Newport / I-40 / Smoky Mountains KOA

Open All Year

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Reserve: 800-562-9016

Info: 423-623-9004

Info: 423-623-9004

Email This Campground

240 KOA Lane

Newport, TN 37821

Get Directions

All Sites

Check-in: 2:00 pm, Check-out: 11:00 am

Camper Rating 4 out of 5

Based on 1000 Reviews

Campground Reviews

Jun 21, 2018
Great campground. Nice, big pull through sites for our 41' 5th wheel. I rated it 3 stars because the online price of $43 said it was for up to 8 people, but then I was charged $3 per child.
Jun 20, 2018
Newport KOA is an acceptable campground for an overnight stay. Since it is an overnight stay you cannot expect much in the way of amenities. Limited TV and difficulty in accessing the internet.
Jun 19, 2018
Jun 18, 2018
WE enjoyed our stay there,thanks for letting us park our extra trailers there.The kids really enjoyed the pool also.
Jun 18, 2018
Due to the size of our unit and the fact we were towing we felt uncomfortable with the location of this campground. Roads very narrow. Staff however was friendly and helpful with our needs.
Jun 18, 2018
Love this place!!
Jun 18, 2018
A great place to stop for overnight stay convenient off i40
Jun 18, 2018
Older facility. All the basics are there and staff is friendly. Good stop for one night on a longer journey or a base to visit the Cosby section of the Smokies.
Jun 18, 2018
We spent only one night here but it was not enjoyable. The pool was supposed to be closed at 800, however an employee and a friend of his were swimming and being rowdy until 1130. We saw one person throw a chair into the pool. We did tell the owner the next day who seemed surprised. Site was also noisy from trains. Won’t go back.
Jun 17, 2018
The management was great and campground was very nice - easy to setup in level sites. The physical location is next to the busy interstate and was loud enough to be annoying.
Jun 17, 2018
Pet area all stone. Smells of urine. Fri. night KOA employee & Friend in the pool at 10-1030 at night doing "shots", then tore down the campground road in cart with no lights on around midnight. They rent the pool and pavilion to the public, so Sat. at noon entrance road filled with cars and tons of people at pool and pavilion. Park was about 40% full so not campers. We left. will not return.
Jun 16, 2018
Jun 16, 2018
Jun 16, 2018
Cable didn’t work A bit close to neighbor and hard to get out
Jun 15, 2018
tuff to to and tuff tonget around - tiny bridge to cross Pleanty of Ms Skitos. Cable didn't work - ? needed a "box" but office was closed at 5:30 and open at 0800- we ETD 0639
Jun 13, 2018
Nice clean campground. Only stayed one night while traveling thru area but it was a good stop. Friendly staff
Jun 12, 2018
Jun 12, 2018
Upon arrival at the park and after parking our motorhome we were notified by a neighboring RV owner the park did not have any electricity. The man at the desk was aware of the problem, accepted our money and told us where our site was located. We ask the desk clerk about the issue and he said there was nothing he could do late on Saturday afternoon. We found another park.
Jun 11, 2018
The staff were very friendly and helpful, but this would not be a destination campground for us. The sites were too close together. The basketball goal was apparently rusted out and lying on the ground.
Jun 11, 2018
Access and sites were tight, but the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Jun 11, 2018
Quick stop just to sleep on our way to Myrtle Beach. Staff made sure to have late arrival info out for us, and were pleasent to deal with at check out in morning. Didn't spend much time here, but appeared clean and maintained in the light.
Jun 11, 2018
Campground was very quiet and clean. I will be coming back.
Jun 10, 2018
Very nice
Jun 10, 2018
The cabin we stayed at was typical except little carpet black jumping bugs ALL OVER. (Not coachroaches or bedbugs). Not too surprising for camping, but I believe they were in the pads we laid on that were in the cabin. The playground and pool were nice. The place was by a highway, but I didn’t think the noise was bad.
Jun 10, 2018
Great KOA, I will be returning soon. We loved our stay.
Jun 08, 2018
a VERY QUIET, CLEAN AND WELL MAINTAINED FACILITY
Jun 07, 2018
Jun 06, 2018
The reviews were really bad and I was really worried about staying but we decided to give it a shot. The cabin was clean and very nice. The owners were very polite and kind. The “security guard” was rude to myself and others in our party multiple times. It was a nice place to stay, away from all of the touristy areas, but still close enough. They allowed our dogs which was a deciding factor.
Jun 06, 2018
Great place to stay, but the only issue is that sometimes you can here the traffic from I-40.
Jun 05, 2018
Friendly staff, clean bathrooms, peaceful and inviting
Jun 04, 2018
The pool was so inviting; it was sparkling clean and being enjoyed by families!
Jun 03, 2018
Nice clean and quite
May 30, 2018
The cabins are not as nice as they are at some other KOA's. This KOA only offers tiny cabins with a half bath. The mattress was completely unacceptable-sleeping on the ground would have been preferable. On the plus side the restrooms were clean and the staff friendly I do not think I will be staying at this KOA again.
May 29, 2018
May 29, 2018
May 28, 2018
Poison ivy in the campsite, disgusting bathrooms, swimming pool open to the public, and loud highway traffic, but the employees were mostly helpful.
May 28, 2018
Nice and quite easy to get to.
May 28, 2018
Bathroom dirty. Sewer did not work.
May 23, 2018
The bathrooms were very clean, but most of the sites appeared to be long term residents and the sites were not kept up. Sites needed mowed and were very small.
May 23, 2018
We were allowed to change our campsite from the one initially assigned as we did not like the assigned site. The one we were given was perfect for us and our dachshunds! The laundry room and bathrooms were clean. We will return.
May 20, 2018
Campground have noise from road, interstate 40, could not sleep much.
May 20, 2018
May 20, 2018
Just an overnight stay between Cincinnati and home (Raleigh, NC), but quite pleased with the location and the shady setting. The manager was very friendly and helpful. We’re making reservations for our return in August.
May 18, 2018
May 15, 2018
May 15, 2018
The worst KOA I've been to. There site says level spots,their NOT,Hooking up,my rv rolled and fell off stand and broke one of my stablelizers. The manger could care less.This was booked 4 weeks in advance,so they knew we were coming,, The grass was high,not cut.The fire pit was not cleaned,full of trash and ashes.You have to hook up a cable box to your tv ,just to watch TV. I will not come back.
May 14, 2018
Excellent hosts. Clean and near. Recommend for a destination stop or while visiting the area.
May 14, 2018
WIFI didn't work, cable tv was some hokey system using a cable box. Fine for a house, sucked in the rv. Would not recommend to any one.
May 14, 2018
I got bitten by bed bugs in my cabin.
May 14, 2018
 

Reserve now or check dates

Feet

Do not include the length of your tow or pull vehicle.


Yes     No    

Yes     No     KOA Pet Policy
Campground Hot Deals