Yellowstone Park / Mountainside KOA Reviews

Explore Yellowstone from the perfect base camp!

  • There was an error gathering form errors.

RV Reviews

Jul 01, 2020
The campsites were terrible! There were some traces of rock to set your RV on. The picnic table was splintering and leaning. The weed ground wasn't even trimmed in the 7 days we were there. The worst KOA of any we've stayed at over the years!!! We had much better for $20-40 less a night, with full hookups, on our 3 week trip. Great showers/restrooms and laundry though. Very disappointing.
Jul 01, 2020
Jul 01, 2020
Jul 01, 2020
Nice campground, great bathrooms. Area needs paved as muddy after rain.
Jun 30, 2020
was expecting more, our first time at a koa and seemed like a lot of money for 0 amenities and far from entrance to Yellowstone. We paid the same amount at the West Glacier koa and were thoroughly impressed. Did not know there were different levels of koa. West Yellowstone is way to high for what it is, will not go there again.
Jun 30, 2020
It was the first KOA on this trip we stopped at that WiFi actually worked. You pay a little extra for KOA you would think the WiFi should be better
Jun 30, 2020
The staff was very nice! They bathrooms were great they are individual shower/bathrooms, the staff did a great job keeping them clean and sanitized. Easy drive to get to Yellowstone. Wish there were activities for the kids to do at the campground. There was a small playground but really that was it.
Jun 29, 2020
Great experience. Despite the current situation with the Pandemic, Very helpful staff. Everything ran smoothly. This KOA is an excellent location for West Yellowstone entry. Family really enjoyed the environment.
Jun 29, 2020
Awesome!!! The folks there were the best. Hope we do that area again we will be staying there again.
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 29, 2020
Jun 28, 2020
This is a very lovely campground and they have a nice store. However, the website says there are tour shuttles. When I asked about them, the manager acted like I was crazy. It is a nice place to stay, but remember, if you do not have another vehicle, there are NO tour shuttles, regardless of what the website says, and they are 7 miles outside of town. Plan accordingly. Otherwise, great place!
Jun 28, 2020
Jun 28, 2020
We stayed in space #1... I personally think it had some of the best sunset views in the camp ground overlooking a wide open field. It is unfortunate that the overflow of flat bed trailers and such scattered the lawn due to it being the edge of the spaces. All the facilities were very clean. It's also just a short drive to the West entrance of Yellowstone
Jun 28, 2020
Nice park, spots need to be better maintained grass and full bloom dandelions, perhaps more gravel in spots to make better leveling, but would visit again, spacious spots
Jun 28, 2020
Jun 28, 2020
Easy and lovely!
Jun 27, 2020
The koa was great. Nice facilities with plenty of space and private bathroom area. My only con is that even though it’s close to Yellowstone it was a far drive from the area we spent most of our time. Also, bathrooms had a ton of space but floors needed to be cleaned up more often.
Jun 27, 2020
Friendly service, great site, and great location.
Jun 27, 2020
Lots need paving
Jun 27, 2020
Facilities were nice but it was way to pricey. It was the only thing available.
Jun 26, 2020
Great place. Staff was very friendly and the amenities were top notch. Laundry area was spotless. Highly recommend.
Jun 26, 2020
We arrived at closing time and the staff were so kind. They still helped us and hot us to our site.
Jun 25, 2020
Lou was awesome! We had a problem with our camper and he was able to get us able to limp along until we got home. Staff was friendly and happy to help with what we needed.
Jun 25, 2020
Jun 25, 2020
The campground staff was very attentive and there is a lot of room. I was at one of the newer back-in sites by the creek and we loved it! There was no one behind us and it was very quite - close to the restrooms, but not too far away!
Jun 25, 2020
Jun 25, 2020
Very helpful staff, nice store
Jun 23, 2020
Other than weather that was beyond anyone's control, our stay at the campground was excellent. Staff was attentive, without being overbearing and helpful. Any concerns were addressed immediately and more importantly, pleasantly.
Jun 23, 2020
We had a nice time. Staff and other RVer's were really friendly. Nice place to visit.
Jun 23, 2020
THE BEST SHOWERS EVER. ROOMY SITES.
Jun 23, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
Jun 22, 2020
Nice setting. Rain every day during our stay confirmed insufficient gravel on lots and roads. Given no cable service (we understood this when we made the reservation) and poor WiFi, I feel the $86 discounted rate is too high. Probably will not stay at this park again.
Jun 22, 2020
Millions of trees in MT but almost none at this site. Internet is terrible. I would look elsewhere.
Jun 22, 2020
Stayed one night. Tent site. It’s about 10 minute drive back into town. Plenty of space between other tents. Ground was level to minimal slope. Bathrooms/showers were clean in evening but dirty in morning as it rained overnight. Teen son complain the WiFi was “weak”. LOL.
Jun 22, 2020
The mountainside KOAs bathrooms were pretty clean, spots are close together and no privacy. Not a lot to do at the park. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great spot for a quick night. Not the beat for multiple nights.
Jun 22, 2020
The worst KOA I’ve ever stayed at. Sites were right on top of each other, no gravel at our site. Just a muddy pot hole filled mess. The roads were muddy messes that haven’t seen gravel in years and some were complete mud bogs. Grass was spotty and weed filled. Wanted to stay 2 nights but left after 1 night. Definitely needs some sprucing up. Staff was friendly and helpful however.
Jun 20, 2020
The children riding bikes screaming and howling like coyotes until 10 pm every night was not tolerable. I have been camping and never experienced to level of noise at this campground. Children are usually at campsite supervised by their parents not running amok like banshees. Being told we needed to purchase an additional 25 ft house because out trailer was too long???
Jun 19, 2020
Jun 19, 2020
The park and sites were awful. Our site had broken concrete that made for a severe tripping hazard, no gravel where our RV parked which caused our leveling jacks to sink into the ground in the grass and mud. Our picnic table was broken. The park was not maintained with low tree branches near roads with large rocks and huge potholes. To pay $102 a night for this KOA was extremely disappointing!
Jun 19, 2020
Excellent location for visiting Yellowstone, and very pleasant park setting.
Jun 18, 2020
We had a fabulous time at Yellowstone. The camp grounds were clean a lot of room at our site. We were greeted with smiles and help at all questions we asked.
Jun 18, 2020
Was there in a storm and had a power surge, thankfully our surge protector saved our rv, but had to replace the protector for $150 because that one was fried.
Jun 17, 2020
Jun 13, 2020
Jun 13, 2020
Great service and nice people.
Jun 12, 2020
Sewer connection for RV are so high it is difficult to get hookup to drain. Also, when I asked about the very messy campsite I was parked across from, the manager came down to my site and informed me that they paid the same amount I did and they could do what they wanted. He was quite unpleasant. Maybe just offering a different site for us would have been appropriate? Has a nicely stocked store.
Jun 12, 2020
They don’t tell you the WiFi name, only password and there were 10 different WiFi’s that pulled up but the password didn’t work on any of them. Restrooms and showers were very nice. Very beautiful area.
Jun 26, 2020
Great experience, definitely go again
- Shelli Chuha on Google
Jun 25, 2020
Very accommodating. First spot didn't work for us but Mike offered option that were perfect. Nice bubbling stream in the back.
- Tony G on Google
Jun 17, 2020
Convenient location and clean facility. Two thumbs up.
- Robert Whitaker on Google

Oh My, There's Nothing Here!

That doesn't mean this area has to always be empty. When you start reviewing camping options, your history will display here to help compare sites and find the best stay. You will be able to share your stay information with friends or family and save it for a later time if you have a KOA.com Account.