Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA Reviews

Explore Yellowstone from the perfect base camp!

RV Reviews

Sep 04, 2019
Peaceful and lovely setting. Great staff. Great pizza�
Sep 04, 2019
Beautiful park and host were great.
Sep 04, 2019
Easy access to West Yellowstone and the park entrance. Clean and sites fairly level. Would suggest Firehole BBQ as a food destination in West Yellowstone. Very good, but they sell out relatively quickly.
Sep 04, 2019
This was our 2nd yr staying here. This place is awesome. It has great showers and bathroom combos. Staff are very friendly
Sep 04, 2019
Site was more grass than gravel, more of a pasture. the site next to us had gravel. Site was pretty level. We were on our own to get to the site. Staff was friendly at check in. It was very convenient to Yellowstone.
Sep 03, 2019
Site not even level. Sewer higher than rv outlets. Crap doesn’t go uphill! Site Needs to be raised several inches, leveled with new gravel. Price to value sucks. Facility nothing special compared to other KOA locations, and price is a rip off. DONT STAY HERE! Try the other KOA down the road. Nicer with shaded sites. VERY disappointed in facility for price paid. Expected much more.
Sep 03, 2019
Very friendly and helpful people at the Koa A great place to stay level sites and very convenient for Yellowstone National Park would stay there again if I’m in the area
Sep 03, 2019
Convenient location to West Yellowstone, Good pizza, Friendly staff. Dog area too small and next to dump station.
Sep 03, 2019
Sites need improvements
Sep 03, 2019
Sep 03, 2019
Clean. Friendly. Nice. Only thing I would add is a pool.
Sep 02, 2019
Loved our stay Mountainside, MT. Great location just before West Yellowstone! We stayed 5 days. Not a ton of amenities, but we were there for Yellowstone. We’ll be back for sure with friends!
Sep 02, 2019
Spent 2 nights at this KOA. We liked our location (5 star rating) in the KOA and convenience to Yellowstone. This KOA was a little pricey for the amenities offered. The fishing ponds were not really fishing ponds and full of bugs. We enjoyed the pizza at the onsite restaraunt.
Sep 02, 2019
We were rushed in seeing the park so got in late both nights. But would have been great because we had plenty of space and a table and a fireplace!!!!! We were just to busy to use your site fully !thank you for the clean toilets- showers
Sep 01, 2019
Sep 01, 2019
Great site if you can’t get closer to the park. Note that the sewage drain is set high so dumping was difficult.
Aug 31, 2019
Enjoyed staying there. Staff very friendly. Shower facilities were the best off all our KOA stays.
Aug 30, 2019
Good proximity to the West entrance to Yellowstone. Friendly, helpful staff. Showers were clean. Nice laundry room. Quiet RV park. There was even a place to order pizza in the parks store.
Aug 30, 2019
Nice Base camp for exploring Yellowstone and more.
Aug 30, 2019
One of the best KOA’s we have stayed at. Quiet all day and great hiking, boating extremely close. We will be back soon
Aug 30, 2019
Great! Very clean, super quiet and fabulous view. Very friendly. We are traveling the country at KOA’s. This one is very nice.
Aug 30, 2019
Nice wide sites although not very level. Easy close access to the Yellowstone West Gate. Staff was friendly. Did not use bathrooms. Mosquitos were out in evening. Good pizza on site. Cell service for Verizon was fine.
Aug 30, 2019
Aug 29, 2019
Aug 29, 2019
Park was nice enough, but location a little too far out of West Yellowstone
Aug 29, 2019
Aug 28, 2019
Location to Yellowstone National Park is great. Parking spaces were wide and level. Had good places to walk our dogs.
Aug 28, 2019
Was disappointed that all my hookups were up hill, and had to use extra cords and hoses to hookups.
Aug 28, 2019
Our site was level with reasonable room between the sites. Campgrounds were clean and well kept. My only issue was the bathrooms. They were up to date, but the floors and tops of the showers just need a good mopping or power washing to deserve a 5 star. Other than that, the staff was great with a good location from W.Yellowstone. Thanks.
Aug 28, 2019
A great, newer KOA. The same friendly, helpful service you expect (thanks, Earline!), with super clean combination restroom/showers, but the best truly homemade pizza ever! Off the highway enough to be quiet, with rivers and ponds, but close enough to West Yellowstone to be convenient. We'd definitely stay here again!!
