prevent trespassing, they just make guests wonder what’s going on. Consider a security guard instead? The playground was a bit rundown, but the kids didn’t seem to mind a bit. The cabin site and service was great.
Apr 02, 2018
Stayed here for the night on the way home to Pennsylvania after visiting Dollywood. Cabin was clean and owners were very nice.
Apr 01, 2018
I have stayed here many times since about 2007, but was really disappointed in that the person couldn't properly make my reservation. In frustration hung up, and just made it online. Then when I got there my reservation couldn't be found and that was because I was checked in and out as if I had already been there. No longer pet friendly since there is the threat of animal control being called.
Apr 01, 2018
will not recommend due to bedbugs. It has been very traumatic to have to deal with this and don't think it is a reputation that KOA would like. Had to wash and dry all of our clothes, freeze our suitcases, purses etc that don't go in the washer. Bad scenario.
Mar 28, 2018
Mar 27, 2018
Tried to cancel this reservation for several weeks. Tried email, calling which went to a voice mail . I could never get in contact with anyone. I would advise to be careful on making a reservation at this KOA if you need to make any changes or cancel. I love KOA campgrounds, and was terribly disappointed in receiving a response from anyone for the help I needed.
Mar 27, 2018
I was a late arrival due to traffic and my packet was ready. The water lines were insulated well because they were expecting a freeze. My site number sign was buried under 3 inches of insulation but I figured it out. I was shocked awake by 4 falling branches during the night that sounded like bombs dropping from 40 feet. Burt was nice and papa John delivers so all is well in the world.
Mar 27, 2018
I stayed in a cabin. It was clean. The toilet/shower facilities were ok. The water pressure was good, but they need something besides the accordion doors on the showers. The number of signs saying if you do something you will be fined was off-putting.
Mar 26, 2018
They need to add more gravel so campers are not walking around in mud!
Mar 25, 2018
Easy off & on I-40, nice staff!
Mar 20, 2018
I called prior to arriving and advised I would be late, was told to take a map from the late arrival box. The only map was for site 40 which was up quite a hill for a 40 Ft Motor home towing a car. I also was unable to use cable TV because a box was needed from the office which was closed.
Mar 19, 2018
Site was a pull thru it was perfect for my camper.
Mar 13, 2018
Very disappointed with this KOA. Cabin was very stuffy and full of cobwebs.
Mar 06, 2018
Just a stopover, but easy on and off the interstate and a nicely secluded campground
Mar 05, 2018
A KOA representative should contact me regarding our stay as these statements may be damaging to future business.
Mar 01, 2018
Feb 28, 2018
Feb 24, 2018
Feb 22, 2018
Feb 21, 2018
Feb 15, 2018
I got there after hours & took a listed open site, but when I went to it, a car was parked in it. So I selected another site -- eventhough it said "no water". I spoke with the manager and said that was OK if I could use the laundry for water. He said it was closed this time of year. I said OK, but could I get a discount on the site. He said OK. But had to make several calls to get bill corrected.
Feb 14, 2018
Feb 14, 2018
Feb 12, 2018
Feb 07, 2018
This is our third stay each time is more pleasant
Jan 30, 2018
we stayed in a cabin for 2 nights and really enjoyed our stay. the cabin was so clean it looked like new. bathrooms and shower house was extremely clean no matter what time we went in there. nice, quiet and relaxing. campground is very nice and once again, clean and neat looking. the staff were friendly and very welcoming. we will be back
Jan 17, 2018
We were just passing through on our way to FL. Very friendly staff. Would stay here again.
Jan 08, 2018
I was in one of the 2 room cabins with the half bath. It was extremely disappointing to discover when I first saw the inside of the cabin that it did NOT come with hot water. It didn't say anything on the website about these cabins not having hot water. When you see it comes with a half bath, you automatically assume it will have HOT water. This was not the case. It should be noted online.
Dec 30, 2017
Dec 27, 2017
We loved the campground and the staff. They were very friendly and were able to help us with our stay.
Dec 19, 2017
Dec 18, 2017
Dec 18, 2017
I won't be staying here again. Pretty rough for a KOA. We stay at KOA's all over the east coast and this one was definitely below par. Rude office lady, she insisted we owed tax on the bill even though we paid with c card on KOA's reservation site (the bill included $4.12 tax) but she charged us $4.07 more. I finally proved we had a receipt and she refunded the tax. Guy there was very helpful
Dec 08, 2017
Very friendly
Dec 04, 2017
Nov 29, 2017
Nov 27, 2017
The staff was very friendly and helpful when needed. The restrooms were always immaculate. We like the fact that it is a smaller KOA not a huge one like some of the ones we have stayed at. The cabin we stayed in worked perfect for us. Would definitely stay there again.
Nov 27, 2017
We stayed in the off season but found that they were so helpful and kind as we are new to camping. We enjoyed our stay there.
Nov 27, 2017
Great site, staff were great. We enjoyed staying here.
Nov 25, 2017
The folks there seemed nice but we reserved a 50amp site but were put on 30amp site. We arrived late and there was no one around to discuss this with so I had to talk it. The staff said I was only charged for a 30amp site and it had to be some issue with the online reservation system. Regardless, I didn’t get the 50amp site I had reserved I confined my reservation said 50amp site as well.

CAMPGROUND RESPONSE / COMMENTS:

Am so sorry for your inconvenience. The next time you pass thru please let us know so that we can accommodate you. Staff Smokey Mountain KOA
Nov 22, 2017
Some very beautiful country. Nice staff. Good stay
Nov 20, 2017
STAFF VERY FRIENDLY & ACCOMODATING. FACILITIES WERE CLEAN AND WELL KEPT.
Nov 15, 2017
1st time to the area, staff was very friendly and courteous. Bathrooms were very clean. Campground very close to highway, this was off season so the pool was closed and no activity on the grounds. A lot of permanent residents living there. Not much at all for entertainment in the city of Newport. Pigeon Forge about 45 minutes away along with Gatlinburg.
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals