Campground Reviews

Aug 01, 2021
water from hydrate was green in color, let run for quite awhile and never cleared up. never ran water to the trailer for that reason. Only had one out of two showers working at the shower house. Bathroom function and cleanliness are important People were friendly and polite. camp ground was clean. lake was low, and looked like alot of moss. Nice trail and dog walk. We only stayed for one night
Jul 31, 2021
Manager was rude, disrespectful, and racist towards other campers. I’ve camped at the Muskegon several times, but will no longer camp there again. When I approached him regarding his behavior, he denied it. I heard him call out racist names to young children playing. My daughters, who speak Spanish, consoled the family that was the target of this man’s inappropriateness. Shame on you KOA!
Jul 31, 2021
Stay was perfect with the exception of nosy neighbors, just hanging out on our lot, with their dogs. Walked outside to find them just loitering on our site. Other than that, staff was friendly, cabin was clean and comfy, lake was refreshing.
Jul 31, 2021
Jul 30, 2021
The bathrooms were not cleaned. The shower was small ill designed. The beach area was full of weeds. I was told at 9pm I couldn’t wash clothes (not dry wash)because the laundry facilities were closed even though the sign stated 10 pm. I was told if I did start my clothes that the staff member was going to lock the facility and I wouldn’t get my clothes back until sometime the next day.
Jul 29, 2021
Was pretty much a dump that might need it's KOA status reviewed. Nothing stood out as even average. I think I managed to smell worse after my shower.
Jul 29, 2021
Jul 29, 2021
The koa in Muskegon is small,quite and has a nice walking trail around the pond. The pond isuntreated for weeds, has some paddle boats for use. The playground is nice for the kids. We thought it was a little strange the office/store closed at 7 & opened at 9 each day. Our Deluxe cabin didn’t have a tv and our grill was so old and rusty it sounded like popcorn rust was flying so we couldn’t use
Jul 29, 2021
This review has been removed by KOA due to profanity.
Jul 29, 2021
The water levels were crazy low. The fishing was great however and the cabin was clean and pleasent to stay in. Staff was nice and helpful. However other campers made the experience less than grand with how they treated the camp. The bathrooms got destroyed however staff was as quick as they could be to get things cleaned up and in working order.
Jul 28, 2021
I will start with the positive:shady spots, good fishing(catch&release)The bathrooms were dirty(open tiles in ceiling/walls insulation falling from ceiling.The worst part of this campground was the owner. He was very rude and not helpful. His sarcasm was not funny. He was shaking a tip jar for the man doing a fire show. Insisting on giving him a tip or you could leave. The wifi was unusably slow.
Jul 27, 2021
Jul 27, 2021
Jul 27, 2021
Good campground, fun fishing and kids area with bouncing pillow. Just missing the slide in the water.
Jul 27, 2021
Will plan better for the little biting black flies.
Jul 27, 2021
Jul 26, 2021
Just disappointed they really don’t have a water slide. Also showers are insanely small.
Jul 26, 2021
Small campground which is nice. Owner is probably the rudest most miserable person that I have ever encountered. He is the only reason we will not be back.
Jul 26, 2021
We’ve stayed here for twenty years with a group of friends. We specifically asked for a site by our group, as always. We arrived to find a stranger camping in that site. Steve, the owner, was rude (typical). He made us camp in another site and move to the site we registered for the next day. Steve only cares about making money & said “tell somebody who cares” to our friends when their gas ra
Jul 26, 2021
Jul 26, 2021
The location to several attractions in the area and the beauty of the private lake are this KOA's greatest assets. The tent site, while adequate, did not provide any noise or visual separation from my neighbors. While this is typical of this style of combination RV/Tent park, I prefer parks which cater to a more rustic and private tent-camping experience. I would rent a cabin next time instead.
Jul 26, 2021
Was an amazing peaceful stay! We’ll definitely be going back next year!
Jul 26, 2021
Jul 26, 2021
We enjoyed our stay but didn't realize it was so close to the interstate so it was a little noisy. Also, I need to use the ladies handicap bathroom stall and it didn't have grab bars which made it difficult. We did like being close to the Muskegon State Park.
Jul 25, 2021
Great playground & tons of fish. Everyone had a great time. The men’s restroom leaves a bit to be desired.
Jul 25, 2021
Todo estuvo. Súper bien. Muy limpio el lugar todo bien ordenado �
Jul 24, 2021
Jul 24, 2021
Jul 24, 2021
The guy that operates this KOA is extremely rude and very unprofessional. Definitely didn’t give a welcome feeling at all. They advertise stuff they don’t have. For example, inflatable water slides and banana bikes. Bathrooms were always filthy with no paper towels to dry your hands off. They complained I was driving to fast at 5mph, when I saw their workers driving at least 15-20 mph. Don’t
Jul 24, 2021
It was cleN. Queit and peaceful
Jul 23, 2021
I got yelled at for driving my car through the campground. The owner told me that you dont drive in campgrounds...you walk. Then when I went to back my car up he yelled at me for that too. He told me there could be kids behind me. Umm, duh. I wouldn't let my worst enemy swim in the nasty lake and there was no hot water in the main bathroom. It was so far from what I was expecting from a KOA.
Jul 23, 2021
We have stayed at many koa's and this one does not have as many amenities. The trail was nice but the pond needs to be dredged. The deluxe cabin was smaller then we have had at other locations. The initial interaction with the manger almost had us cancel out stay. Probably would not return but we will stay loyal to KOA for camping at other locations.
Jul 23, 2021
Wonderful time. Owner made sure kids were safe and following the rules at the local kid 'hot spot- aka the bounce pillow'. Staff all pleasant and took care of things.
Jul 23, 2021
Peaceful, safe and clean sites
Jul 23, 2021
The campground was pretty and clean. However, the rules were not enforced. Our neighbors played music until 1 am. The last night there, someone showed up at 3 am and set up a tent with some other people. It made it hard to sleep. But the facilities were nice.
Jul 22, 2021
The showers were always dirty and had hair all over the walls.
Jul 22, 2021
Cabin in the woods was lovely! Jumping pillow and playground are great additions. However, the “lake” is more of a pond and was too dirty for my children to swim in. Also, no inflatable waterslide to be found. The bathrooms were dirty, staff at front desk was rude and sexist. Not likely to return.
Jul 22, 2021
Rude staff, cramped camp grounds, disgusting pond, not well kept.
Jul 21, 2021
It was nice. We wanted to come to this campground because of the blow up slides in the lake but they were not up. It was a nice campground other than that
Jul 21, 2021
Cabins were very nice and clean and lots to do for the kids. A bit disappointed that the water slide was not there and water is far from being clear(as advertised on your site). Employees and other campers were all very nice.
Jul 20, 2021
It was ok, our nice neighbor had to move as the 30 amp electric was it working, owner gave camper a really hard time, telling her that they are wasting his time to look at it, when in fact it was defective. She had to pack up all of her site and move to another site, this camper was inconvenienced, not the owner.
Jul 19, 2021
Kids loved the campground. Staff was friendly. Little bummed that water inflatables slides weren’t at lake . Other than that it was enjoyable.
Jul 19, 2021
The staff was helpful. The sites were level, but dusty/dirt. Gravel would have been nice. The park had trees so shade was plentiful.
Jul 19, 2021
Jul 19, 2021
Very rude people that run the show. Dirty floors in cabin.
Jul 19, 2021
Nice campground, activities for kids, general store has most things. Staff was very helpful!
Jul 17, 2021
I booked a KOA with the impression that it would be more kid friendly and have structured activities. Muskegon KOA has no structured activity. The lake is so weedy that unless you’re standing in ankle deep water at the sand car, then you’re swimming in weeds. The inflatable slides were not there, as advertised on the website. Of course there’s the playground and jumping pillow but that gets
Jul 17, 2021
Too close to highway and water smelled rusty. Did not drink water. Showered but it smelled bad Nice tree coverage but not worth the price.
Jul 16, 2021
We had a nice stay, but was bothered by people walking through our site. We were very disappointed in the fire pit we had at Cabin 4. That pit is not good for campfires. The fire pits at the tent sites were way nicer than the cabin's fire pits. That was the main thing we didn't care for, but we had a nice time there. We really enjoyed the fireworks on the 4th. That was a nice surprise!
Jul 16, 2021
The fishing was great and renting kayaks was cheap & fun. HOWEVER, the shower houses had no hot water. The bathrooms were not clean. There was not a waterslide as advertised and the swimming area had many weeds. We requested a late check out because my husband was sick & they wanted to charge us for a 1/2 day even though the campground was almost empty. Overall we were disappointed.
Oct 16, 2021
Nice and quiet, lake was beautiful and calm.
- Brenda Pack on Google
Sep 24, 2021
Friendly people who own and also the workers. Clean and pick up the trash no matter what time it is.
- Al Zemola on Google
Sep 24, 2021
Nice KOA, easy to access from highway and good size twin lakes for kids. The jumping pillow is a nice feature.
- Anthony S on Google