Aug 27, 2019
Very nice campground and easy drive to Yellowstone NP. Laundry room was super nice. Staff were helpful and friendly.
Aug 27, 2019
Good amenities and clean park.
Aug 27, 2019
This park is a little rustic for the price. All gravel, the space we stayed was not very level, but was able to block up to be level. The people working were friendly and helpful.
Aug 26, 2019
Park was clean and the staff was very helpful!
Aug 25, 2019
Nice place and friendly staff.
Aug 25, 2019
Fabulous, clean, and the customer service is outstanding!
Aug 25, 2019
We will be back!
Aug 25, 2019
Aug 24, 2019
Very expensive for full hookups. Pull through spots need upgrading they're just out in the open with somewhat grassy/ gravel pads and it They more tree shaded areas and privacy between sites. Staff friendly but brief.
Aug 22, 2019
Beautiful location. Close to town but a quiet place. Well taken care of. Lots of space between sites. Pizza was awesome!
Aug 22, 2019
Sites are larger than most of the KOAs we’ve stayed in. Very dog friendly throughout camp area. Lots of area for dog walking and biking for kids. Laundry and bathrooms kept clean. Friendly staff.
Aug 22, 2019
Water turned off in showers without warning. I had just lathered up my hair. Was not happy!
Aug 21, 2019
Very much enjoyed my stay and the people who operate this KOA.
Aug 21, 2019
Mosquitoes were really bad otherwise it was relatively nice although our site had a little stream bed running through it and it was a little difficult to position the rv over so when we stepped out of the trailer we wouldn’t stumble over that spot
Aug 20, 2019
RV site very uneven and soggy the water runs right through the middle of site. Also because of the site hard to connect to sewer because it was higher than RV when I was finally able to level it. I have never had to adjust my sewage line so much and use blocks to get the RV level. Paid for Premium RV site and well it was far from premium. The front desk was pleasant
Aug 20, 2019
Big rig friendly, long, level full hookup sites. Hiking trails. Outside of West Yellowstone activity but reasonably close to access the park.
Aug 20, 2019
The 2 sites I reserved were about as unlevel as any dry camping I've ever done. The utilities were so spread out that by the time I found a semi-level place, I couldn't use the sewer and had to get an extension cord and 2 hoses. The people were really nice except for the one kid that had about as much personality as a napkin dispenser. I've stayed before on the other side and it was ok but no shad
Aug 19, 2019
Aug 19, 2019
Was very nice except for the mosquitos , attendants were friendly, bath and laundry was well maintained, grounds nice and good distance to yellowstone.
Aug 19, 2019
Oct 26, 2019
Great place to camp outside of West Yellowstone. Second KOA going west
- Clayton Jenkins on Google
Oct 20, 2019
We go to Yellowstone every September and we have stayed here for the past three years. It's always clean, the staff is very friendly and the office/giftshop has a good variety of stuff. The man at the office even lent us a tool we needed, that kind of hospitality is the main reason we stay here. They also have a nice play area for kids and a nice fenced off dog area. This KOA is beautiful year round!
- Jessica Nielson on Google
Nov 01, 2019
We stayed in one of the deluxe cabins in Sept 2019. We were running a little late and weren't going to make the 9 pm check in so we called and the manager was more than willing to wait for us. We arrived around 9:15 pm. He was very polite and courteous. The cabin was spotless and we couldn't wait to rest for the night. The beds were comfortable (I slept in the top bunk) more than met our needs. We have stayed at many KOA's on our travels and this was one of the best. The only little complaint was the numbering to the cabins is hard to see in the dark. Other than that it was excellent. I have never seen a shower area like this place has. You enter a building with a heated floor and each person has their own room and shower. Very Nice! I would recommend this to anyone traveling through the area.
- R S on Trip Advisor

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.